bs-preloader__icon
ru kz en

Scammers in Russia Choose More Expensive Policies

The proven damage of insurance companies from fraudsters in 2019 amounted to 8 billion rubles. The lion share of unfair practices are still concentrated in compulsory motor third-party liability insurance, but they have already begun to migrate to other types of insurance with a much larger size of payments, for example: the property insurance and civil liability segment, in which the companies’ average loss from fraud reaches 12 million rubles. The situation can be fixed with amendments giving insurance detectives a limited inquiry function and increasing their investigation status.
Scammers in Russia Choose More Expensive Policies

In 2019, insurers filed 12.2 thousand applications with law enforcement agencies, criminal cases were filed for 19% of the applications, and less than 1% reached the court. Sergey Efremov, the Vice President of All-Russian Union of Insurers (ARIA) cited such statistics at the conference on insurance fraud control. He informed that the amount of companies’ loss from the actions of fraudsters was 8 billion rubles last year (such statistics have not been kept previously, so it is difficult to track the trend). The bulk of fraud cases accounted for Third Party Liability (TPL) insurance - 87% (a year earlier, its share was 90%). In relation to the amount of total TPL insurance payments, the share of loss from fraudsters is 5.7%.

The companies point out that malpractices have begun to migrate to other types of insurance with a higher average loss rate to the insurer. “The average bill” for insurer contacting the police for compulsory motor third-party liability insurance is 250 thousand rubles,” explains Sergey Efremov. - It is 11.9 million rubles in the segment of property and liability insurance, in CNC insurance - 1.8 million rubles, in life and health insurance - 869.7 thousand rubles; in insurance for people traveling abroad - 458.2 thousand rubles.” ARIA expects that the situation with fraud will develop in accordance with the American scenario: the level of questionable payments is 15% in the United States, the main share of fraud is in life insurance with its high “average check”.

So far, insurers cannot effectively resist scammers. According to Igor Fatyanov, the Executive of Zetta Insurance, security officers are conducting investigations but with a little practical benefit. “They can write a detective story based on the results,” he says ironically. However, according to him, not being a participant in the criminal process, insurance detectives actually work in vain. The state spends money on collecting the same evidence in cases of fraud by investigators or detectives. Therefore, insurers want to empower their investigation services. According to Igor Fatyanov, it is necessary to increase the status of investigations of insurance detectives and give them the authority to interview witnesses, send inquiries, and inspect premises and vehicles.

The new powers of insurance detectives will require legislative changes. The State Duma is already preparing amendments to the law on private detective work. The working group is planning to include “collection of information on establishing the fact and reasons for the insured event occurrence” in the detective service list. This is not about giving detectives the right to conduct operational investigative measures and carry out a full investigation, but expecting that such amendments would increase the chances of identifying fraudsters. It is also proposed to endow insurance detectives with the limited inquiry function that the Russian Federation Code of Criminal Procedure now provides, in particular, to sea captains and leaders of geological exploration parties and winter camps. State Duma deputy Anatoly Vyborny expects such amendments to be introduced later this year. However, the problems of insurance investigators are not only of legislative character. The adviser to the Central Bank insurance market department Andrei Zhukov noted yesterday that the insurers' investigation services lacked qualifications, niche expertise in the stolen vehicle search, low efficiency and high investigation cost. ARIA promises that it would coordinate the standards for the insurance detective work with the Central Bank.

Source:https://www.kommersant.ru/doc/4284603?query=%D1%81%D1%82%D1%80%D0%B0%D1%85%D0%BE%D0%B2%D0%B0%D0%BD%D0%B8%D0%B5%20%D0%B6%D0%B8%D0%B7%D0%BD%D0%B8

Photos are from open sources.

Share
read also
Why do men die before women?
Why do men die before women?

Men do not live as long as women, because of the XY sex chromosome set. The researche...

Fitch Ratings changes outlook of London insurance market to negative due to COVID-19 outbreak
Fitch Ratings changes outlook of London insurance market to negative due to COVID-19 outbreak

Fitch Ratings changed forecast of London insurance market from stable to negative due...

The most interesting materials of the site you have in the mail! Subscribe to the newsletter.

ASK A QUESTION TO THE EXPERT
ASK A QUESTION TO THE EXPERT
Submit your application

bs-preloader__icon
ru kz en

Российские мошенники выбирают полисы подороже

Доказанный ущерб страховых компаний от мошенников в 2019 году составил 8 млрд руб. Основная масса недобросовестных практик по-прежнему сосредоточена в ОСАГО, но они уже начали мигрировать в другие виды страхования с гораздо большим размером выплат — например, в сегмент страхования имущества и гражданской ответственности, в котором средний размер потерь компаний от мошенничеств достигает 12 млн руб. Ситуацию могут исправить поправки, наделяющие страховых детективов ограниченной функцией дознания и повышающие статус их расследований.
Российские мошенники выбирают полисы подороже

В 2019 году страховщиками было подано в правоохранительные органы 12,2 тыс. заявлений, по 19% обращений были возбуждены уголовные дела, до суда дошло менее 1%. Такую статистику на конференции по противодействию страховому мошенничеству привел вице-президент Всероссийского союза страховщиков (ВСС) Сергей Ефремов. Он сообщил, что сумма ущерба компаний от действий мошенников составила в прошлом году 8 млрд руб. (в прежние годы такой статистики не велось, так что понять направление тренда затруднительно). Основная масса случаев мошенничества пришлась на ОСАГО — 87% (годом ранее его доля составляла 90%). В отношении к сумме общих выплат по ОСАГО доля ущерба от мошенников равна 5,7%.

В компаниях отмечают, что недобросовестные практики начали мигрировать в другие виды страхования — с более высоким средним показателем ущерба для страховщика. «"Средний чек" по обращению страховщика в полицию по ОСАГО составляет 250 тыс. руб.,— поясняет Сергей Ефремов.— В сегменте страхования имущества и ответственности это уже 11,9 млн руб., в каско — 1,8 млн руб., в страховании жизни и здоровья — 869,7 тыс. руб., в страховании выезжающих за рубеж — 458,2 тыс. руб.». В ВСС ожидают, что ситуация с мошенничеством будет развиваться по американскому сценарию — в США уровень сомнительных выплат составляет 15%, основная доля мошенничества приходится на страхование жизни с его высоким «средним чеком».

Пока страховщики не могут эффективно противостоять мошенникам. По словам главы компании «Зетта страхование» Игоря Фатьянова, сотрудники подразделений безопасности проводят расследования, но практической пользы от этого немного. «По итогам они могут написать детективный рассказ»,— иронизирует он. Однако, по его словам, не являясь участником уголовного процесса, страховые детективы фактически работают впустую. Государство при этом тратит деньги на то, чтобы те же доказательства по случаям мошенничества собирали дознаватели или следователи. Поэтому страховщики хотят расширения полномочий своих служб расследований. По словам Игоря Фатьянова, необходимо повысить статус расследований страховых детективов и наделить их, в частности, полномочиями по опросу свидетелей, направлению запросов, обследованию помещений и транспортных средств.

Новые полномочия страховых детективов потребуют изменения законодательства. В Госдуме уже готовят поправки к закону о частной детективной деятельности. Рабочая группа, в частности, планирует включить в перечень детективных услуг «сбор сведений по установлению факта и причин наступления страхового случая». Речь не идет о предоставлении детективам права проведения оперативно-разыскных мероприятий и осуществления полноценного расследования, но ожидается, что такие поправки повысят шансы на выявление мошенников. Также предлагается наделить страховых детективов ограниченной функцией дознания, которую УПК РФ сейчас предоставляет, в частности, капитанам дальнего плавания и руководителям геолого-разведочных партий и зимовок. Депутат Госдумы Анатолий Выборный ожидает, что такие поправки будут внесены уже в этом году. Впрочем, проблемы страховых расследователей не только в законодательстве. Консультант департамента страхового рынка ЦБ Андрей Жуков вчера отметил, что у служб расследований страховщиков недостаточная квалификация, узкая специализация по поиску похищенного автотранспорта, низкая эффективность и высокая стоимость расследований. В ВСС обещают, что стандарты работы страховых детективов союз согласует с ЦБ.

Источник:https://www.kommersant.ru/doc/4284603?query=%D1%81%D1%82%D1%80%D0%B0%D1%85%D0%BE%D0%B2%D0%B0%D0%BD%D0%B8%D0%B5%20%D0%B6%D0%B8%D0%B7%D0%BD%D0%B8

Фото из открытых источников 

Поделиться
читайте также

Самые интересные материалы сайта у тебя на почте! Подпишись на рассылку.

ЗАДАТЬ ВОПРОС ЭКСПЕРТУ
ЗАДАТЬ ВОПРОС ЭКСПЕРТУ
Оставить заявку