bs-preloader__icon
ru kz en

S&P promotes valuation

The insurance companies of the CIS countries have been operating in unprecedented conditions adjusting their business models with respect to the difficult economic situation for more than six months. Thanks to unique approaches, the sector is resistant to recession.
S&P promotes valuation

As of mid-October 2020, the S&P Global Ratings analysts changed their outlook to negative or revised their rating downward for about 17% of all rated insurance companies in the world. “It was largely due to one of several factors. These include a downgrade of the sovereign rating, low outlook for insurance activities, pressure on the competitive position and volumes of premiums of insurance companies. A small part of ratings have been revised upward or positively,” says Yekaterina Tolstova, Deputy Director of the Financial Institutions Group at S&P Global Ratings.

The interlocutor believes that these actions are related to the inherent characteristics of insurance companies, and not macroeconomic indicators: “We have considered such factors as building market strength of the company with operating performance and capital adequacy improvement and diversifying the investment portfolio into less risky financial instruments. Such rating actions were taken in the CIS countries as well. We have raised the rating of Rosgosstrakh in Russia and Nomad Life - in Kazakhstan”.

Nomad Life's long-term rating has been upgraded to 'BB+'. In addition, the Company received a national scale rating of "kzАА". The rating is Stable.

The rise in international valuation followed the rise in the organization's capital adequacy ratios. Thus, by results of eight months of this year, the company ranked first in terms of asset growth. The structure continues to show the dynamics of premiums significantly higher than the market average. In August, in annual terms, Nomad Life increases its premiums by 95%, having collected 15.7 billion tenge. At the end of eight months of 2020, the share of Nomad Life in total life insurance premiums has grown to 30%.

“The upgrade of ratings of JSC LIC Nomad Life reflects a significant improvement in capital adequacy ratios ensuring further business growth and adequate liquidity cushion in the event of deteriorating operating conditions or unexpected large losses. Besides, we would like to note that the company's management is committed to pursuing a balanced asset allocation policy, which is aimed at investing in assets with an average credit quality of at least BBB level. This has led to improvement in liquidity indices, a gradual decrease in investment portfolio risks over the past two years and improvement in the quality of investments,” notes Yekaterina Tolstova.

According to Nomad Life, the main principles of the organization's investment policy are liquidity, safeguard and profitability, therefore investment decisions are made with reference to the risk analysis of the financial instrument issuer, macroeconomic environment and diversification of assets by issuer, industry, and country.

“The Company invests most of its assets in government-issued instruments, government-related entities and international securities with a high credit rating today,” notes Kairat Chegebayev, the Board Chairman of JSC LIC Nomad Life.

Thus, more than 45% of the organization's tenge portfolio is invested in the instruments of the Ministry of Finance of the Republic of Kazakhstan. “Undoubtedly, an active presence of LICs in the securities market is very beneficial for the state. Financing of long-term government projects and issuers of the quasi-state and private sectors is possible thanks to such investments,” reminds Kairat Chegebayev.

New Product

The favorable market positions, long-term presence in the market, a significant distribution network and well-recognized brand play into the hands of Nomad Life. Thus, the company's market share in terms of gross insurance premiums signed is 30%. In addition, S&P Global Ratings noted Nomad Life's desire to expand its product line and introduce investment insurance unit-linked. “In our opinion, the introduction of insurance with an investment component (unit-linked products) will not lead to an immediate increase in insurance premiums but will have a positive impact on this index in the medium term. We see that an additional factor for life insurance companies may be the transfer of people’s assets to life insurance products rather than bank deposits, due to the higher investment return of such instruments. This is especially applicable to insurance products denominated in US dollars,” predicts the Deputy Director of the Financial Institutions Group of S&P Global Ratings.

Nomad Life is now offering the client a choice of several investment portfolios, consisting of assets managed by global management companies with a worldwide reputation BlackRock, State Street Advisor, and Invesco.

Forecasts

“We expect an increased competition in the future, but this will not lead to significant changes in the group of major players in the life insurance sector in the next 12 months, - says Yekaterina Tolstova. – Besides, we believe that the management regime is driving the industry forward. We forecast that the sector of life insurance will perform better than general insurance: the average ROE in the life insurance sector will be around 20% per annum in 2020, and return on assets (ROA) over the same period - about 4%".

S&P believes that the situation for life insurance companies is more favorable than for general insurance companies.

Share
read also
Endowment and investment life insurance simply put
Endowment and investment life insurance simply put

When looking for information about long-term investing or life insurance people often...

Kazakhstanis live longer and take care of themselves more: life insurance is gaining popularity
Kazakhstanis live longer and take care of themselves more: life insurance is gaining popularity

The life expectancy of Kazakhstanis is growing. By the end of the year it is 72.95 ye...

Crisis is not an obstacle
Crisis is not an obstacle

For the first five months of 2020, LICs have slightly been low in revenue, but built ...

The most interesting materials of the site you have in the mail! Subscribe to the newsletter.

ASK A QUESTION TO THE EXPERT
ASK A QUESTION TO THE EXPERT
Submit your application

bs-preloader__icon
ru kz en

S&P повышает оценку

Более шести месяцев страховые компании стран СНГ работают в беспрецедентных условиях, корректируя свои бизнес-модели с учетом сложной экономической ситуации. Благодаря уникальным подходам этот сектор продемонстрировал устойчивость к рецессии.
S&P повышает оценку

На середину октября 2020 года аналитики S&P Global Rratings изменили прогноз на негативный или пересмотрели рейтинг в сторону понижения примерно 17% всех рейтингуемых страховых компаний в мире. «Это было в большой степени обусловлено одним из нескольких факторов. К ним относятся понижение суверенного рейтинга, низкие прогнозные показатели страховой деятельности, давление на конкурентную позицию и объемы премий страховых компаний. Небольшая часть рейтингов была пересмотрена в сторону повышения или позитивного прогноза», - рассказывает Екатерина Толстова, заместитель директора группы «Финансовые институты» S&P Global Rratings.

Собеседница утверждает, что эти действия были связаны с собственными характеристиками страховых компаний, а не макроэкономическими показателями: «Мы принимали во внимание такие факторы, как усиление позиций компании на страховом рынке при улучшении операционных показателей, улучшение показателей достаточности капитала и диверсификацию инвестиционного портфеля в менее рисковые финансовые инструменты. В том числе такие рейтинговые действия были в странах СНГ. В России мы повысили рейтинг Росгосстраха, в Казахстане – Nomad Life».

Долгосрочный рейтинг Nomad Life был повышен до «ВВ+». Кроме того, компания получила рейтинг по национальной шкале на уровне «kzАА». Прогноз по рейтингам «Стабильный».

Повышение международной оценки последовало за подъемом показателей достаточности капитала организации. Так, по итогам восьми месяцев этого года компания заняла первое место по росту активов. Также структура продолжает показывать динамику премий существенно выше средне рыночной. В августе в годовом выражении Nomad Life увеличила премии на 95%, собрав 15,7 млрд тенге. По итогам восьми месяцев 2020 года доля Nomad Life в совокупных премиях по страхованию жизни выросла до 30%.

«Повышение рейтингов АО «КСЖ «Nomad Life» отражает значительное улучшение показателей достаточности капитала, обеспечивающее дальнейший рост бизнеса и достаточную подушку ликвидности в случае ухудшения операционных условий или неожиданных крупных убытков. Кроме того, мы отмечаем, что менеджмент компании нацелен на проведение взвешенной политики в отношении распределения активов, которая направлена на инвестирование в активы, кредитное качество которых в среднем не менее рейтинговой категории «ВВВ». Это привело к улучшению показателей ликвидности, постепенному снижению рисков инвестиционного портфеля на протяжении последних двух лет и улучшению качества инвестиций», - отмечает Екатерина Толстова.

В Nomad Life говорят, что основные принципы инвестиционной политики организации – это ликвидность, сохранность, доходность, поэтому инвестиционные решения принимаются с учётом анализа риска эмитента финансового инструмента, макроэкономической среды и диверсификации активов по эмитенту, отрасли, стране.

«Сегодня компания инвестирует большую часть своих активов в инструменты, эмитируемые государством, организации, связанные с государством, и международные ценные бумаги с высоким кредитным рейтингом», - отмечает Кайрат Чегебаев, председатель правления АО «КСЖ «Nomad Life».

Так, более 45% тенгового портфеля организации инвестированы в инструменты Минфина РК. «Несомненно, для государства активное присутствие КСЖ на рынке ценных бумаг очень выгодно. Ведь благодаря таким инвестициям возможно финансирование долгосрочных проектов государства и эмитентов квазигосударственнного и частного сектора», - напоминает Кайрат Чегебаев.

Новый продукт

На руку Nomad Life играют хорошие рыночные позиции, длительное присутствие на рынке, значительная сеть дистрибуции и хорошо узнаваемый бренд. Так, доля компании на рынке по объему подписанных страховых премий-брутто составляет 30%. Кроме того, в S&P Global Rratings отметили, стремление Nomad Life к расширению продуктовой линейки и внедрение инвестиционного страхования – unit-linked. «На наш взгляд, введение страхования с инвестиционной составляющей (unit-linked products) не приведет к немедленному росту страховой премии, но окажет позитивное влияние на этот показатель в среднесрочной перспективе. Мы видим, что дополнительным фактором для компаний страхования жизни может стать перевод активов населения в продукты страхования жизни, а не в банковские депозиты, в связи с более высокой инвестиционной доходностью таких инструментов. Особенно это относится к страховым продуктам, номинированным в долларах США», - прогнозирует заместитель директора группы «Финансовые институты» S&P Global Rratings.

Сегодня Nomad Life предлагает клиенту на выбор несколько инвестиционных портфелей, состоящих из активов под управлением глобальных управляющих компаний с мировым именем BlackRock, State Street Advisor, Invesco.

Прогнозы

«Мы прогнозируем усиление конкуренции в будущем, однако это не обусловит существенных изменений в группе основных игроков в секторе страхования жизни в ближайшие 12 месяцев, - делится мнением Екатерина Толстова. - Кроме того, мы полагаем, что режим регулирования стимулирует развитие отрасли. Мы прогнозируем, что показатели в секторе страхования жизни будут выше, чем в секторе общего страхования: среднее значение ROE в секторе страхования жизни будет составлять около 20% в год в 2020, а рентабельность активов (return on assets — ROA) за тот же период — около 4%».

В S&P уверены, что ситуация для компаний сектора страхования жизни остается более благоприятной, чем для компаний по общему страхованию.

Поделиться
читайте также
Врачи посоветовали блюдо для долголетия на каждый день
Врачи посоветовали блюдо для долголетия на каждый день

Некоторые регионы нашей планеты славятся долг...

Актуариям везде у нас дорога
Актуариям везде у нас дорога

Впервые в Казахстане «Общество актуариев Каза...

Удобный полис страхования жизни при ипотечном кредите
Удобный полис страхования жизни при ипотечном кредите

Когда человек берет ипотеку, последнее, о чем х...

Самые интересные материалы сайта у тебя на почте! Подпишись на рассылку.

ЗАДАТЬ ВОПРОС ЭКСПЕРТУ
ЗАДАТЬ ВОПРОС ЭКСПЕРТУ
Оставить заявку