bs-preloader__icon
ru kz en

Medical services will help increase frequency of the insurance product "use"

The overwhelming majority, 99% of Russians citizens who buy risk life insurance products, in fact, do not use them - fortunately, nothing critical happen to a person during the term of the agreement. Partially, that is the reason this segment in Russia is not growing as rapidly as endowment or investment insurance products, thanks to which the life insurance market in the country has increased by 53% in 2017, the amount of insurance fees exceeded 350 billion rubles.
Medical services will help increase frequency of the insurance product "use"

Author: Orlova Gulnara Rafaelevna, Deputy Operations Director of Sberbank Life Insurance (source: https://medvestnik.ru/content/interviews/Medicinskie-servisy-pomogut-povysit-chastotu-ispolzovaniya-strahovogo-produkta.html)

We are trying to step down from the usual paradigm of risk insurance, which implies getting a payment in the future (and only in case of insurance event) in return for paying the policy now. Filling the insurance product with medical services will increase frequency of the insurance product "use". As a result, the number of people referring to their insurance policies will grow to 30%, which are more than 3 million life insurance customers in Sberbank today.

The second factor to increase attractiveness of risk life insurance products with medical services is the situation with the medical insurance market and the demand for medical services in the country. According to the recent KPMG report, the voluntary medical insurance segment in Russia has reached saturation. Its share in the paid services structure continues to decline, and increase in demand in the corporate segment is not expected. Along with this, the disposable incomes of population are also dropping. The increase in prices for medical services is being ahead inflation lately, therefore (according to BusinessStat forecast), even if Russia comes out of recession, the household income rates will be too low to stimulate demand for private medicine. This will encourage people when buying credit life insurance policies (and every third in our country has a loan) pay close attention to the medical service component.

In other words, by adding medical options to our products, we see, on the one hand, promising outlook for involving citizens in medical services use and regular health monitoring. On the other hand, the availability of these services can become additional motivation for purchasing risky life insurance products.

What services are life insurance providers investing in first?

 

Doctor nearby

The service of remote medical consultations or telemedicine in Russia is so far used by about 700 thousand people. Our company has already implemented this service in all life insurance programs, which are sold in Sberbank together with loans (with no cost increase). Considering the bank huge network and a high demand for loans and policies of credit life insurance, the number of telemedicine users in the country will grow to 4 million people by the end of 2018, and it will increase by 50-60% by 2020.

When choosing a telemedicine service, first of all, it is necessary to pay attention to such details as a valid medical license by the provider; the ICD list upon which consultations are being conducted; number and qualification of practicing doctors. Another important thing is a convenient user interface with a quick possibility to get a doctor's advice (literally within a few minutes) in any convenient way for the client (phone, video, chat, etc.) and at a convenient time, even at night (when clinics do not work). Usually the telemedicine service works through a mobile application where a client must register, choose a doctor, date and time of consultation and receive an incoming call from the doctor. The cost of treatment ranges from 500 to 3000 rubles. The telemedicine consultation will be free for the client with the life insurance policy.

When using this service, one should bear in mind that remote consultations with a doctor have a number of limitations. There are a number of diseases that make it difficult to diagnose without face-to-face consultation with a specialist. The law says that the initial diagnosis and treatment order are made only with face-to-face doctor’s appointment. Follow-ups may be made remotely.

 

Body Checkup or Maintenance

Preventive medicine is developed in all western countries. People are not afraid to go to the hospital; they regularly take tests, take care of their cholesterol level and try to eat healthy food. This is encouraged by insurance companies: for example, in Finland, those who regularly undergo medical examination pay 10% less for insurance. In Russia, they often get to the doctor only when the pain is unbearable.

The advantage of check-ups is in possibility to be examined at a convenient time, in one place and for a minimum amount of time. On average, the total checkup takes about 4 hours.  As for the cost, it varies from 6 thousand to several hundred thousand rubles depending on the clinic and the examination program.

As part of insurance products, the check-ups are cheaper by 10-15%, thanks to the special terms that clinics provide when cooperating with legal entities.

Often, some diseases are revealed during check-ups, which people have not even suspected about. So, there was a client who was diagnosed with a kidney disease while undergoing a check-up (when underwriting), and the operation carried out in time allowed him to avoid serious consequences. There was another case with a person who had been suffering pain from cardiac rhythm problem for a long time. He was accurately diagnosed after the check-up.  The problem was quickly removed on the spot with the help of an electrical impulse, and the patient was freed from the heart malfunction. Annually 3-5% of premium segment clients are sent to pre-insurance check-ups. After filling the risk life insurance programs with medical services, this service will be in demand for 30% of the bank's clients.

 

Double check

In case of a critical diagnosis the service "The second medical opinion" allows to obtain a second medical assessment report and treatment options by sending the results of the survey.

In Europe and the US, thousands of claims against medical workers are filed every year. More than 50% of them are satisfied by the courts, as according to the expert examination the fact of malpractice events are proven. Every 10th patient in the EU countries at least once faces with mistreatment that harms his health and life. According to statistics, up to 30% of diagnoses in Russia are inaccurately made. Therefore, the service of diagnostic verification is potentially very much in demand, especially when it comes to critical illnesses.

In premium products where this service is already available, the number of requests for the second medical opinion on the diagnosis is leading in neurology - 28% of appeals, orthopedics - 20% (second place), oncology – 16% (third place). On average, in 10% of cases the client receives a clarification or a change in the diagnosis, and correction of treatment.

The second medical opinion, in our opinion, is an integral service of life insurance policies, where the insurance cover for the risks of critical diseases and especially oncology diagnosing is included. In the short term, this option will also expand on many company's products.

Photo per website: gerusmedical.com, miloserdie.ru

Share
read also
Privacy policies of Google, Amazon and Facebook violate the GDPR Directive
Privacy policies of Google, Amazon and Facebook violate the GDPR Directive

A third of the privacy programs of the 14 largest technology companies, including Alp...

East Kazakhstan is one of the leading regions in the industrial accidents rating
East Kazakhstan is one of the leading regions in the industrial accidents rating

Almost every tenth injured died, according to kursiv.kz....

Yerzhan Konurbayev: “There should be systematic approaches to life insurance development”
Yerzhan Konurbayev: “There should be systematic approaches to life insurance development”

Analysis of the insurance market financial indicators for the four months as of 2018 ...

The most interesting materials of the site you have in the mail! Subscribe to the newsletter.

ASK A QUESTION TO THE EXPERT
ASK A QUESTION TO THE EXPERT
Submit your application

bs-preloader__icon
ru kz en

Медицинские сервисы помогут повысить частоту «использования» страхового продукта

Подавляющее большинство, 99% россиян, приобретающих продукты рискового страхования жизни, ими, по сути, не пользуются – к счастью, в течение срока действия договора ничего критичного с человеком не происходит. Отчасти поэтому данный сегмент в России не растет так стремительно, как накопительные и инвестиционные страховые продукты, благодаря которым рынок страхования жизни в стране увеличился за 2017 г. на 53%, объем сборов превысил 350 млрд руб.
Медицинские сервисы помогут повысить частоту «использования» страхового продукта

Автор: Орлова Гульнара Рафаэлевна, заместитель операционного директора СК «Сбербанк страхование жизни» (источник: https://medvestnik.ru/content/interviews/Medicinskie-servisy-pomogut-povysit-chastotu-ispolzovaniya-strahovogo-produkta.html)

Мы стремимся отойти от привычной парадигмы рискового страхования, которая подразумевает получение выплаты в будущем (и только если произойдет страховой случай) взамен на оплату полиса сейчас. Повысить частоту «использования» страхового продукта позволит насыщение его медицинскими сервисами. В результате количество людей, регулярно обращающихся к своему страховому полису, вырастет до 30% – в Сбербанке это сегодня более 3 млн клиентов по страхованию жизни.

Вторым фактором, повышающим привлекательность продуктов рискового страхования жизни с медицинскими сервисами, становится ситуация с рынком медстрахования и спросом на медуслуги в стране. Как следует из недавнего отчета KPMG, сегмент ДМС в России достиг насыщения. Его доля в структуре платных услуг продолжает снижаться, а увеличения спроса в корпоративном сегменте не ожидается. Вместе с этим падают и располагаемые доходы населения. Рост цен на медицинские услуги в последнее время опережает инфляцию, поэтому (согласно прогнозу BusinessStat) даже в случае выхода России из рецессии, темп повышения доходов населения будет слишком низким, чтобы стимулировать спрос на частную медицину. Это подстегнет людей при покупке полисов кредитного страхования жизни (а кредиты в нашей стране у каждого третьего) обращать особое внимание на медицинскую сервисную составляющую.

Иными словами, за счет добавления медицинских опций в наши продукты мы видим, с одной стороны, хорошие перспективы привлечения граждан к пользованию медуслугами и регулярному контролю здоровья. С другой – наличие этих сервисов может стать дополнительной мотивацией для приобретения продуктов рискового страхования жизни.

На какие же сервисы страховщики жизни делают ставку в первую очередь?

Доктор рядом

Сервисом дистанционных медицинских консультаций или телемедицины в России пользуются пока порядка 700 тыс. человек. Недавно  наша компания уже внедрила этот сервис во все программы страхования жизни, которые продаются в Сбербанке вместе с кредитами (без повышения стоимости продукта). Учитывая огромную сеть банка и высокий спрос на кредиты и полисы кредитного страхования жизни, количество пользователей телемедицины в стране вырастет до 4 млн человек уже к концу 2018 г., а к 2020-му увеличится еще на 50-60%.

При выборе сервиса телемедицины в первую очередь необходимо обращать внимание на такие моменты, как наличие у провайдера действующей лицензии на осуществление медицинской деятельности; список нозологий, по которым проводятся консультации; количество и квалификацию практикующих врачей. Еще важно удобство пользовательского интерфейса, чтобы была возможность быстро (буквально в течение нескольких минут) получить консультацию врача любым удобным для клиента способом (телефон, видео, чат и т.д.) и в удобное время, даже ночью (когда поликлиники не работают). Обычно сервис телемедицины работает через мобильное приложение, где клиент должен зарегистрироваться, выбрать врача, дату и время консультации и получить входящий звонок от доктора, а стоимость обращения колеблется в пределах 500–3000 рублей. В рамках полиса рискового страхования жизни телемедицинская консультация получится для клиента бесплатной.

При пользовании данной услугой следует помнить, что дистанционные консультации с врачом имеют ряд ограничений. Существует ряд заболеваний, по которым сложно поставить диагноз без очной консультации со специалистом. Закон говорит о том, что постановка первичного диагноза и назначение лечения проводятся только при очном посещении врача. Повторные же визиты к специалисту клиент может совершать дистанционно.

Check up или ТО для организма

Во всех западных странах развита профилактическая медицина. Люди не боятся ходить в больницу, регулярно сдают анализы, заботятся об уровне холестерина в крови и стараются правильно питаться. Это поощряется страховыми компаниями: например, в Финляндии те, кто регулярно проходят медосмотр, платят за страховку на 10% меньше. В России нередко к врачу попадают только, когда становится совсем невмоготу.

Плюсы чек-апов заключаются в возможности обследоваться в удобное время, в одном месте и за минимальное количество времени. В среднем, общий check up занимает около 4 часов. Что касается стоимости, то в зависимости от клиники и программы обследования она варьирует от 6 тыс. до нескольких сотен тысяч рублей.

В рамках страховых продуктов стоимость check up дешевле на 10–15%, это обусловлено специальными условиями, которые клиники предоставляют при сотрудничестве с юридическими лицами.

Зачастую, в ходе check up выявляют заболевания, о которых человек и не подозревал. Так, в практике  был клиент, у которого при прохождении диагностики (при принятии на страхование) обнаружили заболевание почки, и вовремя проведенная операция позволила избежать серьезных последствий. Еще был случай, когда человек долгое время страдал от проблем, связанных с сердечным ритмом. При прохождении чек-апа ему был поставлен точный диагноз, который даже удалось оперативно устранить на месте при помощи электроимпульса, и избавить пациента от нарушений в работе сердца. Ежегодно на предстраховые чек-апы направляется 3–5% клиентов в премиальных сегментах. После насыщения программ рискового страхования жизни медицинскими сервисами услуга будет востребована у 30% клиентов банка.

Двойная проверка

Сервис «Второе медицинское мнение» позволяет в случае постановки критического диагноза направить результаты обследований для получения второго врачебного заключения и навигации по лечению.

В Европе и США ежегодно подаются десятки тысяч жалоб на медицинских работников. Более 50% из них удовлетворяются судами, так как проведенная экспертиза доказала факт врачебной ошибки. Каждый десятый пациент в странах ЕС хоть раз сталкивается с тем, что лечение наносит вред его здоровью и жизни. Согласно статистике, в России до 30% диагнозов бывают поставлены неточно. Поэтому услуга по верификации диагноза потенциально очень востребована, особенно когда речь идет о критических заболеваниях.

В премиальных продуктах, где уже есть этот сервис, лидируют по количеству обращений запросы на второе медицинское мнение по диагнозу «неврология» – 28% обращений. На втором месте (20%) – «ортопедия», на третьем (16%) – «онкология». В среднем в 10% случаев клиент получает уточнение или изменение диагноза и корректировку лечения.

Второе медицинское мнение, на наш взгляд, неотъемлемый сервис в рамках полисов страхования жизни, где есть страховое покрытие по рискам диагностирования критических заболеваний и особенно онкологии. В ближайшей перспективе эта опция также будет расширяться на многие продукты компании.
Фото с сайтов gerusmedical.com, miloserdie.ru

Поделиться
читайте также
Прибыль страховых компаний выросла за год сразу в 11 раз
Прибыль страховых компаний выросла за год сразу в 11 раз

По итогам марта 2018 года объемы чистой прибыли ...

Кайрат Чегебаев: «Актуариев нужно было готовить еще вчера»
Кайрат Чегебаев: «Актуариев нужно было готовить еще вчера»

В Алматы началось обучение в рамках второго ку...

Самые интересные материалы сайта у тебя на почте! Подпишись на рассылку.

ЗАДАТЬ ВОПРОС ЭКСПЕРТУ
ЗАДАТЬ ВОПРОС ЭКСПЕРТУ
Оставить заявку