bs-preloader__icon
ru kz en

Cash-value insurance: a perspective from Canada

Almas Rymov, having worked in Kazakhstan in the insurance industry for more than 7 years, since 2011 is an employee in one of the largest insurance companies in Canada - Sun Life Financial. The number of employees in this company is about 27 000 people (without insurance agents) and the total amount of assets under management exceeded 700 billion dollars. Sun Life has subsidiaries in more than 10 countries and is included into Fortune 500, the list of world’s largest companies.
Cash-value insurance: a perspective from Canada

During the first two years he worked with Sun Life in Toronto which coordinates the largest subsidiaries in India and China, and since 2013 he has been working in the Asset and Liability Management Department in the Canadian segment. Almas shared his observations of the Canadian insurance market.

“Studying life insurance markets in Canada, China and India, you begin to understand that the design of insurance products is dictated by the demographic, economic and cultural factors present in each country. In India, “long-term” cash-value insurance products with a term of 10 to 30 years are popular, in China – “short-term” cash-value insurance products with a period of 5 to 10 years, in Canada, policies with a term of more than 10 years or cash-value insurance policies are popular. 

For myself, I have identified cultural differences in these countries: in India, since 1955, there is a state insurance company that exercised the monopoly right to sell insurance products. It was this company that taught Indians to believe in insurance and buy products with a long period of validity. In China, life insurance has developed relatively recently and competes with banking products, therefore policies are basically reminiscent of short-term deposit products of a bank.

In Canada, the demographic factor is strongly felt - the share of the population of retirement, the so-called “Baby Boomers”, i.e. the generation born in the baby boom period in post-war years, is growing rapidly in the country. Because this demographic group has accumulated significant savings, the major emphasis is placed on the pension component in cash-value insurance products.

Unit Linked Insurance

What can be applied in Kazakhstan from the experience of these countries? Which products of insurance would be interesting for the Kazakhstan market? In my opinion, cash-value insurance is the direction where life insurance in Kazakhstan can see most dynamic development.

From various versions of cash-value insurance, I would like to focus on cash-value insurance with an investment component, i.e. Unit-Linked or UL products.

These products have several features:

  • In essence, UL is similar to an investment made in a mutual fund, from which a certain percentage is deducted monthly to cover the company's insurance expenses.
  • The policy holder is given a choice of instruments for investment where:
  • Profitability is tied to the stock index, for example, to the American S&P 500, the European EuroStoxx 50, the Japanese NIKKEI, Kazakhstan's KASE index, and so on.
  • Profitability is fixed and depends on the term, similar to a bank deposit.
  • Profitability is tied to the index of corporate or government bonds.
  • Funds are invested in a specific mutual fund, for example, in Ishares or Vanguard funds.
  • Combination of the abovementioned options with the possibility of changing the proportions in the invested funds at any time.
  • The insurance amount is either equal to the value of the investment in the fund, either fixed or equal to the maximum of the previous options.
  • In case of early termination, a certain percentage is withheld from the fund's balance for the first few years.

Why are UL products popular in Canada? First, it is beneficial from considerations of tax savings. Personal income tax in Canada is very high and reaches more than 40% above 120 thousand dollars a year. If client receives a salary of more than 120 thousand dollars a year, then it is profitable for such a client to buy cash-value insurance with a maturity running after retirement, because when retiring the accumulated investment income will be taxed at a much lower tax rate (for example, 20%).

In the event of client’s death, the investment income will be paid in the form of death payment and will not be taxed. For clients with savings, let’s say, over $1 million, this can be a significant saving on the tax. Secondly, the client does not need to make frequent investment decisions. Having chosen the funds for investment once, the client may not worry about the funds for a long time.

Prospects in Kazakhstan

Based on sales experience in emerging markets Unit Linked products are popular with a fast-growing financial market for customers willing to invest in equity funds. It also seems promising to invest UL funds in dollar indices.

The only obstacle in the path of UL products is the imperfection of the insurance legislation of Kazakhstan where an insurance company cannot build up a significant portfolio in this kind of cash-value insurance because of the requirements for prudential standards.

Share
read also
Three people died in industrial accidents in Atyrau region
Three people died in industrial accidents in Atyrau region

Over the past 7 months, 16 accidents were recorded in the region, reports kursiv.kz....

Insurers are compiling the new forecasts on smart insurance policies sales in 2020
Insurers are compiling the new forecasts on smart insurance policies sales in 2020

According to Berg Insight estimation, there were 11.6 million smart insurance policie...

The insurance market in Kazakhstan: growth by the beginning of autumn
The insurance market in Kazakhstan: growth by the beginning of autumn

The highest growth rate in the market in August was total profit (retained earnings),...

The most interesting materials of the site you have in the mail! Subscribe to the newsletter.

ASK A QUESTION TO THE EXPERT
ASK A QUESTION TO THE EXPERT
Submit your application

bs-preloader__icon
ru kz en

Накопительное страхование: взгляд из Канады

Алмас Рымов, проработав в Казахстане в страховой индустрии более 7 лет, с 2011 года является сотрудником в одной из крупнейших страховых компаний в Канаде – Sun Life Financial. Количество сотрудников в этой компании составляет около 27 000 человек (не включая страховых агентов) и общий объем активов под управлением превысил 700 млрд. долларов. Sun Life имеет дочерние компании в более чем 10 странах и входит в список крупнейших компаний мира Fortune 500.
Накопительное страхование:  взгляд из Канады

В течение первых двух лет был сотрудником в департаменте Sun Life в Торонто, курирующим крупнейшие дочерние компании в Индии и Китае, и с 2013 г. работает в департаменте по управлению активами и обязательствами в канадском сегменте. Алмас поделился с нами своими наблюдениями рынка страхования Канады.

«Изучая рынки страхования жизни в Канаде, Китае и Индии, начинаешь понимать, что дизайн страховых продуктов определяется демографическими, экономическими и культурными факторами в каждой стране. В Индии популярны «длинные» накопительные страховые продукты со сроком 10-30 лет, в Китае – «короткие» накопительные продукты со сроком 5-10 лет, в Канаде популярны полисы со сроком более 10 лет или на дожитие.

Для себя я определил культурные отличия в этих странах: в Индии с 1955 года существует государственная страховая компания, имевшая монопольное право продавать страховые продукты. Именно эта компания приучила индийцев верить в страхование и покупать продукты с длинным сроком действия. В Китае страхование жизни развилось сравнительно недавно и конкурирует с банковскими продуктами, поэтому полисы в основном напоминают банковские депозитные продукты с короткими сроками.

В Канаде сильно ощущается демографический фактор – в стране стремительно растет доля населения пенсионного возраста, так называемые «Бэби-бумеры», т.е. поколение, родившееся в период бума рождаемости в послевоенные годы. Так как эта демографическая группа накопила значительные сбережения, в накопительных страховых продуктах основной упор делается на пенсионную составляющую.

Накопительное страхование с инвестиционной составляющей (Unit Linked Insurance)

Что из опыта этих стран может быть применено в Казахстане? Какие бы продуты страхования были бы интересны для казахстанского рынка?  На мой взгляд, накопительное страхование – это то направление, в котором страхование жизни в Казахстане может развиваться наиболее динамично.

Из различных вариантов накопительного страхования я хотел бы остановится на накопительном страховании с инвестиционной составляющей, т.е. продукты Unit-Linked, или UL.

Особенностей у этих продуктов несколько:

  • По своей сути UL аналогичны инвестициям в паевый фонд, из которого ежемесячно вычитаются определенный процент для покрытия расходов компании на страхование.
  • Полисодержателю дается выбор инструментов для инвестирования, в которых:
    1. Доходность привязана к индексу акций, например, к американскому S&P 500,  европейскому EuroStoxx 50, японскому NIKKEI, Казахстанскому индексу KASE и т.п.
    2. Доходность фиксирована и зависит от срока, аналогично банковскому депозиту.
    3. Доходность привязана к индексу корпоративных или государственных облигаций.
    4. Средства инвестируются в конкретный паевый фонд, например, в фонды Ishares или Vanguard.
    5. Комбинация вышеприведенных опций с возможностью изменения пропорций в инвестируемые фонды в любой момент.
  • Страховая сумма либо равна стоимости инвестиций в фонде, либо фиксирована, либо равна максимуму из предыдущих опций.
  • При досрочном расторжении в течении нескольких первых лет удерживается определенный процент с баланса фонда.

Почему в Канаде популярны продукты UL? Во-первых, это выгодно из соображений экономии на налогах. Индивидуальный подоходный налог в Канаде очень высокий и достигает более 40% свыше 120 тыс. долларов в год. Если зарплата клиента свыше 120 тыс. долларов в год, то такому клиенту выгодно купить накопительное страхование со сроком погашения после выхода на пенсию, так как при выходе на пенсию накопленный инвестиционный доход будет облагаться по гораздо меньшей ставке налога (например - 20%).

В случае смерти клиента инвестиционный доход будет выплачен в виде выплаты по смерти и не будет облагаться налогом. Для клиентов с накоплениями, скажем, свыше 1 млн. долларов это может быть существенной экономией на налоге. Во-вторых, клиенту не надо принимать частых инвестиционных решений. Один раз выбрав фонды для инвестирования, клиент может не беспокоиться о средствах в течение продолжительного времени.

Перспективы в Казахстане

По опыту продаж в развивающихся рынках Unit Linked продукты популярны при быстрорастущем финансовом рынке для клиентов, желающих инвестировать средства в фонды акций. Так же видится перспективным инвестирование фондов UL в долларовые индексы.

Единственным препятствием на пути продуктов UL является несовершенство страхового законодательства Казахстана, при котором страховая компания не может нарастить значительный портфель в этом виде накопительного страхования из-за требований к пруденциальным нормативам.

Поделиться
читайте также
Количество активных вкладчиков ЕНПФ выросло
Количество активных вкладчиков ЕНПФ выросло

Доля активных вкладчиков ЕНПФ составляет окол...

Азамат Ердесов: инновации и страхование жизни
Азамат Ердесов: инновации и страхование жизни

Портал www.lifeinsurance.kz продолжает серию публикаци...

KASE Talks с Азаматом Джолдасбековым
KASE Talks с Азаматом Джолдасбековым

В честь своего 25-летия Казахстанская фондовая ...

Самые интересные материалы сайта у тебя на почте! Подпишись на рассылку.

ЗАДАТЬ ВОПРОС ЭКСПЕРТУ
ЗАДАТЬ ВОПРОС ЭКСПЕРТУ
Оставить заявку