bs-preloader__icon
ru kz en

Canadian woman's life was not insured despite a line of credit

An Ontario man found out that his wife's life was not insured despite a C$150,000 loan.
Canadian woman's life was not insured despite a line of credit

Richards said he and his wife Sandra wanted to take out a Home Equity Line of Credit (HELOC) for $150,000, but they said they also wanted to have life insurance on the loan.

HELOC (Home equity line of credit) is a line of credit secured by residential real estate. It is one of the types of mortgage lending, in which the lender undertakes to provide the maximum loan amount for a certain period secured by existing real estate. In other words, an agreement between the lender and the borrower is concluded, under which the latter’s property is pledged to the bank (or another lender) in exchange for the fact that the borrower will be able to use credit funds at any time, the maximum amount of which is determined based on the value of collateral and characteristics of the borrower. The borrower, in turn, can take the entire amount or part of it, and they (the borrower) can use the credit line (take funds and give them back) repeatedly during the period specified in the agreement. Some experts see HELOC as a “salvation” for borrowers who have obtained many loans from various banks and microfinance organizations.

But when Sandra died in November of 2023, Richards found out the line of credit was not covered by life insurance. Their bank has a policy to terminate life insurance when a customer turns 70 years of age. This means that after this age, banks or insurance companies no longer provide insurance coverage related to the repayment of loan obligations in the event of the death of the borrower.

“I had no idea such discrimination existed. We were paying almost $800 every month. And I assumed that these costs were included paying premiums to the insurer. Now this amount will have to be paid by me alone, but my income does not allow this,” Richards commented.

Source: https://toronto.ctvnews.ca/ontario-man-devastated-to-learn-150-000-line-of-credit-isn-t-insured-after-wife-dies-1.6877914

Photos are from open sources.

Share
read also
Life insurance: how to receive a payment
Life insurance: how to receive a payment

Over the past few years, Kazakhstanis are increasingly interested in the products of ...

How to conclude a lucrative retirement annuity contract
How to conclude a lucrative retirement annuity contract

According to results of seven months of 2021, annuity insurance continues to be the f...

Insurance companies will be responsible for their agents
Insurance companies will be responsible for their agents

Mazhilis representatives approved the draft law "On Amendments and Addendums to Some ...

The most interesting materials of the site you have in the mail! Subscribe to the newsletter.

ASK A QUESTION TO THE EXPERT
ASK A QUESTION TO THE EXPERT
Submit your application

bs-preloader__icon
ru kz en

Жизнь канадки не была застрахована, несмотря на ипотечный кредит

Мужчина из Онтарио узнал, что жизнь жены не была застрахована, несмотря на кредит в 150 тыс. канадских долларов.
Жизнь канадки не была застрахована, несмотря на ипотечный кредит

Ричардс сказал, что он и его жена Сандра в 2018 году получили кредитную линию на приобретение жилья (HELOC) на сумму 150 000 долларов, и тогда они застраховали свои жизни.

HELOC (Home equity line of credit) – это кредитная линия под залог жилой недвижимости. Представляет собой одну из разновидностей ипотечного кредитования, в рамках которого кредитор обязуется предоставить максимальную сумму кредита на определенный срок под залог имеющейся недвижимости. Другими словами, между кредитором и заемщиком заключается договор, в рамках которого недвижимость второго передается в залог банку (или другому кредитору) взамен на то, что заемщик сможет в любой момент воспользоваться кредитными средствами, максимальная сумма которых определяется исходя из стоимости залога и характеристик заемщика. Заемщик, в свою очередь, может взять всю сумму либо часть ее, причем он (заемщик) может пользоваться кредитной линией (брать средства и отдавать их) неоднократно в течение оговоренного в договоре периода. Некоторые эксперты видят в HELOC «спасение» для заемщиков, которые набрали множество кредитов в различных банках и МФО.

Но когда Сандра умерла в ноябре 2023 года, Ричардс узнал, что кредитная линия не была покрыта полисом страхования жизни. Дело в том, что в Канаде после достижения 70 лет аннулируется страхование жизни, предусмотренное для кредитов. Это значит, что после этого возраста банки или страховые компании больше не предоставляют страховое покрытие, связанное с погашением кредитных обязательств в случае смерти заемщика.

«Я понятия не имел, что существует такая дискриминация. Мы каждый месяц платили почти 800 долларов. И я полагал, что эти расходы включают оплату вносов страховщику. Теперь эту сумму придется выплачивать мне одному, но мой доход этого не позволяет», - прокомментировал Ричардс.

Источник: https://toronto.ctvnews.ca/ontario-man-devastated-to-learn-150-000-line-of-credit-isn-t-insured-after-wife-dies-1.6877914

Фото из открытых источников

Поделиться
читайте также
Кэшбэк за ЗОЖ и другие новые продукты страховщиков
Кэшбэк за ЗОЖ и другие новые продукты страховщиков

Три кита развития бизнеса страховщиков – фина...

Экономика Казахстана восстановится, но не сейчас – эксперты
Экономика Казахстана восстановится, но не сейчас – эксперты

Эксперты высказали LS мнение о том, когда эконо...

Самые интересные материалы сайта у тебя на почте! Подпишись на рассылку.

ЗАДАТЬ ВОПРОС ЭКСПЕРТУ
ЗАДАТЬ ВОПРОС ЭКСПЕРТУ
Оставить заявку