bs-preloader__icon
ru kz en

How will insurance ombudsman work in Kazakhstan?

The President signed the amendments to the laws regulating the insurance market approved by the Majilis and Senate. The document introduces new products and restrictions for insurers. The powers and responsibilities of insurance ombudsman are also significantly expanded. Read more about the changes below.
How will insurance ombudsman work in Kazakhstan?

The institution of insurance ombudsman has been operating in our country since 2007. Since 2015, the scope of activities of insurance ombudsman covers all types of compulsory and voluntary insurance. Applicants can be individuals and small businesses. The limit on the amount of the claim should not exceed 10 thousand MCI.

“Reforming the institute of insurance ombudsman will improve the efficiency of pre-trial settlement of disputes between consumers and financial institutions, as well as reduce the number of disputes, including litigation, and increase consumer confidence in the insurance market,” explained the purpose of the changes, Deputy Director of Insurance Market and Actuarial Calculations Department of Agency on regulation and development of the financial market Yelena Filimonova.

Most of the amendments are to be introduced in 2024. The institute is facing global reforms that will require not only efforts but money.

Office

Insurance ombudsman has been previously elected by the insurance companies, now it will be done by the Agency of the Republic of Kazakhstan for regulation and development of the financial market (ARDFM) from among the candidates proposed by the council of representatives. There are supposed to be at least three such candidates. The amendments also introduce requirements for ombudsman, a compulsory legal education. Previously, any higher education has been suitable, but the work of ombudsman is associated with litigation.

“The office of insurance ombudsman should now include specialists in the field of valuation, accounting, finance and information technology. These amendments will allow Ombudsman to become more independent of the market,” Yelena Filimonova stressed.

The number of appeals of Kazakhstanis to insurance ombudsman is growing from year to year. “The expansion of insurance ombudsman’s powers and increase in the office staff will help improve the quality of dispute resolution and cross the terms of disputes. As of June 20, the office has registered 770 dispute resolution applications,” said Pavel Zavalko, the insurance ombudsman of Kazakhstan.

The requirement for mandatory pre-trial appeal to insurance ombudsman and only then going to court will begin to work in 2024. “The increase in the duties of ombudsman entails additional costs; there are also changes here. The more dissatisfied customers the company has, the more people complain about the company, the more sanctions and enforcement measures are applied to the company, the greater the amount of contributions made by insurers. The logic is that for unsatisfactory work with clients, the amount of contributions will increase,” Yelena Filimonova noted.

Photos are from open sources.

Share
read also
US Residents show interest in bitcoin life insurance and annuity products
US Residents show interest in bitcoin life insurance and annuity products

The New York Digital Investment Group (NYDIG) has recently released a new poll, accor...

Secrets of longevity: the optimal amount of physical exercise per week that prolongs life
Secrets of longevity: the optimal amount of physical exercise per week that prolongs life

Physical exercises can be different and performed at any intensity. Doctors recommend...

Who needs a retirement annuity?
Who needs a retirement annuity?

Life insurance annuity is a saving tool that gives its owner a guaranteed income at t...

The most interesting materials of the site you have in the mail! Subscribe to the newsletter.

ASK A QUESTION TO THE EXPERT
ASK A QUESTION TO THE EXPERT
Submit your application

bs-preloader__icon
ru kz en

Как будет работать страховой омбудсмен в Казахстане

Президент подписал, одобренные мажилисом и сенатом поправки в законы, регулирующие рынок страхования. Документ вводит новые продукты и ограничения для страховщиков. Также, существенно расширяются полномочия и обязанности страхового омбудсмена. Подробно об изменениях здесь.
Как будет работать страховой омбудсмен в Казахстане

С 2007 года в нашей стране работает институт страхового омбудсмена. С 2015 года сфера деятельности страхового омбудсмена распространяется на все виды обязательного и добровольного страхования. Заявителями могут быть физические лица и субъекты малого предпринимательства. Лимит по сумме претензии не должен превышать 10 тыс. МРП.

«Реформирование института страхового омбудсмена позволит повысить эффективность досудебного урегулирования споров между потребителями и финансовыми организациями, а также снизит число споров, в том числе судебных, и увеличит доверие потребителей к страховому рынку», - объяснила цель перемен заместитель директора департамента страхового рынка и актуарных расчетов Агентства по регулированию и развитию финансового рынка Елена Филимонова.

Большая часть изменений будет введена в 2024 году. Дело в том, что институту предстоят глобальные реформы, которые потребуют не только усилий, но денег.

Офис

Ранее страхового омбудсмена избирали сами страховые компании, теперь это будет делать Агентство РК по регулированию и развитию финансового рынка (АРРФР) из числа кандидатур, предложенных советом представителей. Таких кандидатур должно быть не менее трех. Поправки также вводят требования к омбудсмену: это обязательное юридическое образование. Ранее подходило любое высшее, но работа омбудсмена связана с судебными спорами.

«Теперь в офис страхового омбудсмена должны быть включены специалисты в области оценки, бухгалтерского учета, финансового дела и информационных технологий. Эти поправки позволят стать омбудсмену более независимым от рынка», - подчеркнула Елена Филимонова.

Из года в год количество обращений казахстанцев к страховому омбудсмену растет. «Расширение полномочий страхового омбудсмена и увеличение штата офиса будет способствовать повышению качества рассмотрения споров и скрещения сроков споров. По состоянию на 20 июня офисом зарегистрированы 770 заявлений по урегулированию споров», - заявил Павел Завалко, страховой омбудсмен Казахстана.

В 2024 году начнет работать требование об обязательном досудебном обращении к страховому омбудсмену, и только потом обращение в суд. «Увеличение обязанностей омбудсмена влечет дополнительные расходы. Здесь тоже предусмотрены изменения. Чем больше у компании недовольных клиентов, чем больше на компанию жалуются люди, чем больше санкций и мер воздействия применяется к компании, тем больше размер взносов, которые совершает страховщики. Логика в том, что за неудовлетворительную работу с клиентами, размер взносов будет повышаться», - подчеркнула Елена Филимонова.

Фото из открытых источников

Поделиться
читайте также
В каких странах самый высокий уровень проникновения страхования жизни
В каких странах самый высокий уровень проникновения страхования жизни

В странах Азиатско-Тихоокеанского региона сам...

В ЮАР поменяли стандарты пенсионных аннуитетов
В ЮАР поменяли стандарты пенсионных аннуитетов

Управление по надзору за финансовым сектором (...

Самые интересные материалы сайта у тебя на почте! Подпишись на рассылку.

ЗАДАТЬ ВОПРОС ЭКСПЕРТУ
ЗАДАТЬ ВОПРОС ЭКСПЕРТУ
Оставить заявку