bs-preloader__icon
ru kz en

Occupational injury insurance in the United States

The occupational injury insurance is one of the first forms of state social insurance which has been developed in the USA. The corresponding laws first appeared in the states of Maryland (1902), Montana (1909), New York (1910), but were declared unconstitutional. By 1920, they were adopted in all states except six of them where the development of similar legislation lasted until the end of the 40s.
Occupational injury insurance in the United States

The insurance of occupational injuries in the following period remained mainly under the jurisdiction of the states. At the federal level, there are programs for public servants as well as miners suffering from occupational diseases (“black lung”).

In a number of states, the occupational injury insurance is held mainly by workers in those types of industries that are considered hazardous. Some programs limit an action by the number of employees: for example, they do not apply to teams with fewer than 3 to 5 employees.

The programs of occupational injury insurance are usually funded by employers based on the principle of business responsibility for industrial injuries. The costs of employers in this case are primarily related to the degree of risk at a particular enterprise. Where the back-office operations are performed, it can be 0.1% of the amount of salary payments, at enterprises with a high risk for injury it is 20% or more. On average, such insurance costs enterprises 2.15% of the amount of salaries paid.

These programs provide for amount- or time-specific (or together) compensation for damage to the injured persons. There are two main types of compensation:

· Cash benefits, including those who suffered from an occupational injury, dependents of the injured person, if the latter died as a result of injury;

· Medical care to persons who have sustained the occupational injury.

The level of payments (both minimum and maximum) to the injured persons varies significantly across the states. The difference in the maximum amount of benefits is 5 to 10 times. In the state of Alaska, the maximum amount of weekly payments in the late 1990s was over $ 700 while in Puerto Rico it was about $ 100. In many states (Iowa, Delaware, Minnesota, Maryland, New York, Ohio, Florida and others) the minimum amounts of benefits correspond to the level of current salaries (if they are less than the established minimum amount).

All programs set out physical rehabilitation, if necessary. In addition, almost all compensation acts comprise of special sections on rehabilitation in the form of retraining, educational courses, the change of workplace in order to help those who have been injured to find a suitable occupation.

Most programs also address payments for food, hotel services, travel for a more complete general rehabilitation. In some cases, payments are limited in time, in others they are made during the entire period of receiving the regular allowance.

In an Insured person dies, his heirs shall have the right to receive guaranteed insurance payments unpaid by the Insurer which are stipulated by the Agreement, if the Insured has not received them in full or did not receive it in life.

 Source:

http://vasilievaa.narod.ru/ptpu/7_5_02.html

Share
read also
Five insurance organizations in Kazakhstan make more than 67% of all premiums
Five insurance organizations in Kazakhstan make more than 67% of all premiums

Over the five months of 2019, insurance premiums have increased by almost 24% and amo...

Latvians often choose accumulative insurance with regular contributions
Latvians often choose accumulative insurance with regular contributions

The minimum period of accumulation has been increased from 5 to 10 years in Latvia th...

Yerzhan Konurbayev: “There should be systematic approaches to life insurance development”
Yerzhan Konurbayev: “There should be systematic approaches to life insurance development”

Analysis of the insurance market financial indicators for the four months as of 2018 ...

The most interesting materials of the site you have in the mail! Subscribe to the newsletter.

ASK A QUESTION TO THE EXPERT
ASK A QUESTION TO THE EXPERT
Submit your application

bs-preloader__icon
ru kz en

Страхование производственного травматизма в США

Страхование от несчастного случая на производстве – одна из первых форм государственного социального страхования, получивших развитие в США. Соответствующие законы впервые появились в штатах Мэриленд (1902 г.), Монтана (1909 г.), Нью-Йорк (1910 г.), но были признаны неконституционными. К 1920 г. они приняты во всех штатах, кроме шести, в которых разработка аналогичного законодательства растянулась до конца 40-х годов.
Страхование производственного травматизма в США

Страхование производственного травматизма в последующий период осталось преимущественно в компетенции штатов. На федеральном же уровне учреждены программы для государственных служащих, а также шахтеров, страдающих профессиональными заболеваниями (“черное легкое”).

В ряде штатов страховку на случай производственного травматизма имеют преимущественно работники тех видов производств, которые считаются опасными. Некоторые программы ограничивают действие количеством занятых: например, не распространяются на коллективы с числом занятых менее 3-5 человек.

Программы страхования несчастных случаев на производстве, как правило, финансируются работодателями по принципу ответственности бизнеса за увечья, полученные на производстве. Издержки работодателей при этом связаны, прежде всего, со степенью риска на конкретном предприятии. Там, где выполняются преимущественно канцелярские операции, они могут составлять 0,1% суммы выплат заработной платы, на предприятиях с высокой степенью риска увечий – 20% и более. В среднем такое страхование обходится предприятиям в 2,15% суммы выплаченной заработной платы.

Программами предусматриваются конкретные по сумме или по времени (либо вместе) компенсации ущерба пострадавшим. Предусматриваются два ее основных вида:

· денежные пособия, в том числе пострадавшим от травмы на производстве, иждивенцам пострадавшего, если травма привела к смерти последнего;

· медицинская помощь лицам, получившим производственную травму.

Уровень выплат пострадавшим (и минимальный, и максимальный) существенно различается по штатам. Разница в максимальных размерах пособий достигает 5-10-кратной величины. В штате Аляска максимальные размеры еженедельных выплат в конце 90-х годов превышали 700 долл., а в Пуэрто-Рико составляли около 100 долл. Во многих штатах (Айова, Делавэр, Миннесота, Мэриленд, Нью-Йорк, Огайо, Флорида и других) минимальные размеры пособий соответствуют уровню текущей заработной платы (если они меньше установленной минимальной суммы).

Все программы предусматривают в случае необходимости обеспечение физической реабилитации. В дополнение почти все компенсационные акты содержат специальные разделы по реабилитации в форме переподготовки, образовательных курсов, смены рабочего места с целью помочь тем, кто получил увечье, найти подходящее занятие.

В большинстве программ для более полной общей реабилитации предусмотрены также выплаты на питание, гостиничное обслуживание, путешествия. В одних случаях выплаты ограничены во времени, в других они производятся в течение всего периода получения регулярного пособия.

В случае смерти Страхователя его наследники имеют право на получение невыплаченных Страховщиком гарантированных страховых выплат, которые предусмотрены Договором, если Страхователь получил их не в полном объеме либо не получал при жизни.

 Источник:

http://vasilievaa.narod.ru/ptpu/7_5_02.html

Поделиться
читайте также
Валютная страховка теснит долларовые депозиты
Валютная страховка теснит долларовые депозиты

Теперь казахстанцы могут зарабатывать на влож...

Из истории страхования жизни
Из истории страхования жизни

Никто не знает, кому первому в голову пришла мы...

Кайрат Чегебаев: «Актуариев нужно было готовить еще вчера»
Кайрат Чегебаев: «Актуариев нужно было готовить еще вчера»

В Алматы началось обучение в рамках второго ку...

Самые интересные материалы сайта у тебя на почте! Подпишись на рассылку.

ЗАДАТЬ ВОПРОС ЭКСПЕРТУ
ЗАДАТЬ ВОПРОС ЭКСПЕРТУ
Оставить заявку