bs-preloader__icon
ru kz en

Russians are getting interested in long-term insurance products

According to the results of nine months, the volume of the Russian life insurance market grew by 4% compared to the same period last year and amounted to 320 billion rubles. The President of the All-Russian Union of Insurers (ARIA) Igor Yurgens announced that summing up the results of three quarters, writes the Insurance Today website.
Russians are getting interested in long-term insurance products

Investment life insurance (ILI), the former leader in terms of fee velocity, has lost its role as a driver: fees for this type of insurance have dropped by 6%. Despite a rapid growth in mortgages, the fees on credit insurance have also decreased by 0.5%. The life insurance market reflects the general mood in the economy and society in the third quarter, said Viktor Dubrovin, the Vice-President of ARIA. “There are three main trends now: low deposit rates, high volatility in the investment and foreign exchange markets and a change in consumer behavior; the pandemic has demonstrated the need to have savings and additional insurance and medical protection,” he notes.

Alexey Yanin, the Managing Director for Insurance and Investment Ratings of the Expert RA agency, reminds that the outrunning endowment growth had emerged last year, and in 2020 this was most pronounced. However, the expert points out that when assessing the market trends, it is necessary to take into account the problem of terminology: companies decide for themselves what to call endowment and what - investment life insurance. “For example, there are already endowment life insurance plans with a single premium and a shorter period (3-5 years), which were previously considered as investment life insurance features. Classical endowment insurance is nevertheless distinguished by a long term and regular premiums, monthly or quarterly,” Yanin emphasizes.

Other experts confirm that there has been a tendency of sales substitution, when products are simply “repackaged” and re-named: from ILI to endowment. This process has got off after the harsh criticism of the ILI by the Bank of Russia (Central Bank), which has repeatedly declared its low profitability. At the forum "Leaders of the insurance market" on October 29 the Deputy Chairman of the Central Bank Vladimir Chistyukhin quoted figures of profitability as follows: on average for nine months under three-year contracts, it was 4.2% per annum, for five-year contracts - 3.1%. However, according to the Central Bank, 32% of policies showed zero return and only 17% of policies performed a profitability of over 5%. “In this case we can hardly talk about people’s satisfaction in such conditions and the value of this insurance product for the consumer,” said Chistyukhin and promised to continue thinking about what to do about it. The position of the Central Bank made life insurers refocus on endowment, hybrid products and the product value increase, in general.

Alexey Rudenko, CEO of Rosgosstrakh Zhizn, notes that today investment savings products contain built-in guarantees for clients, which are secured by instruments with fixed income (federal bonds, corporate bonds, bank deposits). Against the backdrop of low rates, more and more of the customers’ premiums go to guarantees and there are fewer opportunities for additional income and services. Apart from reduction of intermediary’s commission and the insurance company’s margin, another way to keep the product attractive is to increase the term of the products, since the same guarantee for a longer period is cheaper, the expert believes. Thus, the offer of seven-year ILI contracts with the option of early withdrawal received a good response from clients. The product has been launched in the spring and by the end of the third quarter it already makes up a quarter of the total sales structure. “A similar shift towards longer terms is taking place in endowment, - notes Rudenko. - More and more programs in the structure are now for 10 and more years.”

Source: https://www.insur-info.ru/press/160722/

Photos are from open sources.

Share
read also
New types of financial fraud
New types of financial fraud

Financial fraud schemes are becoming more sophisticated every time, and it is not alw...

The market was supported by annuities
The market was supported by annuities

The total gross premiums of LICs including unit-linked sales grew by 44.9% to 69 bill...

Does unit-linked insurance have a future in Kazakhstan?
Does unit-linked insurance have a future in Kazakhstan?

The opinion of Azamat Yerdessov, the Board Chairman of JSC LIC Freedom Finance Life, ...

The most interesting materials of the site you have in the mail! Subscribe to the newsletter.

ASK A QUESTION TO THE EXPERT
ASK A QUESTION TO THE EXPERT
Submit your application

bs-preloader__icon
ru kz en

Россияне заинтересовались долгосрочными страховыми продуктами

По итогам девяти месяцев объем российского рынка страхования жизни вырос на 4% по сравнению с аналогичным периодом прошлого года и составил 320 млрд руб. Об этом сообщил президент Всероссийского союза страховщиков (ВСС) Игорь Юргенс, подводя итоги трех кварталов, пишет сайт «Страхование сегодня».
Россияне заинтересовались долгосрочными страховыми продуктами

Прежний лидер по скорости прироста сборов – инвестиционное страхование жизни (ИСЖ) – утратил роль драйвера: сборы по этому виду страхования снизились на 6%. Также, несмотря на бурный рост ипотеки, сборы по кредитным видам страхования уменьшились на 0,5%. Рынок СЖ в III квартале отражает общее настроение в экономике и обществе, считает вице-президент ВСС Виктор Дубровин. «Сейчас работают три основных тренда: это невысокие ставки по депозитам, высокая волатильность на инвестиционном и валютном рынках и смена модели потребительского поведения – пандемия продемонстрировала необходимость иметь накопления и дополнительную страховую и медицинскую защиту», – отмечает он.

Алексей Янин, управляющий директор по страховым и инвестиционным рейтингам агентства «Эксперт РА», напоминает, что опережающий рост НСЖ наметился еще в прошлом году, а в 2020 г. это проявилось наиболее ярко. При этом эксперт указывает, что при оценке трендов на рынке нужно учитывать проблему терминологии: компании сами решают, что называть накопительным, а что – инвестиционным страхованием жизни. «Например, уже появились накопительные программы СЖ с единовременным взносом и более коротким сроком (3-5 лет), ранее считавшимся признаком ИСЖ. Классическое накопительное страхование все-таки отличают большой срок и регулярные взносы – ежемесячные или ежеквартальные», – подчеркивает Янин.

Другие эксперты подтверждают, что проявилась тенденция замещения продаж, когда продукты просто «переупаковываются» и переназываются: было ИСЖ – стало НСЖ. Особенно активно этот процесс пошел после жесткой критики ИСЖ со стороны Банка России (ЦБ), неоднократно заявлявшего о его низкой доходности. Так, зампред ЦБ Владимир Чистюхин на форуме «Лидеры страхового рынка» 29 октября приводил такие цифры доходности: в среднем за девять месяцев по трехлетним договорам она составила 4,2% годовых, по пятилетним – 3,1%. При этом 32% полисов, по данным ЦБ, показали нулевую доходность и только 17% полисов – доходность выше 5%. «Вряд ли можно говорить в данном случае об удовлетворенности граждан в таких условиях и о ценности данного страхового продукта для потребителя», – заявил тогда Чистюхин, пообещав «продолжать думать, что с этим делать». Именно позиция ЦБ заставила страховщиков жизни переориентироваться на накопительное страхование, гибридные продукты и в целом на повышение ценности продукта для клиента.

Алексей Руденко, генеральный директор компании «Росгосстрах жизнь», отмечает, что сегодня инвестиционно-накопительные продукты содержат встроенные гарантии для клиентов, которые обеспечиваются инструментами с фиксированной доходностью (ОФЗ, корпоративными облигациями, банковскими депозитами). На фоне низких ставок все большая часть взноса клиента уходит на гарантии и остается меньше возможностей для получения дополнительного дохода и сервисов. Один из способов сохранения привлекательности продуктов помимо снижения комиссии посредников и маржи страховой компании – увеличение срока продуктов, так как одна и та же гарантия на большем сроке стоит дешевле, считает эксперт. Так, хороший отклик у клиентов получило предложение семилетних договоров ИСЖ с опцией досрочного отзыва. Продукт запущен весной и по итогам III квартала уже занимает до четверти в структуре общих продаж. «Аналогичное смещение в сторону больших сроков происходит и в НСЖ, – отмечает Руденко. – Все больше программ в структуре – на 10 и более лет».

Источник: https://www.insur-info.ru/press/160722/

Фото из открытых источников

 

Поделиться
читайте также

Самые интересные материалы сайта у тебя на почте! Подпишись на рассылку.

ЗАДАТЬ ВОПРОС ЭКСПЕРТУ
ЗАДАТЬ ВОПРОС ЭКСПЕРТУ
Оставить заявку