bs-preloader__icon
ru kz en

North Policy

Life insurance companies must consolidate their forces to promote their products jointly and adopt the experience of Russia.
North Policy

Universal life insurance (ULI) is expected to be an alternative investment tool along with bank deposits. Insurers believe that the ULI is currently undervalued because the majority of people as well as the bankers does not know about opportunities of this product. It is the banks, which will be able to act as conductors of the ULI to the consumer, loading excess liquidity to this instrument. The authorities and the regulator are reviewing the Act on Insurance Activities, in their turn, which should help this field of industry starting immediately. Kairat Chegebayev, the Chairman of NOMAD LIFE, the leading life insurance company in this field, is telling about it.

- Kairat Sadyrbaevich, what is the current status of the life insurance sector in Kazakhstan?

– In my opinion, the life insurance market has great prospects for development to date. For many years the problems of this sector have been solving very slowly, and only during last year taxation for the universal life insurance has been radically changing, Unit Linked product is being finalized together with the market. I associate progressive changes with both the demand of the market itself and our clients, as well as with the activities of the National Bank of the Republic of Kazakhstan (NB RK), and specifically with the former Director of the Insurance Supervision Department (ISD) of the NB RK, Zh.B. Kurmanov (to date he is the Deputy Chairman of the National Bank of the Republic of Kazakhstan). Currently, the Director of the ISD is also a very experienced leader - G.Zh. Shaikakova, who has great experience both in the insurance market and in the SM; we have high hopes for continued fruitful cooperation.

At the dawn of Kazakhstan's independence, a progressive tax scale was introduced, which established the tax rate depending on income of the individual: the more income, the greater the rate. The ULI allowed a person to transfer his large gains to the period of retirement, when they will be needed most likely, thereby optimizing the taxes. However, there is a unified PIT rate, the existing tax privilege has lost its essence.

- And what is wrong with taxes to date?

– For example, a person has a salary in amount of KZT 100, theoretically speaking, therefore, he shall pay KZT 10 to insurance company upon entering into agreement for the ULI, and the remaining KZT 90 shall be taxed with PIT. The insurance benefit is subject to insurance payment. That means that there is no progressive taxation scale, and all logic is lost. But there are several points occurred, which have been the most problematic. Firstly, accountants do not withhold insurance premium from the base for income tax calculation upon wages payment. Secondly, the client pays for his universal life insurance from the income already imposed by PIT - from bank accounts or from deposits. Accordingly, the funds invested into accumulative savings, are being taxed twice. Another point, which causes the client's wariness, is the likelihood of the tax rate increase in the future.

- What can you say about compulsory and voluntary life insurance development?

– Compulsory insurance is being developed, voluntary insurance - not quite. Why does the voluntary insurance not work? Again, taxes, legislation. Then, I believe, the process is adversely affected by various restrictive rates for bank deposits and accumulative life insurance agreements. Deposits - 11-12% and life insurance - 6%. Of course, restrictions for remuneration are needed, because the period is different, but when there is such a huge imbalance, it's wrong. In Europe such imbalance is almost absent, but such imbalance in our country is almost in 2 times.

- What is the reason of imbalance?

– In Kazakhstan, within the whole period, banks have invested very large funds into promotion of the “deposit” term: outdoor advertising, the mass media and much more. A common man in Kazakhstan assumes that there is nothing else but deposits to date. This is a problem for not only insurance companies, but the entire investment market of the country - we cannot compete with bank deposits yet. Again, banks have an incomparably longer period of formation, not to mention investments into the banking sector. If to cite Europe as an example once again, then the volume of bank deposits is commensurate with the volume of insurance life-products, to a certain extent.

We do not relativize the importance of deposits in any way, but we just note that universal life insurance is one of the financial instruments, which should be used in financial budgeting. The current situation shows that underdevelopment of the ULI and the stock market as a whole has led to the fact that population keeps its savings only on deposits that means all eggs in one basket, which, as it is known, is not entirely correct.

- Which financial instruments at the intersection of insurance and investment you still see the potential in?

– We are very interested in the Unit-linked line, or investment insurance. The client, transferring funds to insurance company, can choose the investment program from the options offered to him by the insurance company. A very decent result can be obtained at the output. By the way, in Russia such line - Unit-linked - is gaining increasing popularity. Operators of these products are insurance companies, and banks serve as sales channels. Credit institutions understand that they cannot provide the required profitability to the client, and they become insurance agents, transferring some of their deposits into universal life insurance. For example, one of Russia's largest banks has insurance programs, whereby clients can invest into various strategies, for example, investing into shares of the leading pharmaceutical companies in Europe (Novartis, Roche, Sanofi, etc.), euro-bonds of large Russian companies, etc. Therefore, insurance companies in Russia have started to carve out a niche in investment markets. We hope that the Kazakhstani regulator will adopt necessary amendments to the laws and regulations (which are now being actively discussed and considered), and we will be able to use the Unit-linked in our proposals fully.

- How soon the insurance market will be able to respond to Unit-linked adoption?

– Soon. We have already been cooperating with the leading Russian companies in this direction; we are being consulted with foreign experts.

- Who should promote the life insurance market?

– We see the source of population literacy increasing in unification of efforts of all participants of this industry. NOMAD LIFE has acted as the initiator of advertising and PR activity arrangement, which will promote life insurance ideas in general, without being tied to a certain brand, but this sector has not been active yet. Similar events have been arranged by Thailand’s insurers. It has been said about the importance of long-term savings, caring for the family, children, loved ones in the commercials and printed materials. The advertising campaign has helped insurance entities to promote their products. To date, the Allianz experts predict a steady increase in the Thailand’s life insurance market at a level of at least 8% per year until 2026, as a minimum.

Such examples are effective not only in the insurance sector. For example, once, aluminum producers have promoted the idea of aluminum cans using for beer via the same advertising campaigns.

It is also necessary to consider ULI programs, for example, within the State Educational Accumulation System (SEAS), when the state annually pays a premium to accumulative savings for children’s education. There was an attempt to introduce SEAS in banks, but it failed, because deposits are short-term, and the essence of the SEAS is long-term accumulation, it is our product.

- Currently, amendments to the Act on Insurance Activities are being considered. What are the expectations from this Act?

– They are positive; the NB RK is really involved in development of such sector. In particular, an electronic insurance policy is considered, the adoption of which has been expected in Kazakhstan. I can say with confidence that online life insurance has a great future: the client “lives” in the Internet, (Internet of things) does not go to the bank (online bank) - his whole life was reduced to a smartphone (digital convergence). These opportunities allow us to reduce significantly the cost of long-term insurance agreements follow-up, speed up the process of the policy issuing.

There will be certain difficulties in introduction of an electronic policy, of course, for example, verification regarding money laundering and terrorist financing (VML/ TF), which is performed within the agreement signing procedure (60 questions to the client, with copies of documents attachment).

Author: Alexander Vorotilov, Deputy Editor-in-Charge of Forbes Kazakhstan

Source: https://forbes.kz/finances/insurance/severnyiy_polis

Share
read also
The bill on introduction of online insurance in Kazakhstan has been approved
The bill on introduction of online insurance in Kazakhstan has been approved

The Mazhilis of the Parliament of Kazakhstan has approved the draft law "On Amendment...

Privacy policies of Google, Amazon and Facebook violate the GDPR Directive
Privacy policies of Google, Amazon and Facebook violate the GDPR Directive

A third of the privacy programs of the 14 largest technology companies, including Alp...

This year promises to be interesting for Kazakhstani life insurance companies
This year promises to be interesting for Kazakhstani life insurance companies

On the New Year eve the editors of Lifeinsurance.kz conducted a survey among the lead...

The most interesting materials of the site you have in the mail! Subscribe to the newsletter.

ASK A QUESTION TO THE EXPERT
ASK A QUESTION TO THE EXPERT
Submit your application

bs-preloader__icon
ru kz en

Северный полис

Компании страхования жизни должны консолидировать силы для совместного продвижения своих продуктов и привлекать российский опыт
Северный полис

Накопительное страхование жизни (НСЖ) должно стать альтернативным инструментом инвестирования наряду с банковскими депозитами. Страховщики уверены, что НСЖ в настоящее время недооценено, потому что о возможностях этого продукта не знает как большинство людей, так и банкиров. Именно банки смогут выступить проводниками НСЖ до потребителя, сгружая в этот инструмент избыточную ликвидность. В свою очередь власти и регулятор пересматривают Закон «О страховой деятельности», который должен помочь отрасли резко стартовать. Об этом рассказывает председатель правления лидирующей в отрасли компании по страхованию жизни «НОМАД LIFE» Кайрат Чегебаев.

- Кайрат Садырбаевич, в каком состоянии сегодня находится отрасль страхования жизни в Казахстане?

– На мой взгляд, сегодня у рынка страхования жизни большие перспективы для развития. Много лет проблемы отрасли решались очень медленно, и только за последний год кардинально меняется налогообложение накопительного страхования жизни, совместно с рынком дорабатывается продукт Unit Linked. Прогрессивные изменения я связываю как с требованием самого рынка и наших клиентов, так и с деятельностью Национального банка Казахстана (НБ РК) и конкретно бывшего директора департамента страхового надзора (ДСН) НБ РК Ж.Б. Курманова (на сегодня зампред НБ РК). Сегодня директором ДСН является тоже очень опытный руководитель – Г.Ж. Шайкакова, у которой большой опыт работы как на страховом рынке, так и на РЦБ, мы очень надеемся на продолжение плодотворного сотрудничества.

На заре независимости Казахстана была введена прогрессивная шкала налогообложения, которая определяла ставку налога в зависимости от дохода человека: чем больше доход, тем больше ставка. НСЖ позволяло человеку свои большие доходы переносить на период пенсии, когда в них, вероятнее всего, возникнет необходимость, тем самым оптимизируя свои налоги. Однако сегодня действует единая ставка ИПН, существующая налоговая льгота потеряла свой смысл.

- А что не так с налогами сегодня?

– К примеру, человек имеет зарплату, условно говоря, 100 тенге, при этом, заключая договор НСЖ, платит 10 тенге в страховую компанию, а оставшиеся 90 тенге облагаются ИПН. Налогом облагается страховая выплата. То есть прогрессивной шкалы нет, и теряется вся логика. Но возникает несколько моментов, которые были самыми проблемными. Во-первых, бухгалтеры при выплате зарплаты не удерживают страховую премию из базы по расчету подоходного налога. Во-вторых, клиент платит за свое накопительное страхование жизни из доходов, уже обложенных ИПН – со счетов банков либо с депозитов. Соответственно, деньги, вложенные в накопительное сбережение, облагаются налогами дважды. Еще одним моментом, вызывающим настороженность клиента, является вероятность увеличения ставки налогообложения в будущем.

- Что вы можете сказать о развитии обязательного и добровольного страхований жизни?

– Обязательное развивается, добровольное – не совсем. Почему добровольное не работает? Опять же налоги, законодательство. Затем на процесс, я считаю, негативно влияют разные ограничительные ставки по банковским депозитам и договорам накопительного страхования жизни. По депозитам – 11–12%, а по страхованию жизни – 6%. Разумеется, ограничения по вознаграждениям нужны, так как срок разный, но, когда есть такой большой дисбаланс, это неправильно. В Европе этой разницы почти нет, а у нас почти в 2 раза.

- В чем причина дисбаланса?

– В Казахстане за все время банки вложили очень большие средства в раскрутку термина «депозит»: наружная реклама, СМИ и многое другое. Обыватель сегодня в Казахстане предполагает, что ничего иного, кроме депозитов, нет. Это не только проблема страховых компаний, но и всего инвестиционного рынка страны – конкурировать с банковскими депозитами мы пока не можем. Опять же, у банков несравнимо больший с нами период становления, не говоря уже об инвестициях в банковский сектор. Если снова привести в пример ту же Европу, то там объем банковских депозитов в определенной мере соизмерим с объемом страховых life-продуктов.

Мы ни в коей мере не принижаем важность депозитов, а лишь отмечаем, что накопительное страхование жизни – это один из финансовых инструментов, который должен использоваться при финансовом планировании. Текущая ситуация показывает, что неразвитость НСЖ и фондового рынка в целом привела к тому, что население держит свои накопления только в депозитах, то есть все яйца в одной корзине, что является, как известно, не совсем правильным.

- В каких финансовых инструментах на стыке страхования и инвестирования вы еще видите потенциал?

– Нас очень интересует направление Unit-linked, или инвестиционное страхование. Клиент, отдавая деньги страховой компании, сам может выбирать программу инвестирования из вариантов, которые предлагает ему страховая компания. На выходе можно получить весьма приличный результат. К слову, в России это направление – Unit-linked – набирает все большую популярность. Операторами этих продуктов являются страховые компании, а каналами продаж выступают банки. Кредитные учреждения понимают, что не могут обеспечить необходимую доходность клиенту, и они становятся страховыми агентами, переводя часть своих депозитов в накопительное страхование жизни. Например, у одного крупнейшего банка России есть страховые программы, по которым клиенты могут инвестировать в различные стратегии, к примеру инвестирование в акции лидирующих фармацевтических компаний Европы (Novartis, Roche, Sanofi и др.), еврооблигации крупных российских компаний и т. п. Поэтому страховые компании в России стали занимать свою нишу на инвестиционных рынках. Мы надеемся, что казахстанский регулятор примет необходимые изменения в нормативно-правовых актах (которые сейчас активно обсуждаются и рассматриваются) и мы сможем полноценно задействовать Unit-linked в своих предложениях.

- Как скоро страховой рынок сможет отреагировать на принятие Unit-linked?

– Быстро. Уже сотрудничаем с ведущими российскими компаниями в этом направлении, консультируемся с иностранными специалистами.

- Кто должен «раскручивать» рынок накопительного страхования жизни?

– Источник повышения грамотности населения мы видим в объединении усилий всех игроков отрасли. «НОМАД LIFE» выступал в качестве инициатора организации рекламной и PR-активности, которая будет продвигать идеи страхования жизни в целом, без привязки к какому-то определенному бренду, но отрасль пока не активна. Аналогичные мероприятия были организованы страховщиками Таиланда. В рекламных роликах и печатной продукции говорилось о важности долгосрочных накоплений, заботе о семье, детях, близких. Рекламная кампания помогла страховым организациям в продвижении своих продуктов. Сегодня эксперты Allianz прогнозируют устойчивый рост тайского рынка страхования жизни на уровне не менее 8% в год как минимум до 2026 года.

Подобные примеры эффективны не только в страховой отрасли. Например, в свое время производители алюминия в таких же рекламных кампаниях продвигали идеи использования алюминиевых банок для пива.

Также необходимо рассматривать программы НСЖ, например, в рамках Государственной образовательной накопительной системы (ГОНС), когда государство ежегодно доплачивает процент на накопление на образование детей. Была попытка внедрения ГОНС в банках, но неудачная, поскольку депозиты краткосрочны, а суть ГОНС – долгосрочное накопление, это наш продукт.

- В настоящее время рассматриваются поправки в Закон «О страховой деятельности». Какие ожидания от этой редакции закона?

– Позитивные, НБ РК действительно занимается развитием отрасли. В том числе рассматривается электронный полис страхования, принятие которого в Казахстане ждали. С уверенностью могу сказать, что за онлайн-страхованием жизни большое будущее: клиент «живет» в интернете (интернет вещей) не ходит в банк (онлайн-банк) -  вся его жизнь свелась к смартфону (диджитал конвергенс). Нам данные возможности позволят существенно снизить стоимость сопровождения долгосрочных договоров страхования, ускорить процесс выписки полиса.

Будут, конечно, определенные трудности во внедрении электронного полиса, к примеру проверка на отмывание денег и финансирование терроризма (ПОД/ФТ), которая происходит при заключении договора (60 вопросов клиенту, с приложением копий документов). 

Автор: Александр Воротилов, заместитель главного редактора Forbes Kazakhstan

Источник: https://forbes.kz/finances/insurance/severnyiy_polis

Поделиться
читайте также
Японская страховая компания Sompo запретила курение во всех своих офисах
Японская страховая компания Sompo запретила курение во всех своих офисах

Японская страховая компания Sompo Japan Nippon Kowa Himawari...

На защите интересов граждан и бизнеса
На защите интересов граждан и бизнеса

Несмотря на динамичный рост страхового рынка ...

Самые интересные материалы сайта у тебя на почте! Подпишись на рассылку.

ЗАДАТЬ ВОПРОС ЭКСПЕРТУ
ЗАДАТЬ ВОПРОС ЭКСПЕРТУ
Оставить заявку