bs-preloader__icon
ru kz en

Keto diet improves brain function

According to study the scientists at Stanford Medical School, the ketogenic diet not only improves metabolic health but also helps treat patients with schizophrenia and bipolar disorder. The research suggests that ketone bodies produced during ketosis may provide a more efficient and consistent source of energy for the brain potentially stabilizing neuronal activity and reducing inflammation, Inc. magazine writes.
Keto diet improves brain function

Ketogenic diet is a high-fat, low-carbohydrate diet. It has been used for decades, primarily to treat epilepsy, especially in children who do not respond to conventional medications. By dramatically cutting down on carbohydrates and replacing them with fat, the body enters a state of ketosis, where it burns fat instead of carbohydrates for energy.

In a classic ketogenic diet, 80-90% of calories come from fat, with the remainder provided by a combination of proteins and very limited carbohydrates. Breads, pastas, cereals and sugary snacks are replaced with fats such as nuts, cream, butter, and adequate protein sources.

“The ketogenic diet is proved to be effective for treatment-resistant epileptic seizures by reducing the excitability of brain neurons. We think it is worth exploring this treatment for psychiatric conditions,” says Shebani Sethi, assistant professor of psychiatry and behavioral sciences and first author of the new paperwork.

The study included 23 people aged 18 to 75 who had been diagnosed with schizophrenia or bipolar disorder, were overweight, and had other metabolic side effects from taking psychiatric medications.

Psychiatric assessments were conducted at baseline, two months later and at the end of the study using standardized psychiatric scales to measure symptoms of depression, anxiety, and general mental status.

On average, the participants experienced a 10% decrease in body weight and an 11% decrease in waist circumference. In addition, the researchers observed reductions in blood pressure, body mass index, triglycerides, blood sugar levels, and insulin resistance.

The patients showed significant improvement in psychiatric conditions. The participants showed reductions in depression, anxiety, and overall severity of mental illness. They reported improvements in their energy, sleep, mood and quality of life.

The participants who followed the diet completely showed greater improvements compared to those who followed a less restrictive diet. This finding suggests a potential correlation between dieting and psychiatric relief.

Source: https://incrussia.ru/news/ketodieta-uluchshila-sostoyanie-patsientov-s-shizofreniej-i-bipolyarnym-rasstrojstvom/

Photos are from open sources.

Share
read also
Positive dynamics in life insurance
Positive dynamics in life insurance

The National Bank of the Republic of Kazakhstan published the main indicators of the ...

Zhamishev told about the National Bank’s participation in government programs
Zhamishev told about the National Bank’s participation in government programs

The private sector support through government programs should be an extraordinary mea...

Canadian life insurer Sun Life sells its UK business
Canadian life insurer Sun Life sells its UK business

Sun Life has completed the sale of Sun Life UK to the Phoenix Group, which is the UK'...

The most interesting materials of the site you have in the mail! Subscribe to the newsletter.

ASK A QUESTION TO THE EXPERT
ASK A QUESTION TO THE EXPERT
Submit your application

bs-preloader__icon
ru kz en

Кетодиета улучшает деятельность мозга

Исследование ученых из Стэнфордского медицинского университета показало, что кетогенная диета не только улучшает метаболическое здоровье, но и способствует лечению пациентов с шизофренией и биполярным расстройством. Исследования показывают, что кетоновые тела, вырабатываемые во время кетоза, могут обеспечить более эффективный и стабильный источник энергии для мозга, потенциально стабилизируя активность нейронов и уменьшая воспаление, пишет журнал Inc.
Кетодиета улучшает деятельность мозга

Кетогенная диета — это система питания с высоким содержанием жиров и низким содержанием углеводов. Ее используют на протяжении десятилетий, в первую очередь для лечения эпилепсии, особенно у детей, которые не реагируют на обычные лекарства. Резко сокращая потребление углеводов и заменяя их жирами, организм переходит в состояние кетоза, когда для получения энергии он сжигает жир вместо углеводов.

При классической кетогенной диете 80–90% калорий поступает из жиров, а остальная часть обеспечивается сочетанием белков и очень ограниченным количеством углеводов. Хлеб, макароны, крупы и сладкие закуски заменяются жирами, такими как орехи, сливки, сливочное масло, а также достаточным количеством источников белка.

«Доказано, что кетогенная диета эффективна при резистентных к лечению эпилептических припадках за счет снижения возбудимости нейронов головного мозга. Мы подумали, что стоит изучить этот метод лечения при психиатрических заболеваниях», — говорит Шебани Сетхи, доцент кафедры психиатрии и поведенческих наук и первый автор новой статьи.

В исследовании участвовали 23 человека в возрасте от 18 до 75 лет, у которых диагностировали шизофрению или биполярное расстройство, а также у которых был избыточный вес и наблюдались другие метаболические побочные эффекты от приема психиатрических препаратов.

Психиатрические оценки проводились в начале исследования, через два месяца и в конце исследования с использованием стандартизированных психиатрических шкал для измерения симптомов депрессии, тревоги и общего психического состояния.

В среднем у участников наблюдалось снижение массы тела на 10% и уменьшение окружности талии на 11%. Кроме того, исследователи наблюдали снижение артериального давления, индекса массы тела, триглицеридов, уровня сахара в крови и резистентности к инсулину.

У пациентов наблюдалось значительное улучшение психиатрических состояний. Участники продемонстрировали снижение депрессии, тревоги и общей тяжести психических заболеваний. Они сообщили об улучшении своей энергии, сна, настроения и качества жизни.

Участники, которые полностью соблюдали диету, показали большие улучшения по сравнению с теми, кто придерживался менее строгой диеты. Это открытие предполагает потенциальную взаимосвязь между соблюдением диеты и психиатрическим облегчением.

Источник: https://incrussia.ru/news/ketodieta-uluchshila-sostoyanie-patsientov-s-shizofreniej-i-bipolyarnym-rasstrojstvom/

Фото из открытых источников

Поделиться
читайте также
Какие продукты нужно есть каждый день
Какие продукты нужно есть каждый день

Для того, чтобы поддерживать здоровье, нужно п...

Самые интересные материалы сайта у тебя на почте! Подпишись на рассылку.

ЗАДАТЬ ВОПРОС ЭКСПЕРТУ
ЗАДАТЬ ВОПРОС ЭКСПЕРТУ
Оставить заявку