bs-preloader__icon
ru kz en

How life insurance is developing in Russia

The Russian insurance market has surpassed the numbers the Covid 2020 and pre-Covid 2019 in the first half of 2021. The material in Izvestia covers the issue of life insurance development in Russia.
How life insurance is developing in Russia

The Russian insurance market is regulated by the Central Bank, and the regulator pays special attention to the insurance segment in general and life insurance in particular. At the year beginning, the regulator came up with a number of initiatives to additionally control the sale of life insurance policies and suggested introducing some restrictions on insurers’ work. According to financial experts, a number of excessive innovations by the Central Bank will negatively affect the insurance business and, ultimately, consumers who will not be able to get affordable and familiar financial products. The Central Bank prepared a number of regulatory measures that should become mandatory by the fall, but many initiatives are controversial among the insurance community.

The discussion, for example, flared up around the establishment of the so-called cooling period, that is, the period during which the consumer can cancel the policy and get his money back. According to the Central Bank’s initiatives, he can do this before the third installment on the life insurance policy. In this case, the contradiction arises: the insurance company provides full insurance coverage already from the first installment and forms a financial reserve for the corresponding risks, that is, the insured can, in fact, use the policy free of charge until the third installment.

Besides, insurers did not agree with the Central Bank's proposal on the coefficients for calculating the insurance coverage on the “death for any reason” risk. According to business representatives, this completely changes the existing market practice and affects the risk assessment. The All-Russian Union of Insurers (ARIA) noted that introduction of coefficients may lead to disappearance of products for a mass customer, because they will be used without taking into account the client’s actual state of health, and these are additional risks.

Nevertheless, the Central Bank relaxed several requirements for life insurance contracts in August, after talking with market representatives. The regulator's interaction with business continues: the parties are jointly looking for compromises that would protect citizens and not to harm the market. The Central Bank is open for insurers’ suggestions.

The innovations of Bank of Russia are also directed against misselling, unfair practices of some insurance agents and bankers that mislead consumers. The insurance community itself is fighting this phenomenon by adopting general rules for the policy sale and conducting awareness campaigns with consumers. And this is paying off, as consumers are less and less complaining about life insurers: according to the regulator, only 1,073 cases have been registered in the 1st HY 2021, this is 0.1% of their current portfolio.

The life insurance market is one of the most sustainable and reliable today. In 2021, the Central Bank revoked the licenses of 15 banks, but there was not a single case of life insurer bankruptcy. The regulator is planning to extend government guarantees to the segment, as is the case with bank deposits and DIA.

The insurance market, including the life insurance segment, is actively moving towards digitalization. This process is supported by the Central Bank: the regulator's initiatives in the field of digital development by 2024 include all the key proposals of insurers.

Source: https://iz.ru/1229666/khariton-galitckii/upravlenie-riskami-kak-razvivaetsia-v-rossii-strakhovanie-zhizni

Photos are from open sources.

Share
read also
The emotional impact of insurance agents in Russia to be leveled by the "cooling period"
The emotional impact of insurance agents in Russia to be leveled by the "cooling period"

The Council for Entrepreneurial Development of Russia sent an information memo to the...

Investments in insurance technologies, “insuretech”, make $3 billion a year
Investments in insurance technologies, “insuretech”, make $3 billion a year

Though the world insurance market in general is currently estimated at $5 trillion. A...

The National Bank published the forecast for the economic development of Kazakhstan
The National Bank published the forecast for the economic development of Kazakhstan

Following the results of the forecast round “February-March 2021”, the National B...

The most interesting materials of the site you have in the mail! Subscribe to the newsletter.

ASK A QUESTION TO THE EXPERT
ASK A QUESTION TO THE EXPERT
Submit your application

bs-preloader__icon
ru kz en

Как развивается в России страхование жизни

Российский рынок страхования за первую половину 2021 года превзошел показатели ковидного 2020-го и доковидного 2019-го. Как развивается в России страхование жизни — в материале «Известий».
Как развивается в России страхование жизни

Страховой рынок в России регулируется Центральным банком, сегменту страхования в целом и страхования жизни в частности регулятор уделяет повышенное внимание. Так, в начале года регулятор выступил с рядом инициатив по дополнительному контролю продаж полисов страхования жизни, предложил ввести некоторые ограничения в работу страховщиков. По мнению финансовых экспертов, ряд избыточных новаций ЦБ негативно отразится на страховом бизнесе и в конечном счете на потребителях, которые не смогут получать доступные и привычные финансовые продукты. Центробанк подготовил ряд регуляторных мер, которые должны стать обязательными к исполнению уже осенью, однако многие инициативы вызывают споры у страхового сообщества.

Дискуссии, к примеру, разгорелись вокруг установления так называемого периода охлаждения, то есть срока, когда потребитель может аннулировать полис и вернуть обратно уплаченные средства. Согласно инициативам ЦБ, сделать он это может до третьего взноса по полису страхования жизни. В данном случае возникает противоречие: страховая компания предоставляет полную страховую защиту уже с первого взноса и формирует финансовый резерв под соответствующие риски, то есть застрахованный может, по сути, пользоваться полисом бесплатно до внесения третьего взноса.

Кроме того, страховщики не согласились с предложением ЦБ о коэффициентах для расчета страховой суммы по риску «смерть по любой причине». По мнению представителей бизнеса, это полностью меняет существующую на рынке практику и влияет на оценку рисков. Во Всероссийском союзе страховщиков (ВСС) отметили, что введение коэффициентов может привести к исчезновению продуктов для массового клиента, потому что их будут применять без учета фактического состояния здоровья клиента — а это дополнительные риски.

Тем не менее в августе Центробанк смягчил несколько требований к договорам страхования жизни после общения с представителями рынка. Взаимодействие регулятора с бизнесом продолжается: стороны совместно ищут компромиссы, которые бы защитили граждан, но и не вредили рынку. К предложениям страховщиков ЦБ относится внимательно.

Новации Банка России направлены также против мисселинга — недобросовестных практик некоторых страховых агентов и банковских работников, вводящих потребителей в заблуждение. С этим явлением борется и само страховое сообщество, принимая общие правила продажи полисов и проводя разъяснительные кампании с потребителями. И это приносит свои плоды — потребители всё реже жалуются на страховщиков жизни: по данным регулятора, за первое полугодие 2021-го зарегистрировано всего 1073 случая — это 0,1% от их текущего портфеля.

При этом рынок страхования жизни сегодня — один из самых устойчивых и надежных. В 2021 году ЦБ отозвал лицензии у 15 банков, но не было ни одного случая банкротства страховщика жизни. Регулятор планирует распространить на сегмент государственные гарантии, как в случае с банковскими вкладами и АСВ.

Рынок страхования, в том числе сегмент страхования жизни, активно движется по пути цифровизации. В этом его поддерживает Центробанк: инициативы регулятора в области цифрового развития до 2024 года включают все ключевые предложения страховщиков.

Источник: https://iz.ru/1229666/khariton-galitckii/upravlenie-riskami-kak-razvivaetsia-v-rossii-strakhovanie-zhizni

Фото из открытых источников

Поделиться
читайте также

Самые интересные материалы сайта у тебя на почте! Подпишись на рассылку.

ЗАДАТЬ ВОПРОС ЭКСПЕРТУ
ЗАДАТЬ ВОПРОС ЭКСПЕРТУ
Оставить заявку