bs-preloader__icon
ru kz en

Pregnancy can postpone the development of multiple sclerosis

This is due to a decrease in the immune system activity, which is responsible for the risk of developing the disease, writes TASS.
Pregnancy can postpone the development of multiple sclerosis

The scientists from Monash University in Australia have proved that pregnancy reduces the likelihood of developing multiple sclerosis. As reported by the university press service on Wednesday, the world's first major study on the risks of this disease development was based on data from 70 thousand Australian patients. These studies were also published in the medical journal Neurology journal (JAMA Neurology).

According to the scientists, the later onset of pregnancy or refusal of having children directly affects the incidence of multiple sclerosis (MS) among women of childbearing age. These findings were also confirmed by data received by Australian experts from the international medical community and scientists from 35 countries.

“A team of scientists from Monash University managed to determine that pregnancy can put the first manifestation of symptoms of multiple sclerosis on more than 3 years. Given that today about 2.5 million people worldwide are living with MS, our findings are extremely important. They will help get a deeper understanding of the causes of the disease and become the basis for the creation of hormone therapy that delays the appearance of the first disease signs,” the report says.

The study has proven that each pregnancy can move the onset of delay the first signs of MS by 3.3-3.4 years in average. According to scientists it is due to a decrease in the activity of the immune system, which is responsible for the risk of developing multiple sclerosis. “So far we have to study all the details of the mechanism of inhibition of the development of MS. We think they are associated with the natural suppression of the woman's immune system during pregnancy, as well as with changes in DNA after childbirth,” - said the study author Vilija Jokubaitis.

The scientists believe that understanding the correlation between changes in a woman's body during pregnancy and the late development of multiple sclerosis will become the basis for modern therapy of this disease, which will help prevent the development of severe complications and disability.

Multiple sclerosis is a chronic autoimmune disease. It affects several different parts of the nervous system and leads to the development of a variety of neurological symptoms. MS treatment depends on the nature of the course of the disease and, in general, comes down to relieving symptoms and trying to delay further progression of the disease.

Source: https://nauka.tass.ru/nauka/9469629

Photos are from open sources.

Share
read also
Five tips for future retirees
Five tips for future retirees

The COVID-19 pandemic has dramatically changed people’s lives around the world over...

Transfers from UAPF to insurance organizations have amounted to 7.4 billion tenge in the 1st quarter of this year.
Transfers from UAPF to insurance organizations have amounted to 7.4 billion tenge in the 1st quarter of this year.

The total amount of retirement savings by April 1, 2019 has amounted to 9.64 trillion...

Kazakhstanis will receive two packages of medical services
Kazakhstanis will receive two packages of medical services

ASTANA. KAZINFORM. A correspondent of the MIA Kazinform reports about Elena Bakhmutov...

The most interesting materials of the site you have in the mail! Subscribe to the newsletter.

ASK A QUESTION TO THE EXPERT
ASK A QUESTION TO THE EXPERT
Submit your application

bs-preloader__icon
ru kz en

Беременность может задержать развитие рассеянного склероза

Это связано со снижением активности иммунной системы, которая отвечает за риск развития заболевания, пишет ТАСС.
Беременность может задержать развитие рассеянного склероза

Ученые из австралийского университета им. Монаша доказали, что беременность снижает вероятность развития рассеянного склероза. Как сообщили в среду в пресс-службе университета, первое в мире крупное исследование, посвященное рискам развития этого заболевания, опиралось на данные 70 тыс. австралийских пациентов. Данные исследования также опубликованы в медицинском издании Neurology journal (JAMA Neurology).

По словам ученых, более позднее наступление беременности или отказ от рождения детей напрямую влияет на частоту заболеваемости рассеянным склерозом (РС) среди женщин детородного возраста. Эти выводы были также подтверждены данными, полученными австралийскими экспертами от международного медицинского сообщества и ученых из 35 стран мира.

«Команде ученых из университета им. Монаша удалось установить, что беременность может отсрочить первую манифестацию симптомов рассеянного склероза более чем на 3 года. С учетом того что сегодня порядка 2,5 млн человек в мире живут с диагнозом РС, наши выводы чрезвычайно важны. Они помогут добиться более глубокого понимания причин возникновения болезни и станут основой для создания гормональной терапии, задерживающей появление первых признаков недуга», - указано в отчете.

Исследование доказало, что каждая беременность может отсрочить появление первых признаков РС в среднем на 3,3 - 3,4 года. Ученые полагают, что это связано со снижением активности иммунной системы, которая отвечает за риск развития рассеянного склероза. «Пока нам лишь предстоит изучить все тонкости механизма торможения развития РС, мы думаем, что они связаны с естественным угнетением иммунной системы женщины во время беременности, а также с изменениями ДНК после родов», - отмечает автор исследования Вилия Йокубайтис.

Ученые убеждены, что понимание взаимосвязи изменений в организме женщины во время беременности и позднего развития рассеянного склероза станет основой для современной терапии этого заболевания, которая поможет предотвратить развитие тяжелых осложнений и инвалидности.

Рассеянный склероз - хроническое аутоиммунное заболевание. Поражает несколько различных отделов нервной системы и ведет к развитию разнообразных неврологических симптомов. Лечение РС зависит от характера протекания болезни и в целом сводится к купированию симптомов и попытке задержать дальнейшее прогрессирование недуга.

Источник: https://nauka.tass.ru/nauka/9469629

Фото из открытых источников

Поделиться
читайте также
Что произойдет, если ваша страховая компания обанкротится?
Что произойдет, если ваша страховая компания обанкротится?

Когда страховая компания AIG, которая считалась...

Многодетные семьи получат больше денег при утере кормильца
Многодетные семьи получат больше денег при утере кормильца

Также планируется улучшить материальное поло...

To insure or not to insure?
To insure or not to insure?

Действительно странно, что люди, страхуя свои ...

Самые интересные материалы сайта у тебя на почте! Подпишись на рассылку.

ЗАДАТЬ ВОПРОС ЭКСПЕРТУ
ЗАДАТЬ ВОПРОС ЭКСПЕРТУ
Оставить заявку