bs-preloader__icon
ru kz en

Scientists explain the anti-cancer effect of green tea

Chinese scientists have learned that green tea contains a substance that blocks the enzyme necessary for cancer cells to grow, writes RIA Novosti. A positive correlation was found between regular consumption of green tea and a low risk of developing breast cancer. The results are published in the International Journal of Food Sciences and Nutrition magazine.
Scientists explain the anti-cancer effect of green tea

Chinese scientists analyzed the results of 16 studies on the effects of various plant-based ingredients on cancer development and found a linear relationship between green tea consumption and breast cancer: women who had been regularly for several years consuming a lot of green tea had a lower risk of breast cancer compared to those who had consumed little green tea or had not drink it at all.

In search of an answer to the question of what makes green tea so useful, the authors analyzed the herbal ingredients contained in it. The researchers came to the conclusion that the role of the main anticancer agent was played by the phytochemical epigallocatechin-3-gallate (ECGC), an organic substance from the group of polyphenols, which, in addition to antioxidant properties, had a high protective function against cells; it blocked the enzyme necessary for cancer cells to grow stopping the tumor growth. 

However, the authors caution against considering green tea as a panacea or an alternative to the usual treatment for neoplastic diseases. The experts do not fully know whether the preventive effect of green tea applies to all types of breast cancer, or only to some of them. However, they know that green tea does not have a noticeable effect on prostate, bladder or stomach cancer; such patterns have not been found during the study.

It must be understood that most of the studies that the authors relied on were conducted in Asia, where up to ten cups of green tea per day are considered the norm of consumption. It is no coincidence that China has one of the lowest incidence rates of breast cancer in the world.

The authors admit that the healing properties of green tea for Asians are explained not only by large doses of consumption, but also by a combination with traditional Asian food. Therefore, the study results cannot be automatically transferred to Europeans or Americans.

Despite the fact that green tea has a good effect on the intestinal microflora and helps with weight loss, it should be remembered that the drink also contains high concentrations of caffeine, so drinking it in excessive amounts is unsafe in the presence of certain diseases, scientists warn.

Source: https://ria.ru/20200217/1564870886.html

Photos are from open sources.  

Share
read also
Peculiarities of life and health insurance of workers in Turkey
Peculiarities of life and health insurance of workers in Turkey

Turkish labor insurance does not differ significantly from the principles of insuranc...

Life insurance is not a preparation for death
Life insurance is not a preparation for death

About half of Latvian residents confide in a special poll they take care of their lov...

Five sources of retirement income named
Five sources of retirement income named

If you have not saved enough funds in your 401 (k) IRA (retirement savings) account, ...

The most interesting materials of the site you have in the mail! Subscribe to the newsletter.

ASK A QUESTION TO THE EXPERT
ASK A QUESTION TO THE EXPERT
Submit your application

bs-preloader__icon
ru kz en

Ученые объяснили противораковый эффект зеленого чая

Китайские ученые выяснили, что в зеленом чае содержится вещество, блокирующее фермент, необходимый раковым клеткам для роста, пишет РИА Новости. Установлена положительная связь между регулярным потреблением зеленого чая и низким риском развития рака молочной железы. Результаты исследования опубликованы в журнале International Journal of Food Sciences and Nutrition.
Ученые объяснили противораковый эффект зеленого чая

Ученые из Китая проанализировали результаты 16 исследований, касающихся влияния различных растительных ингредиентов на развитие онкологических заболеваний, и обнаружили линейную связь между потреблением зеленого чая и развитием рака молочной железы: женщины, потреблявшие зеленый чай много и регулярно в течение нескольких лет, имели более низкий риск рака груди по сравнению с теми, кто потреблял мало зеленого чая или не пили его совсем.

В поисках ответа на вопрос, что делает зеленый чай таким полезным, авторы проанализировали растительные ингредиенты, содержащиеся в нем. Исследователи пришли к выводу, что роль главного противоракового агента играет фитохимический эпигаллокатехин-3-галлат (ECGC) — органическое вещество из группы полифенолов, которое, помимо антиоксидантных свойств, обладает высокой защитной функцией в отношении клеток. Оно блокирует фермент, необходимый раковым клеткам для роста, что останавливает развитие опухоли.

Однако авторы предостерегают от того, чтобы считать зеленый чай панацеей или альтернативой обычному лечению опухолевых заболеваний. Специалисты до конца не знают, относится ли профилактический эффект зеленого чая ко всем типам рака молочной железы или только к некоторым из них. Зато знают, что зеленый чай не оказывает заметного влияния на рак простаты, мочевого пузыря или желудка — подобных закономерностей в ходе исследования выявлено не было.

Надо также иметь в виду, что большая часть исследований, на которые опирались авторы, проводилась в Азии, где нормой потребления считается до десяти чашек зеленого чая в день. Видимо, неслучайно в Китае один из самых низких в мире уровень заболеваемости раком молочной железы.

Авторы допускают, что целебные свойства зеленого чая для жителей Азии объясняются не только большими дозами его потребления, но и сочетанием с традиционной азиатской пищей. Поэтому результаты исследования нельзя автоматически переносить на европейцев или американцев.

Несмотря на то что зеленый чай хорошо влияет на кишечную микрофлору и помогает при похудении, следует помнить, что напиток также содержит высокие концентрации кофеина, поэтому употреблять им в чрезмерных количествах небезопасно при наличии определенных заболеваний, предупреждают ученые.

Источник: https://ria.ru/20200217/1564870886.html

Фото из открытых источников      

Поделиться
читайте также
ВОЗ:  от пагубного воздействия курения ежегодно умирает 6 млн людей
ВОЗ: от пагубного воздействия курения ежегодно умирает 6 млн людей

1 марта отмечается Всемирный день иммунитета. ...

«Без страховых агентов невозможно страхование в целом»
«Без страховых агентов невозможно страхование в целом»

Так считает председатель правления АО «СК «НО...

Григорий Марченко о пенсионной системе: «Мы всё сделали правильно»
Григорий Марченко о пенсионной системе: «Мы всё сделали правильно»

Согласно рейтингу устойчивости пенсионных си...

Самые интересные материалы сайта у тебя на почте! Подпишись на рассылку.

ЗАДАТЬ ВОПРОС ЭКСПЕРТУ
ЗАДАТЬ ВОПРОС ЭКСПЕРТУ
Оставить заявку