bs-preloader__icon
ru kz en

Inflation: why prices are rising and who can control them

Inflation is a steady increase in the general level of prices for goods and services. Some goods can quickly and significantly rise in price, others – get cheaper, and thirds - do not change in price at all.
Inflation: why prices are rising and who can control them

Inflation is measured in Kazakhstan the same way as in most countries worldwide. They take a so-called consumer basket - a set of products, goods and services that an average person or family regularly buys. It includes about 500 goods and services, for example, food, clothing, utilities, household appliances, and cars. The cost of consumer basket varies from month to month or from week to week. This change is inflation.

Inflation is always about rising prices. When inflation is low, prices rise very slowly, but still rise, however. When they say that inflation is declining, it means that the conditional basket of goods and services is getting more expensive more slowly than in previous years.

High inflation is always bad: for the economy, for business, for financial markets, and, for the people, obviously. People make the expected financial decisions: get rid of money, spend it as soon as possible, investing in valuable goods, real estate, buying foreign, "hard" currency. It becomes unprofitable to make savings, open deposits, bank customers withdraw money from their accounts.

The best economic scenario is stable low inflation, in which the purchasing power of money is preserved. It will help planning budgets for a long term, save, invest, and launch new business projects. The ability to build long-term plans is the key to economic development.

Global inflation is slowing down, and it is still growing in Kazakhstan

The global inflation began to slow down in 2022, and its speed decreased in 30 countries of the world. The strongest slowdown was noted in Venezuela - from 686% to 234%, nevertheless remaining the highest in the world. In Sudan, inflation began to grow more slowly by 230%, and in Lebanon - by 102%.

Inflation in Kazakhstan was 20.7% in January 2023 compared to January 2022. It rose by 1.1% over the month. Food prices rose the most – by 25.7% year-on-year. For comparison, in December 2022, inflation was 20.3% compared to December 2021, while on a monthly basis, inflation was at the level of 1.2%.

Why are prices rising?

• The demand is growing. Sometimes people start buying more of certain products. For example, drugs during a pandemic were bought not only for patients but also for the prevention of viral infections, and simply, “just in case”.

• The supply is shrinking. If the price of a product is controlled by the government, it becomes unprofitable to produce it after a while, despite the growth in demand. Selling cheap goods is also, often, unprofitable: the cost of employees, storage, display is higher, and the turnover is small. And production is shrinking. A shortage can also arise for another reason - if demand remains the same, but there are fewer goods and services, because, for example, a factory for the production of socks and tights has closed.

• The national currency is weakening. If foreign exchange rates rise, imported goods automatically become more expensive.

• High inflation expectations. When people and companies expect prices to rise sharply, they often begin to change their consumer behavior: they stock up and save less. After all, it is more logical to buy cheaper today than overpay tomorrow. The companies, in their turn, are beginning not to expand production but raise prices for their products.

Who can keep inflation in check?

Inflation can be kept at bay only by the joint efforts of producers, trade, government and buyers.

The government cannot set prices on its own. The government singles out a group of socially important goods to regulate prices. This group in Kazakhstan includes 19 following products: flour, bread, pasta, eggs, buckwheat, rice, sugar, sunflower and butter, beef and chicken, milk, kefir, cottage cheese, potatoes, carrots, onions, cabbage and salt. The government supports their producers: it compensates, for example, part of the costs for the production and sale of so-called “social” bread and allocates money from the national and local budgets. The enterprises can also receive preferential short-term loans and investment loans.

Source: https://prodengi.kz/post/inflyaciya-pocemu-rastut-ceny-i-kto-mozet-ix-sderzat

Photos are from open sources.

Share
read also
The rates for accident insurance for 2019 are being set in Russia
The rates for accident insurance for 2019 are being set in Russia

Next week, the State Duma in its first reading is planning to consider a bill establi...

What are the most common diseases Kazakhstani people suffered from in 2018?
What are the most common diseases Kazakhstani people suffered from in 2018?

Chicken pox has become a leader in the number of registered cases, according to kursi...

Deficit of balance of payments of Kazakhstan amounted to $6.3 billion, according to the National Bank
Deficit of balance of payments of Kazakhstan amounted to $6.3 billion, according to the National Bank

The current account of the balance of payments formed a $6.3 billion deficit, compare...

The most interesting materials of the site you have in the mail! Subscribe to the newsletter.

ASK A QUESTION TO THE EXPERT
ASK A QUESTION TO THE EXPERT
Submit your application

bs-preloader__icon
ru kz en

Инфляция: почему растут цены, и кто может их сдержать

Инфляция, это - устойчивый рост общего уровня цен на товары и услуги. Причем, некоторые товары могут быстро и ощутимо дорожать, другие – немного дешеветь, а третьи - вообще не меняться в цене.
Инфляция: почему растут цены, и кто может их сдержать

В Казахстане инфляцию измеряют так же, как и в большинстве стран мира. Берут, так называемую, потребительскую корзину - набор продуктов, товаров и услуг, которые регулярно покупает среднестатистический человек или семья. В ней учитывается около 500 товаров и услуг - например, продукты, одежда, коммунальные услуги, бытовая техника, автомобили. Стоимость потребительской корзины меняется от месяца к месяцу или от недели к неделе. Это изменение и есть инфляция.

Инфляция, это - всегда рост цен. При низкой инфляции цены растут очень медленно, но все же растут. Когда говорят, что инфляция снижается, то значит, что условная корзина товаров и услуг дорожает медленнее, чем в прошлые годы.

Высокая инфляция, это - всегда плохо: для экономики, для бизнеса, для финансовых рынков, и, конечно, для жителей страны. Люди принимают ожидаемые финансовые решения: избавляются от денег, тратят их как можно скорее, вкладывая в ценные товары, недвижимость, покупают иностранную, «твердую» валюту. Становится невыгодно делать сбережения, открывать вклады, клиенты банков снимают деньги со счетов.

Лучший сценарий для экономики - стабильная невысокая инфляция, при которой покупательная способность денег сохраняется. Она позволит планировать бюджеты на долгий срок, копить, инвестировать, запускать новые бизнес-проекты. Возможность строить долгосрочные планы - залог развития экономики.

Глобальная инфляция замедляется, а в Казахстане она еще растет

В 2022 году глобальная инфляция стала замедляться и ее скорость снизилась в 30 странах мира. Самое сильное замедление отмечено в Венесуэле - с 686% до 234%, оставшись, тем не менее, самой высокой в мире. В Судане инфляция стала расти медленнее на 230%, а в Ливане - на 102%.

Инфляция в Казахстане в январе 2023 года составила 20,7% по сравнению с январем 2022 года. За месяц она выросла на 1,1%. Больше всего подорожали продовольственные товары – на 25,7% год к году. Для сравнения, в декабре 2022 года инфляция составила 20,3% по сравнению с декабрем 2021 года, при этом в месячном выражении инфляция сложилась на уровне 1,2%.

Почему растут цены?

•             Растет спрос. Случается, что люди вдруг начинают покупать больше определенных товаров. Например, лекарства, в период пандемии, покупали не только для больных, но и для профилактики вирусных инфекций, и просто, «на всякий случай».

•             Сокращается предложение. Если цены на какой-то товар сдерживаются правительством, то через некоторое время его производить становится невыгодно, несмотря на рост спроса. Продавать дешевый товар также, часто, невыгодно: затрат на работников, хранение, выкладку больше, а обороты небольшие. И производство сокращается. Дефицит может возникнуть и по другой причине - если спрос остается тем же, но товаров и услуг становится меньше, потому что, например, закрылась фабрика по производству носков и колготок.

•             Ослабляется национальная валюта. Если курсы иностранных валют растут, то импортные товары автоматически дорожают.

•             Высокие инфляционные ожидания. Когда люди и компании ждут, что цены будут сильно расти, они зачастую начинают менять свое потребительское поведение: покупают товары впрок и меньше сберегают. Ведь логичнее купить сегодня дешевле, чем переплачивать завтра. Компании, со своей стороны, начинают не расширять производство, а повышать цены на свою продукцию.

Кто может сдержать инфляцию

Сдержать инфляцию можно только общими усилиями производителей, торговли, правительства и покупателей.

Правительство не может самостоятельно устанавливать цены. Для сдерживания цен правительство выделяет группу социально-значимых товаров. В их перечень в Казахстане входят 19 товаров: мука, хлеб, рожки, яйца, гречка, рис, сахар, подсолнечное и сливочное масло, говядина и курица, молоко, кефир, творог, картофель, морковь, лук, капуста и соль. Правительство оказывает поддержку их производителям: компенсирует, например, часть затрат на производство и реализацию так называемого «социального» хлеба, выделяет из республиканского и местных бюджетов деньги.  Также, предприятия могут получить льготные краткосрочные кредиты и инвестиционные кредиты.

Источник: https://prodengi.kz/post/inflyaciya-pocemu-rastut-ceny-i-kto-mozet-ix-sderzat

Фото из открытых источников

Поделиться
читайте также
Freedom Finance Life разработала туристическую страховка с защитой от COVID-19
Freedom Finance Life разработала туристическую страховка с защитой от COVID-19

Freedom Finance Life запустила новый продукт - туристич...

Цифровые технологии в страховании – как преодолеть торможение
Цифровые технологии в страховании – как преодолеть торможение

Что мешает цифровизации страхования жизни и р...

Неоправданный юношеский оптимизм 35-летних
Неоправданный юношеский оптимизм 35-летних

Современное поколение 35-летних уже на 25% бедне...

Самые интересные материалы сайта у тебя на почте! Подпишись на рассылку.

ЗАДАТЬ ВОПРОС ЭКСПЕРТУ
ЗАДАТЬ ВОПРОС ЭКСПЕРТУ
Оставить заявку