bs-preloader__icon
ru kz en

Why is simplified customer identification important in online life insurance?

On the one hand, the law on simplified identification of insurers' clients through banks, signed by the President of Russia, greatly facilitates online sales, but, on the other hand, it does not apply to life insurance. The insurance expert, Viktor Dubrovin, expressed his opinion on this topic, reports iz.ru (Izvestiya).
Why is simplified customer identification important in online life insurance?

As Dubrovin notes, a simplified identification is especially urgent for life insurance. He cites polls by Levada Center (RF), according to which, two-thirds of the Russian population do not save at all and in a critical situation do not have any financial cushion. According to VCIOM polls, more than half are somehow familiar with different financial instruments and are even ready to use them for long-term savings. Unless, of course, the state guarantees these investments, like a bank deposit, and gives equal terms for financial organizations, the expert notes.

According to him, the more people have the opportunity to create regular savings, the closer we will be to the practice of developed countries: when citizens are not afraid of the thought of retiring, buying an apartment or entering children at a university. The average annual premium on life insurance per capita in developed countries was $1,899 in 2017, in Russia - $43, less than in India ($54).

The insurers are actively developing simple, inexpensive, mass insurance policies for long-term savings. If a person wants to start making deductions from his salary for a future pension or child education, he does not need to go to the office of the insurance company or meet with an insurance agent to show his passport and identify his personality. Most people will prefer to do this remotely. The same should be with the life insurance policy, believes Mr. Dubrovin.

The main problem is the risk of money laundering, according to the recommendation of the 10th international organization “Financial Action Task Force on money laundering” (FATF). But this is a risk-based approach: if the threat of money laundering is high, then the financial institution is obliged to check the client, if not, then simplified identification is allowed. The group believes that the risks of illegal withdrawal of funds through life insurance contracts with an annual premium of less than 1 thousand US dollars/euros, pension insurance without the right of assignment, as well as for “clearly defined and limited in volume financial products” are low, that is, there is no chance or sense to launder money, the expert writes. However, according to him, it is possible to check the client even with simplified identification using the same unified databases (in Russia this is USIA-state services, IEIS), which contains enough information.

Mr. Dubrovin suggests conducting a large-scale assessment of money laundering risks with the involvement of insurance companies for the possibility of introducing simplified customer identification in the life insurance field. In his opinion, the number of pros in favor of simplified identification prevails. For example: the average term of universal life insurance contract is 10 years. "For money laundering, it is simply too long," the expert said.

“The state with the financial organizations’ support, should battle this problem. The current situation though is more likely to create unequal terms for insurers and their competitors, non-governmental pension funds and the managing companies,” Viktor Dubrovin summarizes.

Source: https://iz.ru/904680/viktor-dubrovin/v-budushchee-vziali-ne-vsekh

Photos are from open sources.

Share
read also
OECD expects growth of life insurers’ payouts
OECD expects growth of life insurers’ payouts

The analysis conducted by the Organization for Economic Co-operation and Development ...

The license of Freedom Finance Life insurance company has been restored
The license of Freedom Finance Life insurance company has been restored

The company is restarting a full work as of February 1, reports kursiv.kz....

How to turn life insurance into an inheritance
How to turn life insurance into an inheritance

The issue of preserving capital in the interests of future generations is acute for w...

The most interesting materials of the site you have in the mail! Subscribe to the newsletter.

ASK A QUESTION TO THE EXPERT
ASK A QUESTION TO THE EXPERT
Submit your application

bs-preloader__icon
ru kz en

Почему упрощенная идентификация клиентов важна и в страховании жизни онлайн?

С одной стороны, подписанный президентом России закон об упрощенной идентификации клиентов страховщиков через банки в значительной степени облегчает онлайн-продажи, но, с другой стороны, не касается страхования жизни. Свое мнение на эту тему высказал эксперт страхового рынка Виктор Дубровин , сообщает iz.ru ("Известия").
Почему упрощенная идентификация клиентов важна  и в страховании жизни онлайн?

А между тем, отмечает Дубровин, именно здесь упрощенная идентификация нужна особенно остро. Он приводит данные опросов «Левада-центра» (РФ), согласно которым, две трети населения России вообще не делают сбережений и в критической ситуации не имеют никакой финансовой подушки. При этом, по опросам ВЦИОМа, больше половины так или иначе знакомы с разными финансовыми инструментами и даже готовы использовать их для долгосрочных накоплений. Если, конечно, государство гарантирует эти вложения, подобно банковскому вкладу, и даст равные условия для финансовых организаций, отмечает эксперт.

По его мнению, чем больше возможностей по созданию регулярных накоплений будет у людей, тем ближе мы будем к практике развитых стран: когда граждан не пугают мысли о выходе на пенсию, покупке квартиры или поступлении детей в вуз. Средняя годовая премия по страхованию жизни на душу населения в развитых странах в 2017 году — $1899, в России — $43, меньше, чем в Индии (54).

Тем более, что сейчас страховщики активно разрабатывают простые, недорогие, массовые страховки для долгосрочных накоплений. Если человек хочет начать делать с зарплаты отчисления на будущую пенсию или образование детей, ему не надо для этого ехать в офис страховой компании или встречаться со страховым агентом, чтобы показать свой паспорт и идентифицировать свою личность. Большинство предпочтет сделать это удаленно. То же самое должно быть и с полисом страхования жизни, считает г-н Дубровин. 

Основная проблема здесь связана с риском отмывания денег, согласно рекомендации 10-й международной организации «Группа разработки финансовых мер борьбы с отмыванием денег» (FATF). Но здесь подход риск-ориентированный: если угроза отмывания денег высока, то финансовая организация обязана проверить клиента, если нет — то упрощенная идентификация допускается. При этом сама группа считает низкими риски незаконного вывода средств через договоры страхования жизни с ежегодной премией менее 1 тыс. долларов США/евро, пенсионного страхования без права переуступки, а также по «четко определенным и ограниченным по объему финансовым продуктам», то есть таким, где нет шанса или смысла отмывать деньги, пишет эксперт. При этом, по его словам, даже при упрощенной идентификации можно проверить клиента с помощью тех же единых баз данных (в Росссии это ЕСИА-Госуслуги, СМЭВ), где содержится достаточно информации. 

Г-н Дубровин предлагает провести масштабную оценку рисков отмывания денег с привлечением страховых компаний для создания возможности введения упрощенной идентификации клиентов и в сфере страхования жизни. По его мнению, доводов в пользу "упрощенки" больше. К примеру, средний срок договора того же накопительного страхования жизни — 10 лет. "Для отмывания денег это попросту долго", - считает эксперт.

"Безусловно, государство при поддержке финансовых организаций должно бороться с этой проблемой. Но нынешняя ситуация скорее создает неравные условия для страховщиков и их конкурентов — НПФ и УК", - резюмирует Виктор Дубровин.

Источник: https://iz.ru/904680/viktor-dubrovin/v-budushchee-vziali-ne-vsekh

Фото из открытых источников. 

Поделиться
читайте также
На защите интересов граждан и бизнеса
На защите интересов граждан и бизнеса

Несмотря на динамичный рост страхового рынка ...

Возраст "второй жизни". Как в Японии решили пенсионный вопрос
Возраст "второй жизни". Как в Японии решили пенсионный вопрос

Япония давно ассоциируется со словом "самый" в ...

Лучшие страховые компании
Лучшие страховые компании

Национальный банк Республики Казахстан в очер...

Самые интересные материалы сайта у тебя на почте! Подпишись на рассылку.

ЗАДАТЬ ВОПРОС ЭКСПЕРТУ
ЗАДАТЬ ВОПРОС ЭКСПЕРТУ
Оставить заявку