bs-preloader__icon
ru kz en

Kazakhstani people were admitted to investment insurance

Kazakhstani life insurance companies (LICs) will be able to offer customers a new product, unit-linked, this month. The Kursiv National Business Weekly told about the new product features.
Kazakhstani people were admitted to investment insurance

The unit-linked policies combine the features of an insurance and investment product. “LICs will now be able to offer the client to choice among several investment strategies, including significant shares in stocks, including foreign companies. The strategies can be tied to the indices of leading exchanges. For example, Dow Jones, Nasdaq, DAX and others,” explains Yerlan Burabayev, Managing Director of Financial Institutions’ Association of Kazakhstan.

As the domestic legislation regulating the activities of the LICs focuses on money security rather than return, the assets of insurance companies and investors will be divided. “The clients’ investment accounts will be kept separately which will significantly expand investment opportunities. The insurers will create funds and form pools of clients who have chosen a specific investment strategy,” the source explains.

The insurer can play the role of a management company or transfer it to a third-party broker. “The custodian banks’ work is of great importance. According to the legislation, they are to keep track of implementation of investment strategies of LIC clients, that is, in addition to the Agency for Regulation and Development of the Financial Market of the Republic of Kazakhstan, the banks will control the insurers’ operations accuracy,” Yerlan Burabayev emphasizes.

The life of people who choose unit-linked will be insured, which means that their income will not be taxed.

What is the difference between unit-linked and classic endowment?

Endowment insurance is a direct liability of the insurer.

“There is a product with a fixed income, where, in accordance with the agreement, the LIC pays the entire accumulated amount plus investment income. The level of investment income is negotiated immediately upon the contract conclusion,” says Mr. Burabayev. If an insured event occurs before the end of the contract, the LIC will pay the entire amount specified in it.

Another classic product of the domestic market is “Insurance with participation in the profit of LIC”, the final profitability of which depends on the results of the insurer’s performance.

“Both of these products cannot bring high return, as LICs are obliged (according to legislation and requirements) to invest in financial instruments with high quality (rating) and liquidity. These tools are certainly reliable, but do not bring high profits,” said the Managing Director of FIAK.

Facts on Unit-linked

In developed countries, unit-linked financial products are traditionally popular with individuals. Up to 60% of life insurance contracts in the United States and about half in Europe account for investment insurance.

Among the countries of the former Soviet Union, unit-linked is in great demand in the Baltic States. For example, as of end of 2019, the share of this instrument exceeded 50% of the total life insurance market in Lithuania. US investment insurance, by the way, is used as an alternative to retirement savings.

Photos are from open sources.

Source: https://kursiv.kz/news/finansy/2020-06/kazakhstancev-dopustili-k-investicionnomu-strakhovaniyu

Share
read also
How to make sure your life insurance policy covers your expenses
How to make sure your life insurance policy covers your expenses

In their article the Business Insider editors give recommendations on insurance polic...

AIG's Life Insurance Division Completes Successful $1.68 Billion Listing
AIG's Life Insurance Division Completes Successful $1.68 Billion Listing

Life insurance and pension savings subdivision Corebridge Financial controlled by AIG...

AXA Insurance launches a module for customer account management
AXA Insurance launches a module for customer account management

The essence of this program is that customers who have signed an insurance contract w...

The most interesting materials of the site you have in the mail! Subscribe to the newsletter.

ASK A QUESTION TO THE EXPERT
ASK A QUESTION TO THE EXPERT
Submit your application

bs-preloader__icon
ru kz en

Казахстанцев допустили к инвестиционному страхованию

Казахстанские компании по страхованию жизни (КСЖ) уже в этом месяце смогут предложить клиентам новый продукт – unit-linked. Республиканский деловой еженедельник «Курсив» рассказал об особенностях нового продукта.
Казахстанцев допустили к инвестиционному страхованию

Полисы unit-linked сочетают черты страхового и инвестиционного продукта. «КСЖ теперь смогут предложить клиенту выбор среди нескольких инвестиционных стратегий, включающих значительные доли акций, в том числе иностранных компаний. Стратегии могут быть подвязаны к индексам ведущих бирж. Например, Dow Jones, Nasdaq, ‎DAX и другим», – объясняет управляющий директор Ассоциации финансистов Казахстана Ерлан Бурабаев.

Так как отечественное законодательство, регулирующее деятельность КСЖ, ставит во главу угла сохранность денег, а не прибыль, активы страховых организаций и инвесторов будут разделены. «Отдельно будут учитываться инвестиционные счета клиентов, что позволит существенно расширить возможности для инвестиций. Страховщики будут создавать фонды и формировать пулы клиентов, выбравших определенную инвестиционную стратегию», – поясняет собеседник.

При этом страховщик может сам исполнять роль управляющей компании либо передать ее стороннему брокеру. «Работа банков-кастодианов имеет здесь огромное значение. Согласно законодательству, они обязаны следить за реализацией инвестиционных стратегий клиентов КСЖ, то есть, помимо АРРФР, банки будут контролировать правильность действий страховщиков», – подчёркивает Ерлан Бурабаев.

Жизнь людей, выбравших unit-linked, будет застрахована, а это означает, что и их прибыль не будет облагаться подоходным налогом.

Чем отличается unit-linked от классического накопительного страхования

Накопительное страхование — это прямые обязательства страховщика.

«Существует продукт с фиксированным доходом, где в соответствии с договором КСЖ осуществляет выплату всей накопленной суммы плюс инвестиционный доход. Уровень инвестиционного дохода оговаривается сразу при заключении договора», – говорит г-н Бурабаев.  Если наступит страховой случай до окончания договора, то КСЖ выплатит всю сумму, оговоренную в нем.

Еще один классический продукт отечественного рынка – «Страхование с участием в прибыли КСЖ», окончательная доходность которого зависит от результатов деятельности страховщика.

«Оба эти продукта не могут приносить высокую прибыль, так как КСЖ обязаны (согласно законодательству и требованиям) вкладывать деньги в финансовые инструменты с высоким качеством (рейтингом) и ликвидностью. Эти инструменты, безусловно, надежны, но не приносят высокую прибыль», – отметил управляющий директор АФК.

Факты unit-linked

В развитых странах финансовые продукты по типу unit-linked традиционно популярны у физических лиц. До 60% договоров страхования жизни в США, около половины в Европе приходится именно на инвестиционное страхование.

Из стран бывшего Советского Союза unit-linked пользуется большим спросом в Прибалтике. Например, в конце 2019 года в Литве доля этого инструмента превышала 50% совокупного рынка страхования жизни. Кстати, в США инвестиционное страхование используют в качестве альтернативы пенсионным накоплениям.

Фото из открытых источников

Источник: https://kursiv.kz/news/finansy/2020-06/kazakhstancev-dopustili-k-investicionnomu-strakhovaniyu

 

Поделиться
читайте также
Как падение цен на нефть скажется на рынке страхования жизни в РФ
Как падение цен на нефть скажется на рынке страхования жизни в РФ

Обвал цен на нефть окажет разнонаправленное в...

В марте 2021 года две крупнейшие КСЖ обновили личные рекорды по премиям
В марте 2021 года две крупнейшие КСЖ обновили личные рекорды по премиям

Высокую динамику сборов оказали почти все сег...

Золотая колыбель государственности Казахстана
Золотая колыбель государственности Казахстана

В Центральном государственном музее Республи...

Самые интересные материалы сайта у тебя на почте! Подпишись на рассылку.

ЗАДАТЬ ВОПРОС ЭКСПЕРТУ
ЗАДАТЬ ВОПРОС ЭКСПЕРТУ
Оставить заявку