bs-preloader__icon
ru kz en

Unexpected cause of death among young people revealed

In Western countries, more and more patients with stomach and intestinal cancer are under 50 years of age. This serious disease is most often detected in late stages. Scientists blame bad habits, fast food, and the environment. The RIA Novosti material says who is at risk.
Unexpected cause of death among young people revealed

Malignant tumors are usually diagnosed in the older generation. This also applies to gastrointestinal cancer. However, in recent years, a dangerous trend has emerged - the age of patients is decreasing.

Rebecca Siegel, scientific director at the American Cancer Society, drew attention to this in 2008. At that time, many believed that the anomaly was associated with improved diagnosis and detection in the early stages. However, along with that, mortality rates among people under 50 years of age also increased.

In 2019, European scientists published the results of a large-scale study: they had analyzed data from almost 150 million people aged 20-49 years from 20 countries for 1990-2016.

According to the new report by American scientists, colorectal cancer has moved from fourth to first place among cancer causes of death in men and to second in women under 50 years of age.

The reasons for the surge in gastrointestinal tumors are unclear. It cannot be attributed to heredity only. In about ten percent of cases, bowel cancer is caused by genetics, while in the rest it occurs spontaneously.

This is partly due to the spread of certain risk factors among young people, such as obesity, the specialist says. Screening programs also influenced the statistics; cancer began to be detected more often at earlier stages.

Heritability is also important, therefore it is worth going to the doctor in advance if the same type of cancer has been diagnosed in several close relatives, and there are rare, atypical cancers that develop at a young age in the family.

Source: https://ria.ru/20240322/rak-1934753244.html

Photos are from open sources.

Share
read also
Research: Indian working women are increasingly buying life insurance
Research: Indian working women are increasingly buying life insurance

Life Insurance Company Max Life Insurance Company conducted a sociological survey. Ac...

6% of Kazakhstani citizen are worried they will starve
6% of Kazakhstani citizen are worried they will starve

According to results of the “Living Standards” survey, conducted annually by the ...

What is life insurance?
What is life insurance?

Life insurance is approximately the same in all countries and usually implies a regul...

The most interesting materials of the site you have in the mail! Subscribe to the newsletter.

ASK A QUESTION TO THE EXPERT
ASK A QUESTION TO THE EXPERT
Submit your application

bs-preloader__icon
ru kz en

Раскрыта неожиданная причина смерти среди молодых людей

В западных странах все больше пациентов с раком желудка и кишечника младше 50 лет. Это тяжелое заболевание чаще всего выявляют на поздних стадиях. Ученые винят вредные привычки, фастфуд, экологию. Кто в группе риска — в материале РИА Новости.
Раскрыта неожиданная причина смерти среди молодых людей

Злокачественные опухоли обычно диагностируют у старшего поколения. Это касается и рака желудочно-кишечного тракта. Однако в последние годы наметился опасный тренд — возраст пациентов снижается.

В 2008-м на это обратила внимание Ребекка Сигель, научный руководитель в Американском онкологическом обществе. Тогда многие считали, что аномалия связана с улучшением диагностики и выявляемости на ранних стадиях. Однако одновременно росла и смертность у людей моложе 50 лет.

В 2019-м европейские ученые опубликовали результаты масштабного исследования: проанализировали данные почти 150 миллионов человек в возрасте 20-49 лет из 20 стран за 1990-2016 годы.

Новый отчет американских ученых показал, что колоректальный рак вышел с четвертого на первое место среди онкологических причин смерти у мужчин и на второе — у женщин моложе 50 лет.

Причины всплеска опухолей желудочно-кишечного тракта неясны. Списать на наследственность не получается. Примерно в десяти процентах случаев рак кишечника вызван генетикой, у остальных возникает спонтанно.

Отчасти это объясняется распространением некоторых факторов риска среди молодых, например ожирения, говорит специалист. На статистику повлияли и программы скрининга — онкологические заболевания стали выявлять чаще на более ранних стадиях.

Также важна наследственность, поэтому стоит заранее сходить к врачу, если один и тот же вид рака диагностировали у нескольких близких родственников, а в семье встречаются редкие, нетипичные онкологические заболевания, развивающиеся в молодом возрасте.

Источник: https://ria.ru/20240322/rak-1934753244.html

Фото из открытых источников

Поделиться
читайте также

Самые интересные материалы сайта у тебя на почте! Подпишись на рассылку.

ЗАДАТЬ ВОПРОС ЭКСПЕРТУ
ЗАДАТЬ ВОПРОС ЭКСПЕРТУ
Оставить заявку