bs-preloader__icon
ru kz en

A bubble is brewing in the SME and mortgage market

The average annual tenge exchange rate will be at the level of 432.8 units, while consumer inflation will slow down and amount to 6.5%. This forecast was shared by AERC analysts, reports LS.
A bubble is brewing in the SME and mortgage market

In their February macroeconomic review of Kazakhstan as of 2021, the AERC experts rely on the following preconditions in the document: the price of Brent will develop at $48.5 per barrel on average over the year; economies of the trading partner countries will grow by 4.5%; oil and gas condensate production in Kazakhstan will be 86 million tons. The real GDP of Kazakhstan will grow by 4.8% under these conditions.  Consumer inflation will slow down in comparison with 2020 and amount to 6.5% in 2021. According to the AERC forecast, following a gradual recovery of exports and imports, the current account of the balance of payments of Kazakhstan will be formed with a deficit of $9.4 billion amounting to -5% of GDP this year.

“In 2021, given the growing uncertainty in the global economy and the Brent price of $48.5, the dollar against tenge will average 432.8 units in 2021, demonstrating a weakening of the tenge by 4.8% compared to 2020. The nominal cash income in Kazakhstan will grow by 9.5% against the background of growth in nominal wages by 9.2%. According to this year results, the average annual consumer inflation will be at the level of 6.5% against the background of the forecast of weakening of the tenge against dollar and the assumption that the National Bank will keep the base rate at 9%,” the document noted.

The review noted that the financial repression policy introduced by the government is associated with inflationary risks.

“Firstly, through a wide range of state programs of concessional lending to the economy, it actually creates alternative interest rates in the economy, and therefore the real sector does not react to changes in the base interest rate. Given that the measures of concessional lending to the economy are accompanied by an increase in the money supply, while the efficiency of the interest rate channel is constrained by the availability of alternative rates in the economy, the risks of long-term inflation in the country increase. Secondly, such state programs create risks for the financial stability of the banking sector. To overcome this risk, the Kazakhstan Sustainability Fund has been created; it provides liquidity at rates below the base level. However, this practice deprives banks of the ability to provide their own products on market conditions creating risks of instability and lack of independence. Third, the practice of stimulating the economy by making the market value of money cheaper is accompanied by the risk of inflating local bubbles in the economy. In particular, the measure to support SMEs through the provision of concessional lending forces banks to lower the scoring requirements for loan recipients, which creates the likelihood of an increase in bad loans. This process can be called a “bubble of SMEs”: the number of loans to small businesses grew by 19.3% in 2020. There are fears that the state budget will become the lender of last resort,” the AERC experts believe.

According to them, the risk of inflating a bubble is present in the mortgage market of Kazakhstan: the demand for housing in 2020 has been growing despite the decline in household income. As a result, the prices on new homes have increased by 5.2%, secondary housing - by 13.1% over the past year. This trend continued in the current year.

Source: https://lsm.kz/obzor-ekonomiki-mnenie

Photos are from open sources.

Share
read also
LIC assets exceeded 600 billion tenge, premiums increased by 16%
LIC assets exceeded 600 billion tenge, premiums increased by 16%

The life insurance sector reported on the results of 2020....

S&P assesses the situation on the Kazakhstani life insurance market as positive
S&P assesses the situation on the Kazakhstani life insurance market as positive

S&P Global Ratings rating agency conducted a webinar “The Impact of the Current Sit...

«Zoloto Nomadov» as an alternative to deposits
«Zoloto Nomadov» as an alternative to deposits

Today, Rixos Hotel Almaty hosted a business breakfast organized by SB JSC Sberbank an...

The most interesting materials of the site you have in the mail! Subscribe to the newsletter.

ASK A QUESTION TO THE EXPERT
ASK A QUESTION TO THE EXPERT
Submit your application

bs-preloader__icon
ru kz en

На рынке МСБ и ипотеки назревает пузырь

Среднегодовой курс тенге сложится на уровне 432,8 единицы, а потребительская инфляция замедлится и составит 6,5%. Таким прогнозом поделились аналитики AERC, передает LS.
На рынке МСБ и ипотеки назревает пузырь

В своем февральском макроэкономическом обзоре Казахстана на 2021 год эксперты AERC отметили, что опираются в документе на следующие предпосылки: цена на Brent сложится в среднем за год на уровне $48,5 за баррель; экономики стран – торговых партнеров вырастут на 4,5%; объем добычи нефти и газового конденсата Казахстана сложится на уровне 86 млн тонн. При данных условиях реальный ВВП Казахстана вырастет на 4,8%. Вместе с тем потребительская инфляция замедлится в сравнении с 2020 годом и составит в 2021 году 6,5%. Текущий счет платежного баланса Казахстана, по прогнозу AERC, с учетом постепенного восстановления экспорта и импорта в этом году сложится с дефицитом в $9,4 млрд, составив -5% от ВВП.

«В 2021 году при предпосылке нарастания неопределенности в мировой экономике и цене на Brent $48,5, курс доллара к тенге в среднем за 2021 год сложится на уровне 432,8 единицы, демонстрируя ослабление тенге на 4,8% по сравнению с 2020 годом. Номинальные денежные доходы в Казахстане вырастут на 9,5% на фоне роста номинальных заработных плат на 9,2%. Среднегодовая потребительская инфляция по итогам этого года сложится на уровне 6,5% на фоне прогноза ослабления тенге к доллару и предположении о сохранении Нацбанком базовой ставки на уровне 9%», – отметили в документе.

В обзоре отметили, что введение правительством политики финансовой репрессии сопряжено с инфляционными рисками.

«Во-первых, оно через широкий спектр госпрограмм льготного кредитования экономики фактически создает альтернативные процентные ставки в экономике, и поэтому реальный сектор не реагирует на изменения базовой процентной ставки. Учитывая, что меры льготного кредитования экономики сопровождаются ростом денежной массы, в то время как эффективность работы процентного канала сдерживается наличием альтернативных ставок в экономике, возрастают риски долгосрочной инфляции в стране. Во-вторых, такие госпрограммы создают риски для финансовой устойчивости банковского сектора. Для преодоления данного риска был создан «Казахстанский фонд устойчивости», который предоставляет ликвидность по ставкам ниже базового уровня. Однако подобная практика лишает банки возможностей предоставлять собственные продукты на рыночных условиях, создавая риски неустойчивости и несамостоятельности. В-третьих, практика стимулирования экономики через удешевление рыночной стоимости денег сопровождается риском надувания локальных пузырей в экономике. В частности, мера по поддержке МСБ через предоставление льготного кредитования заставляет банки занижать скоринговые требования в отношении получателей кредитов, что создает вероятность роста плохих займов. Такой процесс можно назвать «пузырем МСБ»: за 2020 год кредиты малому бизнесу выросли на 19,3%. При этом есть опасения, что кредитором последней инстанции станет госбюджет», – считают эксперты AERC.

Помимо этого, по их мнению, риск надувания пузыря присутствует на ипотечном рынке Казахстана: спрос на жилье в 2020 году рос, несмотря на снижение доходов населения. Как итог за прошлый год цены на продажу нового жилья выросли на 5,2%, вторичного – на 13,1%. Данная тенденция продолжилась в текущем году.

Источник: https://lsm.kz/obzor-ekonomiki-mnenie

Фото из открытых источников

Поделиться
читайте также
В России предлагают стандартизировать признаки страховых мошенников
В России предлагают стандартизировать признаки страховых мошенников

Всероссийский союз страховщиков предложит ко...

Плюсы и минусы пенсионных аннуитетов
Плюсы и минусы пенсионных аннуитетов

Создание личной пенсии – одна из важных задач ...

Самые интересные материалы сайта у тебя на почте! Подпишись на рассылку.

ЗАДАТЬ ВОПРОС ЭКСПЕРТУ
ЗАДАТЬ ВОПРОС ЭКСПЕРТУ
Оставить заявку