bs-preloader__icon
ru kz en

How long did ancient people live?

It is believed that people live much longer today, but it is difficult for specialists to determine whether this was actually so, TravelAsk.ru portal writes.
How long did ancient people live?

The anthropology professor of Central Michigan University Rachel Caspari, as well as Professor Sang-Hee Lee of the University of California at Riverside, conducted an analysis of the age of skeletons found during archaeological excavations in East and South Africa, Europe and other locations. The scientists compared the proportion of those who died young with those who died at an older age, and concluded that life expectancy began to increase from the age of 30 years about 30,000 years ago due to the late period of human evolution.

In her publication in Scientific American in 2011, Caspari even coined a special term, “the evolution of grandparents.” It was the first period in the history of mankind, when three generations could live together.

Another specialist, gerontologist and evolutionary biologist Caleb Finch characterizes the average life expectancy in the times of Ancient Greece and Ancient Rome as short, from 20 to 35 years. He mentioned though that he used not quite correct data, cemetery gravestones and epitaphs, for the study.

Moving on a historical scale and analyzing data from different periods having different expectancies, the scientist came to his conclusions. He studied Swedish society of the 17th century, the life of the indigenous peoples of Venezuela and Brazil Along with ancient Greeks and Romans. Finch came to the decision that the main causes of death, especially in the first centuries, were infections and epidemics, unsanitary conditions and deaths caused by numerous wars.

Anthropologists Michael Gurven and Hillard Kaplan found that people lived for about 20 years in the Paleolithic era, and more than 30 years - in the Mesolithic. Some individuals began to live to old age. However, with the transition of people to agriculture and a settled lifestyle, the duration decreased again to 25-30 years. The scientists attribute this to the cramped living conditions.

Well off people tread the ground longer at all times. Take, for example, Ancient Egypt, sources provide information on some pharaohs’ life expectancy. Neferkara Piopi II lived 68 years, Ramses II - 90, Hatshepsut passed away at the age of 50.

From the 1500s to about 1800, the average life expectancy in Europe ranged between 30 and 40 years. Finch notes only since the 1800s, thanks to development of medicine, immunization and sanitation, another 10 years have been added.

Source: https://travelask.ru/blog/posts/20989-stariki-v-sorok-let-skolko-na-samom-dele-zhili-lyudi-v-drevn?fbclid=IwAR0vc9lV45fmy8i4J7qvKpEm-Cp60b6sK87HbpLF-FK19ZYKUtaXHZz7g7A\

Photos are from open sources.  

Share
read also
Five reasons to insure your life
Five reasons to insure your life

During the Christmas holidays, the reporters at the Yahoo web search engine finance d...

When life insurance companies refuse the claims on payments
When life insurance companies refuse the claims on payments

Sometimes insurance company refuses its client. What is the reason for refusal? Refus...

Actual use of life insurance abroad
Actual use of life insurance abroad

Have you chosen an insurance company and a suitable plan for universal life insurance...

The most interesting materials of the site you have in the mail! Subscribe to the newsletter.

ASK A QUESTION TO THE EXPERT
ASK A QUESTION TO THE EXPERT
Submit your application

bs-preloader__icon
ru kz en

Сколько на самом деле жили люди в древности

Считается, что современные люди живут гораздо дольше, но специалистам сложно определить, так ли это было на самом деле, пишет портал TravelAsk.ru.
Сколько на самом деле жили люди в древности

Профессор антропологии Рэйчел Каспари из Центрального Мичиганского университета, а также профессор Санг-Хи Ли из Университета Калифорнии в Риверсайде провели анализ возраста скелетов, найденных в ходе археологических раскопок в Восточной и Южной Африке, Европе и в других локациях. Ученые сравнили долю тех, кто умер молодым, с теми, кто скончался в более пожилом возрасте, и пришли к выводу, что продолжительность жизни стала увеличиваться с 30 лет около 30 000 лет назад. Это связано с поздним периодом эволюции человека.

В своей публикации за 2011 год в журнале Scientific American, Каспари придумала даже специальный термин — «эволюция бабушек и дедушек». Это был первый период в истории человечества, когда вместе могли жить три поколения.

Другой специалист, геронтолог и эволюционный биолог Калеб Финч характеризует среднюю продолжительность жизни во времена Древней Греции и Древнего Рима как короткую — от 20 до 35 лет. Правда, он оговаривается, что для исследования использовал не вполне корректные данные — кладбищенские надгробия и эпитафии.

Перемещаясь по исторической шкале и анализируя данные разных периодов, имеющих разную продолжительность, ученый пришел к своим выводам. Кроме древних греков и римлян, он изучал шведское общество 17 века, жизнь коренных народов Венесуэлы и Бразилии. Финч решил, что основными причинами смерти, особенно в первые столетия, были инфекции и эпидемии, антисанитария и гибель в результате многочисленных войн.

Антропологи Майкл Гурвен и Хиллард Каплан установили, что в эпоху палеолита люди жили около 20 лет, в эпоху мезолита — более 30 лет. Некоторые индивиды стали доживать до старости. Однако с переходом людей к сельскому хозяйству и оседлому образу жизни продолжительность вновь сократилась до 25-30 лет. Ученые связывают это с теснотой проживания.

Обеспеченные люди во все времена топтали землю дольше. Взять, например, Древний Египет. Источники дают сведения о продолжительности жизни некоторых фараонов. Неферкара Пиопи II прожил 68 лет, Рамзес II - 90, Хатшепсут ушла из жизни в 50 лет.

Начиная с 1500-х годов и примерно до 1800 года ожидаемая продолжительность жизни в Европе колебалась между 30 и 40 годами. Финч отмечает, что только с 1800 годов, благодаря развитию медицины, иммунизации и санитарии, добавились еще 10 лет.
Источник: https://travelask.ru/blog/posts/20989-stariki-v-sorok-let-skolko-na-samom-dele-zhili-lyudi-v-drevn?fbclid=IwAR0vc9lV45fmy8i4J7qvKpEm-Cp60b6sK87HbpLF-FK19ZYKUtaXHZz7g7A\

Фото из открытых источников

 

Поделиться
читайте также
АО "КСЖ "Азия Life" меняет название на АО "КСЖ "Freedom Finance Life"
АО "КСЖ "Азия Life" меняет название на АО "КСЖ "Freedom Finance Life"

АО "Компания по страхованию жизни "Азия Life" (Алм...

КСЖ – хорошее начало года
КСЖ – хорошее начало года

Компании по страхованию жизни (КСЖ) начинают г...

Самые интересные материалы сайта у тебя на почте! Подпишись на рассылку.

ЗАДАТЬ ВОПРОС ЭКСПЕРТУ
ЗАДАТЬ ВОПРОС ЭКСПЕРТУ
Оставить заявку