bs-preloader__icon
ru kz en

7 interesting facts from the history of insurance

7 interesting facts from the history of insurance

1. Insurance was first mentioned in the Old Testament - it was the parable of Joseph and Pharaoh’s prophetic dream. The Egyptian ruler saw a dream about a long period of famine coming to his country. Joseph who considered this dream to be prophetic came up with a kind of food insurance fund to cope with consequences of the disaster. The fund reserves were to be replenished during periods of prosperity, and the "insurance payments" were to be received in the form of food during the periods of drought and crop failure.

2. Mutual insurance emerged and developed at the early stages of human society development being based on the idea of ​​collective mutual assistance. Examples of such insurance can be found in Babylonia (in the laws by King Hammurabi - about 1760 BC), in Ancient Greece and Roman Empire. For example, in ancient Rome, according to the statute of the Lanuvius collegium, its members paid monthly fees, and in case of death a certain amount was provided by the collegium fund for a proper funeral. Only the heir mentioned in the will was entitled to apply for it. If the will was absent, the funeral was organized by the collegium itself. This amount was immune to creditor claims, it could not be used to pay the debts of the deceased. Also, there were grounds for the loss of the right to receive the "insurance" amount – these were suicide and delay in monthly contributions.

3. In the Middle Ages, the first ever "Insurance Chamber" was founded in the Belgian city of Bruges. The organization was established in 1310 to raise funds for protecting financial interests of artisans and merchants in the event of looting or robbery.

 4. In 1369, the Doge of Venice issued a decree fixing the customs of international maritime trade. Since then, a merchant sailing away took a loan at a rate much higher than usual, and if the ship sank he was free from returning the amount borrowed. By the way, Italian words "assurazioni", "risigo", "praemia" "polizza" later became international insurance terms.

 5. During the period of great discoveries and rapid development of the world trade, merchants and usurers used insurance tools more actively, and the number of insurance services increased significantly. For example, the end of the 16th century is considered to be a starting point for the development of the nowadays most popular type of insurance - life insurance. The subject of the contract was the life of William Gibbons. Interestingly, William Gibbons died just eleven months after the sale of the policy, but the group of merchants insuring his life refused to pay the compensation. The case came to a court, which obliged the insurers to pay the compensation in full (over 383 pounds).

 6. England is considered to be the homeland of life insurance. In 1699, a professional organization appeared here for the first time, which dealt with the life insurance of widows and orphans, and later Eckvatedl insurance company was established for the personal insurance of citizens.

 7. The first car insurance policy was sold in the US by the Travelers Insurance Company. In 1898, the cars were rare, so the idea of ​​car insurance was extremely exotic at that time. Mr. Martin (insurant) insured his car for $ 500 having paid 12 dollars 25 cents, which is quite cheap according to today’s standards (only 2.45% of the car’s price). Especially if we take into consideration that the average size of the insurance premium when calculating today is 8-12% of the car cost, and the insurance only from the risk of stealing usually exceeds 2%.

By the way, the Travelers Insurance Company still exists. Thus, the history of the American insurer is more than 150 years.

Share
read also
Eskendir Hassangaliyev: Kazakhstani music shall be promoted abroad
Eskendir Hassangaliyev: Kazakhstani music shall be promoted abroad

Today's headliners of the news feeds are modern celebrities, whose luck star breaks o...

Uzbekistan discusses reforming and speeding up the development of the insurance market
Uzbekistan discusses reforming and speeding up the development of the insurance market

The Ministry of Finance of the Republic of Uzbekistan submitted for discussion the Re...

Yandex.Taxi will insure lives and health of passengers in Kazakhstan
Yandex.Taxi will insure lives and health of passengers in Kazakhstan

Yandex.Taxi has launched life and health insurance for passengers and drivers for up ...

The most interesting materials of the site you have in the mail! Subscribe to the newsletter.

ASK A QUESTION TO THE EXPERT
ASK A QUESTION TO THE EXPERT
Submit your application

bs-preloader__icon
ru kz en

7 интересных фактов из истории страхования

7 интересных фактов из истории страхования
  1. Первое упоминание о страховании относится к «Ветхому Завету» – речь идет о притче о «Иосифе и вещем сне фараона». Египетский правитель увидел сон о надвигающемся на его государство длительном периоде голода. Иосиф, считая данный сон вещим, придумывает своеобразный страховой фонд продовольствия, чтобы справиться с последствиями невзгод. Пополнять запасы фонда он предлагает во времена изобилия, а «страховые выплаты» в виде продовольствия в период засухи и неурожая.
     
  2.  На ранних этапах развития человеческого общества возникло и развивалось взаимное страхование, в основе которого заложена идея коллективной взаимопомощи. Примеры такого страхования можно найти в Вавилонии (в законах царя Хаммурапи — ок. 1760 год до н. э.), в Древней Греции и Римской империи. Например в Древнем Риме, согласно уставу ланувийской коллегии ее члены уплачивали ежемесячные взносы, а в случае смерти из кассы коллегии выдавалась определенная сумма для достойного погребения. На ее получение вправе был претендовать только наследник по завещанию. При отсутствии завещания: похороны осуществлялись самой коллегией. Предусматривалась неприкосновенность данной суммы для кредиторских взысканий: из нее не могли удовлетворяться долговые обязательства умершего. Также предусматривались и основания утраты права на получение «страховой» суммы — самоубийство и просрочка ежемесячных взносов.
     
  3. В Средние века в бельгийском городе Брюгге была основана первая в истории «Страховая палата». Данная организация создана в 1310 году для сбора средств для защиты финансовых интересов ремесленников и купцов на случай грабежей или разбоев.
     
  4. В 1369 г. дож Венеции издал декрет, закрепивший обычаи морской междуна­родной торговли. Отныне торговец, отправля­ясь в плавание, брал ссуду под процент, значительно превосходивший обычный, а в случае гибели корабля освобождался от возврата суммы ссуды. Кста­ти, именно итальянские слова «assurazioni», «risigo», «praemia» «polizza» и пре­вратились со временем в международные страховые термины.
     
  5. В период великих открытий и бурного развития мировой торговли купцы и ростовщики использовали страховые инструменты более активно, а число страховых услуг значительно выросло. Например, конец XVI века считается отправной точкой развития наиболее популярного на сегодняшний день вида страхования – страхования жизни.Предметом
    договора была жизнь некоего Уильяма Гиббонса. Интересно, что уже через одиннадцать месяцев после продажи полиса Уильям Гиббонс скончался, но группа купцов, застраховавших его жизнь, отказалась выплачивать компенсацию. Дело дошло до суда, который обязал страховщиков выплатить возмещение в полном размере (свыше 383 фунтов).
     
  6. Родиной страхования жизни считается Англия. Именно здесь в 1699 впервые появилась профессиональная организация, занимающаяся страхованием жизни вдов и сирот, а затем для личного страхования граждан была создана страховая компания Eckvatedl.
     
  7. Первый полис автострахования продан в США компанией Travelers Insurance Company. В 1898 году сами автомобили были диковинкой, поэтому идея страхования машины в то время была крайне экзотической. Учитывая, что мистер Мартин (страхователь) застраховал свой автомобиль на 500 долларов, а заплатил при этом 12 долларов 25 центов, по сегодняшним меркам страховка обошлась американцу достаточно дешево (лишь 2,45% от стоимости автомобиля). Особенно если учесть что средний размер страховой премии при расчете на калькуляторе каско сегодня составляет 8-12% стоимости авто, а страхование только по риску «Угон» обычно превышает 2%.

К слову компания Travelers Insurance Company до сих пор существует. Таким образом, история американского страховщика насчитывает свыше 150 лет.

Поделиться
читайте также
Big Data: обратная сторона медали
Big Data: обратная сторона медали

О технологиях Big Data сегодня не говорит разве чт...

Составлен рейтинг казахстанских компаний по страхованию жизни
Составлен рейтинг казахстанских компаний по страхованию жизни

Его авторами являются Forbes Kazakhstan при содействи...

Cтраховые компании выплатили потерпевшим 205 миллионов тенге
Cтраховые компании выплатили потерпевшим 205 миллионов тенге

Это на 57% больше, чем годом ранее, сообщает ranking....

Самые интересные материалы сайта у тебя на почте! Подпишись на рассылку.

ЗАДАТЬ ВОПРОС ЭКСПЕРТУ
ЗАДАТЬ ВОПРОС ЭКСПЕРТУ
Оставить заявку