bs-preloader__icon
ru kz en

Investments of Life Insurers during the Market Decline

The Coronavirus, oil price collapse, falling Tenge and falling markets do not scare Kazakhstani life insurers. Despite the fact the companies’ head offices are closed, LICs continue to work in the remote mode.
Investments of Life Insurers during the Market Decline

It is worth noting that local life insurers prefer reliability over high profitability, therefore structures never show excess profits but guarantee stable incomes to their clients. All accumulative insurance products of Kazakhstani LICs include a mechanism of 100% capital security.

“The foreign currency funds were invested exclusively in bonds of the US corporate sector, Eurobonds of Kazakhstani and foreign issuers, i.e. denominated in US dollars. All securities of foreign issuers of investment grade with a S&P rating of at least BBB-, which implies acceptable credit risks and no currency risks (since the company’s assets and liabilities are in US dollars),” explained Madi Shalgimbayev, the Deputy Board Chairman of LIC Nomad Life.

Thus, falling Tenge only increases the value of life insurance companies’ assets. “Stock market fluctuations are not reflected in the value of Nomad Life assets, since asset accounting of the investment portfolio is kept before the issuers pay off their obligations, and not for trading,” the speaker clarified.

The financial expert is confident that the fall of stock markets is a normal process; that is why risk hedging is important. “Our Tenge portfolio is mostly formed with government securities of the Republic of Kazakhstan and the Central Bank of quasi-sector. The company pays a great attention to the credit risks of issuers, which may worsen the financial condition of issuers and their ability to fulfill their obligations to investors. Therefore, Nomad Life's strategy is aimed at acquiring investment-grade securities with low credit risks,” said the Deputy Chairman of LIC Nomad Life.

While analysts and brokers are making new forecasts, Halyk-Life prefers not to play with such volatility, since it is impossible to predict what will be with the market tomorrow, and panic usually leads to losses. “The National Bank of the Republic of Kazakhstan almost immediately responded to the stock market fall by increasing the base rate from 10.25% to 12%. The Halyk-Life’s investment strategy will not change significantly, since the company sticks to a conservative strategy, and the share of financial instruments of foreign issuers is not large, for which we, nevertheless, expect recovery,” said the head of marketing and development of JSC LIC Halyk-Life Natalya Ananyeva.

Freedom Finance Life is confident that the best time to sell funded products has come. “First of all, our products provide protection against devaluation. For example, unlike bank deposits the universal life insurance provides not only accumulation but also insurance coverage of life and health for the entire contract term. Such a policy can be concluded for a long period of time (from 3 years or more),” noted Azamat Yerdessov, the Board Chairman of JSC LIC Freedom Finance Life.

Some insurance products include indexation of payments tied to the US dollar. “Upon the contract expiry the client would receive much more than he paid if, before the devaluation, he had a contract with the insurer,” the speaker noted.

All insurers gave up making forecasts for the market development this year, since there is no universal answer to the question of how long the state of emergency will last in Kazakhstan and worldwide. However, the insurers agreed on one thing: the clients should be confident in their investments, as Kazakhstani LICs prefer conservative investments in government securities.

Share
read also
“Life” is improving: why people’s money has gone to endowment
“Life” is improving: why people’s money has gone to endowment

The head of Nomad Life talks about the insurance ecosystem, IC participation in the p...

The French company will pay for the death of an employee who died from sex on a business trip
The French company will pay for the death of an employee who died from sex on a business trip

The French company will have to pay the family of an employee whose heart stopped dur...

Payouts of US life insurers can make $7.2 billion
Payouts of US life insurers can make $7.2 billion

A worldwide COVID-19 coronavirus pandemic may last for several years, as stated in th...

The most interesting materials of the site you have in the mail! Subscribe to the newsletter.

ASK A QUESTION TO THE EXPERT
ASK A QUESTION TO THE EXPERT
Submit your application

bs-preloader__icon
ru kz en

Инвестиции страховщиков жизни в период падения рынков

Коронавирус, обвал нефтяных цен, падение тенге и падающие рынки не пугают казахстанских страховщиков жизни. Несмотря на то, что головные офисы компаний закрыты, КСЖ продолжают работать на «удаленке».
Инвестиции страховщиков жизни в период падения рынков

Стоит отметит, что отечественные страховщики жизни предпочитают высокой доходности надежность, поэтому структуры никогда не показывают сверхприбыль, но гарантируют стабильные доходы своим клиентам. Все продукты накопительного  страхования казахстанских КСЖ включают в себя механизм 100% защиты капитала. 

«Средства в валюте инвестированы исключительно в облигации корпоративного сектора США, еврооблигации казахстанских и иностранных эмитентов, т.е. деноминированы в долларах США. Все ценные бумаги иностранных эмитентов инвестиционного уровня, с рейтингом по шкале S&P не ниже BBB-, что предполагает приемлемые кредитные риски, валютные риски отсутствуют (так как активы и обязательства компании в долларах США)», - объяснил Мади Шалгимбаев заместитель председателя правления АО «КСЖ «Nomad Life». 

Из этого следует, что падение тенге только увеличивает стоимость активов компаний по страхованию жизни. «Колебания фондового рынка не отражаются на стоимости активов Nomad Life, так как учет активов инвестиционного портфеля ведется до погашения обязательств эмитентом, а не для торговли», - уточнил спикер.

Финансист уверен, что падение фондовых рынков – это обычный процесс, поэтому важно хеджирование рисков.  «Наш тенговый портфель в большей части сформирован государственными ценными бумагами Республики Казахстан и ЦБ квазигосектора. Компания большое внимание уделяет кредитным рискам эмитентов, которые могут ухудшить финансовое состояние эмитентов и их возможность исполнить свои обязательств перед инвесторами, поэтому стратегия Nomad Life направлена на приобретение ценных бумаг инвестиционного качества с низкими кредитными рисками», - уточнил зампред КСЖ «Nomad Life». 

Пока аналитики и брокеры составляют новые прогнозы, в Халык-Life предпочитают «не играть» при такой волатильности, так как невозможно предугадать, куда пойдет рынок завтра, а паника, как правило, приводит к потерям. «После падения фондовых рынков, Национальный банк Республики Казахстан практически сразу отреагировал на ситуацию путем повышения базовой ставки с 10,25% до 12%. Инвестиционная стратегия Халык-Life меняться существенно не будет, так как компания придерживается консервативной стратегии, и доля финансовых инструментов зарубежных эмитентов не большая, по которым мы, все-таки, ожидаем восстановления», - сообщила начальник управления маркетинга и развития АО «КСД «Халык-Life» Наталья Ананьева

В Freedom Finance Life уверены, что настало лучшее время для продажи накопительных продуктов. «В первую очередь, наши продукты предоставляют защиту от девальвации. Например, накопительное страхование жизни в отличие от банковских депозитов обеспечивает не только накопление, но и страховую защиту жизни и здоровья на весь срок договора. Оформить такой полис можно на длительный срок (от 3-х лет и более)», - уточнил председатель правления АО «КСЖ «Freedom Finance Life» Азамат Ердесов.

Некоторые страховые продукты предусматривают индексации выплат привязанных к доллару США. «То есть, при окончании срока договора клиент получает гораздо больше, чем заплатил, если до девальвации у него был заключен договор со страховщиком», - отметил спикер.

Все страховщики отказались делать прогнозы развития рынка в этом году, так как универсального ответа на вопрос о том, как долго продлится период чрезвычайного положения в Казахстане и мире нет, да его и не может быть. Впрочем, страховщики сошлись в одном - клиенты должны быть уверены в своих инвестициях, так как КСЖ РК предпочитают консервативные вложения в государственные бумаги. 

Поделиться
читайте также
В будущее с надеждой
В будущее с надеждой

Агентство Standard&Poors отметило высокую прибыльно...

Вера Гордеева: «Деньги должны работать и приносить прибыль»
Вера Гордеева: «Деньги должны работать и приносить прибыль»

Страховая компания объединяет в себе множеств...

Самые интересные материалы сайта у тебя на почте! Подпишись на рассылку.

ЗАДАТЬ ВОПРОС ЭКСПЕРТУ
ЗАДАТЬ ВОПРОС ЭКСПЕРТУ
Оставить заявку