bs-preloader__icon
ru kz en

Forecasts: should the tenge expect even greater weakening following the ruble?

LS learned how the market situation will affect the national currency of Kazakhstan by the end of the year.
Forecasts: should the tenge expect even greater weakening following the ruble?

Galymzhan Aitkazin, the AERC senior analyst, notes that since the year beginning the national currency has lost 13-14% in value against the dollar, while the ruble has lost more than 20%. Moreover, the tenge is also part of a basket of emerging market currencies, some of which follow a similar floating exchange rate. 

Aytkazin told about measures that can help the tenge to strengthen. According to him, a possible scenario for this could be the emergence of certainty and the final stabilization of the situation in the energy markets, in particular, oil and gas. Another option could be the adoption of a new package of economic support in the US, which would allow the dollar to weaken against other currencies and, accordingly, strengthen the tenge.

“A change or improvement in the external economic background for the trading partner countries of Kazakhstan is another factor. In particular, the Central Bank of Russia may raise the key rate or increase the volume of currency sales from the National Wealth Fund (NWF). In turn, any actions of the National Bank aimed at supporting the tenge may become internal factors for Kazakhstan. However, in my opinion, the tenge does not need any help in the current situation. It should be noted as well that the present exchange rate of the national currency is also supported by the base rate of the regulator, which has kept it when the majority of the world's central banks have been actively reducing and demanded the same inside the country. As a result, the current rate makes it possible to level out external risks to one degree or another and maintain a balance between market factors that can have a negative impact due to the deterioration of the situation in external markets. Conversion of funds from the National Fund for the budget can also become an additional measure to support the tenge. In general, the situation in the foreign exchange market is developing within the framework of the floating exchange rate regime that makes allowance for global and regional market factors,” he said.

However, Andrei Kochetkov, the Otkritie Broker analyst, believes that the tendency for the ruble to weaken is coming to an end.

“If there was a deep crisis in Russia, then such values ​​of the euro and dollar could be explained. However, oil prices are at a relatively high level, and geopolitical risks are greatly exaggerated. Therefore, by the end of the year, we expect the strengthening of the Russian currency, which will become even more accentuated in 2021,” he predicts.

Kochetkov has also emphasized that geopolitical risks relate to the tenge to a lesser extent but nevertheless the currency of Kazakhstan is subject to the influence of global trends. “So far, we do not see the potential for a further strong fall in the tenge limiting the possible movement to a 5% limit. If the situation in the markets improves, the rate may return under the 400 tenge mark for $1 in the future three to six months. The strengthening of the Kazakh currency will be influenced by such factors as the release of vaccines against COVID-19 in mass use, recovery of demand for commodities and improvement of business activity in countries that are Kazakhstan's main trading partners,” he explained.

Meanwhile, an economist Vladislav Turkin noted that the strengthening of the tenge could be affected by the rise in oil prices. An increase in the base rate, further strengthening of currency restrictions, limited economic activity as a result of the introduction of new quarantine measures and a shock reduction in imports can also be effective.

“The exchange rate of the tenge cannot be considered fully balanced before the ruble and oil weakening, as under the quarantine measures and the coronavirus crisis, economic activity is in a depressed state, which accordingly reduces activity of the population and companies in the foreign exchange market by causing a course deviation from its "natural" state. This means that recovery of economic activity coupled with various stimulating measures (budget, monetary policy), one should expect a smooth shift in the direction of weakening," he summed up.

Source: https://lsm.kz/rubl-tenge-mnenie
Photos are from open sources.

Share
read also
Singapore authorities accepted obligations on disability insurance and care
Singapore authorities accepted obligations on disability insurance and care

As of 2020, a new scheme of compulsory state insurance CareShield Life starts for all...

Eurasia LIC is the 7th player in the life insurance market
Eurasia LIC is the 7th player in the life insurance market

A new player appeared on the domestic insurance market: on March 4, 2019, the Nationa...

What people in Almaty suffer from in summer according to insurers
What people in Almaty suffer from in summer according to insurers

An acute respiratory viral infection of the upper respiratory tract, traumas, and car...

The most interesting materials of the site you have in the mail! Subscribe to the newsletter.

ASK A QUESTION TO THE EXPERT
ASK A QUESTION TO THE EXPERT
Submit your application

bs-preloader__icon
ru kz en

Ждет ли тенге еще большее ослабление вслед за рублем – прогнозы

LS узнал, как ситуация на рынке повлияет на национальную валюту Казахстана до конца года.
Ждет ли тенге еще большее ослабление вслед за рублем – прогнозы

Старший аналитик AERC Галымжан Айтказин отметил, что нацвалюта с начала года потеряла в стоимости 13-14% по отношению к доллару, в то время как рубль – более 20%. Более того, тенге также является частью корзины валют из развивающихся рынков, некоторые из которых придерживаются похожего плавающего курсообразования.

Айтказин рассказал о мерах, которые могут помочь тенге укрепиться. По его мнению, возможным сценарием для этого может стать появление определенности и окончательная стабилизация ситуации на рынках энергоносителей, в частности, нефти и газа. Также вариантом может стать принятие нового пакета поддержки экономики в США, что позволило бы доллару ослабнуть относительно других валют и, соответственно, укрепить тенге.

«Другим фактором я бы назвал изменение или улучшение внешнего экономического фона для стран-торговых партнеров Казахстана. В частности, ЦБ России может повысить ключевую ставку или увеличить объемы продаж валюты из Фонда национального благостояния (ФНБ). В свою очередь, внутренними факторами для Казахстана могут стать какие-либо действия Нацбанка, направленные на поддержку тенге. Однако, по моему мнению, в текущей ситуации тенге не нуждается в какой-либо помощи. Стоит добавить, что текущий курс нацвалюты поддерживается еще и базовой ставкой регулятора, который удержал ее, когда большинство ЦБ мира активно снижали и того же требовали внутри страны. Вследствие этого, текущая ставка позволяет в той или иной мере нивелировать внешние риски и сохранять баланс между рыночными факторами, которые могут влиять негативно из-за ухудшения ситуации на внешних рынках. Также, дополнительной мерой поддержки тенге может стать конвертация средств из Нацфонда для бюджета. В целом ситуация на валютном рынке складывается в рамках режима плавающего курсообразования, который учитывает глобальные и региональные рыночные факторы», – считает он.

Вместе с тем аналитик «Открытие Брокер» Андрей Кочетков полагает, что тенденция на ослабление рубля подходит к концу.

«Если бы в России существовал глубочайший кризис, то такие значения евро и доллара можно было бы объяснить. Однако цены на нефть находятся на относительно высоком уровне, а геополитические риски сильно преувеличены. Поэтому до конца года мы ждем укрепление российской валюты, которое станет еще более акцентированным в 2021 году», – прогнозирует он.

Кочетков также подчеркнул, что геополитические риски в меньшей степени касаются тенге, но все же валюта Казахстана подвержена влиянию глобальных тенденций. «Пока мы не видим потенциала дальнейшего сильного падения тенге, ограничивая возможное движение пределом в 5%. При улучшении ситуации на рынках курс может вернуться под отметку 400 за $1 в перспективе трех-шести месяцев. На укрепление казахстанской валюты будут влиять такие факторы, как выход вакцин от COVID-19 в массовое применение, восстановление спроса на сырьевые товары и улучшение деловой активности в странах, которые являются основными торговыми партнерами Казахстана», – пояснил он.

Между тем экономист Владислав Туркин отметил, что на укрепление тенге может повлиять рост цен на нефть. Также действенными мерами могут выступать повышение базовой ставки, дальнейшее усиление валютных ограничений, ограниченные экономической активности в результате введения новых карантинных мер и шоковому сокращению импорта.

«Курс тенге до усиления ослабления рубля и нефти нельзя считать полностью равновесным. Так как в условиях карантинных мер и коронакризиса, экономическая активность находится в подавленном состоянии, что соответственно оказывает влияние на меньшую активность населения и компаний на валютном рынке. Вызывая отклонение курса от его "естественного" состояния. Это значит, что при восстановлении экономической активности, вкупе с различными стимулирующими мерами (бюджет, денежно-кредитная политика), следует ожидать плавного сдвига показателей в сторону ослабления», – резюмировал он.
Источник: https://lsm.kz/rubl-tenge-mnenie
Фото из открытых источников

 

Поделиться
читайте также
Более 1,5 тысяч человек пострадали в 2018 году на предприятиях Казахстана
Более 1,5 тысяч человек пострадали в 2018 году на предприятиях Казахстана

Количество пострадавших со смертельным исход...

ЕНПФ выплатил в компании по страхованию жизни 18 млрд тенге
ЕНПФ выплатил в компании по страхованию жизни 18 млрд тенге

Пресс-служба Единого накопительного пенсионн...

Продолжили рост
Продолжили рост

КСЖ увеличили сбор премий по итогам семи меся...

Самые интересные материалы сайта у тебя на почте! Подпишись на рассылку.

ЗАДАТЬ ВОПРОС ЭКСПЕРТУ
ЗАДАТЬ ВОПРОС ЭКСПЕРТУ
Оставить заявку