bs-preloader__icon
ru kz en

Endowment Insurance as an Investment Tool

We have recently an acute discussion with my friends ¬– we discussed investing in children. All participants of the discussion are adults who have established themselves in business and life. Each of us became a parent in a conscious and mature manner. Therefore, we discussed not the investment of time and love – we had a unanimous opinion on this and there was nothing to argue about. We discussed money. Do growing children need an active financial support? Should we pay for their education, hobbies, first attempts in business? Or is it just getting in the way? Will the parental money deprive a child of independence or become a barrier to child’s self-actualization? Or is this an absolute benefit? What, in the end, does this give to the parents? Finally, we came to a consensus. And I want to share it and perhaps continue the discussion.
Endowment Insurance as an Investment Tool

Written by Inna Belyanskaya, a member of the Management Board of MetLife JSC (source: https://biz.nv.ua/experts/bilansky/investitsii-v-detej-zachem-i-kak-2455511.html)

To begin with, any investment assumes a return. And the answer to the question Should I invest? depends on what you expect in return. When we talk about investing in children, there are two typical answers about the expected result.

1. I am investing and my child will help me in my old age. Not everyone can openly admit such expectations, although they are quite typical for our society. Moreover, this model currently works. We help our parents and often completely strange elderly people, because we see that it is very difficult for them to survive with the current amount of pensions, and sometimes impossible without our help. But does it mean that this should be the case in the future?

As a person working in the life insurance market for sixteen years, I am sure, it shouldn’t. Everyone should and can save by the retirement date on his or her own. Moreover, any of us may once need a financial aid before our children are given a start in life. At least, because parents now give birth to children later, often at the age of 30 and older rather than at 20. The average age of a Ukrainian mother at the birth of a child was 27.4 years old in 2015-2016, and this parameter is constantly growing. Ten years ago it was a bit more than 22 years old.

With this trend, it takes a longer time for children to grow up: here is the transition to a 12-year school system, and the general trend of a long life "under the parent wing" – until 24 years old on average. In addition, 25% of the Ukrainians today dream that their children learn and build a career in the EU that means becoming a professional and gaining financial independence can take even more time. Before a child grows up, gets education, and starts earning money, his or her parents may already need a financial support. And it is highly questionable whether a young person can provide such support. Won’t this interfere with his or her own plans? Do parents need an investment with such a result?

2. I am investing and my child can fulfill himself or herself. It is an absolutely different answer and different expectations. And here is the most discussions arise – do children need parents’ money for actual self-actualization? Can the money hurt?

In my personal opinion, such investment is 100% necessary, although they do not guarantee any success. You should invest in your children, at least because it will be much more difficult for them to fulfill themselves without our support. One would think of the open world, free access to information, the opportunity to earn even in teenage years. What is the challenge? Why should we invest then?

There are three reasons why the money is necessary:

  1. temporary work for students and teenagers changes its sense. Of course, they can earn extra money while studying to go through a certain "school of life", appreciate the efforts of adults and the opportunities provided by a good education. But taking into account the future changes, when a simple routine work loses its significance, the skills gained at such work are unlikely to be useful. So, is it worth wasting the tender years on such work? It is much more effective to combine studies with practical internship or volunteer work. It should be born in mind that this is generally a matter of gaining experience, not earnings.
  2. our children will learn for a much longer time than we do. They will have to change jobs, areas, and do it often literally for all their life; according to various estimates, 7-9 times in their career. According to sociologists, they may not work as an accountant or a lawyer for all their life, and develop within a single job. Every time they will have to start from scratch, and we still do not even know in which areas! Studies, even if they are free of charge, take time and effort. Much time to learn, not earn ... Do they need a financial support in this situation?
  3. our children will have no universal income. However, they are likely to compete or cooperate in their job, studies or creative work with those who have such income – with children from different economically better developed countries. The boundaries have been erased; the employment market has become global. But to integrate into it successfully, they require a resource at the start, including a financial resource – at least for good books, studies at university, equipment for a creative mini-studio or launching an IT start-up.

If you realize that you should invest in your children without expecting a "return on investment" in your old age, a new question arises: how? It is not always possible to do with current expenses; it is necessary to save, make a capital for the future.

Of course, as a representative of the insurance market, I cannot be impartial – I am 100% sure that the endowment insurance is the best solution. Definitely, this is not the only, but mandatory instrument for the family. After all, it certainly guarantees that "investment plans" of parents will definitely come true: even if they can no longer be with their child, or their health at some point would not allow them to make and save money. But the formation of a "child capital" is another story, which can be discussed in the next op-ed column.

Photos from: http://today.kz/news/kazahstan/2015-09-02/625206-v-kazahstane-postanovka-na-ucet-v-detskij-sad-budet-osusestvlatsa-avtomaticeski/

Share
read also
Why do we need to insure life?
Why do we need to insure life?

You can gain confidence in yourself and in your future only by fully taking responsib...

British citizens underestimating life expectancy are facing retirement poverty
British citizens underestimating life expectancy are facing retirement poverty

The studies show that the British who underestimate the length of their own lives may...

Beijing allows the merger of banking and insurance adjusters have learned the media.
Beijing allows the merger of banking and insurance adjusters have learned the media.

The goal is to streamline the disjointed system of regulatory bodies and to minimize ...

The most interesting materials of the site you have in the mail! Subscribe to the newsletter.

ASK A QUESTION TO THE EXPERT
ASK A QUESTION TO THE EXPERT
Submit your application

bs-preloader__icon
ru kz en

Накопительное страхование как инструмент для инвестиций

Совсем недавно в моем близком кругу разгорелась дискуссия: мы с друзьями спорили об инвестициях в детей. Все участники спора – взрослые люди, состоявшиеся в бизнесе и жизни. Все стали родителями осознанно, зрело. Поэтому мы спорили не об инвестициях времени и любви – здесь все единодушны, и спорить не о чем. Дискутировали о деньгах. Нужна ли активная финансовая поддержка взрослеющим детям? Нужно ли платить за их образование, хобби, первые пробы в бизнесе? Или это только мешает? Не лишат ли родительские деньги ребенка самостоятельности, не станут ли барьером для его самореализации? Или это безусловное благо? Что, в конце концов, это дает самим родителям? В итоге мы все же пришли к единому мнению. И я хочу им поделиться – а возможно, продолжить дискуссию.
Накопительное страхование как инструмент для инвестиций

Автор: Инна Белянская, член правления АО МетЛайф (источник: https://biz.nv.ua/experts/bilansky/investitsii-v-detej-zachem-i-kak-2455511.html)

Начнем с того, что любая инвестиция предполагает отдачу. И ответ на вопрос – "Стоит ли инвестировать?" зависит от того, чего вы ждёте взамен. Когда мы говорим про инвестиции в детей, есть два типичных ответа про ожидаемый результат.

1. Я инвестирую, и ребенок поможет мне в старости. Не каждый открыто признается в таких ожиданиях, хотя они вполне типичны для нашего общества. Больше того: сегодня эта модель работает. Мы помогаем своим родителям, а зачастую – и совершенно чужим пожилым людям, потому что видим: выжить при нынешнем уровне пенсий им очень сложно, а без нашей помощи иногда невозможно. Но значит ли, что так должно быть и в будущем?

Как человек, 16 лет работающий на рынке страхования жизни, уверена: не должно. На пенсию нужно и можно копить самостоятельно. Тем более, любому из нас финансовая помощь может понадобиться раньше, чем станут на ноги наши дети. Хотя бы потому, что сейчас их рожают позже: чаще не в 20, а после 30-ти. Средний возраст украинской матери при рождении ребенка в 2015-2016-м – 27,4 года, и этот показатель постоянно растет. Еще 10 лет назад он был немногим больше 22 лет.

При этом дети взрослеют дольше: здесь и переход на 12-летнее образование, и общая тенденция долгой жизни "под родительским крылом" – в среднем до 24-летнего возраста. Кроме того, 25% украинцев сегодня мечтают, чтобы их дети учились и строили карьеру в ЕС: а значит, становление в профессии и получение финансовой независимости может занять еще больше времени. Пока ребенок вырастет, получит образование и начнет зарабатывать сам, родители могут уже нуждаться в материальной поддержке. И большой вопрос: будет ли она посильной для молодого человека? Не зачеркнет ли его собственные планы? Нужны ли родителям инвестиции с таким результатом?

2. Я инвестирую, и ребенок сможет реализовать себя. Совершенно другой ответ и другие ожидания. И как раз тут самое большое поле для дискуссий – нужны ли для настоящей самореализации деньги родителей? Вдруг навредят?

Мое личное мнение – эти инвестиции на 100% необходимы, хотя и не гарантируют успеха. Вкладывать в детей нужно хотя бы потому, что им будет намного сложнее реализоваться без нашей поддержки. Казалось бы, открытый мир, свободный доступ к информации, возможность зарабатывать еще подростком. В чем же сложность? Зачем тогда инвестиции?

Деньги нужны по 3 причинам:

  1. временная работа для студентов и подростков меняет свой смысл.   Конечно, можно подрабатывать во время учебы, чтобы пройти определенную  "житейскую школу", оценить усилия взрослых  и те возможности, которые дает хорошее образование. Но с учетом будущих изменений, когда простой, рутинный труд будет терять значимость, полученные на такой работе навыки вряд ли пригодятся. Так стоит ли тратить на них юные годы? Намного эффективнее – совместить учебу с профильной стажировкой или волонтерством. Только нужно помнить: обычно это получение опыта, а не заработка.
  2. наши дети будут учиться намного больше, чем мы. Всю жизнь, в буквальном смысле слова: им придется менять профессии, сферы, и делать это часто – по разным оценкам, 7-9 раз в течение карьеры. Работать всю жизнь бухгалтером или юристом, расти в рамках одной специализации, как утверждают социологи, уже не получится. Каждый раз в чем-то начинать с нуля, причем мы пока даже не знаем, в каких именно областях! Обучение, пусть и бесплатное – требует сил и времени. Много времени, чтобы учиться, а не зарабатывать… Нужна ли финансовая поддержка в такой ситуации?
  3. у наших детей не будет безусловного дохода. При этом вполне вероятно, что в профессии, учебе и творчестве они будут конкурировать или сотрудничать с теми, у кого такой доход будет – с ребятами из других, более экономически развитых стран. Границы стираются, рынок труда становится глобальным. Но чтобы успешно в него интегрироваться, на старте нужно иметь ресурс, в том числе финансовый: как минимум, на хорошие книжки, на учебу в университете, на оборудование для творческой мини-студии или запуск ИТ-стартапа.

Если все-таки осознать, что в детей нужно инвестировать, причём не ожидая "возврата вложений" в старости, возникает новый вопрос: как? Не всегда удается это делать в режиме текущих трат – приходится копить, формировать капитал на будущее.

Конечно, как представитель страхового рынка я не могу быть беспристрастной: на 100% уверена, что лучшим решением станет накопительное страхование. Конечно, это не единственный, но обязательный инструмент для семьи. Ведь только он дает гарантию, что "инвестиционные планы" родителей точно сбудутся: даже если они больше не смогут быть рядом со своим ребенком, или в какой-то момент здоровье не позволит зарабатывать и копить. Но формирование "детского капитала" – это уже совершенно другая история, о которой можно подискутировать в следующей авторской колонке.

Источник фото: http://today.kz/news/kazahstan/2015-09-02/625206-v-kazahstane-postanovka-na-ucet-v-detskij-sad-budet-osusestvlatsa-avtomaticeski/

 

Поделиться
читайте также
Жизнь на переломе
Жизнь на переломе

Рынок инвестиционного страхования ждут перем...

Спрос на накопительное страхование жизни будет расти
Спрос на накопительное страхование жизни будет расти

По прогнозам экспертов, в этом году ожидается ...

Вера Гордеева: «Деньги должны работать и приносить прибыль»
Вера Гордеева: «Деньги должны работать и приносить прибыль»

Страховая компания объединяет в себе множеств...

Самые интересные материалы сайта у тебя на почте! Подпишись на рассылку.

ЗАДАТЬ ВОПРОС ЭКСПЕРТУ
ЗАДАТЬ ВОПРОС ЭКСПЕРТУ
Оставить заявку