bs-preloader__icon
ru kz en

Fitch is expecting investment life insurance regulatory tightening in Russia

In 2017, 88% of life insurance policies sales were provided by banks, often without informing the customers about the risks of the ILI, reports the “Vedomosti”.
Fitch is expecting investment life insurance regulatory tightening in Russia

The Fitch rating agency is expecting that the Central Bank will tighten regulation of the life insurance market, and, first of all, it will affect investment life insurance (ILI), as reports the agency. More heavy regulation of this segment is necessary to reduce the risks associated with the lack of informing of potential policyholders concerning the CSI parameters, in particular, regarding the policy's cash surrender value, investment earnings, credit risks, and lack of state insurance that is provided for bank deposits.

Often, bank branches employees offer ILI policies to customers under the guise of deposits and do not inform that investment income is not guaranteed to them, and early termination of the agreement can cost a significant portion of the invested funds. Banks are the main channel of life insurance policies sale; in 2017, 88% of premiums were collected through banks, according to the Fitch report.

Commission fees from insurance policies sale provide a significant share of the proceeds of banks. Last year, banks received a commission fees income in amount of 50.5 billion rubles from the insurers for life insurance policies sale, as noted from the Central Bank’s data.

In Western Europe, the law obliges insurers to inform customers about the terms and conditions of hybrid products, that is the ILI, and there are still no such requirements in Russia, says Anastasia Litvinova, Director of the Insurance Analytical Group in the Fitch. If such requirements are introduced at the legislative level in Russia, then the growth of the ILI market will significantly slow down, she is sure. In 2017, life insurance premiums increased by 53.7% up to 331.5 billion rubles, according to the Central Bank. The Fitch notes that the premiums under the ILI had doubled in 2016-2017 due to the interest of citizens in these products against the background of interest rates falling down on deposits.

Insurers, their agents and banks should pay more attention to informing customers about the products of the ILI, as said a representative of the Central Bank in response to the questions of the “Vedomosti”. He says that the requirements for information disclosing to the customers about the key parameters of the ILI and possible risks will be included into the basic standard for consumer protection. This standard is developed by the All-Russian Union of Insurers (ARUI) together with the Central Bank. In the nearest future, the first discussion of this document will take place, as reported a representative of the regulator. The “Vedomosti” expects comments from the ARUI representative.

How the ILI works

Investment Life Insurance (ILI) is a combination of classic risk insurance (risks of death, survival, accidents) and an investment product allowing obtaining additional non-guaranteed income, depending on dynamics of the underlying asset chosen by the customer. If the agreement is terminated early, it is not possible to get all insurance premiums paid. The redemption amount, as a rule, increases in proportion to the expired insurance period.

Source: https://www.vedomosti.ru/finance/articles/2018/03/12/753272-fitch-ozhidaet-uzhestocheniya

Photo is from the web-site: https://proins.ru

 

Share
read also
Maksat Alzhanov gained the status of the JSC LIC Standard Life major participant
Maksat Alzhanov gained the status of the JSC LIC Standard Life major participant

This was announced by the National Bank of Kazakhstan on its official website....

German insurers will invest €100 million in digital startups
German insurers will invest €100 million in digital startups

The German Private Health Insurance Association (PKV) is launching a new venture fund...

An alternative to bank deposits appeared in Kazakhstan
An alternative to bank deposits appeared in Kazakhstan

NOMAD LIFE told about new investment opportunities...

The most interesting materials of the site you have in the mail! Subscribe to the newsletter.

ASK A QUESTION TO THE EXPERT
ASK A QUESTION TO THE EXPERT
Submit your application

bs-preloader__icon
ru kz en

Fitch ожидает ужесточения регулирования инвестиционного страхования жизни в России

В 2017 году 88% продаж полисов страхования жизни обеспечили банки, зачастую не информируя клиентов о рисках ИСЖ, сообщают "Ведомости".
Fitch ожидает ужесточения регулирования инвестиционного страхования жизни в России

Рейтинговое агентство Fitch ожидает, что Центробанк ужесточит регулирование рынка страхования жизни, и в первую очередь это коснется инвестиционного страхования жизни (ИСЖ), следует из отчета агентства. Более жесткое регулирование этого сегмента нужно для снижения рисков, связанных с недостаточным информированием потенциальных страхователей о параметрах ИСЖ, в частности о выкупной стоимости полиса, инвестиционной доходности, кредитных рисках, а также об отсутствии страховки государства, которую оно предоставляет по банковским вкладам.

Нередко сотрудники в отделениях банков предлагают клиентам полисы ИСЖ под видом депозитов и не сообщают о том, что инвестиционных доход им не гарантирован, а досрочное расторжение договора может стоить значительной части вложенных средств. Банки - основной канал продаж полисов страхования жизни, в 2017 г. 88% премий было собрано через банки, говорится в отчете Fitch.

Комиссионные от продажи страховых полисов обеспечивают заметную долю выручки банков. В прошлом году за продажу полисов страхования жизни банки получили от страховщиков комиссионный доход в 50,5 млрд руб., следует из данных ЦБ.

 

В Западной Европе закон обязывает страховщиков информировать клиентов об условиях гибридных продуктов, то есть ИСЖ, а в России таких требований до сих пор нет, говорит директор страховой аналитической группы Fitch Анастасия Литвинова. Если такие требования на законодательном уровне ввести в России, то рост рынка ИСЖ существенно замедлится, уверена она. В 2017 г. сборы по страхованию жизни выросли на 53,7% до 331,5 млрд руб., следует из данных ЦБ. Fitch отмечает, что премии по ИСЖ выросли более чем вдвое в 2016-2017 гг. за счет интереса граждан к этим продуктам на фоне падения ставок по вкладам.

Страховщики, их агенты и банки должны уделять больше внимания информированию клиентов о продуктах ИСЖ, сообщил представитель ЦБ в ответ на вопросы «Ведомостей». Он говорит, что требования по раскрытию клиентам информации о ключевых параметрах ИСЖ и о возможных рисках будут заложены в базовый стандарт по защите потребителей. Такой стандарт разрабатывает Всероссийский союз страховщиков (ВСС) вместе с ЦБ. В ближайшее время состоится первое обсуждение этого документа, говорит представитель регулятора. «Ведомости» ожидают комментариев представителя ВСС.

Как работает ИСЖ
Инвестиционное страхование жизни (ИСЖ) представляет собой комбинацию классического рискового страхования (риски смерти, дожития, несчастные случаи) и инвестиционного продукта, позволяющего получить дополнительный негарантированный доход, зависящий от динамики выбранного клиентом базового актива. В случае досрочного расторжения договора отсутствует возможность получения всех уплаченных страховых взносов. Выкупная сумма, как правило, увеличивается пропорционально истекшему сроку страхования.

Источник: https://www.vedomosti.ru/finance/articles/2018/03/12/753272-fitch-ozhidaet-uzhestocheniya

Фото с сайта https://proins.ru

 

Поделиться
читайте также
Что нужно знать о новых полисах от коронавируса
Что нужно знать о новых полисах от коронавируса

Больше месяца Нур-Султан и Алматы (два города с...

Миллионеры из Сингапура и Гонконга передают страховку в наследство
Миллионеры из Сингапура и Гонконга передают страховку в наследство

По мнению миллионеров из Сингапура и Гонконга,...

Самые интересные материалы сайта у тебя на почте! Подпишись на рассылку.

ЗАДАТЬ ВОПРОС ЭКСПЕРТУ
ЗАДАТЬ ВОПРОС ЭКСПЕРТУ
Оставить заявку