bs-preloader__icon
ru kz en

Life insurance market in Kazakhstan will continue to grow - S&P

As of January 1, 2019, six life insurance companies have been worked in Kazakhstan; now there are nine organizations on the market. Several industrial and financial groups created LICs.
Life insurance market in Kazakhstan will continue to grow - S&P

The S&P Global Ratings agency analysts believe that the growth prospects for life insurance companies remain favorable amid moderate economic welfare measured by per capita GDP. “We expect the return on equity (ROE) to be over 20% for life insurance companies in 2020. This index is lower the average number for the last 3 years of about 30%, but it is still higher than the indicators of European life insurance companies (ROE below 10%). According to our estimates, return on assets (ROA) this year will be about 6%, which is also higher than indices of insurance companies in developed markets,” says Yekaterina Tolstova, Deputy Director of Ratings of Financial Institutions and Insurance Companies Unit, S&P Global Ratings.

The interviewee believes that the life insurance market is in its infancy demonstrating growth from a very low base. In this regard, there are opportunities for the growth of insurance companies in the coming years. Growth areas are in universal life insurance and retirement annuities. “There are major players with recognizable brands in life insurance. New market participants appear that will need time to promote their brand and market recognition. We believe that large companies will play a leading role in promoting new insurance products and offering them to consumers, as well as setting the tone for interaction of insurance community with regulator and policyholders,” says Yekaterina Tolstova.

The speaker notes that problems associated with a low level of payment culture and financial literacy are impeding development of insurance in Kazakhstan, the life insurance sector in particular. However, the agency representatives expect the regulatory measures to stimulate the life insurance sector development in the medium term. It includes tax benefits for policyholders, regulator’s initiatives on introduction of insurance products with an investment component (unit-linked) and possible transfer of some pension management functions to life insurance companies, as well as implementation of government education support programs. A further population growth and increased life expectancy are good prospects for life insurance development. 

 

Share
read also
JSC Halyk-Life received a certificate from the British Standards Institute (BSI) for compliance with ISO 9001: 2015
JSC Halyk-Life received a certificate from the British Standards Institute (BSI) for compliance with ISO 9001: 2015

In August 2019, the company has undergone certification audit, the result of which ha...

The ice broke up: The insurance market is waiting for change
The ice broke up: The insurance market is waiting for change

LIC «NOMAD LIFE» told us how the rules of the game on the market can change...

AXA: Facebook, Google, and Apple are future competitors of insurance companies
AXA: Facebook, Google, and Apple are future competitors of insurance companies

Thomas Buberl, the executive director of AXA, a French insurance company, in his inte...

The most interesting materials of the site you have in the mail! Subscribe to the newsletter.

ASK A QUESTION TO THE EXPERT
ASK A QUESTION TO THE EXPERT
Submit your application

bs-preloader__icon
ru kz en

Рынок страхования жизни РК продолжит рост – S&P

На 1 января 2019 года в Казахстане работали шесть компаний по страхованию жизни, сейчас на рынке присутствует девять организаций. Сразу несколько промышленных и финансовых групп создали КСЖ.
Рынок страхования жизни РК продолжит рост – S&P

Аналитики рейтингового агентства S&P Global Ratings считают, что перспективы роста компаний, занимающихся страхованием жизни, остаются благоприятными на фоне умеренных показателей экономического благосостояния, измеряемого показателем ВВП на душу населения. «Мы ожидаем, что в 2020 году рентабельность собственного капитала (return on equity — ROE) будет выше 20% для компаний по страхованию жизни. Этот показатель ниже среднего значения за последние 3 года, когда он составил порядка 30%, но остается высоким по сравнению с показателями европейских компаний, занимающихся страхованием жизни (ROE ниже 10%). По нашим прогнозам, рентабельность активов (return on assets — ROA) в текущем году составит около 6%, что также выше показателей страховых компаний на развитых рынках», - сообщает заместитель директора направления «Рейтинги финансовых институтов и страховых компаний», S&P Global Ratings Екатерина Толстова.

Собеседница считает, что рынок страхования жизни находится на этапе становления, демонстрируя рост с очень низкой базы. В связи с этим существуют возможности для роста страховых компаний в ближайшие годы. Точки роста есть в накопительном страхование жизни и пенсионных аннуитетах. «В страховании жизни есть крупные игроки с узнаваемыми брендами. В то же время появляются новые участники рынка, которым потребуется время для продвижения своего бренда и узнаваемости на рынке. Мы полагаем, что крупные компании будут играть определяющую роль в продвижение новых страховых продуктов и предложению их потребителям, а также задавать тон взаимодействия страхового сообщества с регулятором и страхователями», - говорит Екатерина Толстова.

Спикер отметила, что проблемы, связанные с низким уровнем платежной культуры и финансовой грамотности, по-прежнему препятствуют развитию страхования в Казахстане, в частности в секторе страхования жизни. Однако, в агентстве ожидают, что меры регулирующего органа будут стимулировать развитие страхового сектора в среднесрочной перспективе. Это касается введения налоговых льгот для держателей страховых полисов, инициатив регулирующего органа по планируемому введению страховых продуктов с инвестиционной составляющей (unit-linked) и возможной передачи части функций по управлению пенсионными средствами компаниям, занимающимся страхованием жизни, а также реализации государственных программ по поддержке образования. Дальнейший рост численности населения и повышение продолжительности жизни обусловливают хорошие перспективы для развития страхования жизни.

 

Поделиться
читайте также
Российские мошенники выбирают полисы подороже
Российские мошенники выбирают полисы подороже

Доказанный ущерб страховых компаний от мошенн...

Накопительное страхование в Европе: 9 из 10 семей застрахованы
Накопительное страхование в Европе: 9 из 10 семей застрахованы

Зачастую один человек имеет 2-3 полиса с различ...

Самые интересные материалы сайта у тебя на почте! Подпишись на рассылку.

ЗАДАТЬ ВОПРОС ЭКСПЕРТУ
ЗАДАТЬ ВОПРОС ЭКСПЕРТУ
Оставить заявку