bs-preloader__icon
ru kz en

Unit-linked products are the new benchmark in the life insurance market

There is a crying need for an investment-accumulation profile product in the Russian insurance market that would complement the existing line of accumulative insurance products, serve as a basis for attracting long-term assets from the population, and also combine the flexibility of an investment instrument and long-term protective functions. The most promising option for development is the classic Unit-linked products, distributed all over the world, writes bosfera.ru expert Vladimir Chernikov.
Unit-linked products are the new benchmark in the life insurance market

According to some reports, India became the progenitor of Unit-linked products, where the Unit Linked Insurance Plan (ULIP) by Unit Trust of India was launched in 1971. There is an alternative point of view, according to which the first Unit-linked products appeared in the UK a few years earlier.

Whatever the case, now Unit-linked products are widely developed in the world, especially in European countries, where they are the main driver of the life insurance market. The average share of Unit-linked products ranges from 20 to 40% of total life insurance in European countries. Such policies combine features of an insurance and investment product. They are equity insurance giving ample opportunities for investment and savings and, importantly, providing tax preferences (profitability on such policies is not taxed). Unit-linked also provides the transfer assets by inheritance. This product is well suited for long-term investment of spare funds, from 10 years and more.

In this segment, there are policies with guaranteed returns (about 2-3% in USD), but in most cases, returns are not predetermined and depend on the situation on the stock market, as well as chosen strategy. The client either selects one of the tens or hundreds of investment funds in which the insurance company subsequently invests his money, or orders to buy and sell certain assets, similar to how he does it with a broker. The tool palette is stocks, bonds, foreign exchange market and mutual funds. When the price of assets falls, drawdowns are not ruled out.

Thus, the investment strategy in case with Unit-linked can be very flexible and completely depend on client’s wishes, says Vladimir Chernikov. According to him, ILI products in Russia do not yet provide such an opportunity: the client is offered a choice of one or another “boxed” solution that does not imply the possibility of client intervention in investment management.

Unit-Linked the Russian way: contribution life insurance

In short, writes Mr. Chernikov, the future lies in the deliberate consumption of multifunctional, investment and insurance instruments. He notes that the mega-regulator has recently talked about the need to create a legislative base in Russia for the emergence of shared life insurance products, which are very similar to Western Unit-linked products. However, before this plan is put into practice, obviously, time and adjustment of some legislative norms, including tax and insurance legislation, are needed. The emergence of Unit-linked (equity insurance) products on the Russian market would be very timely, this product would take its rightful place in the line of investment products, the expert emphasizes.

To his mind, in order to reach a whole new level of life insurance products, it makes sense to focus on the historical experience of the foreign market. It is important to bear in mind that the share of life insurance in the total insurance market in developed countries today is 50%, and in Russia - only 30%. The potential for development is enormous, writes Vladimir Chernikov.

Endowment has a palm of victory

He also noted a new trend in the insurance market of the Russian Federation: endowment has become the first in terms of growth rates. According to him, the volume of ILI showed a decrease by a quarter and the collected premiums for endowment increased by 49.6%. If at the end of 2018, endowment insurance fees amounted to 14%, and investment life insurance premiums - about 61% (in the total amount of life insurance premiums), then in the 1st Q 2019, investment life insurance have made only 48% of all premiums collected, and endowment insurance fees have risen to 19.2% of the market.

Endowment, in fact, resembles a “mortgage the other way round”.  Having signed a mortgage agreement with the bank, the client immediately receives a large amount, acquires real estate and over the course of several years returns this amount to the bank with interest. By concluding the endowment agreement with the insurance company, the client contributes a certain amount of money on annually basis for a long period (up to thirty years). At the end of the contract term, the amount of contributions plus a distinct additional investment income are formed on the account. Besides, the endowment policyholder is protected from various risks associated with life and health. The range of risks in universal life insurance can be very wide: it is death for any reason (including accident), disability, critical illness, injury, grievous bodily harm, the option of exemption from payment of fees and, of course, the risk of survival (when the client survives until the end of the policy); the whole amount with investment income is returned to him.

Insurance coverage of universal life insurance is much broader than in investment life insurance, the expert notes. Endowment is more aimed at providing a “comfortable future” for the client; it is a reliable saving tool. The policyholder makes regular contributions and by the end of the contract period receives a tangible amount, which he can use, for example, to pay for education, home improvement or another way to improve the quality of life (for instance, regular payments as a pension). Endowment is a potentially more massive product than ILI; it has a social orientation being designed to educate citizens by adopting a habit of saving spare funds for large acquisitions without loans.

An important feature of the universal life insurance, as well as investment life insurance, is that for the duration period of the contract the fund owner is not the client but the insurance company. This circumstance protects the money in the insurance policy from the division of property; it cannot be confiscated or arrested. All life insurance policies in Russia are also subject to a tax deduction of up to 120,000 rubles annually.

Along with universal life insurance, combined insurance products with a certain service component are gradually gaining popularity. They can contain, for example, telemedicine services, medical check-ups, etc. This is usually not the main “dish” for a client but a pleasant complimentary that increases loyalty to the insurance company. Such products, quite possibly, have a great future.

Source: https://bosfera.ru/bo/produkty-unit-linked-novyy-orientir-rynka-strahovaniya-zhizni

Photos are from open sources.

Share
read also
Insurance for women: no access to outsiders. Insurance companies abroad actively offer insurance for the weaker sex
Insurance for women: no access to outsiders. Insurance companies abroad actively offer insurance for the weaker sex

First of all they concern the fragile health of the female half of humanity, includin...

The French company will pay for the death of an employee who died from sex on a business trip
The French company will pay for the death of an employee who died from sex on a business trip

The French company will have to pay the family of an employee whose heart stopped dur...

At year-end 2017, Russia’s life insurance market maintained growth rates
At year-end 2017, Russia’s life insurance market maintained growth rates

It accounts for a third of total premiums. The remaining areas of insurance have shru...

The most interesting materials of the site you have in the mail! Subscribe to the newsletter.

ASK A QUESTION TO THE EXPERT
ASK A QUESTION TO THE EXPERT
Submit your application

bs-preloader__icon
ru kz en

Продукты Unit-linked — новый ориентир рынка страхования жизни

На страховом рынке России назрела потребность в продукте инвестиционно-накопительного профиля, который дополнил бы существующую линейку накопительных страховых продуктов, послужил базисом для привлечения долгосрочных активов со стороны населения, а также сочетал в себе гибкость инвестиционного инструмента и защитные функции на длительные сроки. Наиболее перспективный вариант для развития — это классические продукты Unit-linked, распространенные во всем мире, пишет эксперт bosfera.ru Владимир Черников.
Продукты Unit-linked — новый ориентир рынка страхования жизни

По некоторым данным, прародителем продуктов Unit-linked стала Индия, где в 1971 году была запущена страховая программа Unit Linked Insurance Plan (ULIP) компании Unit Trust of India. Есть и альтернативная точка зрения, согласно которой первые продукты Unit-linked появились в Великобритании несколькими годами раньше.

Как бы то ни было, сейчас продукты Unit-linked широко развиты в мире, особенно в европейских странах, где они являются основным драйвером рынка страхования жизни. В европейских странах средняя доля продуктов Unit-linked составляет от 20 до 40% общего объема страхования жизни. Такие полисы сочетают в себе черты страхового и инвестиционного продукта. Они представляют собой долевое страхование, при этом дают широкие возможности для инвестирования и сбережения и, что немаловажно, обеспечивают налоговые преференции (доходность по таким полисам не облагается налогом). В Unit-linked также заложена возможность передачи активов по наследству. Этот продукт хорошо подходит для вложения свободных средств на длительную перспективу — от 10 лет и более.

В данном сегменте встречаются полисы с гарантированной доходностью (около 2-3% в долларах), но в большинстве случаев доходность заранее не определена и зависит от ситуации на фондовом рынке, а также от характера выбранной стратегии. Клиент либо выбирает один из десятков или сотен инвестиционных фондов, в которые в дальнейшем вкладывает его деньги страховая компания, либо отдает распоряжения на покупку и продажу тех или иных активов, подобно тому, как он делает это у брокера. Палитра инструментов — акции, облигации, валютный рынок и взаимные фонды. Когда цена активов падает, не исключены просадки.

Таким образом, инвестиционная стратегия в случае с Unit-linked может быть очень гибкой и полностью зависеть от желаний клиента, отмечает Владимир Черников. По его словам, российские продукты ИСЖ пока не обеспечивают такой возможности: клиенту на выбор предлагается то или иное «коробочное» решение, не предполагающее возможности вмешательства клиента в управление инвестициями.

Unit-Linked по-русски: долевое страхование жизни 

Одним словом, пишет г-н Черников, будущее за осознанным потреблением многофункциональных, инвестиционно-страховых инструментов. Он отмечает, что в последнее время мегарегулятор заговорил о необходимости создания в РФ законодательной базы для появления продуктов долевого страхования жизни, которое очень напоминает западные продукты Unit-linked. Однако до претворения этого замысла в жизнь, очевидно, необходимы время и корректировка некоторых законодательных норм, в том числе налогового и страхового законодательства. Появление продуктов Unit-linked (долевого страхования) на российском рынке было бы сейчас очень своевременным, этот продукт занял бы достойное место в линейке инвестиционных продуктов, подчеркивает эксперт.

По его мнению, чтобы выйти на качественно новый уровень продуктов страхования жизни, имеет смысл уже сейчас ориентироваться на исторический опыт зарубежного рынка. При этом надо помнить, что доля страхования жизни в объеме всего страхового рынка в развитых странах составляет на сегодняшний день 50%, а в России — всего 30%. Простор для развития — огромный, пишет Владимир Черников.

"Пальма первенства" - у НСЖ

Он также отметил новый тренд на страховом рынке РФ: на первый план по темпам роста вышло накопительное страхование жизни. По его данным, в то время как объемы ИСЖ продемонстрировали снижение на четверть, собираемые премии по НСЖ возросли на 49,6%. Если по итогам 2018 года сборы по НСЖ составили 14%, а ИСЖ около 61% (в общем объеме премий по страхованию жизни), то в первом квартале этого года на ИСЖ пришлось уже только 48% всех собранных премий, а сборы по НСЖ выросли до 19,2% рынка.

НСЖ, по сути, напоминает «ипотеку наоборот». Подписав с банком договор ипотеки, клиент получает сразу большую сумму, приобретает недвижимость и на протяжении нескольких лет эту сумму возвращает банку с процентами. Заключив договор НСЖ со страховой компанией, клиент в течение длительного периода (до тридцати лет) ежегодно вносит определенную сумму денежных средств. В конце срока действия договора на счете образуется сумма взносов плюс ощутимый дополнительный инвестиционный доход. Параллельно владелец полиса НСЖ защищен от различных рисков, связанных с жизнью и здоровьем. Набор рисков в НСЖ может быть очень широкий: это уход из жизни по любой причине (в том числе из-за несчастного случая), потеря трудоспособности, критические заболевания, травмы, тяжкие телесные повреждения, опция освобождения от уплаты взносов и, конечно, риск дожития (когда клиент доживает до конца действия полиса) — ему возвращается вся сумма с инвестиционным доходом.

Страховая защита намного обширнее по НСЖ, чем по ИСЖ, отмечает эксперт. По своему духу накопительное страхование жизни больше нацелено на обеспечение «безбедного будущего» клиента — оно представляет собой надежный инструмент накоплений. Владелец полиса регулярно делает взносы и в конце срока получает ощутимую сумму, которую может направить, например, на оплату образования, улучшение жилищных условий или другой способ улучшения качества жизни (например, регулярные выплаты в качестве пенсии). НСЖ — продукт потенциально более массовый, чем ИСЖ, он имеет ярко выраженную социальную направленность, так как призван воспитать у граждан привычку откладывать свободные средства для крупных приобретений без использования кредитов.

Важной особенностью НСЖ, как, впрочем, и ИСЖ, является то, что собственником денежных средств на период действия договора является вовсе не клиент, а страховая компания. Это обстоятельство защищает деньги в страховом полисе от раздела имущества, их нельзя конфисковать, на них не распространяется арест имущества. Также на все полисы страхования жизни в России действует налоговый вычет в сумме до 120 000 рублей ежегодно.

Наряду с накопительным страхованием жизни постепенно набирают популярность комбинированные страховые продукты, имеющие некую сервисную составляющую. В них могут быть «упакованы», например, услуги телемедицины, медицинские чек-апы и пр. Для клиента это, как правило, не главное «блюдо», а приятная мелочь, которая повышает лояльность к страховой компании. За такими продуктами, вполне возможно, большое будущее.

Источник: https://bosfera.ru/bo/produkty-unit-linked-novyy-orientir-rynka-strahovaniya-zhizni

Фото из открытых источников. 

Поделиться
читайте также
Дорожная карта пенсионных накоплений
Дорожная карта пенсионных накоплений

По мнению экспертов, начинать откладывать на п...

«Мы  должны не только оградить компанию от финансовых потерь»
«Мы должны не только оградить компанию от финансовых потерь»

Стоимость страхового полиса в компаниях по ст...

Самые интересные материалы сайта у тебя на почте! Подпишись на рассылку.

ЗАДАТЬ ВОПРОС ЭКСПЕРТУ
ЗАДАТЬ ВОПРОС ЭКСПЕРТУ
Оставить заявку