bs-preloader__icon
ru kz en

How genes influence the choice of life journey

There is more and more evidence that genes encode not only appearance and predisposition toward diseases but also preferences and behavior. Scientists are even attempting to predict eating habits using DNA. How great is the influence of heredity on a person’s character in the material of RIA Novosti.
How genes influence the choice of life journey

The hypothesis that some individual tendencies depend on heredity is increasingly supported. Thus, in 2014, Yale University physician and sociologist Nicholas Christakis and UC San Diego professor of medical genetics and political science James Fowler demonstrated that genes could tell us who to make friends with. Turning to data from a large heart study, the Framingham Heart Study, experts selected 1932 people, most of whom had friendly connections with each other. The analysis of nearly five hundred thousand genetic markers showed that friends shared more common gene variants than strangers.

Similar results were later obtained by US scientists. According to them, the enzyme phosphodiesterase PDE11A4 expressed in the hippocampus of the brain, may be responsible for the manifestation of friendly feelings. Observation of animals helped making this conclusion; they were much more reluctant to communicate with relatives in whom the gene responsible for the production of this enzyme was turned off.

The research in neuroscience and psychology suggests that morality, the brain's ability to distinguish right from wrong, is a product of evolution. The psychologists from the University of Edinburgh, Michael Zakharin and Timothy Bates, wondered whether it could be inherited. By combining two independent studies on twins, the scientists have concluded that genes significantly influence our moral principles.

“Certain genetic predispositions combined with lifestyle, eating habits, sleep patterns and the amount of physical activity can surely influence our achievements, health status, physical performance and eating preferences, but this influence is minimal,” says a member of the Association of Medical Genetics and Russian Association of Human Reproduction, geneticist at the Center for Family Planning and Reproduction, Yulia Zinovyeva.

The same goes for negative behavior. According to the specialist, one should not forget about the importance of environment, which a person is brought up in. Bad habits and maladaptive behavior can be a consequence of the example that adult family members set for the child. Psychological traumas have a great impact - they often influence the choice of life journey.

Source:  https://ria.ru/20231111/genom-1907913880.html

Photos are from open sources.

Share
read also
How much do winter holidays cost in Kazakhstan?
How much do winter holidays cost in Kazakhstan?

How much winter holiday entertainment now costs in Kazakhstan and how its cost has ch...

The world spends an average of 4% of GDP on education
The world spends an average of 4% of GDP on education

According to the World Bank, public spending on education worldwide amounted to 12.6%...

How to use life insurance
How to use life insurance

The coronavirus pandemic made people more responsive to the issue of careful planning...

The most interesting materials of the site you have in the mail! Subscribe to the newsletter.

ASK A QUESTION TO THE EXPERT
ASK A QUESTION TO THE EXPERT
Submit your application

bs-preloader__icon
ru kz en

Как гены влияют на выбор жизненного пути

Все больше данных о том, что в генах закодированы не только внешность и предрасположенность к болезням, но и предпочтения, поведение. Ученые даже берутся предсказать по ДНК пищевые привычки. Насколько велико влияние наследственности на характер человека — в материале РИА Новости.
Как гены влияют на выбор жизненного пути

Гипотеза о том, что некоторые индивидуальные склонности зависят от наследственности, находит все больше подтверждений. Так, в 2014-м врач и социолог из Йельского университета Николас Кристакис и профессор медицинской генетики и политологии Калифорнийского университета в Сан-Диего Джеймс Фаулер продемонстрировали, что гены могут подсказывать нам, с кем заводить дружбу. Обратившись к данным большого исследования сердца Framingham Heart Study, специалисты отобрали 1932 человека, в большинстве своем имевших дружеские связи между собой. Анализ почти пятисот тысяч генетических маркеров показал, что у друзей варианты генов совпадают чаще, чем у незнакомцев.

Похожие результаты позже получили ученые из США: обнаружили, что за проявление дружеских чувств может отвечать фермент фосфодиэстераза PDE11А4, экспрессируемый в гиппокампе головного мозга. Сделать такое заключение помогло наблюдение за животными — те гораздо неохотнее общались с сородичами, у которых ген, отвечающий за выработку этого фермента, был отключен.

Исследования по нейробиологии и психологии утверждают, что мораль, то есть способность мозга отличать хорошее от плохого, — не что иное, как продукт эволюции. Психологи из Эдинбургского университета Майкл Захарин и Тимоти Бейтс поинтересовались, можно ли ее унаследовать. Объединив две независимые работы по близнецам, ученые сделали вывод, что гены значительно влияют на наши моральные устои.

«Конечно, определенные генетические предрасположенности в совокупности с образом жизни, пищевыми привычками, режимом сна и объемом физической активности способны влиять на наши достижения, состояние здоровья, физические возможности и предпочтения в еде, но это влияние минимально», — говорит член Ассоциации медицинских генетиков и Российской ассоциации репродукции человека, врач-генетик центра репродукции и планирования семьи «Линия жизни» Юлия Зиновьева.

То же касается и негативного поведения. По мнению специалиста, не стоит забывать о значении среды, в которой человек воспитывается. Вредные привычки и неадаптивное поведение могут быть следствием примера, который взрослые члены семьи показывают ребенку. Большое воздействие оказывают психологические травмы — они часто влияют на выбор жизненного пути.

Источник:  https://ria.ru/20231111/genom-1907913880.html

Фото из открытых источников

Поделиться
читайте также
Антифрод-центра создан в Казахстане
Антифрод-центра создан в Казахстане

Национальный банк Казахстана разрабатывает п...

Нацбанк сохранил базовую ставку
Нацбанк сохранил базовую ставку

Комитет по денежно-кредитной политике Национа...

Немецкие страховщики вложат €100 млн в цифровые стартапы
Немецкие страховщики вложат €100 млн в цифровые стартапы

Немецкая ассоциация частного медицинского ст...

Самые интересные материалы сайта у тебя на почте! Подпишись на рассылку.

ЗАДАТЬ ВОПРОС ЭКСПЕРТУ
ЗАДАТЬ ВОПРОС ЭКСПЕРТУ
Оставить заявку