bs-preloader__icon
ru kz en

Student amputated his legs to collect $1.3 million in insurance

A university student in Taiwan who had his legs amputated in hopes of receiving a $1.3 million insurance payout was arrested on suspicion of fraud. Prosecutors found that he had purchased several expensive life, travel and accident insurance policies in advance, Inc. magazine reported.
Student amputated his legs to collect $1.3 million in insurance

The 23-year-old student, identified by his last name, Zhang, plunged his feet in a bucket of dry ice for more than 10 hours to get them so badly frostbitten that he would need a double amputation. Later it became known that his school friend Liao had encouraged him to commit fraud.

Just days before, Zhang bought several expensive policies for life insurance, travel insurance, and accident insurance, according to prosecutors. However, during the examination, medical staff sensed something was amiss. Zhang's legs were amputated below the calf due to frostbite, but his case was reported to authorities. The investigators immediately noticed that his legs bore no shoe or sock marks, and his injuries appeared symmetrical, which were inconsistent with a naturally occurring frostbite injury.

When police investigated Zhang and Liao, they found the plastic bucket used to freeze Zhang's feet, insurance documents, a white polystyrene box for dry ice, eight mobile phones, and a tablet computer.

Local media reported that Zhang had claimed $7,200 from one insurer, but this money would be seized. Initially, the guys wanted to get $1.3 million. Liao and Zhang were arrested due to attempted fraud.

Source: https://incrussia.ru/news/student-amputiroval-sebe-nogi-chtoby-poluchit-strahovku-na-1-3-mln-no-eto-ne-srabotalo/

Photos are from open sources.

Share
read also
Something about the UL product
Something about the UL product

ULIP (Unit Linked Insurance Plan) is a type of insurance product that is a combinatio...

Immediate and deferred annuity: what is the difference?
Immediate and deferred annuity: what is the difference?

US annuity is a structured product of life insurance companies. Each state has its ow...

Key drivers for life insurance growth are the same in all countries and regions
Key drivers for life insurance growth are the same in all countries and regions

It is GDP growth, the level of personal well-being of citizens, as well as high-quali...

The most interesting materials of the site you have in the mail! Subscribe to the newsletter.

ASK A QUESTION TO THE EXPERT
ASK A QUESTION TO THE EXPERT
Submit your application

bs-preloader__icon
ru kz en

Студент ампутировал себе ноги, чтобы получить страховку на $1,3 млн

Студент из Тайваня, который ампутировал себе ноги в надежде получить страховую выплату, был арестован по подозрению в мошенничестве. В прокуратуре выяснили, что он заранее купил несколько дорогих полисов по страхованию жизни, туристическому страхованию и страхованию от несчастных случаев, сообщает журнал Inc.
Студент ампутировал себе ноги, чтобы получить страховку на $1,3 млн

23-летний студент, известный по фамилии Чжан, погрузил ноги в ведро с сухим льдом более чем на 10 часов, чтобы получить сильное обморожение и ампутацию. Позже стало известно, что на мошенничество его сподвиг школьный друг Ляо.

По словам прокуроров, всего за несколько дней до инцидента Чжан купил несколько дорогих полисов по страхованию жизни. Однако во время осмотра медицинский персонал почувствовал, что что-то не так. Чжану ампутированы ноги ниже икры из-за обморожения, но о его случае было доложено властям. Следователи сразу заметили, что на его ногах не было следов обуви или носков, а травмы выглядели симметричными и не были похожи на естественное обморожение.

Когда полиция провела расследование в отношении Чжана и Ляо, то обнаружила пластиковое ведро, в котором Чжану заморозили ноги, а также были найдены страховые документы, коробка из белого полистирола для сухого льда, восемь мобильных телефонов и планшет.

Местные СМИ сообщили, что Чжан потребовал от одной страховой компании $7,2 тыс., но эти деньги будут конфискованы. Изначально парни хотели получить $1,3 млн. Ляо и Чжана арестовали из-за попытки мошенничества.

Источник: https://incrussia.ru/news/student-amputiroval-sebe-nogi-chtoby-poluchit-strahovku-na-1-3-mln-no-eto-ne-srabotalo/

Фото из открытых источников

Поделиться
читайте также
Как янтарная кислота защищает от вирусов
Как янтарная кислота защищает от вирусов

Зимой организм нуждается в дополнительных ист...

Финансисты предложили новую стратегию накоплений с защитой инвесторов
Финансисты предложили новую стратегию накоплений с защитой инвесторов

На фоне падения доходности по депозитам в валю...

Укрощение дикого полиса
Укрощение дикого полиса

Как лечить болезни роста инвестиционного стра...

Самые интересные материалы сайта у тебя на почте! Подпишись на рассылку.

ЗАДАТЬ ВОПРОС ЭКСПЕРТУ
ЗАДАТЬ ВОПРОС ЭКСПЕРТУ
Оставить заявку