bs-preloader__icon
ru kz en

Wills for a billion: how Unit linked can help transfer foreign assets to heirs

The transfer of foreign assets to the heirs will soon become an urgent issue for the first generation of wealthy Russians, Forbes Contributor reports.
Wills for a billion: how Unit linked can help transfer foreign assets to heirs

The first generation of Russian billionaires, who made a fortune in the 1990s, is approaching the age, at which it is time to think about transferring assets to their heirs. At the moment the average age of participants of “200 richest businessmen of Russia" Forbes rating is about 53 years of age; 45 of them are already in their 60s, and five billionaires are even in their 70s.

A significant part of their assets affluent Russians keep abroad. According to the National Bureau of Economic Research of the United States (NBER), Russian entrepreneurs keep on bank and brokerage accounts in "tax havens" amounts equivalent to about half of Russia's annual GDP ($590 billion).

As the Director of Investment Banking Department of QBF Dmitry Kipa assesses, the proportions in the foreign portfolio of a moderately conservative investor with a large check are as follows: 50% of the capital are the real estate, 20% - the deposits, 15% - the securities on a brokerage account or in trust, 5% - business (usually shares in the company), 5% - the rest (funds and trusts, private loans, yachts, planes, art objects, cars, jewelry and precious metals placed in bank cells, etc.).

However, the procedure for transferring foreign assets into the inheritance is fraught with a lot of details and legal issues. In different countries, the terms of entering into inheritance are different, and unclaimed assets often go to the state’s treasury. And the heirs will have to collect notary non-locked funds literally bit by bit, encountering obstacles related to the bank secrecy and reluctance to share information about clients' accounts, as well as the absence of legal assistance contracts between specific countries.

The lawyers specializing in inheritance law share with Forbes, that in case with movable property (stocks and shares of companies, bank accounts, art objects, etc.), if the testator’s last place of residence is Russia, then irrespective of the will registration place, it is necessary to refer to a Russian notary and get a certificate of inheritance rights for action abroad and with this certificate go to the country of the asset, they explain. Thus, if the immovable are inherited according to the laws of the country where it is located, then, the inheritance of movables of the testator, a resident of Russia, goes by the Russian rules.

The inheritance of accounts and securities abroad falls into the vicious circle of waiting for the certificate of inheritance in Russia. Besides, for issuing a certificate, a notary will need documents confirming the existence of foreign accounts. Depending on the internal requirements of a particular bank, it may take time and effort to obtain account statements and other supporting documents because the institutions are tied by the bank secrecy.

In this case, the foreign policies of shared life insurance (unit linked) as an alternative can be singled out. "The asset in the form of a policy and the assets acquired through it are inherited almost immediately upon the death of the insured, after checking the documents submitted by the heirs of the policy on themselves and the fact of death, which is definitely 6 months faster", says the general director of Emquarta, a personal adviser", Nataliya Smirnova.

Experts interviewed by Forbes assure that numerous wills in this case will not dispute each other. But it is necessary to understand that only one sentence in the last will can strike down all previous ones, warns Yekaterina Markova.

Full version by link: http://www.forbes.ru/finansy-i-investicii/361227-zaveshchaniya-na-milliard-kak-peredat-inostrannye-aktivy-rossiyskim

Photos per websites: indianmoney.com, dovira-uae.com

Share
read also
How to deal with the retirement gender gap
How to deal with the retirement gender gap

When it comes to the adequacy of retirement savings, women find themselves in a losin...

Medical services will help increase frequency of the insurance product "use"
Medical services will help increase frequency of the insurance product "use"

The overwhelming majority, 99% of Russians citizens who buy risk life insurance produ...

The compulsory social insurance system requires development
The compulsory social insurance system requires development

The national seminar “Prospects for the Compulsory Social Insurance System Developm...

The most interesting materials of the site you have in the mail! Subscribe to the newsletter.

ASK A QUESTION TO THE EXPERT
ASK A QUESTION TO THE EXPERT
Submit your application

bs-preloader__icon
ru kz en

Завещания на миллиард. Как Unit linked может помочь передать наследникам зарубежные активы

Передача зарубежных активов наследникам в скором времени станет насущным вопросом для первого поколения состоятельных россиян, сообщает Forbes Contributor.
Завещания на миллиард. Как Unit linked может помочь передать наследникам зарубежные активы

Первое поколение российских миллиардеров, сделавших состояние в 1990-х, приближается к возрастному рубежу, на котором пора задуматься о передаче активов своим наследникам. Средний возраст участников рейтинга Forbes «200 богатейших бизнесменов России» сейчас составляет порядка 53 лет, при этом среди них 45 человек, которым уже за 60, и пять миллиардеров, которые перешли 70-летний рубеж.

Значительную часть своих активов состоятельные россияне хранят за рубежом. По данным Национального бюро экономических исследований США (NBER), российские предприниматели держат на банковских и брокерских счетах в «налоговых гаванях» средства, эквивалентные примерно половине годового ВВП России ($590 млрд).

По оценкам директора инвестиционно-банковского департамента QBF Дмитрия Кипа, у умеренно консервативного инвестора с большим чеком пропорции в зарубежном портфеле следующие: 50% капитала — недвижимость, 20% — депозиты, 15% — ценные бумаги на брокерском счете или в доверительном управлении, 5% — бизнес (как правило, доли в компании), 5% — остальное (фонды и трасты, частные займы, яхты, самолеты, предметы искусства, автомобили, ювелирные украшения и металлы, лежащие в банковских ячейках, и т. д.).

Однако, процедура передачи в наследство зарубежных активов сопряжена с массой нюансов и юридических тонкостей. В разных странах — разные сроки вступления в наследство, а невостребованные активы чаще всего отходят в казну государства. При этом не «зафиксированные» нотариально средства наследникам придется собирать буквально по крупицам, наталкиваясь на препятствия, связанные с банковской тайной и нежеланием делиться информацией о счетах клиентов, а также отсутствие договоров правовой помощи между конкретными странами.

Как рассказали Forbes юристы, специализирующиеся на наследственном праве, что касается движимого имущества (акций и долей компаний, банковских счетов, предметов искусства и прочее), если последнее место жительства наследодателя — Россия, то независимо от места оформления завещания необходимо обратиться к российскому нотариусу и получить у него свидетельство о праве на наследство для действия за границей и уже с этим свидетельством ехать в страну нахождения актива, поясняют они. Таким образом, если недвижимость наследуется по законам страны, где она находится, то наследование движимого имущества наследодателя, постоянно проживающего в России, проходит по российским правилам.

Соответственно, наследование счетов и ценных бумаг за рубежом попадает в замкнутый круг ожидания свидетельства о наследовании в России. Кроме того, для выдачи свидетельства нотариусу понадобятся документы, подтверждающие существование зарубежных счетов. В зависимости от внутренних требований конкретного банка получить выписки по счету и иные подтверждающие документы может потребовать времени и усилий по причине того, что учреждения связаны банковской тайной.

В качестве альтернативы в этом случае можно выделить зарубежные полисы долевого страхования жизни (unit linked). «Актив в виде полиса и приобретенные через него активы наследуются практически сразу после смерти застрахованного, после проверки предоставленных наследниками по полису документов о себе и факте смерти, что точно быстрее 6 месяцев», — комментирует гендиректор «Эмкварта. Персональный советник» Наталья Смирнова.

Эксперты, опрошенные Forbes, заверяют, что многочисленные завещания в этом случае оспаривать друг друга не будут. Но необходимо понимать, что всего одной фразой в последнем завещании можно отменить действие всех предыдущих, предупреждает Екатерина Маркова.

Полная версия по ссылке: http://www.forbes.ru/finansy-i-investicii/361227-zaveshchaniya-na-milliard-kak-peredat-inostrannye-aktivy-rossiyskim

Фото с сайтов indianmoney.com, dovira-uae.com

Поделиться
читайте также
Накопительное страхование стало значительно привлекательнее
Накопительное страхование стало значительно привлекательнее

В конце прошлого года внесены изменения в Нало...

Актуариям везде у нас дорога
Актуариям везде у нас дорога

Впервые в Казахстане «Общество актуариев Каза...

Страховщики Грузии, Греции и Беларуси показали рост
Страховщики Грузии, Греции и Беларуси показали рост

Причем, активный рост в страховании жизни пока...

Самые интересные материалы сайта у тебя на почте! Подпишись на рассылку.

ЗАДАТЬ ВОПРОС ЭКСПЕРТУ
ЗАДАТЬ ВОПРОС ЭКСПЕРТУ
Оставить заявку