bs-preloader__icon
ru kz en

Is there any place for deposits with negative returns in Kazakhstan?

Lately it has become unprofitable for Russian banks to sink raised funds in euros due to negative rates in the EU. Market participants asked the Central Bank to allow them to introduce negative rates on foreign currency deposits a month ago. Without getting the regulator reply several large banks in a neighboring country had to refuse to deposit in euros. Lifeinsurance.kz tried to understand if a similar situation may occur in Kazakhstan.
Is there any place for deposits with negative returns in Kazakhstan?

According to the National Bank, in the 1st HY 2019, the volume of net outflow of money (outflow minus inflow), including payments to non-residents or investments in external assets, amounted to $3.7 billion. “About 70% of all external transfers were related to investments by residents in highly liquid foreign securities or foreign bank deposits. The remaining part or 30% accounts for companies in the quasi-public sector, and is determined by the fulfillment of their foreign currency obligations on external loan and Eurobond payment and service,” the official response of the National Bank press service of the Republic of Kazakhstan to Lifeinsurance.kz says.

A few months ago, the Chairman of the largest bank in Kazakhstan, Umut Shayakhmetova, explained the withdrawal of deposits out of the country with unprofitable rates of financial institutions. “Some of corporate deposits were removed from the Kazakhstani banking system. National companies moved out assets abroad and placed them in foreign banks, since the yield on dollar assets there was higher than in Kazakhstani banks. I would like to note that domestic STBs are limited: we have to invest this money domestically. This issue has been raised many times, but the situation has not changed much,” said the Board Chairman of Narodny Bank of Kazakhstan at a press conference in Almaty.

A significant portion of foreign currency deposits in Kazakhstan is traditionally denominated in US dollars. As the FRS rates decrease, deposit rates also decline. “At the moment, USD rates in Kazakhstan are at the level of 1.75% -2%. The interest rates on USD deposits in Russia are below 1% (most large banks). Thus, the rates on deposits with guaranteed safety (in accordance with the KDIF requirements) for individuals in Kazakhstani banks are considered competitive,” the FIAK press service said. The main trade partners of Kazakhstan are Russia and the EU, and oil is the main export product of Kazakhstan, which is mainly traded in US dollars. “Thus, banks need rubles, euros and dollars to implement their basic functions in the economy on financial intermediation. However, it may be more lucrative for export-oriented companies to receive part of the loan in foreign currency to reduce currency risks. The banks also need currency to lend to the entities. The attracted currency can be reinvested on more attractive terms both abroad and domestically,” the press service of Financial Institutions’ Association of Kazakhstan explains.

Legislation of the Republic of Kazakhstan

Domestic legislation does not provide for the possibility of establishing a negative interest rate on deposits, and currently the National Bank is not considering introducing negative rates on foreign currency deposits.

“This issue is only being studied In Russia, and, according to the Central Bank representatives, significant changes to the law will be required in order to introduce negative rates,” the regulator’s press service explained. “The terms on deposits are regulated by contractual relations, rather than legislative prohibitions in international practice unlike Russia and Kazakhstan”.

Is it possible for a similar situation to occur in Kazakhstan?

The situation in Kazakhstan and Russia is slightly different. Inflation is at a relatively high level (4-5%), and the risk premium is much higher in comparison with developed countries. “Negative interest rates in the EU are a positive factor for Kazakhstan banks, and make it possible to raise funds in euros practically for free. Besides, with negative interest rates on deposits, there may be a decrease in the volume of foreign currency deposits in the banking system,” FIAK believes.

Are deposits in STBs profitable?

Earlier, with reference to Ranking.kz, Lifeinsurance.kz reported that in our country bank deposits give up to deposits in life insurance companies. For example, compared to the second-tier banks, where the US dollar rate recommended by KDIF should not exceed 2%, the annual effective rate of return of insurance companies varies from 2.3% to 3.41%.

Only Nomad Life offers endowment in US dollars among the largest insurance companies. The Companies Standard Life and Freedom Finance Life also offer similar products in the insurance market as a whole.

Among the three companies offering endowment in US dollars, Nomad Life offers the highest annual effective rate of return of up to 3.41%. LIC Freedom Finance Life is in the second place (up to 3.28%), and Standard Life is the third (up to 3.25%).

The insurance term in Nomad Life is from 2 to 15 years, and in Freedom Finance - from 3 to 10 years. The Standard Life Company offers 2 products: with the term from 3 to 10 years, and from 15 years or more.

Photos are from open sources.

Share
read also
AIFC Stock Exchange: new hopes for Kazakhstani LICs
AIFC Stock Exchange: new hopes for Kazakhstani LICs

With the opening of Astana International Financial Center (AIFC) Exchange in Kazakhst...

Endowment insurance in Europe: 9 out of 10 families are insured
Endowment insurance in Europe: 9 out of 10 families are insured

Often, one person has 2-3 policies with different protection systems and savings prog...

Lloyd's of London softens the dress code, allowing employees to opt out wearing ties
Lloyd's of London softens the dress code, allowing employees to opt out wearing ties

The largest and oldest insurance market in the world Lloyd's of London is softening t...

The most interesting materials of the site you have in the mail! Subscribe to the newsletter.

ASK A QUESTION TO THE EXPERT
ASK A QUESTION TO THE EXPERT
Submit your application

bs-preloader__icon
ru kz en

Возможны ли депозиты с отрицательной доходность в РК?

С некоторых пор российским банкам стало невыгодно размещать привлеченные средства в евро из-за отрицательных ставок в ЕС. Месяц назад участники рынка попросили Центральный банк разрешить им вводить отрицательные ставки по валютным депозитам. Недожавшись ответа регулятора, несколько крупных банков соседней страны отказались от депозитов в евро. Возможно ли повторение подобной ситуации в Казахстане разбирался Lifeinsurance.kz.
Возможны ли депозиты с отрицательной доходность в РК?

Согласно данным Национального банка в первом полугодии 2019 года объем нетто оттока денег (отток минус приток), в том числе в виде выплат нерезидентам или вложений во внешние активы, составил $3,7 млрд. «Порядка 70% всех внешних переводов были связаны с инвестированием резидентами в высоколиквидные иностранные ценные бумаги или депозиты в иностранных банках. Оставшаяся часть или 30% приходится на компании квазигосударственного сектора, и обусловлена исполнением ими валютных обязательств по погашению и обслуживанию внешних займов и еврооблигаций», - говорится в официальном ответе пресс-службы Национального банка РК на запрос Lifeinsurance.kz.

Несколько месяцев назад председатель правления самого большого банка Казахстана – Умут Шаяхметова объяснила вывод депозитов из страны невыгодными ставками финансовых организаций. «По корпоративным депозитам – часть из них была изъята из банковской системы РК. Особенно национальные компании выводили активы за рубеж и размещали в иностранные банки, так как доходность по долларовым активам там выше, чем в казахстанских банках. Отмечу, отечественные БВУ ограничены: мы должны инвестировать эти деньги внутри страны. Много раз поднимали этот вопрос, но ситуация пока особо не изменилась», - подчеркнула председатель правления Народного банка Казахстана на пресс-конференции в Алматы. 

Значительная часть валютных депозитов в Казахстане традиционно деноминирована в долларах США. По мере снижения ставок ФРС, снижаются и ставки вкладов. «В данный момент долларовые ставки в РК находятся на уровне 1,75%-2%. Между тем, ставки по долларовым депозитам в России находятся на уровне ниже 1% (большинства крупных банков). Таким образом, ставки по депозитам в казахстанских банках для физлиц, с учётом их гарантированной сохранности (в соответствии с требованиями КФГД), считаем конкурентными», – заявляют в пресс-службе Ассоциации финансистов. Основные торговые партнёры Казахстана – Россия и ЕС, а основная экспортная продукция Казахстана – нефть, которая в основном торгуется за доллары США. «Таким образом, банкам для осуществления своих основных функций в экономике по финансовому посредничеству необходимы рубли, евро и доллары. В то же время, экспортоориентированным компаниям может быть выгоднее получить часть кредита в валюте для снижения валютных рисков. Следовательно, банкам для кредитования указанных субъектов также необходима валюта. Также привлечённая валюта может быть реинвестирована на более привлекательных условиях как за рубежом, так и внутри страны», - разъясняют в пресс-службе Ассоциации финансистов.      

Законодательство РК 
Отечественным законодательством не предусмотрена возможность установления отрицательной ставки вознаграждения по вкладам, и в настоящее время Национальный банк не рассматривает вопрос введения отрицательных ставок по валютным вкладам. 

«В России данный вопрос находится только на стадии изучения и по данным представителей Центробанка для введения отрицательных ставок потребуются существенные изменения в законодательство, - объясняют в пресс-службе регулятора. - В отличие от России и Казахстана, в международной практике условия по депозитам регулируются договорными отношениями, а не законодательными запретами». 

Может ли аналогичная ситуация повториться в РК?
Ситуация в Казахстане и РФ немного другая. Инфляция находится на относительно высоком уровне (4-5%), а премия за риск порядком выше в сравнении с развитыми странами. «В свою очередь для казахстанских банков отрицательные процентные ставки в ЕС являются положительным фактором и даёт возможность привлекать денежные средства в евро практически бесплатно. Более того, при негативных процентных ставках по депозитам может произойти снижение объёма валютных вкладов в банковской системе», - говорят в АФК.

Выгодны ли депозиты в БВУ?
Ранее со ссылкой на Ranking.kz Lifeinsurance.kz сообщал, что в нашей стране банковские депозиты проигрывают вкладам в компании по страхованию жизни.  Например, по сравнению с БВУ, где рекомендованная КФГД ставка в долларах США не должна превышать 2%, эффективные ставки у страховых компаний варьируется от 2,3% до 3,41%.

Из крупнейших страховых компаний накопительное страхование жизни в долларах США предлагает только Nomad Life. В целом по страховому рынку аналогичные продукты предлагают также Standart Life и Freedom Finance Life.

Среди трёх компаний, предлагающих накопительное страхование жизни в долларах США, самую высокую ГЭСВ предлагает Nomad Life — до 3,41%. Второе место у КСЖ Freedom Finance Life (до 3,28%), третье — у Standart Life (до 3,25%).

Срок страхования у Nomad Life — от 2 до 15 лет, у Freedom Finance Life — от 3 до 10 лет. Standart Life предлагает 2 продукта: со сроком от 3 до 10 лет, а также от 15 лет и более.

Фото из открытых источников 

Поделиться
читайте также
Сколько тратят британцы на страховку домашних питомцев
Сколько тратят британцы на страховку домашних питомцев

Застраховать жизнь кота в Великобритании можн...

Накопительное страхование:  взгляд из Канады
Накопительное страхование: взгляд из Канады

Алмас Рымов, проработав в Казахстане в страхов...

Самые интересные материалы сайта у тебя на почте! Подпишись на рассылку.

ЗАДАТЬ ВОПРОС ЭКСПЕРТУ
ЗАДАТЬ ВОПРОС ЭКСПЕРТУ
Оставить заявку