bs-preloader__icon
ru kz en

How Life Insurers Survive the Coronavirus Crisis

Coronavirus has spread to more than 150 countries and has been recognized as a pandemic by the World Health Organization by now. According to the latest data, over 440 thousand people were infected worldwide; more than 20 thousand deaths were recorded. In this article we present a selection of news on how different countries are struggling with a new virus.
How Life Insurers Survive the Coronavirus Crisis

Russia 

The All-Russian Union of Insurers (The ARIA) appealed to the Bank of Russia, State Duma, Ministry of Finance and Chairman of the Government of the Russian Federation Mikhail Mishustin with a voluminous package of measures related to ensuring the work of insurance industry during the coronavirus pandemic. The ARIA offered allowing insurance companies to settle losses with scanned documents and transferring a number of provisions to the law on technical inspection, and softening insurance industry regulation for the emergency period.  

One of the insurance community’s suggestions is to allow the settlement of insurance claims and terminations based on document scans sent in electronic formats. 

Besides, due to quarantine measures and the need to minimize people’s contacts with each other, it seems necessary to postpone the entry of a number of regulatory requirements to the technical inspection law into force. The ARIA suggested postponing enactment of provisions to the law on maintenance regarding the establishment of requirements to the production and technical facilities and technical experts, as well as extending the procedure duration for confirming compliance with new accreditation requirements for existing maintenance operators. 

In order to retain the working efficiency of insurance industry during the coronavirus pandemic period, the ARIA also proposes to reduce a number of regulatory requirements for insurance companies. 

According to the ARIA, it is also necessary to temporarily revise some requirements to insurance reserves and equity placement (in particular, increase the limit on investments in foreign assets from 30-35% to 60%, raise the limit on investments per issuer, and allow accepting the accounts receivables overdue by no more than 90 days to cover insurance reserves, etc.). The ARIA also proposed to temporarily reduce the requirements on attracting loans by insurance companies, as well as allow insurers not to form a stabilization reserve from March 31, 2020. The ARIA also believes it is necessary to allow the fixed date use temporarily (01/31/2020) for the market value assessment on a number of securities for the structural asset ratios. 

USA 

American life insurers are worried about insurance of US clients who have visited countries where coronavirus outbreaks have been reported. 

Lincoln Financial Group set a 30-day waiting period for selling policies to such people. American International Group Inc. announced earlier that it would postpone decisions on life insurance policy sale to customers traveling to China, Hong Kong, Italy and South Korea. 

Erie Family Life offers prospective customers to conclude life insurance contracts without visiting the company's office. This offer is available to people under the age of 55, the size of the insurance policy coverage is up to $500 thousand. 

“We want security for people at this difficult time, - says Louis Colaizzo, the senior vice president of Erie Family Life. - Our underwriting calculates risks based on public profiles and publicly available data.” 

Rating agencies AM Best and Fitch Ratings have revised their forecasts of American life insurers from stable to negative this week, as the global economic crisis has affected them. 

Thailand  

While the Thai government is bearing all medical costs of patients with coronavirus, the policyholders seek greater financial security and peace of mind by acquiring coronavirus insurance. 

Such insurance policies offer two types of coverage: a lump sum payment for diagnosis of the virus and coverage of medical bills, with premiums from 99 to 1,250 Baht. 

At the Thai General Insurance Association meeting last week, the participants expressed concern about the moral risks faced by policyholders and insurers underestimating the risks associated with providing coverage under COVID-19. 

Given that COVID-19 insurance can lead high-insured policyholders to expose themselves to the virus and make claims, OIC states it is closely monitoring insurers and policyholders. 

Several insurers had to suspend the sale of insurance policies covering lump-sum payments when sales of policies approached the threshold of 500,000 to 750,000 units. 

Nigeria 

Prudential Zenith Life Insurance has launched a payment service provider that allows people to buy life insurance policies using their mobile phones. Potential customers just need to dial *5966 # and in a few minutes they will receive an SMS, then the payment can be made or agreement with an agent can be concluded. 

The survey shows that level of insurance in Nigeria is insufficient, only one percent of the country's population has a life insurance policy. 

Photos are from open sources.   

Share
read also
Halyk-Life became the full successor to all rights and obligations of Kazkommerts-Life JSC
Halyk-Life became the full successor to all rights and obligations of Kazkommerts-Life JSC

As part of the reorganization process, on November 1, 2018 a transfer act was signed ...

Effective date of introduction of legislative amendments and additions on insurance and insurance activity
Effective date of introduction of legislative amendments and additions on insurance and insurance activity

Amendments and additions concern the Law of the Republic of Kazakhstan No. 166-VI "On...

Azamat Yerdessov: Innovations and Life Insurance
Azamat Yerdessov: Innovations and Life Insurance

The www.lifeinsurance.kz portal continues a series of publications by life insurance ...

The most interesting materials of the site you have in the mail! Subscribe to the newsletter.

ASK A QUESTION TO THE EXPERT
ASK A QUESTION TO THE EXPERT
Submit your application

bs-preloader__icon
ru kz en

Как страховщики жизни переживают кризис, вызванный коронавирусом

В настоящее время коронавирус распространился более чем в 150 странах и был признан Всемирной организацией здравоохранения пандемией. Согласно последним данным, в мире заразились свыше 440 тыс. человек, зафиксировано более 20 тыс. смертельных исходов. В этом материале мы представляем подборку новостей, как разные страны борются с новым вирусом.
Как страховщики жизни переживают кризис, вызванный коронавирусом

Россия

Всероссийский союз страховщиков (ВСС) обратился в Банк России, Госдуму, Минфин и к председателю правительства РФ Михаилу Мишустину с объемным пакетом мер, касающихся обеспечения работы страховой отрасли в период пандемии коронавируса. Среди предложений - разрешить страховым компаниям проводить урегулирование убытков по сканам документов, перенос ряда положений закона о техосмотре, смягчение регулирования страховой отрасли на период ЧС.

Так, среди предложений страхового сообщества - разрешить урегулирование страховых претензий и расторжений по сканам документов, отправленных в электронных форматах.

Кроме того, на фоне карантинных мероприятий и необходимости минимизировать контакты людей друг с другом представляется необходимым перенести сроки вступления в силу ряда нормативных требований закона о техосмотре. ВСС предлагает отложить вступление в силу положения закона о ТО в части установления требований к производственно-технической базе и к техническим экспертам, а также увеличить сроки прохождения процедуры подтверждения соответствия новым требованиям аккредитации для действующих операторов ТО.

Чтобы сохранить работоспособность страховой отрасли на период пандемии коронавируса, ВСС предлагает также снизить ряд регуляторных требований к страховым компаниям.

По мнению союза, необходимо также временно пересмотреть часть требований к размещению страховых резервов и собственных средств (в частности, повысить лимит вложений в иностранные активы с 30-35% до 60%, повысить лимит вложений на одного эмитента, разрешить принимать в покрытие страховых резервов дебиторскую задолженность, просроченную не более, чем на 90 дней и др.). Кроме того, ВСС предложил временно ослабить требования по привлечению страховыми компаниями займов, а также разрешить страховщикам не формировать стабилизационный резерв с 31 марта 2020 года. Также, по мнению ВСС, необходимо временно разрешить использование фиксированной даты (31.01.2020) для оценки рыночной стоимости ряда ценных бумаг для целей контроля структурных соотношений активов.

США

Страховщики жизни Соединенных Штатов беспокоятся о страховании американских клиентов, которые посетили страны, где зафиксированы вспышки коронавируса.

Так, Lincoln Financial Group установила 30-дневный период ожидания для продажи полисов таким людям. Ранее American International Group Inc заявила, что отложит принятие решений о продажи страховок жизни клиентам, совершавшим поездки в Китай, Гонконг, Италию и Южную Корею.

Erie Family Life предлагает будущим клиентам заключать договора страхования жизни без посещения офиса компании. Предложение доступно для людей в возрасте до 55 лет, размер покрытия страхового полиса составляет до $500 тысяч.

«В это сложное время мы хотим безопасности для людей, - говорит Луис Колаиццо, старший вице-президент Erie Family Life. – Наш андеррайтинг рассчитывает риски, опираясь на анкеты людей и их данные, находящиеся в открытом доступе».

Рейтинговые агентства AM Best и Fitch Ratings на этой неделе пересмотрели свои прогнозы американских страховщиков жизни со стабильного на негативный, поскольку глобальный экономический кризис отразился и на них.

Таиланд

В то время как правительство Таиланда несет все медицинские расходы для пациентов с коронавирусом, страхователи стремятся к большей финансовой защите и спокойствию, приобретая страховку от коронавируса.

Такие страховые полисы предлагают два типа покрытия: единовременная выплата при диагностировании вируса и покрытие медицинских счетов — с премиями от 99 батов до 1 250 батов.

На заседании Тайской ассоциации общего страхования на прошлой неделе участники выразили обеспокоенность по поводу моральных рисков, с которыми сталкиваются страхователи и страховщики, недооценивая риски, связанные с предоставлением покрытия по COVID-19.

Учитывая, что наличие страховки по COVID-19 может побудить страхователей с высокими страховыми суммами подвергать себя воздействию вируса и предъявлять претензии, OIC заявила, что внимательно следит за страховщиками и страхователями.

В настоящее время несколько страховщиков приостановили продажу страховых полисов, покрывающих единовременные выплаты, когда продажи полисов приблизились к порогу от 500 000 до 750 000 ед.

Нигерия

Prudential Zenith Life Insurance запустила платежный сервис, который позволяет людям покупать полисы страхования жизни с помощью мобильных телефонов. Потенциальным клиентам необходимо набрать *5966#  и за считанные минуты они получат СМС-извещение. Далее можно провести платеж или же заключить договор с агентом.

Исследования показывают, что нигерийцы имеют недостаточный уровень страхования – только один процент жителей страны имеет полис страхования жизни.

Источники: http://www.asn-news.ru/news/73099#ixzz6HkwcinN1

https://www.insur-info.ru/press/154396/

https://www.pottsmerc.com/news/state/erie-insurance-makes-life-insurance-attainable-during-coronavirus-pandemic/article_6a876355-3634-53b0-b317-37b0147c5792.html

https://www.reuters.com/article/us-health-coronavirus-insurance/u-s-life-insurers-impose-waiting-periods-to-skirt-coronavirus-risk-idUSKBN2161QK

https://nairametrics.com/2020/03/20/prudential-zenith-life-insurance-launches-mobile-payments-for-protection-with-5966-ussd-code/

Фото из открытых источников       

Поделиться
читайте также
За какими стартапами будущее страхования
За какими стартапами будущее страхования

Страховая отрасль остро нуждается в технологи...

В Казахстане можно купить полис от коронавируса на случай смерти
В Казахстане можно купить полис от коронавируса на случай смерти

Китайские врачи изучили более 70 тыс. случаев з...

Как страхуют в Голливуде
Как страхуют в Голливуде

Решение сложнейшего вопроса о том, кто будет с...

Самые интересные материалы сайта у тебя на почте! Подпишись на рассылку.

ЗАДАТЬ ВОПРОС ЭКСПЕРТУ
ЗАДАТЬ ВОПРОС ЭКСПЕРТУ
Оставить заявку