bs-preloader__icon
ru kz en

Kazakhstan opens its insurance market for foreigners

As of this year, foreign insurers will be able to open branches in Kazakhstan under the simplified procedure. Maria Khadzhiyeva, the Deputy Chairman of the Agency for Regulation and Development of the Financial Market (ARDFM), shares how foreign companies will be working.
Kazakhstan opens its insurance market for foreigners

To start financial activities on the territory of our country, a foreign financial organization has to obtain permit to open a branch and, after that, a corresponding license from the ARDFM.

“The subsidiaries of foreign insurance organizations must be participants in the mandatory insurance payments guarantee system and have a participation agreement with JSC Insurance Payments Guarantee Fund. The payments under contracts concluded by the branch offices will be guaranteed at the expense of JSC Insurance Payment Guarantee Fund, which in the event of the subsidiary closure will make it possible to carry out uninterrupted payments under insurance contracts within the guaranteed classes of insurance and ensure continuity in fulfilling obligations included in the insurance portfolio", explained the Deputy Chairman of the financial regulator.

To protect the interests of consumers of financial services, a foreign branch is to form assets accepted as a reserve and place them on a current account in a second-tier bank of Kazakhstan with a high level of reliability. The total assets of a non-resident insurance company of the Republic of Kazakhstan must be no less than the amount equivalent to USD 5 billion, and the company’s working experience should be at least 10 years in all industries and classes of insurance.

A branch of a non-resident insurance organization may carry out insurance activities in the general or life insurance, as well as reinsurance activities similar to that for Kazakhstani insurance companies, subject to obtaining the appropriate licenses.

Prudential regulation of branch offices of non-resident insurance organizations provides for the establishment of the Minimum size of the APR instead of the required Minimum size of the charter capital for a newly created insurance organization in the same amount (from 1.5 million MCI to 10.5 million MCI, depending on the insurance industry). The funds are placed into current accounts of second-tier banks of the Republic of Kazakhstan that have a minimum long-term credit rating on an international scale not lower than “BB+” by Standard & Poor's rating agency or a similar level rating by rating agencies Moody's Investors Service and Fitch.

When auditing the activities of a branch of a non-resident insurance organization, the agency has the right to obtain information from a foreign financial supervision body. In case of identifying risks and shortcomings in the activities of the branch of the non-resident insurance organization, the agency may require audit.

 “A non-resident insurance organization can deliberately cease its operations based on the foreign financial supervision authority permission and also forcefully due to decertification by the agency. But as I have already said, in this case, the payments under existing agreements are guaranteed. Violation of the legislation of the Republic of Kazakhstan by the non-resident insurance organization subsidiary, revocation of the license or liquidation of the organization-non-resident can be grounds for ceasing operations”, summarized Maria Khadzhiyeva.

Photos are from open sources.

Share
read also
Why are forest rangers not insured?
Why are forest rangers not insured?

The families of those who died while extinguishing a fire in the Abay region will be ...

New financial instrument for life insurers
New financial instrument for life insurers

Life insurance companies will have a new financial instrument. The Agency of the Repu...

The most interesting materials of the site you have in the mail! Subscribe to the newsletter.

ASK A QUESTION TO THE EXPERT
ASK A QUESTION TO THE EXPERT
Submit your application

bs-preloader__icon
ru kz en

Казахстан открывает страховой рынок для иностранцев

С этого года иностранный страховщики могут открывать в Казахстане по упрощенной процедуре филиалы. О том, как будут работать зарубежные компании рассказала заместитель председателя Агентства РК по регулированию и развитию финансового рынка (АРРФР) Мария Хаджиева.
Казахстан открывает страховой рынок для иностранцев

Для начала финансовой деятельности на территории нашей страны иностранная финансовая организация должна получить разрешение на открытие филиала и после этого, соответствующую лицензию АРРФР.

«Филиалы иностранных страховых организаций должны быть участниками системы обязательного гарантирования страховых выплат и иметь договор участия с АО «Фонд гарантирования страховых выплат». Выплаты по заключенным филиалами договорам будут гарантироваться за счет средств АО «Фонд гарантирования страховых выплат», что в случае закрытия филиала позволит осуществлять бесперебойные выплаты по страховым договорам в рамках гарантируемых классов страхования и обеспечивать преемственность по исполнению обязательств, входящих в состав страхового портфеля» -, пояснила зампред финрегулятора.

Для защиты интересов потребителей финансовых услуг иностранный филиал должен сформировать активы, принимаемые в качестве резерва, и разместить их на текущем счете в банке второго уровня Казахстана с высоким уровнем надежности. Сумма совокупных активов страховой организации-нерезидента Республики Казахстан должна быть не ниже суммы, эквивалентной 5 млрд долларов США, при этом опыт работы - не менее 10 лет во всех отраслях и классах страхования.

Филиал страховой организации-нерезидента может осуществлять страховую деятельность по отрасли общего страхования или страхования жизни, а также деятельность по перестрахованию, аналогичную для казахстанских страховых компаний при условии получения соответствующих лицензий.

Пруденциальное регулирование филиалов страховых организаций-нерезидентов предусматривает установление Минимального размера АПР вместо требуемого Минимального размера уставного капитала для вновь создаваемой страховой организации в аналогичном размере (от 1,5 млн МРП до 10,5 млн МРП в зависимости от отрасли страхования). Средства размещаются на текущих счетах в банках второго уровня Республики Казахстан, имеющих минимальный долгосрочный кредитный рейтинг по международной шкале не ниже «ВВ+» рейтингового агентства Standard & Poors или рейтинг аналогичного уровня рейтинговых агентств Moody's Investors Service и Fitch.

При проведении проверки деятельности филиала страховой организации-нерезидента, агентство вправе получать информацию у иностранного органа финансового надзора. При этом, в случае выявления рисков и недостатков в деятельности филиала страховой организации-нерезидента, агентство может потребовать от него проведения аудита.

«Страховая организация-нерезидент может прекратить деятельность добровольно, на основании разрешения иностранного органа финансового надзора. А также принудительно в связи с лишением агентством лицензии. Но как я уже сказала, в этом случае, выплаты по действующим договорам клиентов гарантированы. Основаниями для прекращения деятельности могут быть – нарушения филиалом страховой организации-нерезидента законодательства Республики Казахстан, лишении лицензии или ликвидации организации-нерезидента» -, резюмировала Мария Хаджиева

Фото из открытых источников

Поделиться
читайте также
Блокчейн изменит страховой рынок
Блокчейн изменит страховой рынок

Колоссальной перспективой для применения бло...

Новый финансовый инструмент страховщиков жизни
Новый финансовый инструмент страховщиков жизни

У компаний по страхованию жизни появится новы...

Страхование жизни нужно не только в сложных жизненных ситуациях
Страхование жизни нужно не только в сложных жизненных ситуациях

Рынок страхования жизни в РФ начался со страхо...

Самые интересные материалы сайта у тебя на почте! Подпишись на рассылку.

ЗАДАТЬ ВОПРОС ЭКСПЕРТУ
ЗАДАТЬ ВОПРОС ЭКСПЕРТУ
Оставить заявку