bs-preloader__icon
ru kz en

Unit linked and Investment Insurance

Investors who want to participate in the stock market growth and have a guarantee of return on the invested amount are interested in investment life insurance policies, writes the Russian website Insurance Today.
Unit linked and Investment Insurance

Of the several thousand customers who buy investment life insurance policies, are satisfied with their choice. Bank sales managers came to this conclusion. People understand that they invest in the stock market with the expectation of earning a possible income, and in case of correction, return 100% of their funds. However, some investors who entered into ILI in 2012, when the portfolio was mainly formed from gold futures and the RTS index, at the end of the contract term, received low income. Comparing it with interest rates on deposits, they ask: how it happened.

In the crisis year of 2008, the value of units of some mutual funds decreased significantly due to market volatility. For some industry funds the decline was more than 40%. The mass segment customers needed a product that would provide complete protection of invested capital. Thus, investment life insurance appeared on the Russian market.

The product was positioned as an investment tool, which made it possible to get acquainted with the stock market, participate in its dynamics and have a guarantee of the entire invested amount return. However, for various reasons, due to an incomplete understanding of the ILI concept and not always a correct positioning of it on the sales managers’ part, the product was in some cases offered as a deposit alternative. Therefore ILI profitability is compared with profitability of bank deposits, although the benchmark for it should not be the average weighted rate on deposits, but profitability of other investment instruments.

The situation with ILI concept misunderstanding is a thing of the past. The All-Russian Union of Insurers (ARIA) and the Bank of Russia have issued standards that govern the ILI sales. When concluding a contract, each client gets informational materials. They clearly specify that this is not a deposit, product income is not guaranteed, and the amount of investments is not insured by the Deposit Insurance Agency (DIA).

Unit linked is a new stage of the ILI

Unit linked has been operating in Western markets for several years. You can design a product very similar to ILI based on this tool, with the only difference being that Unit linked is a more transparent and potentially more profitable tool. Its share in the financial markets of Europe is growing. According to the Insurance Europe Company, this insurance segment of the market grew by 40% in 2017 in Belgium, in France - by 36.7%, in Belgium - by 21%. Unfortunately, there are no latest statistic data on that yet.

There is a complete segregation of customer assets from company assets in the classic Unit linked. The client’s assets are not on the central asset register of the insurer. An investor sees how the value of his portfolio changes in his personal account. Information disclosure in ILI is implemented differently. The client is given the rule for obtaining investment returns, and he can track the progress of this investment condition in his personal account. Actual assets are on the balance sheet of the insurer, which can play both in favor of the client and insurer (for example, the insurer can take part of the investment risks, protecting the client from them and making extra money on it).

The second Unit linked advantage is a potentially higher return. Other things being equal the client can count on an additional 0.5–1 pp. in comparison with ILI, as the credit risk is redistributed to the client, capital protection obligations are secured by the assets in the product, and the insurer is actually relieved of the obligation to guarantee this payment with his balance. Thus, an insurer has fewer capital requirements, which means that it can reduce the fee for managing funds. This, in turn, leads to profitability increase. 

Unit linked is a mass product in the west that is often used as one of the accumulation tools for specific purposes; it can be a major purchase, education, or retirement savings. I believe it can be applied for the same goals in our market. However, Unit linked cannot substitute ILI because in this product, unlike ILI, the capital protection guarantee is formed according to a different principle. The full amount is refunded by investing most of the money in reliable securities.

Source: http://www.insur-info.ru/comments/1370/

Photos are from open sources.

Share
read also
Challenges of the 4th Industrial Revolution to the insurers of our time
Challenges of the 4th Industrial Revolution to the insurers of our time

The threat to the personal data of individuals and businesses is another result of th...

Scientists Announced the Optimal Diet
Scientists Announced the Optimal Diet

American scientists studied how the meal schedule affects the metabolic processes tha...

How coronavirus has changed the demand for life insurance in Russia
How coronavirus has changed the demand for life insurance in Russia

Insurers have summarized preliminary work results for the past three months. The insu...

The most interesting materials of the site you have in the mail! Subscribe to the newsletter.

ASK A QUESTION TO THE EXPERT
ASK A QUESTION TO THE EXPERT
Submit your application

bs-preloader__icon
ru kz en

Unit linked и инвестиционное страхование

Полисы инвестиционного страхования жизни интересны инвесторам, которые хотят участвовать в росте фондового рынка и при этом иметь гарантию возврата вложенной суммы, пишет российский сайт «Страхование сегодня».
Unit linked и инвестиционное страхование

Из нескольких тысяч клиентов, покупающих полисы инвестиционного страхования жизни, удовлетворены своим выбором. К такому выводу пришли менеджеры по продажам в банках. Люди понимают, что вкладывают деньги в фондовый рынок в расчете получить возможный доход, а в случае коррекции вернуть назад 100% своих средств. Однако некоторые инвесторы, которые «заходили» в ИСЖ в 2012 году, когда портфель только формировался в основном из фьючерсов на золото и индекс РТС по окончанию срока действия договора получили невысокий доход. Сравнивая его с процентными ставками по депозитам, они спрашивают: как же так вышло?

В кризисный 2008 год стоимость паев некоторых паевых фондов существенно снизилась из-за волатильности на рынке. По некоторым отраслевым фондам падение составило более 40%. У клиентов массового сегмента появилась потребность в продукте, который предоставлял бы полную защиту вложенного капитала. Так на российском рынке появилось инвестиционное страхование жизни.

Продукт позиционировался как инвестиционный инструмент, который дает возможность прикоснуться к фондовому рынку, поучаствовать в его динамике и при этом иметь гарантию возврата всей вложенный суммы. Однако в силу разных причин – из-за неполного понимания сути ИСЖ и из-за не всегда правильного позиционирования его со стороны менеджеров по продажам – продукт в отдельных случаях предлагали, как некую альтернативу депозитам. Именно поэтому сегодня доходность по ИСЖ сравнивают с доходностью по банковским вкладам, хотя бенчмарком для него должна выступать не средневзвешенная ставка по депозитам, а доходность по другим инвестиционным инструментам.

Сейчас ситуация с неверным пониманием сути ИСЖ осталась в прошлом. Всероссийский союз страховщиков (ВСС) и Банк России выпустили стандарты, которые регламентируют продажи ИСЖ. При оформлении договора каждый клиент получает информационные материалы. В них четко прописано, что это не депозит, доход по продукту не гарантирован и сумма вложений не застрахована в Агентстве по страхованию вкладов (АСВ).

Unit linked – новая ступень ИСЖ

На западных рынках уже несколько лет работает Unit linked. На этого инструмента можно конструировать продукт, очень похожий на ИСЖ, с той лишь разницей, что Unit linked – более прозрачный и потенциально более доходный инструмент. Не случайно, кстати, его доля на финансовых рынках стран Европы растет. Так, по данным компании Insurance Europe, в Бельгии этот сегмент страхового рынка вырос в 2017 году на 40%, во Франции – на 36,7%, в Бельгии – на 21%. К сожалению, более актуальной статистики пока нет.

В классическом Unit linked происходит полная сегрегация активов клиентов от активов компании. Активы клиента не учитываются на балансе страховщика. Инвестор в личном кабинете видит, как меняется стоимость его портфеля. В ИСЖ раскрытие информации реализовано по-другому. Клиенту раскрывается правило получения им инвестиционной доходности, и он может в личном кабинете отслеживать ход выполнения этого инвестиционного условия. Фактические же активы находятся на балансе страховщика, что может играть как в пользу клиента, так и в пользу страховщика (например, часть инвестиционных рисков страховщик может брать на себя, оберегая от них клиента и дополнительно зарабатывая на этом).

Второе преимущество Unit linked – потенциально более высокая доходность. При прочих равных условиях клиент может рассчитывать на дополнительные 0,5–1 п.п. по сравнению с ИСЖ. Это происходит потому, что кредитный риск перераспределяется на клиента, обязательства по защите капитала обеспечиваются активами в составе продукта, и страховщик фактически избавлен от обязанности гарантировать эту выплату своим балансом. Следовательно, у страховщика меньше требований к капиталу, а значит, он может снизить комиссию за управление средствами. Это в свою очередь приводит к увеличению доходности.

На западе Unit linked – массовый продукт, который часто используется в качестве одного из инструментов накопления на определенные цели. Это могут быть крупная покупка, образование или сбережения для пенсии. Полагаю, что такое же применение он может найти и на нашем рынке. Вместе с этим нельзя рассматривать Unit linked как замену ИСЖ, ведь в этом продукте в отличие от ИСЖ гарантия защиты капитала формируется по другому принципу. Возврат полной суммы обеспечивается за счет вложения большей части средств в надежные бумаги.

Источник: http://www.insur-info.ru/comments/1370/

Фото из открытых источников

 

Поделиться
читайте также
Рост активов, резервов и прибыли
Рост активов, резервов и прибыли

КСЖ ждут положительных итогов 2019 года...

Украинцы стали чаще страховать свою жизнь
Украинцы стали чаще страховать свою жизнь

За первое полугодие полисы по страхованию жиз...

По итогам 2017 года рынок страхования жизни в России сохранил темпы роста
По итогам 2017 года рынок страхования жизни в России сохранил темпы роста

На него приходится треть общего объема сборов....

Самые интересные материалы сайта у тебя на почте! Подпишись на рассылку.

ЗАДАТЬ ВОПРОС ЭКСПЕРТУ
ЗАДАТЬ ВОПРОС ЭКСПЕРТУ
Оставить заявку