bs-preloader__icon
ru kz en

How does Australian pension system work?

While pension systems around the world are going through hard times, Australia's PS is showing stability, Bloomberg writes. From the point of view of the retirees’ financial security, this system took third place in the world (the Netherlands and Denmark are leaders in the ranking). Experts predict Australian PS to increase from $3 trillion to $5.4 trillion in 10 years.
How does Australian pension system work?

There are three components of the Australian pension system. The first, a government component, consists of a tax-funded pension that provides the basis for allowance. The second component is a foundation of the Australian pension system that consists of an individual funded pension granted for seniority. The third component includes pension funds and insurance companies.  

First level 

Employment history and place of work do not matter; state pension is paid even to those who have never worked in their life. The payment amount depends on marital status, number of dependent children, annual income amount and availability of own property.  

Second level 

Employers are required to pay 9% of the employee’s salary to a private pension fund or insurance company, provided that the employee is over 18 years old and works more than 30 hours a week. Australian Government is currently considering raising compulsory contributions to 12% as of 2025. 

Third level 

The state stimulates voluntary deductions of Australians. 

Analysts believe that the second level of the Australian PS is not systematized. When changing jobs, people often forget to transfer money to the new employer fund. According to the Australian regulator, 10 billion duplicate accounts have been currently identified, on which $2.6 billion is accumulated annually. In the nearest future, the authorities will consolidate these funds with the owners’ accounts.  

The changes in regulation of pension funds are also expected. Experts believe small inefficient funds should be combined. 

Photos are from open sources.  

Share
read also
Save up so you can pay your way out from the government, why is it good?
Save up so you can pay your way out from the government, why is it good?

Due to pension and tax reforms, the freezing of pension savings and previous experien...

The average life expectancy in Kazakhstan is 72.9 years
The average life expectancy in Kazakhstan is 72.9 years

Such data was voiced by Zaure Akhmetova, the Deputy Director of the Public Health Pol...

There is an increase in life expectancy in Kazakhstan
There is an increase in life expectancy in Kazakhstan

According to data as of 2017, the average life expectancy from birth is almost 73 yea...

The most interesting materials of the site you have in the mail! Subscribe to the newsletter.

ASK A QUESTION TO THE EXPERT
ASK A QUESTION TO THE EXPERT
Submit your application

bs-preloader__icon
ru kz en

Как работает пенсионная система Австралии

В то время как пенсионные системы во всем мире переживают не лучшие времена, ПС Австралии демонстрирует стабильность, пишет Bloomberg. С точки зрения финансовой безопасности пенсионеров, эта система заняла третье место в мире (Нидерланды и Дания лидируют в рейтинге). Эксперты прогнозируют, что ПС Австралии за 10 лет увеличится с $3 трлн до $5,4 трлн.
Как работает пенсионная система Австралии

В Австралии существует три компонента пенсионной системы. Первый, государственный компонент, состоит из пенсии, финансируемой налогами, которые обеспечивает основу пособия. Вторым компонентом является основа австралийской пенсионной системы, состоящая из индивидуальной накопительной пенсии, назначаемой за выслугу лет. Третий компонент включает в себя пенсионные фонды и страховые компании.

Первый уровень

Стаж и место работы не имеют значения – государственную пенсию выплачивают даже тем, кто никогда в своей жизни не работал. Размер выплаты зависит от семейного положения, количества детей на иждивении, величины годового дохода и наличия имущества в собственности.

Второй уровень

Работодатели обязаны отчислять 9% зарплаты работника в частный пенсионный фонд или страховую компанию при условии, что сотрудник старше 18 лет и работает более 30 часов в неделю. В настоящее время правительство Австралии рассматривает возможность о повышении обязательных взносов до 12% с 2025 года.

Третий уровень

Государство стимулирует добровольные отчисления австралийцев.

Аналитики полагают, что второй уровень австралийской ПС не систематизирован. Люди меняя работу, часто забывают перевести деньги в фонд нового работодателя. Как заявил регулятор Австралии, в настоящее время выявлено 10 млрд дублирующих счетов, на которых ежегодно накапливается 2,6 млрд долларов СЩА.  В ближайшее время власти проведут консолидацию этих средств со счетами владельцев.

Ожидаются изменения и в регулировании пенсионных фондов. Эксперты полагают, что маленькие неэффективные фонды должны объединяться.

Источник: https://www.bloomberg.com/news/articles/2020-03-06/why-australia-s-pension-system-isn-t-super-enough-quicktake

 Фото из открытых источников      

 

Поделиться
читайте также

Самые интересные материалы сайта у тебя на почте! Подпишись на рассылку.

ЗАДАТЬ ВОПРОС ЭКСПЕРТУ
ЗАДАТЬ ВОПРОС ЭКСПЕРТУ
Оставить заявку