bs-preloader__icon
ru kz en

Kairat Chegebayev: "We needed to train actuaries yesterday"

In Almaty, the second actuary training course has started. The training is carried out by highly qualified, experienced specialists of the Society of Actuaries of Kazakhstan. The first course started in early summer, lasted three weeks with a high level of intensity and full employment for almost the entire day. In addition to the Society the organizers of the basic actuarial courses are JSC LIC "NOMAD LIFE" with the support of the National Bank of the Republic of Kazakhstan and the Faculty of Mechanics and Mathematics of Al Farabi National University.
Kairat Chegebayev: "We needed to train actuaries yesterday"

One of the organizers and teachers of actuarial courses, Head of Fundamental Mathematics Department of the Faculty of Mechanics and Mathematics of Al Farabi National University, Doctor of Physical and Mathematical Sciences, acting. Prof. Mirbulat Sihov told Lifeinsurance.kz about the peculiarities of these courses.

- Mirbulat Bakhytzhanovich, how do you assess the level of participants of the first basic courses this year?

 - The requirements to participants in the first year were tougher, so their level of preparation was also quite high. And this was confirmed by the results of examinations: about half (13) students out of 27 people from the first group passed successfully. The requirements for participants in the second admission of the first course were reduced due to a small number of listeners, so the students admitted to study were less prepared in terms of mathematics.

In contrast to the first admission, the representatives of various companies in the financial sector, including insurance who had graduated from universities a long time ago, and therefore simply forgotten some academic knowledge were involved. This also affected the exam results: about 20% of the total number of listeners passed the exams. About 20 people took the second course.

- Has the curriculum of the second course of actuaries training been expanded?

- The second level course, which also lasts three weeks, was taken by the students who successfully passed the exams of the first level. The peculiarity of the second course is that they will study many different topics not always interconnected, which the actuaries need to know including the main tasks of general insurance, life insurance, investment theory, pensions, health insurance and others.

- What do these courses give to the audience and market in general?

- The only sponsor of these courses is JSC LIC "NOMAD LIFE"; it intends to finance the 3rd and 4th courses under the actuary training program in Kazakhstan this year. We are grateful to the company for contributing to the market development and training of specialists; as they are mostly students, undergraduates of Mechanics and Mathematics Faculty, have got a chance to learn a decent, necessary and well-paid profession, get a good job on the insurance market in particular and the financial market in general.

The cost of actuarial courses is considerable, and it is unlikely they would have had the opportunity to take them this year. As practice shows, the graduates of first two courses are usually hired by insurance companies as actuary assistants, underwriters, or risk managers. They have the opportunity to take further training in the future, even paid actuarial courses, and usually at the expense of their companies that are interested in qualification upgrade of their employees. Thus, these two courses gives great opportunities for both listeners and the insurance market.

The second course classes are held in the Faculty of Mechanics and Mathematics of Al Farabi National University. We would like to thank the faculty management. I would also like to note that the training of actuaries should, in general, be carried out within the walls of universities in future. We are now working in this direction. In particular, this year the "Actuarial Mathematics" major has been opened on the Faculty of Mechanics and Mathematics of Al Farabi National University under the Bachelor's program, and also the preparation of graduate students on this trajectory is on.

Kairat Chegebayev, the Chairman of the Board of JSC LIC "NOMAD LIFE", told why actuaries should be prepared now.

- Actuaries are often employees in other sectors, including underwriting, reinsurance, payments, document support and others. An actuary as a specialist with a deep training in basic things will become a good assistance to any other specialist.

Besides, we expect that the life insurance industry in Kazakhstan, as well as all over the world, will be growing in the long term. If we compare the current fees of life insurance companies with global ones, then, of course, they differ by times. This is partially due to the fact that the level of knowledge, qualification of the industry requires more development to meet world standards. But our advantage is that local actuaries trained by western standards actually bring ready-made knowledge of developed countries, and insurance companies do not need to reinvent the wheel anymore. Their task is simply to take a good actuary for every sector and pass on responsibility to him.

And that is why we initiated such training necessary for our field. By investing in education today, we invest in our common future.

I would also like to add that sometimes students-mathematicians, while studying for a long time on Faculty of Mechanics and Mathematics immerse deeply in science and draw back from solving practical, vital needs. Therefore, by teaching such students to actuarial science, we, on the one hand, give them the opportunity to successfully apply their mathematical knowledge in life, and, on the other hand, we prepare good specialists in the trade.

- Is there any statistics on how many actuaries the market needs?

- There is no such statistics. But, for example, in our company we are constantly recruiting specialists, so, there are about 60 employees work in the head office; many heads of departments, units and the Board have basic actuarial knowledge. Besides, each company needs 3-4 licensed actuary specialists who have completed all six actuarial courses. Such professionals have very good salaries and requirements.

- What is the reason for your decision to finance not just two basic but all of the training courses for students?

- Such a proposal came to us from the Society of Actuaries of Kazakhstan during our discussion with them of the studying process. The fact is that the industry is now very short of licensed actuaries. And if we limit ourselves to only the first-second courses, then, firstly, the salaries of our graduates will not be as high, although they will find where to apply the knowledge they have received. Secondly, they are unlikely to be able to improve their qualifications in the nearest future in connection with the job placement as well as the existing actuaries in the market with a basic education. After all, more advanced from the 3rd to 6th courses in Kazakhstan are held less frequently due to a lack of funding.

Having realized this situation and the fact that these young specialists would give tone to the market in the future, we have decided to finance the following actuarial courses.

But the organization of the third and fourth courses will take a longer time, about half a year, due to the need to agree on training and vacation schedules of specialists with a basic actuarial education that already work in the market and want to continue their education in this science.

- Are the actuarial courses organized by your company this year a trial or you still planning to run them in the following years?

- Of course, we would like to see other market participants support our undertaking and cooperation in terms of training with the Society of Actuaries of Kazakhstan in the future. But we would like to conduct the first two basic and one advanced courses annually. This year, we planned to run more courses, but everything depends on the difficult process of coordinating teacher schedules, class rent and other important points. That is, many things do not depend on us, but we are ready to provide financing.

In the photo:

- Students of actuarial courses together with their teacher Mirbulat Bakhytzhanovich Sikhov;

- Kairat Chegebayev, the Chairman of the Board of LIC "NOMAD LIFE".

Share
read also
Freelancer or a housewife also receives pension in Russia
Freelancer or a housewife also receives pension in Russia

Authorities of Pension Fund of Russia received 96 applications on “voluntary enteri...

From the history of life insurance
From the history of life insurance

It is unknown, who was the first to come up with the idea of material consideration o...

The most interesting materials of the site you have in the mail! Subscribe to the newsletter.

ASK A QUESTION TO THE EXPERT
ASK A QUESTION TO THE EXPERT
Submit your application

bs-preloader__icon
ru kz en

Кайрат Чегебаев: «Актуариев нужно было готовить еще вчера»

В Алматы началось обучение в рамках второго курса актуариев. Обучение проводят высококвалифицированные, опытные специалисты Общества актуариев Казахстана. Первый курс, который стартовал в начале лета, длился три недели с высоким уровнем интенсивности и с полной занятостью практически на весь день. Организаторами базовых актуарных курсов, помимо Общества, являются также компания «АО КСЖ «НОМАД LIFE» при поддержке Национального Банка РК и механико-математического факультета КазНУ им. аль-Фараби.
Кайрат Чегебаев: «Актуариев нужно было готовить еще вчера»

Один из организаторов и преподавателей актуарных курсов, заведующий кафедрой фундаментальной математики механико-математического факультета КазНУ им. аль-Фараби, доктор физико-математических наук, и.о. профессора Мирбулат Сихов рассказал в интервью Lifeinsurance.kz об особенностях проведения данных курсов.

- Мирбулат Бахытжанович, как Вы оцениваете уровень участников первых базовых курсов в этом году?

 - Требования к участникам первого курса были более жёсткими, поэтому их уровень подготовки был также достаточно высоким. И это подтвердили результаты экзаменов: из 27-ми человек из первой группы около половины  сдали успешно. На второй набор по первому курсу в связи с небольшим набором были снижены требования к участникам, поэтому к обучению допускались слушатели, менее подготовленные с точки зрения математики.

В отличие от первого набора были привлечены представители различных компаний в финансовой сфере, в том числе страховых, которые уже давно окончили университеты, и потому какие-то академические знания просто подзабыли.  Это также сказалось на итогах экзаменов: здесь уровень сдачи составил примерно 20% от общего количества слушателей. На второй курс прошли в целом около 20-ти человек.

- Расширилась ли учебная программа на втором этапе (курсе) подготовки актуариев обучения?

- На второй курс, который также будет длиться три недели, прошли слушатели, успешно сдавшие экзамены по итогам первого этапа. Особенностью второго курса являются то, что здесь они будут изучать много различных тем, не всегда взаимосвязанных, которые должны знать актуарии. В том числе основные задачи общего страхования, страхования жизни, теория инвестиций, пенсионное обеспечение, медицинское страхование и другие.

- Что дают эти курсы слушателям и рынку в целом?

- Единственным спонсором этих курсов является компания АО КСЖ «НОМАД LIFE», которая намерена профинансировать в этом году также проведение 3-4-х курсов по программе подготовки актуариев в РК. Мы выражаем огромную благодарность компании за этот вклад в подготовку нашей молодежи и развитие рынка, так как наши молодые специалисты, а это хорошие, толковые ребята, в основном студенты, магистранты мехмата, получили шанс обучиться достойной, нужной и хорошо оплачиваемой профессии, получить хорошую работу на страховом и в целом финансовом рынке.

Стоимость актуарных курсов немалая, и вряд ли у них была бы возможность пройти их в этом году. Как показывает практика, выпускники первых двух курсов обычно устраиваются в страховые компании помощниками актуариев, андеррайтерами, риск-менеджерами. И у них есть в будущем возможность пройти дальнейшее обучение, даже на платных актуарных курсах, и обычно за счет их компании, которая заинтересована в повышении квалификации своих работников. Так что проведение этих двух курсов дает большие возможности и слушателям, и страховому рынку.

Здесь хочется отметить, что занятия по второму курсу проводятся в механико-математическом факультете КазНУ им. аль-Фараби. Мы выражаем благодарность руководству факультета. Также хочу заметить, что все-таки в будущем подготовка актуариев должна, в основном, осуществляться в стенах университетов. Мы сейчас в этом направлении проводим определенную работу. В частности, в этом году открыта специализация «Актуарная математика» на механико-математическом факультете КазНУ по программе бакалавриата, а также идет подготовка магистрантов по этой траектории.

О том, почему актуариев нужно готовить сейчас, рассказал председатель правления АО КСЖ «НОМАД LIFE» Кайрат Чегебаев.

- Актуарии зачастую могут проявить себя в таких направлениях, как андеррайтинг, перестрахование, выплаты, сопровождение и других. Кроме того, мы ожидаем, что отрасль страхования жизни в Казахстане, как и во всем мире в перспективе будет расти большими темпами. На сегодня, если сравнить текущие сборы компаний по страхованию жизни с общемировыми, то, конечно, они отличаются в разы. Отчасти это связано с тем, что уровень знаний, квалификации отрасли требует большего развития для соответствия мировым стандартам. Но наше преимущество в том, что местные актуарии, обучаясь по западным стандартам, фактически приносят с собой готовые знания развитых стран, и страховым компаниям здесь уже не нужно изобретать велосипед. Их задача – просто взять хорошего актуария на каждое направление своей деятельности и передать ему ответственность.

И потому мы стали инициаторами такого обучения, необходимого нашей сфере. Вкладывая сегодня в образование, мы инвестируем в наше общее будущее.

Также хотел бы добавить, что порой студенты-математики, долго обучаясь на мехмате, очень глубоко погружаются в науку и могут отстраниться от решения практических, жизненных потребностей. Поэтому, обучая таких студентов актуарной науке, мы, с одной стороны, даем им возможность успешно применить свои математические знания в жизни, а, с другой, даем отрасли хороших специалистов.

- Есть ли какая-то статистика, сколько актуариев не хватает рынку?

- Такой статистики нет. Но, к примеру, в нашей компании специалистов мы набираем постоянно, так, в головном офисе работает около 60 человек, многие руководители отделов, департаментов и Правления имеют базовые актуарные знания. Помимо этого, каждой компании нужны 3-4 лицензированных специалиста-актуария, окончивших все шесть актуарных курсов. Такие профессионалы имеют очень хорошие оклады и требования.

- С чем связано ваше решение о финансировании обучения для слушателей всех курсов, а не только двух базовых?

- Такое предложение поступило к нам от Общества актуариев Казахстана во время нашего обсуждения с ним процесса обучения на курсах. Дело в том, что отрасли сейчас очень не хватает лицензированных актуариев. И если мы сейчас ограничимся только первым-вторым курсами, то, во-первых, зарплаты наших выпускников будут не такими высокими, хотя они и найдут применение полученным знаниям. Во-вторых, они вряд ли в ближайшее время смогут повысить свою квалификацию в связи с устройством на работу. Как и уже имеющиеся актуарии на рынке с базовым образованием. Ведь более углубленные 3-6-е курсы в Казахстане проходят не так часто в связи с нехваткой финансирования.

Понимая данную ситуацию и то, что в будущем тон на рынке будут задавать именно эти молодые специалисты, мы приняли решение о финансировании следующих актуарных курсов.

Но организация третьих и четвертых курсов займет более продолжительное время, около полугода, в связи с необходимостью согласования графиков обучения и графиков отпусков специалистов с базовым актуарным образованием, которые уже работают на рынке, но хотели бы продолжить свое обучение этой науке.

- Организация вашей компанией актуарных курсов в этом году является пробной или Вы все же твердо планируете проводить их и в последующие годы?

- Мы, конечно же, хотели бы, чтобы наше начинание и сотрудничество в плане обучения с Обществом актуариев Казахстана поддержали в будущем и другие участники рынка. Но у нас есть желание проводить первые два базовых и один из продвинутых курсов ежегодно. В этом, первом, году мы планировали провести больше курсов, но здесь все зависит от непростого процесса согласования графиков преподавателей, арендой помещения и другими важными моментами.  То есть здесь многое зависит не от нас, но мы со своей стороны готовы предоставить финансирование.

На фото:

- слушатели актуарных курсов вместе со своим преподавателем Мирбулатом Бахытжановичем Сиховым;

- председатель правления АО КСЖ «НОМАД LIFE» Кайрат Чегебаев.

Поделиться
читайте также
Кэшбэк за ЗОЖ и другие новые продукты страховщиков
Кэшбэк за ЗОЖ и другие новые продукты страховщиков

Три кита развития бизнеса страховщиков – фина...

В Казахстане наблюдается рост продолжительности жизни
В Казахстане наблюдается рост продолжительности жизни

По данным за 2017 г. средняя продолжительность ж...

Самые интересные материалы сайта у тебя на почте! Подпишись на рассылку.

ЗАДАТЬ ВОПРОС ЭКСПЕРТУ
ЗАДАТЬ ВОПРОС ЭКСПЕРТУ
Оставить заявку