bs-preloader__icon
ru kz en

Why you cannot withdraw your retirement savings

Economic observer Sergei Domnin told inbusiness.kz why pension savings should not be spent.
Why you cannot withdraw your retirement savings

- The President of the country said that 700 thousand Kazakhstanis would be able to use their pension savings for housing and medical treatment from 2021. This statement caused a mixed reaction among Kazakhstani people. How do you evaluate this idea?

 

- People do not believe that their money is managed by professionals; that these professionals work ethically, and precisely structured work procedures are formed in such a way that they exclude corruption and moral hazard. Secondly, it is a low return on assets of the pension system. For example, the UAPF investment income was at the level of 6.6% as of end of 2019, while the annual consumer inflation in the country was 5.4%. In the same period, the base rate was at the level of 9.0%, and the rates on deposits with a maturity of more than one month were higher than 9.0%. Thus, even on a tenge deposit in a second-tier bank, a depositor would have earned more: the real yield is 1.2% versus 3.6%. Thirdly, and this is an expert opinion, the majority of contributors to the pension system do not have enough money to provide them with a decent standard of living in retirement. Experts usually understand a decent level as the amount of lifetime payments not lower than the minimum pension.

The system of housing construction savings works to provide people with affordable housing, and, for example, Compulsory Social Health Insurance covers health services.

- What can you say about the transfer of pension savings under financial companies’ management?

- As for private managers of pension assets, this institution is really capable of returning to depositors the idea that contributions to the UAPF are not a tax but investments. We are, however, facing problems with the launch of this mechanism.

- As we have problems with the mechanism for implementing the president’s idea, will it be implemented? Some Kazakhstanis believe that the proposal to withdraw pension savings for the purchase of housing is associated with a desire to help construction companies, namely, sell expensive apartments, where the price per square meter is very high and far from the real income of the people.

- The representatives of developers have actually broadcast this idea several times in the past few months: supposedly in order to save the real estate market, it is necessary to allow citizens to use part of their pension savings for housing purchase. Explaining the motives for such a decision in his message, President Tokayev stressed that this measure "should improve labor relations and create incentives for people to participate in the pension system." It is not entirely clear what labor relations have to do with it, but the incentive for citizens to participate in the pension system is not the ability to use pension savings until the onset of retirement age but the confidence that these savings will be preserved, invested in reliable assets and will generate a stable income providing citizens with retirement decent standard of living. Earlier, I have made arguments that this mechanism does not solve this problem. Why did the president decide to choose this path? Probably, the fact is that Akorda is trying not to solve key problems (trust in the pension system, stable profitability, ensuring a decent standard of living in retirement) but to satisfy as many stakeholders as possible.

- What explains this approach?

- Only those who have participated in the decision deliberations or observed this process can answer this question exactly. On the surface, it seems that such steps could be dictated by the desire to gain more support among the population. But if this explanation is correct, it means that the president's consultants do not fully understand what is really happening in the country: it is the second year of Tokayev's presidency, his positions are clearly not threatened, a certain credit of trust has been formed, including for painful reforms.

Source: https://inbusiness.kz/ru/news/tri-prichiny-ne-snimat-pensionnye-sberezheniya?utm_source=facebook&utm_medium=cpc&utm_campaign=remark_reklama&utm_content=%7Bad.name%7D&fbclid=IwAR0S2AyKO9PnUZT0LMMFWgC4rA0QEbOTBB7Lgj1JSBGPLwCKKVtChKd6wOw

Photos are from open sources.  

Share
read also
Scientists figured out how to extend a human life
Scientists figured out how to extend a human life

The average human life expectancy in the world is 72 years. Scientists, however, rece...

Askar Shakenov: "The most stable financial institutions are in Life Insurance"
Askar Shakenov: "The most stable financial institutions are in Life Insurance"

If people in Kazakhstan are informed about motor-insurance, they practically know not...

Former doctor accused of poisoning wife over insurance benefits
Former doctor accused of poisoning wife over insurance benefits

Connor Fitzgerald Bowman, a resident of Rochester, faces a second-degree murder charg...

The most interesting materials of the site you have in the mail! Subscribe to the newsletter.

ASK A QUESTION TO THE EXPERT
ASK A QUESTION TO THE EXPERT
Submit your application

bs-preloader__icon
ru kz en

Почему нельзя снимать пенсионные сбережения

Экономический обозреватель Сергей Домнин рассказал inbusiness.kz, почему не следует тратить пенсионные накопления.
Почему нельзя снимать пенсионные сбережения

- Президент страны сказал, что 700 тысяч казахстанцев смогут использовать пенсионные накопления на жилье и лечение с 2021 года. Это вызвало неоднозначную реакцию среди казахстанцев. Как Вы оцениваете эту идею?

- Люди не верят, что их деньгами управляют профессионалы, что эти профессионалы работают этично, а четко выстроенные процедуры работы построены так, что исключают коррупцию и моральный риск. Во-вторых, низкая доходность активов пенсионной системы. Например, по итогам 2019 года инвестдоход ЕНПФ был на уровне 6,6%, тогда как годовая потребительская инфляция в стране – 5,4%. В тот же период базовая ставка была на уровне 9,0%, а ставки по депозитам на вклады на срок более чем на один месяц – выше 9,0%. То есть даже на тенговом депозите в банке второго уровня вкладчик заработал бы больше: реальная доходность 1,2% против 3,6%. В-третьих, и это экспертное мнение, денег у большинства вкладчиков пенсионной системы недостаточно, чтобы обеспечить им достойный уровень жизни на пенсии. Под достойным уровнем эксперты обычно понимают размер пожизненных выплат не ниже минимальной пенсии.

Для обеспечения населения доступным жильем, как известно, уже работает система жилстройсбережений, а, например, услугами здравоохранения – ОСМС.

- А что Вы скажете о передаче пенсионных в управление финансовым компаниям?

- Что же касается частных управляющих пенсионными активами, то этот институт действительно способен вернуть вкладчикам представление, что взносы в ЕНПФ не налог, а инвестиции, но с запуском этого механизма у нас проблемы.

-Но коль с механизмом реализации этой идеи президента у нас проблемы, то будет ли она реализована? Некоторые казахстанцы высказывают мнение, что предложение об изъятии пенсионных накоплений для покупки жилья связано с желанием помочь строительным компаниям, а именно реализовать дорогие квартиры, где цена за квадратный метр очень высока и далека от реальных доходов народа?

- Действительно, представители застройщиков в последние несколько месяцев несколько раз транслировали эту идею: якобы чтобы спасти рынок недвижимости, необходимо разрешить гражданам использовать часть пенсионных накоплений для приобретения жилья. Объясняя мотивы такого решения в послании, президент Токаев подчеркнул, что эта мера «должна улучшить трудовые отношения и создать стимулы для участия людей в пенсионной системе». Причем тут трудовые отношения, не вполне понятно, но стимулом участия граждан в пенсионной системе является не возможность использовать пенсионные накопления до наступления пенсионного возраста, а уверенность, что эти сбережения будут сохранены, инвестированы в надежные активы и будут генерировать стабильный доход, обеспечив гражданам на пенсии достойный уровень жизни. Выше я приводил доводы в пользу того, что данный механизм эту задачу не решает. Почему президент все же решил избрать этот путь? Вероятно, дело в том, что в Акорде стремятся не решить ключевые задачи (доверие к пенсионной системе, стабильная доходность, обеспечение достойного уровня жизни на пенсии), а удовлетворить как можно большее количество заинтересованных сторон.

- Чем объясняется такой подход?

- Точно на этот вопрос могут ответить лишь те, кто участвовал в подготовке этого решения или наблюдал за этим процессом. Со стороны кажется, что такие шаги могли быть продиктованы стремлением получить большую поддержку среди населения. Но если это объяснение верно, значит, консультанты президента не вполне понимают, что в действительности происходит в стране: сейчас идет второй год президентства Токаева, его позициям явно ничего не угрожает, сформирован определенный кредит доверия – в том числе и на проведение болезненных реформ.

Источник: https://inbusiness.kz/ru/news/tri-prichiny-ne-snimat-pensionnye-sberezheniya?utm_source=facebook&utm_medium=cpc&utm_campaign=remark_reklama&utm_content=%7Bad.name%7D&fbclid=IwAR0S2AyKO9PnUZT0LMMFWgC4rA0QEbOTBB7Lgj1JSBGPLwCKKVtChKd6wOw

Фото из открытых источников

Поделиться
читайте также
Топ-7 способов поднять иммунитет
Топ-7 способов поднять иммунитет

Без здоровой иммунной системы мы становимся б...

В Казахстане появятся страховые терминалы
В Казахстане появятся страховые терминалы

«Фридом Финанс» предоставит казахстанцам аль...

Эксперт – стоимость пенсионных аннуитетов оправдана
Эксперт – стоимость пенсионных аннуитетов оправдана

Часто компании по страхованию жизни обвиняют ...

Самые интересные материалы сайта у тебя на почте! Подпишись на рассылку.

ЗАДАТЬ ВОПРОС ЭКСПЕРТУ
ЗАДАТЬ ВОПРОС ЭКСПЕРТУ
Оставить заявку