bs-preloader__icon
ru kz en

Europeans will have to work more than 36 years before retirement

The European Statistical Agency (Eurostat) calculated how long it takes for Europeans to work before retirement. The experts used a teenager as a basis; he turned 15 years old in 2018. He will have to work 36.2 years on average, writes Gazeta.Ru.
Europeans will have to work more than 36 years before retirement

The index grew by four months in comparison with the year before last, and by three years if compared with early 2000s.

“In practice, men work longer than women. If the stronger sex has to work for about 38.6 years throughout their lives, then for women this figure is 33.7 years,” the statistic review notes.

The largest gender gap is observed in Norway, where the difference reaches 10 years. There are countries in which job seniority is the same for both sexes. Men and women spend on average 36.7 years of their lives for work in Latvia and Lithuania.

People in Sweden, most of all in Europe, work regardless of gender for 41.9 years. The Swedes are followed by the Norwegians: their total work experience exceeds 40.5 years. Denmark closes the top three; people retire there after 39.9 years.

A high level of workload is a national feature of the Scandinavian countries, notes Keith Boyfield, a senior research associate at the London Centre for Policy Studies. According to him, the highest level of retirement is observed in these countries.

“In Norway, men retire at 67 and women at 64. All residents of Denmark retire only at the age of 65. Local people start working at the age of 16-17. Working from youth to old age is a standard practice for citizens of Scandinavia,” the source of Gazeta.Ru explains.

Despite the fact that the most industrious Europeans live in Scandinavian countries, the government is thinking about the retirement age raise, the expert adds. For instance, the Danish authorities plan to increase this figure to 72 years by 2035. Those, who have the right to early retirement, will begin to go on a well-deserved rest later as well. If the military and employees of hazardous industries retire now at 60, in the future they will be able to stop working only upon reaching the age of 66.

The situation in Norway is similar, the government intends the retirement age raise for women to 67 years by 2030; however, the increase will not affect men.

“Thus, the authorities are trying to solve the problem with life expectancy increase and the demographic tendency of an aging population. Denmark occupies the 190th place in the world in birth rate. Therefore, an overwhelming working efficiency of Scandinavian people is also explained with the fact that there is often no one to work there,” says Keith Boyfield. 

Traditionally, the representatives of the Mediterranean states work less than others, the European Statistical Agency concerns. For example, Italians work about 31.8 years on average. Also among the least able-bodied Europeans are Croats (32.4 years) and Greeks (32.9 years).

Despite the debt crisis, the Greeks work even less in recent years, according to Eurostat. The residents gave their employers 34.8 years of their lives in 2010 and about 33.5 years in 2015.

“Most able-bodied Greeks have already left for work in more affluent EU countries, for example, Germany. As a result, a more aged population stayed in the country, which influenced the total length of employment,” explained Boyfield.

However, a low working capacity in Italy, the leader of the list, is due to high unemployment, the expert argues. Over the past six months of the year the unemployment rate rose to 10.6%, according to the Italian Bureau of Statistics ISTAT.

And most often, young graduates cannot find work. More than 40% of young people from 18 to 25 years of age have no permanent income. According to Anna, who moved to Venice last year, it was quite difficult to get a job without a good recommendation.

Eurostat statistics also provide data on several countries that are not members of the European Union. In particular, a 15-year-old resident of Turkey can count on working life lasting only 29.4 years, and the Icelander will work 46.3 years, almost 17 years longer.

Source: https://www.gazeta.ru/business/2019/11/25/12831500.shtml

Photos are from open sources.

Share
read also
Life Insurance Comes to the Front - S&P
Life Insurance Comes to the Front - S&P

The main growth factor for Kazakhstani insurance market in future will be the growth ...

Investments in insurance technologies, “insuretech”, make $3 billion a year
Investments in insurance technologies, “insuretech”, make $3 billion a year

Though the world insurance market in general is currently estimated at $5 trillion. A...

Insurance agent cannot be replaced by AI
Insurance agent cannot be replaced by AI

The professions such as ticket collectors, cashiers, printing workers and bank branch...

The most interesting materials of the site you have in the mail! Subscribe to the newsletter.

ASK A QUESTION TO THE EXPERT
ASK A QUESTION TO THE EXPERT
Submit your application

bs-preloader__icon
ru kz en

До выхода на оплачиваемую пенсию европейцам придется работать более 36 лет

В Европейском статистическом агентстве (Eurostat) подсчитали, сколько европейцам необходимо трудиться до законного выхода на пенсию. За основу эксперты взяли тинейджера, которому в 2018 году исполнилось 15 лет. В среднем ему придется работать 36,2 года, пишет «Газета.Ru».
До выхода на оплачиваемую пенсию европейцам придется работать более 36 лет

По сравнению с позапрошлым годом показатель вырос на четыре месяца, а если сравнивать с началом 2000-х – то уже на три года.

«На практике мужчины работают дольше женщин. Если представители сильного пола на протяжении своей жизни работают около 38,6 года, то у женщин этот показатель составляет 33,7 года», — отмечается в обзоре статистов.

Самый большой разрыв по гендерному принципу наблюдается в Норвегии, где разница достигает 10 лет. Но есть и страны, в которых трудовой стаж одинаков для обоих полов. Так, в Латвии и Литве мужчины и женщины тратят на работу в среднем по 36,7 года своей жизни.

Больше всех в Европе независимо от пола трудятся жители Швеции, которые проводят на работе 41,9 года. Следом за шведами идут норвежцы: их общий трудовой стаж превышает 40,5 года. Замыкает тройку лидеров Дания, где выходят на пенсию спустя 39,9 года.

Высокий уровень загруженности является национальной чертой стран Скандинавии, отмечает старший научный сотрудник Лондонского центра политических исследований Киф Бойфилд. По его словам, именно в этих странах наблюдается один из самых высоких уровней выхода на пенсию.

«В Норвегии мужчины выходят на пенсию в 67 лет, а женщины — в 64 года. В Дании все жители выходят только в 65 лет. При этом местные начинают подрабатывать уже в 16-17 лет. Для граждан Скандинавии работать с юношества до глубокой старости — стандартная практика», — поясняет собеседник «Газеты.Ru».

Несмотря на то что в странах Скандинавии и так проживают самые трудолюбивые европейцы, правительство думает над повышением пенсионного возраста, добавляет эксперт. Например, в Дании власти планируют к 2035 году увеличить этот показатель до 72 лет. Причем позже начнут выходить на заслуженный отдых и те, кто имеет право на досрочную пенсию. Если сейчас военные и сотрудники вредных производств уходят на пенсию в 60 лет, то в будущем они смогут прекратить работать только по наступлению 66 лет.

В Норвегии аналогичная ситуация — правительство собирается к 2030 году повысить пенсионных возраст для женщин до 67 лет, а вот мужчин повышение не коснется.

«Таким образом власти пытаются решить проблему с ростом продолжительности жизни и демографической тенденцией старения населения. Например, та же Дания по рождаемости сейчас занимает 190 место в мире. Поэтому столь ошеломляющая работоспособность жителей Скандинавии связана и с тем, что там зачастую некому работать», — предполагает Киф Бойфилд.

Традиционно меньше других работают представители Средиземноморских государств, сетуют в Европейском статистическом агентстве. Например, в Италии, где местные в среднем трудятся около 31,8 года. Также в число наименее трудоспособных европейцев входят хорваты (32,4 года) и греки (32,9 года).

Причем греки за последние годы, несмотря на долговой кризис, работать стали даже меньше, свидетельствуют данные Eurostat. Если еще в 2010-м жители отдавали работодателю 34,8 года своей жизни, то в 2015 году — уже около 33,5 года.

«Большинство трудоспособных греков уже уехали на заработки в более зажиточные страны ЕС, например, в Германию. В итоге в стране осталось более возрастное население, что и повлияло на общий размер трудового стажа», — объясняет Бойфилд.

При этом в отношении лидера списка — Италии — низкая работоспособность, скорее всего, связана с высоким уровнем безработицы, рассуждает эксперт. За первые полгода текущего года уровень безработицы вырос до 10,6%, подсчитало итальянское бюро статистики ISTAT.

И чаще всего работу не могут найти молодые выпускники вузов. Без постоянного дохода остаются более 40% молодежи от 18 до 25 лет. По словам Анны, которая переехала в Венецию в прошлом году, без хорошей рекомендации устроиться на работу очень сложно.

В статистике Eurostat представлены также данные о нескольких странах, не входящих в Евросоюз. В частности, 15-летний житель Турции может рассчитывать на трудовую жизнь продолжительностью всего в 29,4 года, а исландец будет работать почти на 17 лет дольше — 46,3 года.

Источник: https://www.gazeta.ru/business/2019/11/25/12831500.shtml

Фото из открытых источников

Поделиться
читайте также
Накопительное страхование стало значительно привлекательнее
Накопительное страхование стало значительно привлекательнее

В конце прошлого года внесены изменения в Нало...

Возраст "второй жизни". Как в Японии решили пенсионный вопрос
Возраст "второй жизни". Как в Японии решили пенсионный вопрос

Япония давно ассоциируется со словом "самый" в ...

Что ждет рынок онлайн-страхования в 2019 году?
Что ждет рынок онлайн-страхования в 2019 году?

При всех плюсах онлайн-страхования потребуетс...

Самые интересные материалы сайта у тебя на почте! Подпишись на рассылку.

ЗАДАТЬ ВОПРОС ЭКСПЕРТУ
ЗАДАТЬ ВОПРОС ЭКСПЕРТУ
Оставить заявку