bs-preloader__icon
ru kz en

The Kazakhs work for the US Government

Representatives of the Kazakh diaspora in America are represented in different spheres of activity.
The Kazakhs work for the US Government

There are businessmen, doctors, bankers, musicians, taxi drivers and others among our fellow citizens. But it happened so that former citizens of Kazakhstan also work for the US federal government, being valuable employees, which important issues of vital activity of the country depend on. The stars of our article are Makhmud Sagyndyk, a member of the US Chamber of Actuarians, and his wife - Zhanna Sagyndyk, an actuarian of the US Government.

This photo is more than 100 years old. It is kept at the American house of Sagyndyk family in Maryland. Raimzhan Marsekov- one of the first Kazakh lawyers and publicists is in the photo. He was born in Semipalatinsk Region, graduated from the Imperial University in St. Petersburg in 1902 and worked for the district court in his homeland. A public man and a participant of the Alash movement, Raimzhan Marsekov, was executed by shooting in 1937 together with his brothers. Their family was rehabilitated in 1952. A former Kazakhstani citizen, Makhmud Sagyndyk, who now lives in the United States, is proud of his great-grandfather.

Makhmud Sagyndyk, a member of the US Chamber of Actuarians:

- I was born in Semipalatinsk, studied at the Peoples' Friendship University in Moscow, have a degree in in mathematics. Having graduated from the University, I defended Candidate’s dissertation in mathematics and worked in Almaty for the Department of Geometry of the Kazakh State University, as well as Associate Professor at the Almaty State University.

Makhmud's wife is also a mathematician. Zhanna defended her dissertation in differential equations, lectured at the Institute of National Economy and the School of Business in Almaty. The daughter of a professor of the Kazakh State University, Umirseit Kh. Sharipov, and a student of the academician, doctor of physical and mathematical sciences, Kulzhabai A. Kassymov, had become not only an excellent specialist, but also a reliable companion, Makhmud's life partner. Having worked for 10 years at home, young scientist, Sagyndyk, went to continue his education to the United States. In 2000 he defended his doctoral dissertation at the University of Kentucky and later mastered the profession of an actuary.

Makhmud Sagyndyk, a member of the US Chamber of Actuarians:

- It is a very prestigious profession in America and takes 10-15 years to pass the exams. Since 2000 I had started working for a life, real estate, and health insurance company. In 2009 I moved to the Federal Government of the United States as an actuarian of the Department of Health.

The first several years of life in the US were not easy. The experienced specialists with academic degrees began to settle in the new places, learn English. In fact, Makhmud learnt French at Peoples' Friendship University in Moscow, and Zhanna spoke German.

Zhanna Sagyndyk, an actuarian of the US Government:

- We started living here from nothing. Makhmud was a doctoral student. There was a time when we counted every cent. We missed our relatives very much here and thought that we would get an education here, learn everything we could and return to Kazakhstan. Even in 2007, we actually decided to return to Kazakhstan. But our degree in mathematics happened to be in demand here, as nowhere else in the world.

Makhmud Sagyndyk, a member of the US Chamber of Actuarians:

- I realized that I was involved in a little abstract math, but the most difficult thing is the problems of real life. We make calculations, we help the US Congress. Our role is precisely in development of bills and technical support. That bills should be financially reliable.

In 2009 Makhmud and Zhanna participated in development and financial analysing of health care reforms in the United States. And here their knowledge in the field of mathematical statistics, accounting and financial modeling was useful.

Zhanna Sagyndyk, an actuarian of the US Government:

- Mahmud works for a group involved in calculations for insurance of the elderly persons, those who are over 65 years old, and I work for a group dealing with low-income insurance. We are involved in calculations relating to 110 million of people. 70 million are poor and 50-60 million are elderly among them. That's about a trillion of US dollars.

Sagyndyk spouses make calculations and forecasts for all 50 states of America. For example, during these days, together with colleagues from the Office of Actuarians of the US Federal Government, they collect data regarding flu and addiction-dependent illness.

Zhanna Sagyndyk, an actuarian of the US Government:

- Now there is a very big problem with opioids abuse in America. And this issue is raised at the governmental level. If no drastic measures are taken, there can be serious consequences. We are calculating the costs of treating these patients with drug addiction.

Makhmud Sagyndyk, a member of the US Chamber of Actuarians:

- I know that problems in the field of healthcare, pension sphere are also actual in Kazakhstan, and, of course, actuarial calculations can help. I believe that the level of development of the actuarial profession reflects the level of society.

Over the years they have achieved great success. The holder of the international certificate of financial risk manager - Makhmud - became a member of the American and British Chamber of Actuarians. And Zhanna is the best civil servant in the US and the recipient of an award for extraordinary and unique contribution to the work.

Zhanna Sagyndyk, an actuarian of the US Government:

- For 20 years of staying in the United States, we can say that America is very, very different. We arrived first in Kentucky, then due to Makhmoud’s work we moved to Pennsylvania, then to Indiana. We lived in Ohio, then moved here, to Maryland, to the Washington and Baltimore area.

Makhmud Sagyndyk, a member of the US Chamber of Actuarians:

- I sometimes think about the life path that we have made. I was born in Kazakhstan, lived there for 17 years, then went to Moscow, where I lived for 10 years, returned to Kazakhstan and worked for 10 years and now I live in the USA for more than 20 years. I believe that we are citizens of the world.

Zhanna Sagyndyk, an actuarian of the US Government:

- We have a very good Kazakh-American association here. And our connection with the motherland has become more complete.

Makhmud Sagyndyk, a member of the US Chamber of Actuarians:

- About 5 000 Kazakhs live in the Washington area.

Zhanna Sagyndyk, an actuarian of the US Government:

- We celebrate Nauryz. We have a Kazakh language school, a choir, organized by the Kazakh community.

Makhmud Sagyndyk, a member of the US Chamber of Actuarians:

- We miss Kazakhstani steppes. Every time I come to my homeland, I travel by train, I look at the vast expanses of Kazakhstan. We are very pleased with good relations between Kazakhstan and the United States, especially, the recent visit of the President of Kazakhstan, Nursultan Nazarbayev, and his meeting with the US President. There are many projects. We hope that this is a great step in strengthening of relations between two countries.

These are the achievements of a successful Kazakh family overseas. It's nice that knowledge and experience of Sagyndyk family were in demand in the most developed country in the world.

Authors: Maira Abdrakhmanova, Renat Sadyrov

Source: http://24.kz/ru/news/social/item/222059-kazakhi-rabotayut-v-pravitelstve-ssha

Share
read also
Equality of state guarantees on financial instruments stimulates long-term savings of people in Russia
Equality of state guarantees on financial instruments stimulates long-term savings of people in Russia

A new study by the All-Russian Public Opinion Research Center showed that the majorit...

Not all retirement benefits are equal
Not all retirement benefits are equal

The Kazakhstanis have the opportunity to retire earlier and get pension contributions...

The most interesting materials of the site you have in the mail! Subscribe to the newsletter.

ASK A QUESTION TO THE EXPERT
ASK A QUESTION TO THE EXPERT
Submit your application

bs-preloader__icon
ru kz en

Казахи работают в правительстве США

Представители казахской диаспоры в Америке представлены в разных сферах деятельности.
Казахи работают в правительстве США

Среди наших соотечественников есть бизнесмены, врачи, банкиры, музыканты, таксисты и другие. Но, оказывается, бывшие граждане Казахстана работают и в федеральном правительстве США, являясь его ценными сотрудниками, от которых зависят важные вопросы жизнедеятельности страны. Герои нашей статьи - Махмуд Сагындык, член Палаты актуариев США,  и его супруга Жанна Сагындык, актуарий правительства США.

Этой фотографии больше 100 лет. Она хранится в американском доме семьи Сагындык в штате Мэриленд. На снимке Раимжан Марсеков - один из первых казахских юристов и публицистов. Он родился в Семипалатинской области, в 1902 году закончил Императорский университет в Санкт-Петербурге и работал в окружном суде у себя на родине. Общественный деятель и участник движения «Алаш» Раимжан Марсеков в 1937 году вместе с братьями был расстрелян. Реабилитировали их семью в 1952 году. Своим прадедом гордится бывший казахстанец, который ныне проживает в США, Махмуд Сагындык.

Махмуд Сагындык, член Палаты актуариев США:

- Родился я в Семипалатинске, учился в Москве в университете Дружбы народов по специальности математика. По окончании университета я защитил кандидатскую диссертацию по математике и работал в Алмате в КазГУ на кафедре геометрии и доцентом в Алматинском государственном университете.

Супруга Махмуда также математик. Жанна защитила диссертацию по дифференциальным уравнениям, преподавала в Институте народного хозяйства и в школе бизнеса Алматы. Дочь профессора КазГУ Умирсеита Хафизовича Шарипова и ученица академика, доктора физико-математических наук Касымова Кулжабая Абдыкалыковича стала не просто прекрасным специалистом, но и надежным соратником, спутницей жизни Махмуда. Проработав 10 лет на родине, молодой ученый Сагындык едет продолжать учебу в США. В 2000 году в университете Кентукки он защищает докторскую диссертацию и позже осваивает профессию актуария.

Махмуд Сагындык, член Палаты актуариев США:

- Это очень престижная специальность в Америке и занимает 10-15 лет, чтобы закончить экзамены. Начиная с 2000 года, я начал работать в компании по страхованию жизни, недвижимости, здоровья. В 2009 году перешел на работу в Федеральное правительство США, актуарий Министерства здравоохранения.

Первые годы жизни в США оказались нелегкими. Состоявшиеся специалисты с учеными степенями начали обживать новые места, изучать английский язык. Ведь в Московском университете дружбы народов Махмуд обучался французскому языку, а Жанна владела немецким.

Жанна Сагындык, актуарий правительства США:

- С нуля мы здесь все начинали. Махмуд был докторантом. Было время, когда мы считали каждый цент. Мы очень сильно скучали и думали, что получим здесь образование, научимся здесь всему, чему можно, и вернемся в Казахстан. Даже в 2007 году мы действительно решились вернуться в Казахстан. Но наша специальность математика оказалась именно здесь востребованной, как нигде больше в мире.

Махмуд Сагындык, член Палаты актуариев США:

- Я как-то понял, что занимался математикой немного абстрактной, но самое трудное – это проблемы реальной жизни. Мы делаем расчеты, помогаем Конгрессу США. Наша роль именно не сколько в разработке законопроектов, а технической поддержке. Чтобы законопроекты были финансово-состоятельными.

В 2009 году Махмуд и Жанна принимали участие в разработке и финансовом анализе реформ в здравоохранении США. И здесь пригодились их знания в области математической статистики, бухгалтерского учета и финансового моделирования.

Жанна Сагындык, актуарий правительства США:

- Махмуд работает в группе, которая занимается расчетами по страхованию пожилых, тех, кто старше 65 лет, а я работаю в группе, которая занимается вопросами страхования малоимущего населения. Мы занимаемся расчетами, которые касаются 110 миллионного населения. Из них 70 миллионов малоимущие и 50-60 миллионов пожилые. Это порядка триллиона долларов.

Супруги Сагындык делают расчеты и прогнозы для всех 50 штатов Америки. К примеру, в эти дни вместе с коллегами из офиса актуариев федерального правительства США они собирают данные по заболеванию гриппом и зависимым от наркомании.

Жанна Сагындык, актуарий правительства США:

- Сейчас в Америке стоит очень большая проблема со злоупотреблениями опиоидами. И на правительственном уровне поднимается этот вопрос. Если не будут приниматься кардинальные меры, то могут быть серьезные последствия. У нас идут расчеты о затратах на расходы на лечение этих больных наркоманией.

Махмуд Сагындык, член Палаты актуариев США:

- Я знаю, что в Казахстане также актуальны проблемы в здравоохранении, пенсионной сфере, и, конечно, актуарные расчеты могли бы помочь. Я считаю лично, что уровень развития актуарной профессии как бы отражает уровень общества.

За эти годы они достигли больших успехов. Обладатель международного сертификата финансового риск-менеджера Махмуд стал членом Американской и Британской Палаты Актуариев. А Жанна является лучшей государственной служащей США и обладателем награды за экстраординарный и уникальный вклад в работу.

Жанна Сагындык, актуарий правительства США:

- За 20 лет жизни в Соединенных Штатах мы можем сказать, что Америка очень и очень разная. Мы приехали сначала в штат Кентукки, потом в связи с работой Махмуда мы переехали в Пенсильванию, затем в Индиану. Мы жили в Огайо, потом переехали сюда в Мэриленд в район Вашингтона и Балтимора.

Махмуд Сагындык, член Палаты актуариев США:

- Часто иногда задумываешься о том жизненном пути, который мы совершили. Лично я родился в Казахстане, прожил там 17 лет, потом уехал в Москву, где жил 10 лет, вернулся в Казахстан и проработал 10 лет и сейчас живу в США больше 20 лет. Я считаю, что мы являемся гражданами мира.

Жанна Сагындык, актуарий правительства США:

- У нас здесь очень хорошая Казахско-американская ассоциация. И наша связь с родиной стала более такой полноценной.

Махмуд Сагындык, член Палаты актуариев США:

- Порядка 5000 казахов живут в районе Вашингтона.

Жанна Сагындык, актуарий правительства США:

- Мы проводим Наурызы. У нас есть школа казахского языка, хор, организованный казахским землячеством.

Махмуд Сагындык, член Палаты актуариев США:

- Не хватает казахстанских степей. Я каждый раз, когда приезжаю на родину, езжу на поезде, смотрю просторы Казахстана. Мы очень рады хорошим отношениям между Казахстаном и США. Особенно недавнему визиту Президента Казахстана Нурсултана Абишевича Назарбаева и его встрече с Президентом США. Много проектов. Надеемся, что это большой шаг в укрепление отношений двух стран.

Таковы достижения этой состоявшейся казахской семьи за океаном. Приятно, что знания и опыт семьи Сагындык оказались востребованы в самой развитой стране мира.

Авторы: Майра Абдрахманова, Ренат Садыров

Источник: http://24.kz/ru/news/social/item/222059-kazakhi-rabotayut-v-pravitelstve-ssha

Поделиться
читайте также
Оптимальное количество часов сна для долголетия
Оптимальное количество часов сна для долголетия

Учитывая важность ночного отдыха для психичес...

Как устроен казахстанский рынок страхования жизни
Как устроен казахстанский рынок страхования жизни

Страхование жизни лидирует в структуре премий...

Отрицательная доходность меняет инвестиции страховщиков
Отрицательная доходность меняет инвестиции страховщиков

Мировой страховой сектор владеет около $33 трлн...

Самые интересные материалы сайта у тебя на почте! Подпишись на рассылку.

ЗАДАТЬ ВОПРОС ЭКСПЕРТУ
ЗАДАТЬ ВОПРОС ЭКСПЕРТУ
Оставить заявку