bs-preloader__icon
ru kz en

Benefits of Unit linked

Unit linked has been operating in Western markets for several years. Based on it, a product very similar to investment insurance can be developed, with the only difference being that Unit linked is a more transparent and potentially more profitable tool, writes RBK.
Benefits of Unit linked

It is no coincidence, by the way, that its share in the European financial markets is growing. Thus, according to Insurance Europe, this insurance segment grew by 40% in 2017 in Belgium, in France - by 36.7%, in Belgium - by 21%. Unfortunately, there are no more up-to-date statistics available.

After a rapid growth, the investment insurance segment in Russia has moved into the correction phase: fees in the first quarter of 2019 have dropped by 5.5%, according to ARIA data. Will Unit linked in case it is implemented in the Russian market, become a new driver for the life insurance market? It is most likely yes. The product has a number of competitive advantages in the niche of tools for the mass investor.

The first advantage is the absolute transparency of investments and managerial commissions.

There is a complete segregation of customer assets from company assets in the classic Unit linked. The client’s assets are not on the insurer’s central asset register. The investor sees the change in his portfolio value in his account. An information disclosure is implemented differently in ILI. The rule for investment return obtaining is disclosed to the client, and he can track the progress of this investment condition in his personal account. Actual assets are on the insurer’s balance sheet, which can play both in favor of the client and insurer (for example, the insurer takes part of the investment risks, protecting the client from them and additionally making money on it).

The second advantage of Unit linked is a potentially higher return.

Other terms being equal, the client can count on additional 0.5–1 percent in comparison with ILI; this is because credit risk is redistributed to the client, capital protection obligations are secured by assets in the product, and the insurer is actually released from the obligation to guarantee this payment with its balance sheet. Thus, the insurer has fewer capital requirements, which means the fee for fund management can be reduced leading to profitability increase.

Unit linked is a mass product that often used as one of the saving tools for specific purposes in the West; it can be a major purchase, education, or retirement savings.

The legislative implementation of Unit linked has been discussed for several years. Not so long ago, the professional community, in accordance with the request of the regulator and the Ministry of Finance of the Russian Federation, extended the previously prepared concept of initiatives on Unit linked creation in Russian law. Perhaps, the current situation with ILI will push legislative changes that will bring the life insurance products to a whole new level.

Source: https://pro.rbc.ru/news/5dce11cd9a7947907a411a45

Photos are from open sources.

Share
read also
Did the pension reform pay off?
Did the pension reform pay off?

Kadyrzhan Damitov in an interview with Kapital.kz told about the pension system of Ka...

Portfolio for future use. How to save for education or housing of a child
Portfolio for future use. How to save for education or housing of a child

Birth of a child is not only the new emotions and social status, but additional items...

"Life insurance is socially important; it is care for loved ones"
"Life insurance is socially important; it is care for loved ones"

In an exclusive interview with our publication, Gulmira Ubegaliyeva, the Board Chairm...

The most interesting materials of the site you have in the mail! Subscribe to the newsletter.

ASK A QUESTION TO THE EXPERT
ASK A QUESTION TO THE EXPERT
Submit your application

bs-preloader__icon
ru kz en

Преимущества Unit linked

На западных рынках уже несколько лет работает Unit linked. На его базе можно конструировать продукт, очень похожий на инвестиционное страхование, с той лишь разницей, что Unit linked — более прозрачный и потенциально более доходный инструмент, пишет РБК.
Преимущества Unit linked

Не случайно, кстати, его доля на финансовых рынках стран Европы растет. Так, по данным компании Insurance Europe, в Бельгии этот сегмент страхового рынка вырос в 2017 году на 40%, во Франции — на 36,7%, в Бельгии — на 21%. К сожалению, более актуальной статистики пока нет.

В России сегмент инвестстрахования после бурного роста перешел в фазу коррекции: сборы в первом квартале 2019 года сократились на 5,5%, свидетельствуют данные ВСС. Сможет ли Unit linked, если он будет внедрен на российском рынке, стать новым драйвером для рынка страхования жизни? Это вполне возможно. У продукта есть ряд конкурентных преимуществ в нише инструментов для массового инвестора.

Первое преимущество — это абсолютная прозрачность вложений и комиссии управляющего.

В классическом Unit linked происходит полная сегрегация активов клиентов от активов компании. Активы клиента не учитываются на балансе страховщика. Инвестор в личном кабинете видит, как меняется стоимость его портфеля. В ИСЖ раскрытие информации реализовано по-другому. Клиенту раскрывается правило получения им инвестиционной доходности, и он может в личном кабинете отслеживать ход выполнения этого инвестиционного условия. Фактические же активы находятся на балансе страховщика, что может играть как в пользу клиента, так и в пользу страховщика (например, часть инвестиционных рисков страховщик может брать на себя, оберегая от них клиента и дополнительно зарабатывая на этом).

Второе преимущество Unit linked — потенциально более высокая доходность.

При прочих равных условиях клиент может рассчитывать на дополнительные 0,5–1 п.п. по сравнению с ИСЖ. Это происходит потому, что кредитный риск перераспределяется на клиента, обязательства по защите капитала обеспечиваются активами в составе продукта, и страховщик фактически избавлен от обязанности гарантировать эту выплату своим балансом. Следовательно, у страховщика меньше требований к капиталу, а значит, он может снизить комиссию за управление средствами. Это в свою очередь приводит к увеличению доходности.

На западе Unit linked — массовый продукт, который часто используется в качестве одного из инструментов накопления на определенные цели. Это могут быть крупная покупка, образование или сбережения для пенсии.

Законодательное внедрение Unit linked обсуждается уже несколько лет. Не так давно профессиональное сообщество в соответствии с запросом регулятора и Минфина РФ дополнило ранее подготовленную концепцию инициатив по созданию Unit linked в российском праве. Возможно, именно текущая ситуация с ИСЖ подтолкнет к законодательным изменениям, которые позволят вывести продуктовое предложения по страхованию жизни на качественно новый уровень.

Источник: https://pro.rbc.ru/news/5dce11cd9a7947907a411a45

Фото из открытых источников

Поделиться
читайте также
Без надежды на «авось»: три истории о пользе страхования
Без надежды на «авось»: три истории о пользе страхования

«Я не знаю ни одной семьи, которая разорилась, ...

Казахи работают в правительстве США
Казахи работают в правительстве США

Представители казахской диаспоры в Америке пр...

Рост премий и  нераспределенной прибыли
Рост премий и нераспределенной прибыли

КСЖ отчитались по итогам 1-го квартала 2019 года...

Самые интересные материалы сайта у тебя на почте! Подпишись на рассылку.

ЗАДАТЬ ВОПРОС ЭКСПЕРТУ
ЗАДАТЬ ВОПРОС ЭКСПЕРТУ
Оставить заявку