bs-preloader__icon
ru kz en

How to turn retirement savings into retirement income

The US pension system is multi-layered. One part of pension is paid by the state, and the other one is accumulative. The latter, in its turn, consists of what the employer company pays (the so-called 401K), from government funds, if it is a civil servant, as well as from the pensioner's own savings, which can be accumulated in his account or invested in securities and managed by funds. Both of these categories of retirement savings are tax-free, writes Medical Economics.
How to turn retirement savings into retirement income

US pension insurance is a part of the social security system. The contribution rate is set at 7.65%; this amount must be paid by both the employee and his employer: so, the total contribution amount is 15%. A part of the percentage goes for further medical care in old age, but the major part is exclusively spent on the pension formation. If you work as an individual entrepreneur, you pay double the amount, both as an employee and employer.

The State insurance old age pension is the main type of pension received by most Americans. We will talk about it in the context of age, conditions of receipt, and size. Let us briefly describe other types:

Accumulated portion

You can send a part of the percentage paid to the pension fund to the accumulation fund to form the funded part of the pension. There are both public and private funds of this kind. The advantage of this method is that the funds deposited in funds grow at interest rates (usually 9% per year), and by the time you reach retirement age, you can get a good increase in your basic insurance state pension.

Non-government support

American citizens have also the right to independently conclude agreements with non-governmental organizations regarding the payment of a “private” pension in the future. In such cases, an account in the name of a future retiree is opened; it is called an individual retirement account (IRA), where a citizen has the right to deposit money. The transaction is not subject to taxation if the deposited amount does not exceed $2,000.

When a person turns 60, he gets access to money in this account, but financial experts advise not to spend these funds but to purchase a deferred retirement annuity. If a person decides to withdraw money, he will have to pay tax, but until that moment the money in the account is not subject to any fiscal fees. The best age to retire is 72 years, as you can combine your own savings, 401 (K) or IRA funds, and buy QLAC.

Qualified Longevity Annuity Contract (QLAC) is a deferred annuity funded by an investment from a Qualified Retirement Plan or IRA. Annuity contract is a guarantee of monthly payments until death; it is protected from stock market downfalls. As long as annuity meets the IRS requirements, it is exempt from the required minimum distribution (RMD).

Source: https://www.medicaleconomics.com/view/how-to-turn-retirement-savings-into-retirement-income

Photos are from open sources.

Share
read also
Asian Insurers Change Investment Strategies
Asian Insurers Change Investment Strategies

As Asian insurance assets expand due to demographic shifts and growing consumer appet...

"Investment life insurance will remain the fastest growing market"
"Investment life insurance will remain the fastest growing market"

Why banks retain the status of the main sales channel for investment life insurance, ...

Insurance policies that do not exist but should
Insurance policies that do not exist but should

15 types of policies which everyone would gladly buy, writes banki.ru....

The most interesting materials of the site you have in the mail! Subscribe to the newsletter.

ASK A QUESTION TO THE EXPERT
ASK A QUESTION TO THE EXPERT
Submit your application

bs-preloader__icon
ru kz en

Как превратить пенсионные накопления в пенсионный доход

Пенсионная система в США – многослойная. Пенсия складывается из той, что выплачивает государство, а также накопительной части. Накопительная, в свою очередь, состоит из того, что выплачивает компания-наниматель (так называемая 401К), если это госслужащий – из правительственных фондов, а также из сбережений самого пенсионера, которые могут аккумулироваться на его счету или инвестироваться в ценные бумаги и управляться фондами. Обе эти статьи пенсионных накоплений не облагаются налогами, пишет Medical Economics.
Как превратить пенсионные накопления в пенсионный доход

Пенсионное страхование в США — это часть системы социального страхования. Ставка взноса установлена в 7,65%, эту сумму обязан уплатить как работник, так и его работодатель: таким образом, общая сумма взноса на уровне 15%. При этом часть из процентной доли пойдёт на дальнейшее медицинское обеспечение по старости, но основная часть — исключительно на формирование пенсии. При этом если вы трудитесь как индивидуальный предприниматель, то платите за себя в двойном размере, т. е. и как за работника, и как за нанимателя.

Государственная страховая пенсия по старости — основная разновидность пенсии, её получают большинство американцев. Именно о ней мы будем говорить в дальнейшем в контексте возраста, условий получения, размера. Сейчас кратко охарактеризуем другие виды.

Накопительная часть

Из той процентной доли, которая уплачивается в пенсионный фонд, часть вы можете направить в накопительный фонд для формирования накопительной части пенсии. Подобные фонды бывают как государственные, так и частные. Выгода этого способа в том, что средства, откладываемые в фондах, растут по процентам (обычно 9% в год), и к достижению пенсионного возраста вы можете получить неплохую прибавку к основной страховой государственной пенсии.

Негосударственное обеспечение

Кроме того, американские граждане вправе самостоятельно заключать договоры с негосударственными организациями касательно выплаты в будущем уже «частной» пенсии. В подобных случаях на имя будущего пенсионера открывается счёт, именуемый individual retirement account (IRA), куда гражданин вправе вносить денежные суммы. При этом если вносится менее 2000 долларов, то операция не подлежит налогообложению.

Когда человеку исполняется 60 лет, он получает доступ к деньгам на этом счету, но финансовые эксперты советуют на тратить эти средства, а приобретать отложенный пенсионный аннуитет. Если человек соберётся снять деньги, то придётся оплатить налог, но до этого момента деньги на счету не облагаются никакими фискальными сборами. Лучшее время выхода на пенсию – это 72 года. В это время вы можете объединить собственные накопления, 401 (K) или средства IRA, и купить QLAC.

Квалифицированный договор аннуитета долголетия (QLAC) - это отсроченный аннуитет, финансируемый за счет инвестиций из квалифицированного пенсионного плана или IRA. Аннуитетный договор является гарантией ежемесячных платежей до смерти. Он защищен от спадов на фондовом рынке. Пока аннуитет соответствует требованиям IRS, он освобождается от правил минимального распределения (RMD).

Источник: https://www.medicaleconomics.com/view/how-to-turn-retirement-savings-into-retirement-income

Фото из открытых источников

Поделиться
читайте также
Россиян могут окончательно лишить накопительной части пенсии
Россиян могут окончательно лишить накопительной части пенсии

В ближайшие три года накопительную пенсию мог...

Covid требует пересмотра инвестстратегий пенсионных фондов
Covid требует пересмотра инвестстратегий пенсионных фондов

Инвесторы никогда ещё не оказывались в подобн...

Кому нужен пенсионный аннуитет
Кому нужен пенсионный аннуитет

Аннуитеты в страховании жизни представляют со...

Самые интересные материалы сайта у тебя на почте! Подпишись на рассылку.

ЗАДАТЬ ВОПРОС ЭКСПЕРТУ
ЗАДАТЬ ВОПРОС ЭКСПЕРТУ
Оставить заявку