bs-preloader__icon
ru kz en

Critical Illness Insurance is a must-have in the company's social package

How do top employers use employee health insurance programs? How are they different from the usual medical insurance? And why is such a protection must have in the social package of any company that truly values its employees? Svetlana Kandyiba, the Corporate Insurance Director of Metlife Ukraine, told ukrstrahovanie.com.ua portal.
Critical Illness Insurance is a must-have in the company's social package

- Svetlana, what is the difference between health insurance programs and medical insurance? Aren’t they synonymous?

- No, it is two different ways of insurance protection. Their operating principles are different.

Medical insurance or VHI programs allow an employer to arrange and pay for the treatment of its employees at the expense of the insurance company. Medical aid is provided in clinics pre-determined under an insurance contract. Most often this is a common disease treatment, for example, seasonal acute respiratory viral infections, exacerbation of some kind of chronic disease, when a consult of a specialized physician and drug prescription is needed. According to various estimates, this is more than 2/3 of all requests on VHI programs. Our staff also has health insurance, and we stay within the general statistics. However, there are acute health problems, when you need to call an ambulance, for example, in case of heart attack.

A critical illness insurance program has another principle. If the insured employee faces a complex disease – oncological diagnosis, stroke, or, for example, need for organ transplantation, the insurance company will pay financial aid to his personal account. This amount is pre-determined and can be selected at the time of the insurance contract conclusion. The whole treatment organization: the choice of hospital, attending physician, or method of treatment, remains at the client’s discretion. For example, a client may choose a clinic abroad. In my opinion, this format of assistance today is more relevant.

- Is the main difference in the way of provision of assistance?

- In fact, there are differences in the method of providing medical services to the client, as well as in the restrictions on the insurance program. Under the VHI programs, all payments are made only to the clinic's account, treatment can be received in certain medical institutions, only those medical services and medications specified in the contract are paid. There are no such restrictions under the illness insurance program: money can be spent not only on medical services and medicines, but also expenses associated with treatment, and, of course, to compensate for the employee's income lost during the illness.

There is another very important point: life-threatening and requiring long-term treatment complex diseases are often an exception to the VHI program, that is, their treatment is simply not provided by the usual medical insurance. In some cases, only the first course of treatment can be covered, but not repeated, and certainly not rehabilitation. That is why the best option is a combination of two insurance programs: the usual voluntary medical insurance policy and financial protection in case of illness.

- Complex disorders are not as common. How relevant is protection against critical diseases in general, especially for young, able-bodied people?

- This is a common misconception why many young Ukrainians are left without insurance and cannot pay for the necessary treatment. Analyzing the WHO medical statistics and general Ukrainian data, unfortunately, it becomes obvious: the frequency of critical diseases is increasing, plus serious illnesses are “getting younger”. For example, in 2014, 94 thousand patients with the first cerebral stroke were officially registered in Ukraine, and in 2018 there already were 111 thousand patients, while 33-36% of them were of working age. These figures are 2.5 times higher than those of Western Europe, and unfortunately, they are growing. The data on oncological cases is even more depressing. On average, 65-70% of deaths of people of working age in Ukraine occur due to chronic non-infectious diseases: circulatory system diseases play a leading role in men, and oncology in women.

- Which of the companies in Ukraine provides employee health insurance? How many insurance companies have license?

- There are about 10-15 companies today. The critical illness insurance is offered both by providers of VHI and life insurance companies. The second option is more common, since life insurers can usually offer more attractive insurance conditions and large amounts of insurance protection.

For example, MetLife Company cooperates with many corporate clients who enter into contracts in favor of their employees with coverage of 300 thousand - 1 million UAH. That is exactly what the client will receive when confronted with a threatening diagnosis. The standard amount under the VHI program, even if it includes treatment in case of oncological diagnosis, is usually UAH 150-250 thousand, and the company covers only the first course of such treatment. That is why the VHI package and critical illness program constitute the optimal tandem of insurance protection. They complete, but do not replace each other.

- Is it expensive for companies to insure personnel against critical diseases?

- A distinctive feature of such insurance programs is their relative affordability. The final rate depends on several factors: the number of insured, selected amount of insurance protection, average age of employees, gender ratio in the staff. For example, the probability of cardiovascular diseases in men becomes much higher with age, and this also affects pricing.

But in any case, critical illness insurance, even with maximum coverage amount of half a million-million UAH, usually costs the employer 1.5-2 times cheaper than the low-budget medical insurance program. This means the price at the level of 2000-3800 thousand UAH for one insured per year. Programs with less coverage are even more affordable, there are proposals with a budget of up to 1,000 – 1,500 UAH a year.

- What do these critical illness insurance programs give to companies and their employees? Could you share payoff statistics?

- Of course, the total amount of payments to employees of our corporate clients faced with critical diseases in 2018 exceeded 3 million 700 thousand UAH. The insured people with disability status set after a cancer treatment, stroke, or heart attack received  another 4 million 300 thousand UAH; this option can also be included in the corporate insurance package. We have already paid more than 3.1 million UAH for insurance against critical diseases for 5 months of this year. As you can see, the figure is approaching the annual figures of 2018.

Unfortunately, no one can guarantee 100% protection against diseases. A socially responsible employer and reliable insurance partner can, at least, give a person confidence that a complex disorder will not become a financial catastrophe for him, and that he will not be left alone with it. As the experience of our insured people shows, this kind of both financial and psychological support helps get access to modern treatment, maintain a positive attitude and seriously increase the chances of recovery. Fortunately, our customers already have examples of such victories and a return to a healthy life. And this is one of the most important reasons, why I really want the critical illness insurance to become a standard practice available to most people in Ukraine as soon as possible. It would be great if responsible employers realize that and help us in this.

Source: https://www.ukrstrahovanie.com.ua/interview/svetlana-kandyiba-interview

Photos are from open sources. 

Share
read also
Will Smith's leap was insured for $200 million
Will Smith's leap was insured for $200 million

People, whose well-being and earnings depend on their appearance or their sensory org...

Nomad Life assigned  S&P rating of BB
Nomad Life assigned S&P rating of BB

The international rating agency S&P Global Ratings has assigned JSC Nomad Life a long...

Sanctions can significantly affect the profitability of investment life insurance in Russia
Sanctions can significantly affect the profitability of investment life insurance in Russia

The representatives of rating agencies ACRA and Expert-RA (RAEX) inform asn-news.ru. ...

The most interesting materials of the site you have in the mail! Subscribe to the newsletter.

ASK A QUESTION TO THE EXPERT
ASK A QUESTION TO THE EXPERT
Submit your application

bs-preloader__icon
ru kz en

Страхование от критических болезней - must have в социальном пакете компании

Как ТОП-работодатели используют программы страхования коллектива на случай болезней? Чем они отличаются от привычных медицинских страховок? И почему такая защита - must have в социальном пакете любой компании, которая по-настоящему ценит своих сотрудников? Об этом порталу ukrstrahovanie.com.ua рассказала Светлана Кандыба, директор по корпоративному страхованию МетЛайф Украина.
Страхование от критических болезней  - must have в социальном пакете компании

- Светлана, чем отличаются  от медстраховки программы страхования персонала на случай болезней? Разве это не синонимы?

— Нет, это два разных способа страховой защиты. Их принцип действия отличается.

Программы медицинского страхования или ДМС позволяют работодателю организовать и оплатить лечение своих сотрудников за счет страховой компании. Медпомощь предоставляется в клиниках, заранее определенных по договору страхования. Чаще всего это лечение от распространённых болезней – например, сезонных ОРВИ, при обострении какой-то «хроники», когда нужна консультация профильного врача и назначение лекарств. По разным оценкам, это больше 2/3 всех обращений по программам ДМС. Наш коллектив также пользуется медицинской страховкой, и мы вполне укладываемся в общую статистику. Хотя бывают и острые проблемы со здоровьем, когда нужно вызвать скорую медицинскую помощь – к примеру, при сердечном приступе.

У страховой программы на случай критического заболевания – другой принцип. Если застрахованный сотрудник столкнется со сложной болезнью – онко-диагнозом, инсультом, или, например необходимостью пересадки органа – страховая компания выплатит финансовую помощь на его личный счет. Эта сумма заранее определена, ее можно выбрать в момент заключения договора страхования. При этом вся организация лечения: выбор больницы, лечащего врача, метода лечения – остается на усмотрение клиента. Например, клиент может выбрать для лечения клинику за рубежом. На мой взгляд, такой формат помощи сегодня более актуален.

— То есть основная разница – в способе оказания помощи?

— По сути, да – есть отличия в способе оказания медицинских услуг клиенту, а также в ограничениях по программе страхования. По программам ДМС все выплаты осуществляются только на счет клиники, лечиться можно только в определенных медучреждениях, оплачивается только определенные в договоре медицинские услуги, а также лекарства. По программе страхования на случай болезни таких ограничений нет: деньги могут быть потрачены не только на лечебные услуги и медикаменты, но и на расходы, сопутствующие лечению. И, конечно, на компенсацию доходов сотрудника, потерянных за время болезни.

Есть еще один очень важный момент: сложные болезни, угрожающие жизни и требующие долгосрочного лечения, зачастую являются исключением из страховой программы ДМС. То есть их лечение попросту не предусмотрено обычной медицинской страховкой. В отдельных случаях может покрываться только первый курс лечения, но не повторный, и уж точно не реабилитация. Именно поэтому оптимальный вариант – это сочетание двух программ страхования: привычного полиса ДМС и финансовой защиты на случай болезни.

— Сложные заболевания встречаются не так часто. Насколько защита от критических болезней вообще актуальна, особенно для молодых, трудоспособных людей?

— Вот как раз из-за такого распространённого заблуждения многие молодые украинцы остаются без страховки и не могут оплатить нужное лечение. Анализируя медицинскую статистику ВОЗ и общеукраинские данные, к сожалению, становится очевидным: частота критических заболеваний растет, плюс тяжелые болезни «молодеют». Например, в 2014 году в Украине было официально зарегистрировано 94 тыс. пациентов, впервые перенесших мозговой инсульт, а в 2018-м – уже 111 тыс. при этом 33-36% заболевших – люди трудоспособного возраста. Эти цифры превышают западноевропейские в 2,5 раза, и пока, к сожалению, растут. По онкологии – еще более удручающие данные.   В среднем 65-70% смертей людей трудоспособного возраста в Украине происходит из-за хронических неинфекционных заболеваний: у мужчин ведущую роль играют болезни системы кровообращения, а у женщин – онкология.

— Кто из компаний в Украине предоставляет услуги страхования сотрудников на случай болезни? Сколько страховых компаний имеют лицензию?

— Сегодня это порядка 10-15 компаний.  Причем страхование на случай критических болезней предлагают как провайдеры ДМС, так и компании по страхованию жизни. Второй вариант – более распространен, так как life-страховщики обычно могут предложить более привлекательные условия страхования и большие суммы страховой защиты.

Например, компания МетЛайф сотрудничает со многими корпоративными клиентами, которые заключают договора в пользу своих сотрудников с покрытием на уровне 300 тыс. – 1 млн гривен. Именно столько получит клиент, столкнувшись с угрожающим диагнозом. При этом стандартная сумма по программе ДМС, даже если в нее включено лечение на случай онко-диагноза, обычно составляет 150-250 тыс. грн, и компания покрывает только первый курс такой помощи. Именно поэтому пакет ДМС и программа на случай критических заболеваний составляют оптимальный тандем страховой защиты. Они дополняют, но не заменяют друг друга.

— Дорого ли обходится компаниям страхование персонала от критических болезней?

— Отличительная особенность таких программ страхования – их относительная доступность по цене. Безусловно, итоговый тариф зависит от нескольких факторов: числа застрахованных, выбранной суммы страховой защиты, среднего возраста сотрудников, гендерного соотношения в коллективе. Например, вероятность сердечно-сосудистых болезней у мужчин с возрастом становится намного выше, и это тоже влияет на ценообразование.

Но в любом случае, страхование на случай критических заболеваний даже при максимальных страховых суммах, в полмиллиона-миллион гривен, обычно обходится работодателю в 1,5-2 раза дешевле бюджетной программы ДМС. Речь идет о цене на уровне 2000-3800 тыс. грн. за одного застрахованного в год. Программы с меньшим покрытием еще доступнее, есть предложения с бюджетом до 1 000 — 1 500 грн. в год.

— Что в итоге программы страхования от критических заболеваний дают компаниям и их сотрудникам?  Можете ли поделиться статистикой выплат?

— Конечно. Общая сумма выплат для сотрудников наших корпоративных клиентов, столкнувшихся с критическими заболеваниями, за 2018 год превысила 3 млн 700 тыс. грн. Еще 4 млн. 300 тыс. грн. получили застрахованные, которым после онкологического лечения или перенесенного инсульта, инфаркта была установлена группа инвалидности – такую опцию также можно включить в пакет корпоративного страхования. За 5 месяцев текущего года мы уже выплатили более 3,1 млн. гривен по страхованию на случай критических болезней. Как видите, цифра приближается к годовым показателям 2018-го.

К сожалению, никто не в силах гарантировать 100% защиту от болезней. Но социально ответственный работодатель и надежный страховой партнёр могут, как минимум, дать человеку уверенность в том, что сложная болезнь не станет для него еще и финансовой катастрофой, и что в он не останется с ней один на один. Как показывает опыт наших застрахованных, именно такая поддержка – финансовая и психологическая – помогает получить доступ к современному лечению, сохранить позитивный настрой и серьезно повышает шансы на выздоровление. К счастью, у наших клиентов уже есть примеры таких побед и возвращения к здоровой жизни. И это одна из самых важных причин, из-за которой мне очень хочется, чтобы страхование от критических болезней как можно скорее стало в Украине стандартной практикой, доступной большинству людей. Здорово, если ответственные компании-работодатели осознают это как можно скорее и помогут нам в этом.

Источник: https://www.ukrstrahovanie.com.ua/interview/svetlana-kandyiba-interview

Фото из открытых источников.

Поделиться
читайте также
Как выйти на пенсию раньше пенсионного возраста
Как выйти на пенсию раньше пенсионного возраста

Казахстанской пенсионной системе больше 20 лет...

"Едят" ли казахстанцы свое здоровье?
"Едят" ли казахстанцы свое здоровье?

Казахстан занял 9 строчку в рейтинге стран с са...

Россияне уже не надеются дожить до пенсионного возраста
Россияне уже не надеются дожить до пенсионного возраста

Больше 80% жителей России не надеются на то, что ...

Самые интересные материалы сайта у тебя на почте! Подпишись на рассылку.

ЗАДАТЬ ВОПРОС ЭКСПЕРТУ
ЗАДАТЬ ВОПРОС ЭКСПЕРТУ
Оставить заявку