bs-preloader__icon
ru kz en

The Ministry of Finance of the Russian Federation recommended insurers to reduce payments in dollars and euros

Due to sanctions, it is necessary to increase the share of ruble payments in international transactions, the Finance Ministry believes.
The Ministry of Finance of the Russian Federation recommended insurers to reduce payments in dollars and euros

The RF Ministry of Finance has asked the insurers to reduce reinsurance payments in dollars and euros. It will not be easy for insurers to fulfill the request: rubles are not accepted in the West.

Insurance brokers (intermediaries between clients, insurers and reinsurers) in risk reinsurance abroad should reduce their payments with foreign partners in dollars and euros and increase the share of payments in rubles. Such a recommendation was given by Deputy Finance Minister Alexei Moiseyev in a letter to the Association of Professional Insurance Brokers (APSB), which Vedomosti got acquainted with. The APSB confirmed the receiving that letter.

The Ministry of Finance explains the need to reduce currency calculations in reinsurance by the uncertainty "associated with a new stage of sanction restrictions by a number of foreign countries". Insurers take on the obligations on property risks of Russian companies and citizens, which are most often denominated in rubles. But in when transferred for reinsurance abroad, the payments are mostly made in dollars or euros, "which has no economic justification and carries currency risks for the insurer". The Ministry of Finance asks the APSB to inform the insurance brokers about the government's position on the need to increase the share of settlements in rubles on foreign economic transactions. The representative of the ministry did not reply to Vedomosti's request.

Most of the risks are now reinsured abroad (the domestic market is not enough), primarily in the West. In 2017, the insurers gave 86.9 billion rubles of reinsurance premiums abroad, while the risks for 21.9 billion rubles were reinsured in Russia, the Central Bank said.

The recommendation of the Ministry of Finance is strange, it will be difficult to fulfill, the employee of one of the major reinsurers notes. Brokers are just intermediaries in placing risks abroad, he explains, so all participants of the transaction will have to transfer to ruble settlements: from the risk insurer to the reinsurer, who takes this risk on himself. And Western reinsurers will not agree on rubles because of currency risks, said Acting General Director of Association of Professional Insurance Brokers, Alexander Nesterov. They would either have to convert them immediately into dollars or euros, or think of the options for investing in rubles, the reinsurer's employee believes, besides, it will be necessary to keep additional records of transactions in rubles. Domestic insurers and brokers will not follow the recommendation of the Ministry of Finance, otherwise they risk losing their key partners, the reinsurance market of Western countries, Vedomosti source warns. The risks pointed by the Ministry of Finance are not commented on by the insurers interviewed.

Payments in rubles are possible with the states that have the agreements on mutual settlements in rubles, but there are not many of them, for example, Belarus, says Nesterov. Some insurers in direct contact settle accounts in rubles with reinsurance companies of China and Belarus, confirms a major reinsurer. But they are far from being the leaders among the countries where Russian insurers place their risks.

But Andrey Denisov, the General Director of "Marsh Insurance Brokers" Company, supports the initiative of the Ministry of Finance: the company has experience of settlements in rubles with international reinsurers. However, in this case, the client is at risk of suffering, ready to completely give up on binding of his insurance to the currency. Compensation may be significantly lower due to fluctuations in the rate for long-term insurance programs, warns Denisov.

The Central Bank representative declined to comment, so did the major insurers and the Sberbank representative, who had an insurance broker.

Source: https://www.vedomosti.ru/finance/articles/2018/07/03/774442-minfin-rekomendoval-strahovschikam-sokratit-platezhi

Photos per website: pbs.twimg.com

Share
read also
Young people have got a chance to become sought-after specialists
Young people have got a chance to become sought-after specialists

Soon the second stage of the competition for obtaining a grant for actuarial courses...

The global insurance market grew by 3.7% to 3.7 trillion euro in 2017
The global insurance market grew by 3.7% to 3.7 trillion euro in 2017

About 80% of the 60 billion euros on additional life insurance premiums were collecte...

Parliament passed a law on the introduction of online insurance in Kazakhstan
Parliament passed a law on the introduction of online insurance in Kazakhstan

The deputies of the Majilis agreed with the Senate’s amendments to the draft law "O...

The most interesting materials of the site you have in the mail! Subscribe to the newsletter.

ASK A QUESTION TO THE EXPERT
ASK A QUESTION TO THE EXPERT
Submit your application

bs-preloader__icon
ru kz en

Минфин РФ рекомендовал страховщикам сократить платежи в долларах и евро

Из-за санкций надо увеличивать долю рублевых платежей в международных операциях, считает Минфин РФ.
Минфин РФ рекомендовал страховщикам сократить платежи в долларах и евро
Минфин РФ попросил страховщиков сократить платежи в долларах и евро при перестраховании. Выполнить просьбу страховщикам будет непросто: рубли не принимают на Западе.

Страховым брокерам (посредникам между клиентами, страховщиками и перестраховщиками) при перестраховании рисков за рубежом стоит сократить расчеты с иностранными партнерами в долларах и евро и увеличивать долю платежей в рублях. Такую рекомендацию дал замминистра финансов Алексей Моисеев в письме в Ассоциацию профессиональных страховых брокеров (АПСБ), с которым ознакомились «Ведомости». В АПСБ подтвердили, что получили это письмо. 

Необходимость сокращать валютные расчеты при перестраховании Минфин объясняет неопределенностью, «связанной с новым этапом санкционных ограничений со стороны ряда зарубежных стран». Страховщики берут на себя обязательства по имущественным рискам российских компаний и граждан, которые чаще всего номинированы в рублях. Но при передаче этих обязательств для перестрахования за границу расчеты проходят преимущественно в долларах или евро, «что не имеет экономического обоснования и несет для страховщика валютные риски». Минфин просит АПСБ довести до страховых брокеров позицию правительства о необходимости увеличить долю расчетов в рублях по внешнеэкономическим операциям. Представитель министерства на запрос «Ведомостей» не ответил. 

Большая часть рисков сейчас перестраховывается за рубежом (внутреннего рынка недостаточно), в первую очередь на Западе. В 2017 г. страховщики отдали за рубеж 86,9 млрд руб. премий по перестрахованию, тогда как внутри России было перестраховано рисков на 21,9 млрд руб., следует из данных Центробанка. 

Странная рекомендация Минфина, выполнить ее будет трудно, замечает сотрудник одного из крупных перестраховщиков. Брокеры всего лишь посредники при размещении рисков за рубежом, объясняет он, поэтому на рублевые расчеты придется переходить всем участникам сделки: от страховщика риска до перестраховщика, который этот риск на себя принимает. А западные перестраховщики не согласятся на рубли из-за валютных рисков, говорит ВрИО гендиректора АПСБ Александр Нестеров. Им пришлось бы либо тут же конвертировать их в доллары или евро, либо придумывать варианты инвестирования средств в рублях, рассуждает сотрудник перестраховщика, к тому же потребуется вести дополнительный учет операций в рублях. Отечественные страховщики и брокеры не последуют рекомендации Минфина, иначе они рискуют потерять своих ключевых партнеров – перестраховочный рынок стран Запада, предупреждает собеседник «Ведомостей». Риски, на которые указал Минфин, опрошенные страховщики не комментируют.

Платежи в рублях возможны с теми государствами, с которыми есть соглашения о взаиморасчетах в рублях, но их единицы, например Белоруссия, рассказывает Нестеров. Сейчас некоторые страховщики при прямых взаимоотношениях рассчитываются в рублях с перестраховочными компаниями Китая и Белоруссии, подтверждает крупный перестраховщик. Но они пока далеко не в лидерах среди стран, где размещают свои риски российские страховщики. 

А вот гендиректор компании «Марш – страховые брокеры» Андрей Денисов поддерживает инициативу Минфина: у компании есть опыт расчетов в рублях с международными перестраховщиками. Однако в таком случае рискует пострадать клиент, готовый полностью отказаться от привязки своей страховки к валюте. По длительным программам страхования компенсация может оказаться существенно меньше из-за колебания курса, предупреждает Денисов. 

Представитель ЦБ от комментариев отказался, так же поступили крупные страховщики и представитель Сбербанка, у которого есть страховой брокер.

Источник: https://www.vedomosti.ru/finance/articles/2018/07/03/774442-minfin-rekomendoval-strahovschikam-sokratit-platezhi

Фото с сайта: pbs.twimg.com

Поделиться
читайте также
За какими стартапами будущее страхования
За какими стартапами будущее страхования

Страховая отрасль остро нуждается в технологи...

Cтраховой рынок Азии почти догоняет Северную Америку
Cтраховой рынок Азии почти догоняет Северную Америку

У этого рынка огромный потенциал. Зарубежные с...

Самые интересные материалы сайта у тебя на почте! Подпишись на рассылку.

ЗАДАТЬ ВОПРОС ЭКСПЕРТУ
ЗАДАТЬ ВОПРОС ЭКСПЕРТУ
Оставить заявку