bs-preloader__icon
ru kz en

“Insurance helpers”: why it’s better not to trust them with your money

The activities of unscrupulous “helpers” have been gaining popularity in the insurance market in recent years. People resort to their services most often to receive insurance payments for compulsory vehicle insurance in case of an accident. Fingramota.kz (the regulator’s website) reports how insurance intermediaries operate.
“Insurance helpers”: why it’s better not to trust them with your money

Vehicle insurance is the most popular insurance product. It is not surprising that disputes between drivers and insurers sometimes arise about the amount of payments after an accident. As a result of the conflict of interest, intermediaries appeared providing services for a certain commission of the insurance payment.

So-called traffic lawyers act on the side of car owners and, try to increase the size of insurance benefit after an accident through the courts. The argument is built around the difference in assessing the cost of vehicle parts and (or) its repair. The actions and methods of insurance intermediaries are effective at first glance. The court may decide that the insurance company must make additional payments. According to the court office, its size, if successful, is 10 or even 20% of the main payment. However, remuneration for the services of individual insurance intermediaries can reach 30-50% of the insurance payment amount. By winning the court and paying the fee to the mediator, the car owner, at best, will not lose anything except time. More often, they lose part of the insurance benefit that they would have received without the intervention of third parties.

During the hearing procedure and according to the testimony of individuals in court, beneficiaries report that they are unfamiliar with the institution of the insurance ombudsman and they turn to intermediaries on a paid basis.

In fact, the “helpers” without actually providing legal or consulting services and by misleading people take up to half of insurance benefit due to the beneficiary by law. Unscrupulous “helpers” enrich themselves at the expense of citizens.  Such services have turned into a proven scheme for obtaining easy money, where the number of people who have not received payments is growing from year to year. As a result, the activities of such “helpers” not only cause financial damage to people but also undermine confidence in insurance, since “helpers” give the impression that it is difficult to receive insurance benefit without their help.

There are often cases when, after a fatal accident, “helpers” turn to the relatives of the injured, promising to assist in obtaining money from the insurance company. Dependent children or parents of the person killed in an accident are entitled to insurance payment in the amount of 2,000 MCI or 7.4 million tenge (MCI for 2024 - 3,692 tenge) by law. “Helpers” enter into an agreement with them and issue a power of attorney to receive the insurance claim. Mediation services in this case come down to the transfer of documents from the victim’s relatives to the insurance company. The intermediaries keep half or more of the amount for themselves, and this is not commensurate with the volume of services provided. We would like to clarify that there are no commissions or fees for insurance payments made by insurers.

We call people’s attention to the fact that upon the occurrence of an insured event, the insurance organization is obliged to make insurance payout in the amount, manner and terms established by the current legislation in the field of insurance. In case of fatal accidents, the right to receive a lump sum payment is available to the dependents of the deceased person: children or relatives who are dependent on him, a person entitled to compensation for damage in connection with the death of the victim.

According to legislation amendments, starting from the year beginning, Kazakhstanis must contact the insurance ombudsman to resolve disagreements with insurers before going to court. Thus, from January 1, 2024, an applicant who has an unresolved insurance dispute must contact the insurance ombudsman to resolve it. This innovation has significantly facilitated the procedure for people to resolve disputes with insurance organizations.

Source: https://fingramota.kz/ru/news/post/strahovye-pomogajki-pochemu-im-luchshe-ne-doveryat-svoi-dengi

Photos are from open sources.

Share
read also
Elderly Canadians reconsidered their spending and investment during the pandemic
Elderly Canadians reconsidered their spending and investment during the pandemic

Though most senior Canadians say COVID-19 has not significantly affected their financ...

More than a quarter of Americans intend to buy life insurance policies in the near future
More than a quarter of Americans intend to buy life insurance policies in the near future

According to recent studies, about 36% of Americans for the first time in their lives...

Kazakhstani life insurers are implementing ESG principles
Kazakhstani life insurers are implementing ESG principles

Kazakhstani life insurance companies have begun their journey in the field of ESG tra...

The most interesting materials of the site you have in the mail! Subscribe to the newsletter.

ASK A QUESTION TO THE EXPERT
ASK A QUESTION TO THE EXPERT
Submit your application

bs-preloader__icon
ru kz en

«Страховые помогайки»: почему им лучше не доверять свои деньги

В последние годы на страховом рынке набирает популярность деятельность недобросовестных «помогаек». Чаще всего к их услугам граждане прибегают для получения страховых выплат по обязательному автострахованию при ДТП. Fingramota.kz (сайт регулятора) сообщает, как действуют страховые посредники.
«Страховые помогайки»: почему им лучше не доверять свои деньги

Автостраховка – самый массовый страховой продукт. Неудивительно, что между водителями и страховщиками порой возникают споры о размерах выплат после ДТП. На почве конфликта интересов и появились посредники, предоставляющие услуги за определенные проценты от страховой выплаты.

Так называемые автоюристы выступают на стороне автовладельцев и через суд пытаются увеличить размер страховой выплаты после ДТП. Аргументация строится вокруг разницы при оценке стоимости деталей автотранспорта и (или) его ремонта. Действия и методы страховых посредников, на первый взгляд, эффективны. Суд может решить, что страховая компания должна произвести доплату. По данным судебного кабинета, ее размер, в случае успеха, составляет 10 или даже 20% от основной выплаты. Однако вознаграждение за услуги отдельных страховых посредников может достигать 30-50% от суммы страховой выплаты. Выиграв суд и отдав гонорар посреднику, автовладелец в лучшем случае не потеряет ничего, кроме времени. Чаще он лишается части страховой выплаты, которую получил бы без вмешательства третьих лиц.

При проведении процедуры заслушивания и по показаниям физических лиц в суде выгодоприобретатели сообщают о том, что им неизвестен институт страхового омбудсмана и они обращаются к посредникам на платной основе.

На деле же «помогайки», не оказывая фактически юридических или консультационных услуг и вводя в заблуждение граждан, забирают себе до половины страховой выплаты, положенной по закону выгодоприобретателю. Пользуясь доверчивостью, недобросовестные «помогайки» обогащаются за счет граждан. При этом такие их услуги превратились в отработанную схему получения легких денег, где число людей, недополучивших законные выплаты, растет из года в год. В итоге деятельность «помогаек» не только наносит материальный ущерб гражданам, но и подрывает доверие к страхованию, поскольку «помогайки» создают видимость того, что без их помощи получить страховую выплату сложно.

Нередки случаи, когда после ДТП со смертельным исходом «помогайки» обращаются к родственникам потерпевшего, обещая оказать содействие в получении денег от страховой компании. Так, если у погибшего в ДТП были на иждивении дети или родители, по закону им положена страховая выплата в размере 2000 МРП или 7,4 млн тенге (МРП на 2024 год – 3 692 тенге). «Помогайки» заключают с ними договор и оформляют доверенность на получение страховой выплаты. Посреднические услуги в данном случае сводятся к передаче документов от родственников пострадавшего в страховую компанию. Половину суммы или более посредники оставляют себе, и это несоизмеримо объему оказанных услуг. Отмечаем, что за осуществление страховщиками страховых выплат комиссии и сборы не предусмотрены.

Обращаем внимание граждан, что при наступлении страхового случая страховая организация обязана произвести страховую выплату в размере, порядке и сроки, установленные действующим законодательством в сфере страхования. При смертельных ДТП право на получение единовременной выплаты есть у иждивенцев умершего лица: детей или родственников, которые были у него на иждивении, лица, имеющего право на возмещение вреда в связи со смертью пострадавшего.

Согласно изменениям в законодательстве, с начала текущего года казахстанцы для урегулирования разногласий со страховщиками до обращения в суд должны обратиться к страховому омбудсману. То есть с 1 января 2024 года заявитель, у которого имеется неразрешенный страховой спор, должен в обязательном порядке обратиться к страховому омбудсману для его урегулирования. Данное нововведение существенно облегчило гражданам процедуру разрешения споров со страховыми организациями.

Источник: https://fingramota.kz/ru/news/post/strahovye-pomogajki-pochemu-im-luchshe-ne-doveryat-svoi-dengi

Фото из открытых источников

Поделиться
читайте также
Влияние пандемии на страхование жизни 
Влияние пандемии на страхование жизни 

Ранее банки и агенты были двумя крупнейшими ка...

Выбираем приложение для похудения
Выбираем приложение для похудения

Приложения для похудения помогут контролиров...

Самые интересные материалы сайта у тебя на почте! Подпишись на рассылку.

ЗАДАТЬ ВОПРОС ЭКСПЕРТУ
ЗАДАТЬ ВОПРОС ЭКСПЕРТУ
Оставить заявку