bs-preloader__icon
ru kz en

What is happiness and how to achieve it?

In the fall of 2020, we are wondering what affects our mood and how to cheer up in the long run. RBC Style approached the author of several books on happiness Yuri Vagin, to talk about how people interpreted happiness at different times, and to advise on how to achieve it in our time.
What is happiness and how to achieve it?

Yuri Vagin,

a psychotherapist with over 30 years of experience, candidate of medical sciences, director of a psychological center, author of popular books

Happiness is a general satisfaction and chronic enjoyment with life. There are two main components in this definition: overall satisfaction and its duration.

General satisfaction does not imply that a person has absolutely everything that life can provide, but he has something important that is necessary for happiness. Happiness is a permanent condition (happy childhood, happy old age, happy life), not a short-term reaction, which we would rather call joy.

Let us discuss how contemporary academics have managed to prove that we can and should be happy throughout our lives, and what two conditions must be met for this.

A short while ago, we surveyed high school students for their general happiness, life satisfaction and the absence of bad suicidal thoughts and suicidal behavior. In particular, it was studied how well schoolchildren were able to achieve and take (in a good sense) from life what they need, and how well they were able to refuse what they did not need. They agreed or disagreed with such statements as “if something is not clear to me in class, it is easy for me to ask the teacher again”, “if I am bored at a party, I can get up and go home”, “I tolerate people who are unpleasant to me for too long”, “it is difficult for me to deny a person’s request” and so on. As a result, two "small groups" were formed: those who knew how to do it well (about 15%), we conventionally called them "impudent", and those who could neither achieve what they wanted, nor refuse what they did not want (about 85%), and we conditionally called them "modest".

Then, with the help of psychological tests, we looked at how general life satisfaction, anxiety, depression and suicidal thoughts are related to the groups of "impudent" and "modest". Guess which group of children felt happy, satisfied with life, did not experience anxiety, depression, had plans for the future, wanted to study, have a family, earn money and live fully? That's right: "impudent". “Modest people” did not see any meaning in life, life was straining them, made them upset, disturbed, tired; they did not want to have a family, children and were afraid of people. We laughed that it was proved by means of experiment that effrontery is not the second but the first happiness (in the best sense of the word).

Widely known psychological studies show that at the end of their lives many people are sorry they have spent too little time with loved ones, traveled too little, that this has not been enough for them to be happy. But once I came across the work of Russian psychologists, according to whom, these conclusions were not entirely applicable to Russian reality. At the end of their lives, many Russians do not regret about traveling little with their loved ones, but about what they have to endure too much, wait too long to be understood, appreciated, and thanked.

The topic of "toxic" relationships has become very relevant recently. It is hard to be happy without loved ones. But in order to build long and happy relationships with loved ones, you must follow two rules that we have already discussed above: you should choose those people who do not poison your life, and clam up those who poison it.

Source: https://style.rbc.ru/health/5f93197f9a7947006e61c562

Photos are from open sources.

Share
read also
How to choose a life insurance policy: detailed guide
How to choose a life insurance policy: detailed guide

The coronavirus has spurred demand for life insurance. Fearing for themselves and the...

How much water one should drink per day
How much water one should drink per day

Rospotrebnadzor recommends drinking the amount of water equal to two to four percent ...

LIC Halyk Life collected 59.4 billion tenge of premiums for six months
LIC Halyk Life collected 59.4 billion tenge of premiums for six months

The volume of insurance premiums of LIC Halyk Life in 6 months of 2021 amounted to 59...

The most interesting materials of the site you have in the mail! Subscribe to the newsletter.

ASK A QUESTION TO THE EXPERT
ASK A QUESTION TO THE EXPERT
Submit your application

bs-preloader__icon
ru kz en

Что такое счастье и как его достичь

Осенью 2020 мы все чаще задаемся вопросами о том, что влияет на наше настроение и как его поднять в продолжительной перспективе. «РБК Стиль» обратился к автору нескольких книг о счастье Юрию Вагину, чтобы он рассказал о том, как люди в разное время трактовали счастье, и дал несколько советов о том, как его достичь в наше время.
Что такое счастье и как его достичь

Юрий Вагин,

врач‑психотерапевт со стажем работы более 30 лет, кандидат медицинских наук, директор психологического центра, автор популярных книг

Счастье ― это общая удовлетворенность жизнью и получение от нее хронического удовольствия. В этом определении два главных компонента: общая удовлетворенность и его длительность.

Общая удовлетворенность не предполагает, что у человека есть абсолютно все, что может предоставить жизнь, но у него есть что-то главное, что нужно для счастья. И счастье ― это длительное состояние (счастливое детство, счастливая старость, счастливая жизнь), а не кратковременная реакция, которую мы скорее назовем радостью.

Давайте обсудим, каким образом современным ученым удалось доказать, что все мы можем и должны быть счастливы всю жизнь, и какие два условия нужно для этого выполнять.

Некоторое время тому назад мы обследовали школьников старших классов на предмет их общей «счастливости», удовлетворенности жизнью и отсутствия нехороших суицидальных мыслей и суицидального поведения. В том числе изучалось, насколько хорошо школьники умеют добиваться и брать (в хорошем смысле) от жизни то, что им нужно, и насколько хорошо они умеют отказываться от того, что им не нужно. Они соглашались или не соглашались с такими утверждениями, как «если мне что-то непонятно на уроке, мне несложно переспросить учителя еще раз», «если мне скучно в гостях, я могу встать и уйти домой», «я слишком долго терплю людей, которые мне неприятны», «мне трудно отказать человеку в просьбе» и тому подобные. В результате образовались две «кучки»: те, кто умел это делать хорошо (примерно 15%), мы условно назвали их «нахалами», и те, кто не умел ни добиваться того, что хотел, ни отказываться от того, что не хотел (примерно 85%), и мы условно назвал их «скромниками».

Дальше с помощью психологических тестов мы посмотрели, как связана общая удовлетворенность жизнью, тревожность, депрессивность и суицидальные мысли с группами «нахалов» и «скромников». Угадайте с одного раза, какая группа детей чувствовала себя счастливой, удовлетворенной жизнью, не испытывала тревоги, депрессии, имела планы на будущее, хотела учиться, завести семью, зарабатывать деньги и жить полной грудью? Правильно: «нахалы». «Скромники» не видели в жизни смысла, жизнь их напрягала, расстраивала, тревожила, утомляла, они не хотели иметь семью, заводить детей и боялись людей. Мы смеялись, что экспериментальным путем удалось доказать, что наглость — это не второе счастье. Наглость (в хорошем смысле этого слова) — это первое счастье.

Широко известны психологические исследования, которые показали, что в конце жизни многие люди переживают, потому что они слишком мало были с близкими людьми, слишком мало путешествовали, что именно этого им не хватило для счастья. Но однажды мне попалась работа российских психологов, которые пишут, что эти выводы не совсем применимы к российской действительности. Многие россияне в конце жизни переживают не о том, что мало путешествовали с близкими людьми, а о том, что слишком много терпели, слишком долго ждали, что их поймут, оценят, отблагодарят.

В последнее время очень актуальной стала тема «токсичных» отношений. Сложно стать счастливым без близких людей. Но чтобы хорошо, долго и счастливо выстраивать отношения с близкими людьми, вы должны придерживаться тех самых двух правил, которые мы уже разобрали выше: вы должны уметь выбирать тех людей, которые не отравляют вашу жизнь, и отказываться от общения с теми людьми, которые ее отравляют.

Источник: https://style.rbc.ru/health/5f93197f9a7947006e61c562

Фото из открытых источников

Поделиться
читайте также
Финансовые решения 2020 года
Финансовые решения 2020 года

Каждый Новый год мы даем себе обещания на след...

Самые интересные материалы сайта у тебя на почте! Подпишись на рассылку.

ЗАДАТЬ ВОПРОС ЭКСПЕРТУ
ЗАДАТЬ ВОПРОС ЭКСПЕРТУ
Оставить заявку