bs-preloader__icon
ru kz en

Unwarranted youthful optimism of 35-year-olds

The current generation of 35-year-olds is already 25% poorer than previous generations, enpi.kz writes.
Unwarranted youthful optimism of 35-year-olds

According to a survey by TD Ameritrade, a brokerage company, every second American millennial born between 1981 and 1996 believes that one day he will become a millionaire. Every fifth thinks that he will become one by the age of 40.

But a study by the Brookings Institution refutes this youthful optimism.

According to statistics, the generation of modern 35-year-old people is poorer than people of the same age, in whatever year, from 1989 to 2007. The economic crisis of 2008–09 hit the millennials particularly hard. If we compare the well-being of people at the age from 20 to 35 in 2016, it was a quarter worse than the same age in 2007.

The generation of young people has certain advantages in the labor market compared to previous generations: at least, they are better educated. However, according to analysts, they have a higher degree of loans.

Besides, the millennials hold responsibility for their pensions, while many representatives of previous generations may rely to some extent on other sources that form pensions.

Today, more and more young employees are earning on occasional work. Besides, we are to face a more difficult economic situation with the growth rate of economy is lower than in the past.

The study by the Brookings Institution is far from the first to clang a bell on the retirement future of current working people. According to the Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development, an ever lower proportion of millennials around the world can be considered as middle class. Less and less people over 35+ have their own homes compared to previous generations at the same age of their lives.

However, many young people are optimistic. According to a TD Ameritrade survey, more than 70% of men (35+) say that at some point they will become millionaires. Around 40% of female respondents are confident in that.

The problem is that the millennials plan to start saving for retirement at an average age of 36, which is actually much later than financial experts recommend. The rule of financial planning says: the sooner you start saving money for retirement, no matter how small the amount, the better. The main point is in a compound percentage of savings, when interest is added to each interest of savings.

The main problem on the way to financial planning and formation of personal retirement capital is thinking. Many simply say: "I do not have extra money, I earn little so I cannot start saving."

This is the main mental trap from which many people cannot escape for years.

How to get out of it?

Even if you save 30 thousand tenge a month, you see how they accumulate and it makes you want to save even more. And as soon as you save the first million tenge, then, as they say “the appetite comes while eating”, saving will become a good habit, which in the future with the help of compound interest will be able to give you a decent capital in the future.

Source: https://enpi.kz/mezhdunarodniy-opyt/neopravdannyiy-yunosheskiy-optimizm-35-letnih

Share
read also
National Bank of Kazakhstan is actively developing the digital financial infrastructure in Kazakhstan
National Bank of Kazakhstan is actively developing the digital financial infrastructure in Kazakhstan

This was stated by Zhanat Kurmanov, the Deputy Chairman of the National Bank of Kazak...

Ministry of Labour allows public servants to conclude investment life insurance contracts
Ministry of Labour allows public servants to conclude investment life insurance contracts

The Office explained that this does not violate the anti-corruption ban on the owners...

The profit of insurance companies has grown by 11 times in one year
The profit of insurance companies has grown by 11 times in one year

As of March 2018, the net profit reached almost 13 billion Tenge, compared to 1 billi...

The most interesting materials of the site you have in the mail! Subscribe to the newsletter.

ASK A QUESTION TO THE EXPERT
ASK A QUESTION TO THE EXPERT
Submit your application

bs-preloader__icon
ru kz en

Неоправданный юношеский оптимизм 35-летних

Современное поколение 35-летних уже на 25% беднее предыдущих поколений, пишет enpi.kz.
Неоправданный юношеский оптимизм 35-летних

По данным опроса брокерской компании TD Ameritrade, каждый второй американский миллениал, родившийся между 1981 и 1996 годами, считает, что однажды станет миллионером. Каждый пятый думает, что станет таковым уже к 40 годам.

Но исследование Брукингского института опровергает этот юношеский оптимизм.

Согласно статистическим данным, поколение современных 35-летних людей беднее, чем люди того же возраста, в каком бы то ни было году, с 1989 по 2007 год. Экономический кризис 2008-09 годов особенно сильно ударил по миллениалам. Если сравнивать благосостояние людей в возрасте от 20 до 35 лет в 2016 году, то оно было на четверть хуже, чем у аналогичного возраста в 2007 году.

Конечно, сейчас поколение молодых людей имеет определенные преимущества на рынке труда по сравнению с предыдущими поколениями: как минимум, они лучше образованы. Но при этом, по данным аналитиков, у них более высокая степень кредитных долгов.

Кроме того, миллениалы несут основную ответственность за финансирование своих пенсий, в то время как многие представители предыдущих поколений могут в определенной степени полагаться на другие источники, формирующие пенсию.

Сегодня все больше и больше молодых работников зарабатывают на «случайных» работах. Кроме того, нас ожидает более сложная экономическая ситуация, когда темпы роста экономики более низки, чем в прошлом.

Исследование Брукингского института далеко не первое, кто бьет колокол по пенсионному будущему текущих работоспособных людей. По данным Организации экономического сотрудничества и развития, все меньший процент миллениалов по всему миру можно считать «средним классом». Все меньше современных людей за 35+ имеет собственные дома по сравнению с предыдущими поколениями в том же возрасте их их жизни.

Тем не менее, многие молодые люди проявляют оптимизм. Как показал опрос TD Ameritrade, более 70% мужчин (35+) говорят, что в какой-то момент они станут миллионерами. Уверенность у женщин на уровне 40% опрошенных.

Проблема в том, что миллениалы ожидают, что начнут копить на пенсию в среднем в возрасте 36 лет, что на самом деле гораздо позже, чем рекомендуют финансовые эксперты. Правило финансового планирования гласит: чем раньше вы начнете откладывать деньги на пенсию, независимо от того, насколько маленькой будет сумма, тем лучше. Вся соль — в сложном проценте накоплений, когда на каждый процент накоплений начисляются еще проценты.

Основная проблема на пути к финансовому планированию и формированию своего личного пенсионного капитала заключается в мышлении. Многие просто говорят: "у меня нет лишних денег, я мало зарабатываю, поэтому не могу начать копить".

В этом и заключается основная ментальная ловушка, из которой многие не могут выбраться годами.

Как из нее выйти?

Даже, если вы откладываете по 30 тысяч тенге в месяц, то видите как они накапливаются и это рождает в вас желание откладывать еще больше. А как только вы накопите первый миллион тенге, то как говорится аппетит приходит во время еды, копить станет хорошей привычкой, которая в будущем с помощью сложного процента сможет дать вам приличный капитал в будущем.

Источник: https://enpi.kz/mezhdunarodniy-opyt/neopravdannyiy-yunosheskiy-optimizm-35-letnih

Поделиться
читайте также
Чем чаще всего болели казахстанцы в 2018 году?
Чем чаще всего болели казахстанцы в 2018 году?

Ветряная оспа стала лидером по количеству зар...

Какие есть альтернативы ЕНПФ
Какие есть альтернативы ЕНПФ

Депозиты, акции, недвижимость, страхование жиз...

Самые интересные материалы сайта у тебя на почте! Подпишись на рассылку.

ЗАДАТЬ ВОПРОС ЭКСПЕРТУ
ЗАДАТЬ ВОПРОС ЭКСПЕРТУ
Оставить заявку