bs-preloader__icon
ru kz en

Universal life insurance (ULI) is the main growth driver in the market

According to the results of the 1st Q 2019, this segment has already grown almost half as much, writes kommersant.ru. As part of universal life insurance the companies offer products that allow accumulate on one of the hot topics of the summer, graduate education.
Universal life insurance (ULI) is the main growth driver in the market

A new direction

According to the expectations of the Central Bank of the Russian Federation, after the investment life insurance boom, the classic universal life insurance becomes a promising market. According to the All-Russian Union of Insurers, in the 1st Q 2019 this segment has grown by 49.6% (up to 18.2 billion rubles). Experts see the growing popularity of endowment in its social orientation. People acquire such policies not for investment income, but in order to protect themselves and their loved ones from adverse events and have the necessary amount by a certain date.

Traditionally, the endowment is issued for a long term - about ten years. The payment can be skipped or changed only in certain cases by agreement with the insurer. In the event of client’s decease or disability confirmation, the company, depending on the terms of the contract, either pays the coverage amount or makes payments for the client for further capital formation. If nothing tragic happens, the client gets a guaranteed insurance amount at the end of the contract. Part of premiums is a payment for insurance coverage.

Early termination of the contract is possible, but unfavorable. This manifests the disciplining function of universal life insurance. The entire amount of contributions cannot be refunded, since a part of the funds contributed go for risk coverage (insurance in case of establishing disability or death) and other expenses (administration, agency fee). This is a global practice and the specifics of life insurance (as opposed to bank deposits, where the depositor’s life insurance is not provided). The table of redemption amounts (those that are returned to the client upon termination of the contract) is calculated individually and depends on many factors, for example, type of payment (lump-sum or in installments), or insurance period. The redemption amount may be 99% by the end of insurance term, and 0% if the client has made only the first monthly payment. The cancellation percentage on these products is very low - 2–5%. During the free look period (at least 14 days after the policy purchase, in accordance with the requirements of the Central Bank), the client can cancel the contract and return the fees in full.

The advantage of endowment, according to experts, is that insurance premiums cannot be recovered or confiscated, and are not subject to divorce settlement. Universal life insurance allows a targeted capital transfer. For example, with the help of endowment, a grandmother can save for education of her grandson, indicating him as a beneficiary. In the event of the woman’s decease, the entire amount will go to her grandson, bypassing other heirs.

Another advantage of endowment is the possibility to get a return on the saving amount. Depending on its parameters a guaranteed return may be provided under the contract. As a rule, its rates are 2–6% per annum in rubles and 1–3% per annum in foreign currency, depending on the term and program. An additional investment income may also be provided under endowment policy, which may potentially be higher, but not guaranteed, and depend on the investment results. For example, over the years such income has been 5–10% in rubles and 2–5% in currency in Sberbank life insurance. The advantage of endowment is also the possibility to get a tax deduction (for policies for five years and more). It is possible to return 13% from the paid contributions annually. However, the maximum amount of contributions from which the deduction can be made is limited to 120 thousand rubles, and the size of deduction is limited to 15.6 thousand rubles. This increase can be regarded as an additional income.

Candidate minimum

One of the most popular goals of savings on endowment among Russians is child education. University entrance on a budgetary basis without expenses is close to impossible. “The population of the country, especially in large cities, is gradually beginning to get used to the idea that education can be chargeable, and the understanding of the importance of education for the future of children is growing,” said Alexei Bredikhin, the Head of the ACRA Financial Institutions Rating Group.

Chargeable services are offered by all prestigious universities of the country. For example, full-time education fee in the Higher School of Economics varies from 350 thousand to 770 thousand rubles a year, depending on the faculty, at Moscow State Institute for International Relations - 520–648 thousand rubles per year, in Moscow Institute of Physics and Technology - 270-435 thousand rubles a year. Besides, the popularity of education abroad is growing. In some countries, free education is available to foreign students, but studying abroad in any case involves moving and accommodation costs.

According to the study of the international financial group HSBC The Value of Education as of 2017 (the sample did not include Russia), 41% of parents do not exclude that their child will study abroad. However, almost 34% of parents do not know how much such a foreign education will cost. The most desirable country, according to the HSBC report, is the USA.

The cost of education in prestigious foreign universities is even higher than in local ones. For example, in the alma mater of personnel of Silicon Valley, USA, the Stanford University, one trimester at the Business School will cost $24,000 (approximately 1.6 million rubles). Tuition in British universities ranges from £9 thousand to £25 thousand per year (0.75–2 million rubles). According to the HSBC report, almost three quarters (74%) of parents finance their children’s education from their current income, 36% - from general savings, investment and insurance, 21% - from special educational savings and investment programs, 6% - from loans, 4 % - from inheritance. Looking back, many parents (39%) regret that they have not started saving up for education earlier, and more than a third (34%) regret not having set aside a large amount.

According to the April poll by Levada Center, 65% of Russians have no savings at all. Nevertheless, the survey shows the growing interest of Russians towards savings, which can be explained both by economic insecurity and increasing awareness of investment instruments. “In this context the saving policies for education can occupy a niche. The universal life insurance has begun to grow lately, and the structure of savings of the population is gradually shifting towards long-term products,” indicates Alexey Bredikhin.

Source: https://www.kommersant.ru/doc/3990803

Share
read also
Cancer kills Kazakhstani people: what regions of the Republic are the most dangerous to live in
Cancer kills Kazakhstani people: what regions of the Republic are the most dangerous to live in

Women are basically at risk: lumps hit the lacteal gland more often than other organs...

Whether an unqualified investor should enter the market of investment life insurance
Whether an unqualified investor should enter the market of investment life insurance

Investment life insurance became the driver of the entire insurance market in Russia ...

Insurers of Georgia, Greece and Belarus show growth
Insurers of Georgia, Greece and Belarus show growth

Moreover, Georgia is showing active growth in life insurance....

The most interesting materials of the site you have in the mail! Subscribe to the newsletter.

ASK A QUESTION TO THE EXPERT
ASK A QUESTION TO THE EXPERT
Submit your application

bs-preloader__icon
ru kz en

Накопительное страхование жизни (НСЖ) - основной драйвер роста на рынке

По итогам первого квартала 2019 года этот сегмент уже вырос почти в полтора раза, пишет kommersant.ru. В рамках НСЖ компании предлагают продукты, позволяющие накопить на одну из актуальных тем лета — образование выпускников.
Накопительное страхование жизни (НСЖ) - основной драйвер роста на рынке

Смена курса

Согласно ожиданиям Центробанка РФ, после завершения бума в инвестиционном страховании жизни перспективным рынком становится классика НСЖ. По данным Всероссийского союза страховщиков, в первом квартале 2019 года этот сегмент вырос на 49,6% (до 18,2 млрд руб.). Рост популярности НСЖ эксперты видят в его социальной направленности. Такие полисы приобретаются не ради инвестдохода, а с целью защитить себя и близких от неблагоприятных событий и гарантированно иметь нужную сумму к определенному сроку.

Традиционно НСЖ оформляют на длительный срок — около десяти лет. Пропускать платеж или менять его размер можно только в определенных случаях по согласованию со страховщиком. В случае смерти клиента или установления инвалидности компания в зависимости от условий договора либо выплачивает страховую сумму, либо вносит платежи за клиента для дальнейшего формирования капитала. Если ничего трагичного не происходит, то клиент получает гарантированную страховую сумму по окончании договора. Часть взносов является платой за страховое покрытие.

Досрочно расторгнуть договор возможно, но невыгодно. В этом проявляется дисциплинирующая функция НСЖ. Вся сумма взносов не может быть возвращена, так как часть внесенных средств идет на оплату рискового покрытия (страхование на случай установления инвалидности или ухода из жизни) и другие расходы (администрирование, агентское вознаграждение). Это мировая практика и специфика страхования жизни (в отличие от банковских депозитов, где страхование жизни вкладчика не предусмотрено). Таблица выкупных сумм (тех, что возвращаются клиенту при расторжении договора) рассчитывается индивидуально и зависит от многих факторов, к примеру, от типа оплаты (единовременно или в рассрочку), от срока страхования. Выкупная сумма может быть и 99% к моменту завершения срока страхования, и 0%, если клиент успел внести только первый небольшой ежемесячный платеж. Процент расторжений по этим продуктам очень низкий — 2–5%. В «период охлаждения» (минимум 14 дней после покупки полиса, согласно требованиям ЦБ) клиент может аннулировать договор и вернуть взносы полностью.

Преимуществом НСЖ, по словам экспертов, является то, что страховые взносы не могут быть взысканы или конфискованы, а также не подлежат разделу имущества при разводе. НСЖ позволяет адресно передавать капитал. Например, с помощью НСЖ бабушка может накопить внуку на образование, указав его как выгодоприобретателя. В случае смерти женщины вся сумма перейдет ее внуку, минуя других наследников.

Еще один плюс НСЖ — возможность получать небольшой доход на сумму накоплений. По договору в зависимости от его параметров может быть предусмотрена гарантированная доходность. Как правило, ее ставки составляют 2–6% годовых в рублях и 1–3% годовых в иностранной валюте в зависимости от срока и программы. По НСЖ также может быть предусмотрен дополнительный инвестиционный доход, который потенциально может быть выше, но не гарантирован, и зависит от результатов инвестирования. Например, в разные годы в «Сбербанк страхование жизни» такой доход составлял 5–10% в рублях и 2–5% в валюте. Преимуществом НСЖ также является возможность получить налоговый вычет (для полисов сроком от пяти лет). Ежегодно с уплаченных взносов можно вернуть 13%. Правда, максимальная сумма взносов, с которой можно получить вычет, ограничена 120 тыс. руб., соответственно, размер самого вычета ограничен 15,6 тыс. руб. Эту прибавку можно расценивать как дополнительный доход.

Кандидатский минимум

Одной из наиболее востребованных целей накоплений по НСЖ у россиян является образование ребенка. Поступление в ВУЗ на бюджетное место без затратной подготовки — почти невозможная задача. «Население страны, особенно в крупных городах, постепенно начинает привыкать к мысли о том, что образование может быть платным, одновременно растет понимание значения образования для будущего детей»,— говорит глава группы рейтингов финансовых институтов АКРА Алексей Бредихин.

Платные услуги обучения предлагают все престижные вузы страны. Например, в Высшей школе экономики цены на очное обучение в зависимости от факультета колеблются от 350 тыс. до 770 тыс. руб. в год, в МГИМО — 520–648 тыс. руб. в год, в МФТИ — 270–435 тыс. руб. в год. Кроме того, растет популярность образования за рубежом. В отдельных странах для иностранных студентов доступно бесплатное образование, но обучение за границей в любом случае сопряжено с расходами на переезд и проживание.

Согласно исследованию международной финансовой группы HSBC The Value of Education за 2017 год (в выборку не входила Россия), 41% родителей не исключают, что их ребенок будет учиться за границей. Однако почти 34% родителей не знают, сколько будет стоить такое зарубежное образование. Наиболее желанной страной, согласно отчету HSBC, являются США. 

Стоимость обучения в престижных зарубежных вузах еще выше, чем в российских. Например, в главной кузнице кадров Кремниевой долины США Стэнфордском университете один триместр в Высшей школе бизнеса обойдется в $24 тыс. (примерно 1,6 млн руб.). Стоимость обучения в университетах Великобритании колеблется от £9 тыс. до £25 тыс. в год (0,75–2 млн руб.). Согласно отчету HSBC, почти три четверти (74%) родителей финансируют образование детей из своих текущих доходов, 36% — из общих сбережений, инвестиций и страхования, 21% — из специальных образовательных программ накопления и инвестиций, 6% — за счет кредитования, 4% — за счет наследства. Оглядываясь назад, многие родители (39%) жалеют, что не начали копить на образование раньше, а более трети (34%) жалеют, что не отложили большую сумму.

Согласно апрельскому опросу «Левада-центра», 65% россиян не имеют сбережений вовсе. Тем не менее опрос фиксирует усиление интереса россиян к ним, что можно объяснить как неуверенностью в завтрашнем дне, так и ростом информированности об инвестиционных инструментах. «В этом контексте накопительные полисы под образование могут занять свою нишу. В последнее время НСЖ стало расти, а структура сбережений населения постепенно сдвигается в сторону долгосрочных продуктов»,— указывает Алексей Бредихин.

Источник: https://www.kommersant.ru/doc/3990803

Поделиться
читайте также
Что такое страхование жизни?
Что такое страхование жизни?

Страхование жизни - это как защитное одеяло дл...

Актуариям везде у нас дорога
Актуариям везде у нас дорога

Впервые в Казахстане «Общество актуариев Каза...

Самые интересные материалы сайта у тебя на почте! Подпишись на рассылку.

ЗАДАТЬ ВОПРОС ЭКСПЕРТУ
ЗАДАТЬ ВОПРОС ЭКСПЕРТУ
Оставить заявку