bs-preloader__icon
ru kz en

Proportion of US dollar deposits is declining

As of March 1 this year, retail deposits in Kazakhstani banks exceed 20 trillion tenge having increased by 20.7% over the year. Dynamic growth in household deposits is observed from year to year, which indicates the mood of Kazakhstanis for making savings and the growth of financial discipline. Retail deposits in STBs of the Republic of Kazakhstan have increased 2.4 times over five years, and almost 5 times - over a decade, writes Ranking.kz.
Proportion of US dollar deposits is declining

However, the share of foreign-currency deposits is decreasing from year to year; it is an active stage of de-dollarization of investments. Thus, at the end of February 2024, the share of household deposits in foreign currency formed 26.1%, while it was 32.7%a year earlier, 38.7% - in the same period in 2022, 42.4% - in 2020, 50.3% - in 2018, and 78.2% - in the same period of 2016.  

A shrinking share of foreign-currency deposits does not indicate a decrease in the popularity of USD or euro among the population; these are rather the results of de-dollarization of deposits pursued in the financial market. It was in 2016, when the share of deposits in foreign currency began to drop, that interest rates on such deposits began to fall at the legislative level. For many years the rate has not exceeded 1%.

Thus, the reduction in the share of foreign-currency deposits in STBs of the Republic of Kazakhstan is mainly due to forced unfavorable banking conditions. In this regard, USD depositors are looking for other ways to invest funds, since keeping savings, even foreign currency, “under the pillow” is not profitable.

Source: https://ranking.kz/about_project

Photos are from open sources.

Share
read also
Clients of Russian private banking are piling more into investment products
Clients of Russian private banking are piling more into investment products

Russian banks are actively expanding their private banking client base; last year, th...

Why insurance companies need to go online
Why insurance companies need to go online

Online settlement of insurance events will allow insurers to save several hundred mil...

Oksana Radchenko: “Life insurance companies could well become members of SEAS”
Oksana Radchenko: “Life insurance companies could well become members of SEAS”

Oksana Radchenko, the Board Chairman of JSC Halyk-Life, in an interview with our port...

The most interesting materials of the site you have in the mail! Subscribe to the newsletter.

ASK A QUESTION TO THE EXPERT
ASK A QUESTION TO THE EXPERT
Submit your application

bs-preloader__icon
ru kz en

Доля долларовых депозитов снижается

По состоянию на первое марта текущего года вклады населения Казахстана в банках страны перевалили за 20 трлн тенге, увеличившись за год на 20,7%. Динамичный рост вкладов населения наблюдается из года в год, что говорит о сберегательном настроении казахстанцев и росте финансовой дисциплины. За пять лет вклады населения в БВУ РК увеличились в 2,4 раза, а за десятилетие — почти в 5 раз, пишет Ranking.kz.
Доля долларовых депозитов снижается

При этом доля вкладов в иностранной валюте из года в год сокращается — идёт активная стадия дедолларизация вложений. Так, на конец февраля 2024 года доля вкладов населения в иностранной валюте составила 26,1%, при этом годом ранее доля составляла 32,7%, в аналогичном периоде 2022-го — 38,7%, 2020-го — 42,4%, 2018-го — 50,3%, а в том же периоде 2016 года — и вовсе 78,2%.

Сокращение доли вкладов в иностранной валюте не говорит о снижении популярности доллара или евро у населения — это скорее результаты проводимой на финансовом рынке политики дедолларизации вкладов. Именно с 2016 года, когда началось уменьшение доли вкладов в иностранной валюте, на законодательном уровне начали снижать ставки вознаграждения по таким депозитам. Уже много лет ставка не превышает 1%.

Таким образом, сокращение доли вкладов в иностранной валюте в БВУ РК связано в основном с вынужденно невыгодными банковскими условиями. В связи с этим долларовые вкладчики ищут другие способы вложения средств, так как хранить накопления, даже иностранную валюту, «под подушкой» не выгодно.

Источник: https://ranking.kz/about_project

Фото из открытых источников

Поделиться
читайте также
Как преодолеть неопределенность во время пандемии
Как преодолеть неопределенность во время пандемии

Пандемия вызвала беспокойство, депрессию и чу...

С чего начинается хорошая пенсия?
С чего начинается хорошая пенсия?

Поднятие уровня пенсионного возраста в России...

Как казахстанцы могут зарабатывать на страховке
Как казахстанцы могут зарабатывать на страховке

Unit-Linked сочетает в себе классическое накопител...

Самые интересные материалы сайта у тебя на почте! Подпишись на рассылку.

ЗАДАТЬ ВОПРОС ЭКСПЕРТУ
ЗАДАТЬ ВОПРОС ЭКСПЕРТУ
Оставить заявку