bs-preloader__icon
ru kz en

Negative Return Changes Insurers’ Investments

The global insurance sector owns about $33 trillion of financial assets, thus, their investment decisions can affect economic growth and capital market development, writes IPE: Home.
Negative Return Changes Insurers’ Investments

Approximately $15 trillion or 25% of the global government bond market are traded with negative returns today. Reliable yet low-yield securities can affect insurers and their clients, therefore, financial experts around the world are diversifying their portfolios. Such a strategic shift requires reliable risk management, as insurance investments imply long terms from 10 to 30 years.

Since the global financial crisis of 2008, the volume of BBB-rated corporate bonds has quadrupled, and today it is about half the investment-grade corporate bond market. The analysis of US companies’ insurance portfolios by the National Association of Insurance Commissioners (NAIC) showed that the share of NAIC 2 (BBB) designated as bonds increased from 19.7% (2007) to 28.2% (2018). The situation in Europe is similar: insurers' investments in corporate and sovereign bonds with a BBB rating have increased from 5% (2008) to more than 20% (2017).

Successful investments in risky securities require insurance companies to regularly evaluate the situation, including stability analysis under the conditions of credit rating downgrade, issuer default scenarios, and effective credit risk strategies.

Insurance supervisors worldwide are working on improvement of issuer information disclosure. Besides, Solvency II regulations require market players to consider the financial risks associated with climate change. This requirement creates problems for insurance companies, but opens up new opportunities for investment in greener technologies and sustainable infrastructure.

“The insurers’ change in approach to solving problems and ability to efficiently distribute capital in new industries can create a competitive advantage and provide high returns for all interested parties,” said Richard Pereira, Head of Insurance Asset Management at Aberdeen Standard Investments.

Source: https://www.ipe.com/home/where-insurers-are-placing-their-money/10043519.article

Photos are from open sources.

Share
read also
Moody's pointed out the problems of European insurers
Moody's pointed out the problems of European insurers

Ultra-low interest rates will affect the solvency and profit of European insurers. Th...

Yerzhan Konurbayev: "Policies will become more flexible"
Yerzhan Konurbayev: "Policies will become more flexible"

Erzhan Konurbayev, recently elected to the post of the new Chairman of Standard Life ...

10 Facts and Statistics about Life Insurance that Will Blow Your Mind
10 Facts and Statistics about Life Insurance that Will Blow Your Mind

I thought it would be fun to put together some of the more interesting facts and stat...

The most interesting materials of the site you have in the mail! Subscribe to the newsletter.

ASK A QUESTION TO THE EXPERT
ASK A QUESTION TO THE EXPERT
Submit your application

bs-preloader__icon
ru kz en

Отрицательная доходность меняет инвестиции страховщиков

Мировой страховой сектор владеет около $33 трлн финансовых активов, поэтому их инвестиционные решения могут влиять на экономический рост и развитие рынков капитала, пишет IPE: Home.
Отрицательная доходность меняет инвестиции страховщиков

Примерно $15 трлн или 25% мирового рынка государственных облигаций сегодня торгуются с отрицательной доходностью. Надежные, но низко прибыльные бумаги могут отразится на страховщиках и их клиентах, поэтому финансисты во всем мире диверсифицируют портфели. Такой стратегический сдвиг требует надежного управления рисками, так как страховые инвестиции предполагают длинные сроки от 10 до 30 лет.

Со времен мирового финансового кризиса 2008 года объем корпоративных облигаций с рейтингом BBB вырос в четыре раза и сегодня составляет около половины рынка корпоративных облигаций инвестиционного уровня. Анализ страховых портфелей компаний США, проведенный Национальной ассоциацией страховых комиссаров (NAIC), показал, что доля NAIC 2 (BBB), обозначенных как облигации, увеличилась с 19,7% (2007 г.) до 28,2% (2018 г.). В Европе похожая ситуация - вложения страховщиков в корпоративные и суверенные облигации с рейтингом BBB выросли с 5% (2008 г.) до более 20% (2017 г.).

Успешные вложения в рисковые бумаги требуют от страховых компаний регулярной оценки для отслеживания ситуации, что включает в себя: анализ устойчивости в условиях снижения кредитного рейтинга, сценарии дефолта эмитентов, эффективные стратегии кредитных рисков.

Органы страхового надзора во всем мире работают над улучшением раскрытия информации об эмитентах. Кроме того, нормативные положения Solvency II требуют от игроков рынка учитывать финансовые риски, связанные с изменением климата. Это требование создает проблемы для страховых компаний, но открывает новые возможности для инвестиций в более экологичные технологии и устойчивую инфраструктуру.

«Изменение подхода страховщиков к решению проблем и их способность эффективно распределять капитал в новые отрасли могут создать конкурентное преимущество и обеспечить высокую доходность для всех заинтересованных сторон», - заявил изданию Ричард Перейра, глава отдела управления страховыми активами Aberdeen Standard Investments.  

Источник https://www.ipe.com/home/where-insurers-are-placing-their-money/10043519.article

Фото из открытых источников                 

 

 

Поделиться
читайте также
Как роботы помогают контролировать сотрудников, работающих вне офиса
Как роботы помогают контролировать сотрудников, работающих вне офиса

Мария Скорик, шеф-редактор Redmadrobot, рассказывае...

Страхование производственного травматизма в США
Страхование производственного травматизма в США

Страхование от несчастного случая на производ...

Самые интересные материалы сайта у тебя на почте! Подпишись на рассылку.

ЗАДАТЬ ВОПРОС ЭКСПЕРТУ
ЗАДАТЬ ВОПРОС ЭКСПЕРТУ
Оставить заявку