bs-preloader__icon
ru kz en

Climate change risks and regulation of the US insurance industry

In the US, the regulatory goals of the insurance industry are well developed and can vary significantly depending on social and economic priorities. US companies should consider climate change like any other threat to business, according to NatLawReview.com.
Climate change risks and regulation of the US insurance industry

The global insurance industry's ability to manage public risk is threatened by climate change. According to experts, more frequent extreme weather events lead to uninsured losses and make some assets uninsurable.

The analysis by a coalition of the world's largest insurers concluded that the “security hole”, the difference between disaster losses and insured premiums, has quadrupled to $100 billion a year since the 1980s.

“Every insurer should take a proportionate approach that reflects its exposure to the financial risks of climate change, and the nature, scale and complexity of its business. DFS understands that climate change affects each insurer in different ways and to varying degrees depending on size, complexity, geographic distribution, business lines, investment strategies and other factors. DFS realizes that insurers do not have the same level of resources to manage these risks and are at different stages of development,” says the DFS article.

Source: https://www.natlawreview.com/article/climate-change-risks-and-us-insurance-industry-regulation

Photos are from open sources.

Share
read also
Cheerful Year Beginning
Cheerful Year Beginning

The LICs in terms of premiums continued to grow in January, 2020....

Kazakhstani infected with coronavirus received insurance payment
Kazakhstani infected with coronavirus received insurance payment

The first insurance payout in Kazakhstan in the amount of 500,000 tenge was made by t...

UK Life Insurance Sector Rating Downgraded to Negative
UK Life Insurance Sector Rating Downgraded to Negative

The international rating agency Fitch Ratings revised the forecast for the UK life in...

The most interesting materials of the site you have in the mail! Subscribe to the newsletter.

ASK A QUESTION TO THE EXPERT
ASK A QUESTION TO THE EXPERT
Submit your application

bs-preloader__icon
ru kz en

Риски изменения климата и регулирование страховой отрасли США

В США цели регулирования страховой отрасли развиты и могут существенно изменяться в зависимости от социальных и экономических приоритетов американские компании должны рассматривать изменение климата, как и любую другую угрозу для бизнеса, сообщает NatLawReview.com.
Риски изменения климата и регулирование страховой отрасли США

Способность мировой страховой отрасли управлять рисками общества находится под угрозой из-за изменения климата. Эксперты отмечают, что более частые экстремальные погодные явления приводят к незастрахованным убыткам и делают некоторые активы не подлежащими страхованию.

В анализе, сделанном коалицией крупнейших страховщиков в мире, сделан вывод о том, что «брешь в защите» - разница между убытками от стихийных бедствий и страховой суммой - выросла в четыре раза до $100 млрд в год начиная с 1980-х годов.

«Каждый страховщик должен использовать пропорциональный подход, который отражает его подверженность финансовым рискам, связанным с изменением климата, а также характер, масштаб и сложность его бизнеса.  DFS понимает, что изменение климата влияет на каждого страховщика по-разному и в разной степени в зависимости от размера, сложности, географического распределения, бизнес-направлений, инвестиционных стратегий и других факторов. DFS понимает, что страховщики не имеют одинакового уровня ресурсов для управления этими рисками и находятся на разных этапах развития», - говорится в статье DFS.

Источник: https://www.natlawreview.com/article/climate-change-risks-and-us-insurance-industry-regulation

Фото из открытых источников

Поделиться
читайте также
Даже в пандемию страховщики зарабатывают деньги для своих клиентов
Даже в пандемию страховщики зарабатывают деньги для своих клиентов

На фоне нестабильности на международных рынка...

Страховщики ЕС призывают регулятора упростить правила
Страховщики ЕС призывают регулятора упростить правила

Страховые правила ЕС должны способствовать ин...

Самые интересные материалы сайта у тебя на почте! Подпишись на рассылку.

ЗАДАТЬ ВОПРОС ЭКСПЕРТУ
ЗАДАТЬ ВОПРОС ЭКСПЕРТУ
Оставить заявку