bs-preloader__icon
ru kz en

S&P: Kazakhstan's life insurance market expects high growth rates

The life insurance market in Kazakhstan is expected to grow at high rates thanks to the economic recovery and regulator's initiatives aimed at developing the life insurance market. This forecast was announced by S&P Global Ratings representatives during the online conference Prospects for the Kazakhstan insurance market development in 2021.
S&P: Kazakhstan's life insurance market expects high growth rates

Despite the unfavorable macroeconomic situation in the past year, the life insurance sector continued to develop: the growth of the gross insurance premiums signed was 16%, profit indices were high, return on equity (ROE) was 33%.

“The diversification of insurance products continues to increase, with the sector's exposure to risks related to insurance products that depend on the level of interest rates (for example, insurance products with a guarantee), lower than in European countries. Due to the underdevelopment of the domestic capital market in Kazakhstan, insurance companies invest mainly in quasi-government and sovereign bonds in order to provide a generally fairly conservative investment portfolio,” explained Yekaterina Tolstova, Deputy Director of the Financial Institutions Group of S&P Global Ratings.

The resilience of the life insurance sector to unfavorable macroeconomic situation is noted by S&P, however, it is partly due to the fact that it is developing from a very low base. The level of financial literacy of population is also insufficient, which leads to a low average insurance premium per capita in the life insurance sector, $29 in 2020 compared to an average of $2 thousand in the developed countries of the EMEA region (Europe, Middle East, Africa). This figure is close to the ones of emerging markets, where insurance costs is about $32 per capita in average. “The insurance expenses are low in Kazakhstan. However, there is an upward trend as the regulator introduces new products, for example, new products in the life insurance market. We also see companies' efforts to educate consumers on the terms of new products. Financial literacy is an important factor, enlightening consumers about the point of insurance coverage. This is a long-term factor. It is less noticeable in the general insurance sector at the moment,” said Yekaterina Marushkevich, Deputy Director of the Financial Institutions Group of S&P Global Ratings, expressing her point of view.

The insurers contribute to a significant potential for the sector growth. The regulatory initiatives, however, play a significant role in the market development, which will lead to a gradual increase in household spending on life insurance to almost $47 by 2023. “The legislative changes in annuity insurance have pushed the market for further growth, and we expect that they will have a positive effect on the life insurance market. In four months of 2021, compared to the same period in 2020, the life insurance market grew 1.1 times in terms of premiums primarily thanks to retirement annuities. This suggests that there is interest in these products and it will be supported by both the supply from LICs and demand from the population,” Yekaterina Tolstova shared her thoughts.

Industry risk

According to S&P Global Ratings, the life insurance sector in Kazakhstan is characterized by strong profit indicators due to a low barrier for new participants to enter the market, given the industry dynamics and characteristics of insurance products that determine the high profitability of companies in this segment. “We expect that in 2021-2022 the return on equity (ROE) will average about 20% -25% per year, and the return on assets (ROA) will be about 4-5%, which we estimate as a high indicator in comparison with the indicators of European life insurance companies, - said the Deputy Director of the Financial Institutions Group of S&P. - The industry risk of life insurance sector in Kazakhstan is assessed at the same level as the ones in Italy, South Africa, Uruguay and Oman, where the life insurance sectors are at very different stages of development. However, we are confident about the opportunities for future market growth and profitability indicators in all these countries.”

New products

The decline in bank deposit rates in the past two years has also stimulated some clients to move from deposits with relatively low returns to alternative life insurance products with higher investment returns. This is especially true for the USD-denominated life insurance products that Kazakhstani life insurance companies have been able to offer in this market segment, which has seen rapid growth from a low base in the past three years. We find this situation favorable for the further development of life and retirement insurance. “Exposure to foreign exchange risk associated with the use of instruments denominated in foreign currencies may cause some volatility in operating results and equity ratios. This risk is inherent in both life insurance companies (LICs) and general insurance. We monitor this risk and flag it as one of the factors. Some LICs offer products with a currency component, so it is necessary to look at the product structure of each LIC separately. For example, some LICs offer products with yields of up to 4.5% in US dollars for periods longer than 10-15 years, but such “long” products are purchased by few policyholders. Most clients are insured for a shorter period and, therefore, the return on these product instruments is significantly lower. In this regard, we believe that LICs are able to partially neutralize this risk. It is important to note, however, that most LICs invest most of their portfolios in bonds, including government and quasi-government instruments. The return on this portfolio amounted to about 7.7% in 2020, which we considered to be a fairly high indicator in comparison with developed markets,” said Yekaterina Tolstova.

In conclusion, S&P representatives add that life insurance companies will maintain solvency margins and increase absolute values of equity ​​against the backdrop of projected rapid growth in insurance premiums.

Photos are from open sources.

Share
read also
Female urban residents increasingly buy life insurance in India
Female urban residents increasingly buy life insurance in India

According to a survey conducted by Max Life Insurance, the number of purchases of lif...

Why is it profitable for Kazakhstanis to save up for life insurance?
Why is it profitable for Kazakhstanis to save up for life insurance?

The total life insurance premiums in the insurance market in 2021 doubled in comparis...

The volume of insurance premiums in Kazakhstan has increased by 18.8% in January-February
The volume of insurance premiums in Kazakhstan has increased by 18.8% in January-February

Profit of insurance sector for two months amounted to 10.3 billion tenge increasing b...

The most interesting materials of the site you have in the mail! Subscribe to the newsletter.

ASK A QUESTION TO THE EXPERT
ASK A QUESTION TO THE EXPERT
Submit your application

bs-preloader__icon
ru kz en

Рынок страхования жизни Казахстана ожидают высокие темпы роста – S&P

Рынок страхования жизни Казахстана ожидают высокие темпы роста благодаря восстановлению экономики и инициативам регулятора, направленным на развитие рынка страхования жизни. Такой прогноз был озвучен представителями S&P Global Ratings во время онлайн-конференции Перспективы развития страхового рынка Казахстана в 2021 году.
Рынок страхования жизни Казахстана ожидают высокие темпы роста – S&P

Несмотря на неблагоприятную макроэкономическую ситуацию в прошлом году, сектор страхования жизни продолжал развиваться: рост подписанной страховой премии-брутто составил 16%, показатели прибыльности были высокими, рентабельность собственного капитала (return on equity — ROE) составила 33%. 

 «Диверсификация страховых продуктов продолжает повышаться, при этом подверженность сектора рискам, связанным со страховыми продуктами, зависимыми от уровня процентных ставок (например, со страховыми продуктами с гарантией), ниже, чем в европейских странах. В связи с недостаточным развитием внутреннего рынка капитала в Казахстане страховые компании инвестируют преимущественно в квазигосударственные и суверенные облигации, чтобы обеспечить в целом достаточно консервативный профиль инвестиционного портфеля», - объяснила заместитель директора группы «Финансовые институты» S&P Global Ratings Екатерина Толстова.

S&P отмечают, устойчивость сектора страхования жизни к неблагоприятной макроэкономической ситуации, однако отчасти это было обусловлено тем, что его развитие продолжается с очень низкой базы. Рост также отражает все еще недостаточно высокий уровень финансовой грамотности населения, что обусловливает низкий средний показатель страховой премии на душу населения в секторе страхования жизни — $29 в 2020 году в сравнении со средним показателем $2 тыс. в развитых странах региона EMEA (Европа, Ближний Восток, Африка). В то же время этот показатель близок к показателям развивающихся рынков, где расходы на страхование составляют в среднем около $32 на душу населения. «Уровень расходов на страхование в РК низкий. Но мы видим восходящий тренд по мере того, как регулятор внедряет новые продукты. Например, новые продукты на рынке страхования жизни. Мы видим также усилия компаний по разъяснению потребителям условий новых продуктов. Важным фактором является финансовая грамотность, разъяснение людям зачем нужна страховая защита. Это долгосрочный фактор. По сектору общего страхования в настоящий момент это менее заметно», - высказала свою точку зрения заместитель директора группы «Финансовые институты» S&P Global Ratings Екатерина Марушкевич.

Работа страховщиков создает значительный потенциал роста сектора. Но огромную роль в развитии рынка играют инициативы регулирующих органов, что будет способствовать постепенному увеличению расходов населения на страхование жизни до почти $47 к 2023 году. «Законодательные изменения, которые произошли в аннуитетном страховании, подтолкнули рынок к дальнейшему росту, и мы ожидаем, что они будут позитивно влиять на рынок страхования жизни. За четыре месяца 2021 года по сравнению с тем же периодом 2020 года рынок страхования жизни вырос в 1,1 раз по объему премий. В первую очередь, за счет пенсионных аннуитетов. Это, говорит о том, что интерес к данным продуктам есть и он будет поддерживаться и предложением со стороны КСЖ, и спросом со стороны населения», - поделилась ожиданиями Екатерина Толстова.

Отраслевой риск

В S&P Global Ratings считают, что сектор страхования жизни в Казахстане характеризуется сильными показателями прибыльности благодаря невысоким барьерам для входа на рынок для новых участников — с учетом динамики отрасли и характеристик страховых продуктов, которые обусловливают высокие показатели прибыльности компаний этого сегмента. «Мы ожидаем, что в 2021-2022 годы рентабельность собственного капитала (ROE) будет составлять в среднем около 20%-25% в год, а рентабельность активов (return on assets — ROA) — около 4-5%, что оценивается нами как высокий показатель по сравнению с показателями европейских компаний, занимающихся страхованием жизни, - заявила заместитель директора группы «Финансовые институты» S&P. - Наша оценка отраслевого риска казахстанского сектора страхования жизни находится на том же уровне, что и оценки Италии, ЮАР, Уругвая и Омана, где секторы страхования жизни находятся на очень разных этапах развития. Вместе с тем во всех этих странах мы позитивно оцениваем возможности для будущего роста рынка и показателей прибыльности и для развития режима регулирования».

Новые продукты

Снижение ставок по банковским депозитам в последние два года также дало некоторым клиентам стимул перейти от размещения средств в депозитах с относительно низкой доходностью к альтернативным продуктам страхования жизни с более высокой инвестиционной доходностью. Это особенно актуально для продуктов страхования жизни, номинированных в долларах США, которые казахстанские компании, занимающиеся страхованием жизни, смогли предложить в этом сегменте рынка, продемонстрировавшем быстрый рост с низкой базы в последние три года. Мы считаем эту ситуацию благоприятной для дальнейшего развития страхования жизни и пенсионного страхования. «Подверженность валютному риску в связи с использованием инструментов, номинированных в иностранной валюте, может обуславливать некоторую волатильность на результатах операционной деятельности и показателях капитала. Этот риск присущ, как компаниям по страхованию жизни (КСЖ), так и общему страхованию. Мы наблюдаем за этим риском и отмечаем его как один из факторов. Некоторые КСЖ предлагают продукты с валютной составляющей, поэтому смотреть необходимо на структуру продуктов каждой КСЖ в отдельности. Например, некоторые КСЖ предлагают продукты с доходностью до 4,5% в долларах США на срок более 10–15  лет, однако такие «длинные» продукты приобретают немногие страхователи. Большинство клиентов страхуются на более короткий срок и соответственно доходность этих инструментов продуктов существенно ниже. В связи с этим мы считаем, что КСЖ удается частично нивелировать данный риск. При этом важно отметить, что большинство КСЖ большую часть своих портфелей инвестирует в облигации, в том числе государственные и квазигосударственные инструменты. Доходность по этому портфелю составила порядка 7,7% в 2020 году, что мы считаем достаточно высоким показателем в сравнении с развитыми рынками», - подчеркнула Екатерина Толстова.

В заключении представители S&P добавили, что компании, занимающиеся страхованием жизни, сохранят показатели маржи платежеспособности и увеличат абсолютные значения капитала на фоне прогнозируемого быстрого роста страховой премии.

Фото из открытых источников

Поделиться
читайте также
В США вырос спрос на страховку от «нападения стрелка»
В США вырос спрос на страховку от «нападения стрелка»

Такая страховка предусматривает выплату кажд...

Как изменится страхование в Казахстане. Инфографика
Как изменится страхование в Казахстане. Инфографика

В начале июля президент Нурсултан Назарбаев п...

Самые интересные материалы сайта у тебя на почте! Подпишись на рассылку.

ЗАДАТЬ ВОПРОС ЭКСПЕРТУ
ЗАДАТЬ ВОПРОС ЭКСПЕРТУ
Оставить заявку